Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunpak Tripods Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Sunpak Tripods Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Get the right amount of light with the Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash. This flash is made to be used with digital SLR cameras and is compatible with the latest Canon DSLR. It is designed with many useful features that make it a handy addition to your camera accessories. It has auto focus assist to help ensure that you don't miss the shot when you are filming in low light. The high guide number of 92' gives you outstanding illumination in most any type of situation, especially with long lenses. The DSLR camera flash will swivel 180 degrees to the left and 120 degrees to the right. This ensures that the light is shining in just the right place to make the shot look the way you want. It has manual zoom head settings for precision. The automatic power-off helps to conserve the battery life in case you get busy at the location and forget to turn the flash off when you are finished. Pack the Canon Sunpak flash before heading to your next photo shoot to get the light you need.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation80%16 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

JUNK

11/12/2012
By ,
putnam, ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this external flash to complement canon rebel xs. put 4 brand new batteries in it, tried testing it out. snapped off probably 15 pictures (that looked washed out, and when i adjusted the amount of flash i was back to the same brightness as the stock internal flash) all of sudden it stopped working. so i either burned out the bulb taking 15 pictures, or idk what happened. tried putting new batteries in it, still doent work. wow great product, $4 per picture. id advise to not buy this, definitely invest in better external flash you get what u pay for (CHEAP) piece of crud
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

No frills dummy flash

06/29/2012
By ,
Middleburg, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this as a beginner flash for my Canon Rebel XS DSLR. The flash is nothing much, just a on/off switch and a test flash button. It can swivel and rotate to a good degree. It has a magnification from 18, to 35, to 55, to 70 mm. I only have automatic flash and 1/200th of a second for external flash on my camera, so I can't comment on that. The Sunpak DF3000 syncs up well with my camera, but only has one power setting (Full power flash) from what I can assume. The Through The Lens auto focusing system is obtained by flashing a very bright red light twice. For my niece, this was just as bright as the white flash and both her and I didn't like that aspect. I realize there must be other external flashes that utilize this TTL feature, but there is no way to turn the bright red flash feature off on this model. However, for small enclosed areas indoors, this flash is powerful enough to get decent photos for the beginning external flash user like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Wow not bad for $60 bucks!

09/27/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, I may be over stating this, or maybe it's just because this thing got me out of a huge pinch. I am a professional photographer, and normally I use a Canon 600EX-RT flash (which is amazing). I was on my way to do a wedding and I sopped for something to eat. I figured I would double check all my equipment before I got there, and low a behold my flash would not fire. I was in a very small town where all they had was a Walmart. So, I went in to see if they had anything, and that's when I stumbled on to this little baby. The Sunpak DF3000 was all they had, and for $60 it did a heck of a job and saved me. Don't get me wrong this flash is not my primary flash and it is very simplistic, on and off, that's about the extent of it, but the fact that the head was able to tilt into a bounce flash position was what saved me. I now keep this in my bag as an emergency backup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Perfect for the price.

08/27/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price i love it, don't need all the bells and whistles like the expensive Canon speedlite flash units, i just wanted a little more flash for indoor photos and this unit works great. Simple to operate with no complicated adjustments and features i will never use? Just set your dslr camera to Auto and the flash takes care of the output, i like how nice my photos turn out. People complain about this flash not having a flash ouput adjustment, well then go and buy one for 300.00 plus dollars and you will get all the bells and whistles you want?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash
06/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased the Sunpak DF 3000 to compare it with some of my other flash equipment. I also own a Targus TG-DL20c (GN 52), a Canon 220EX (GN72), and a Canon 580ex (GN 190). I used to shoot professionally and I usually carried my Canon 220ex with my Canon G12 for social events (When I didn't want to carry my DSLR, assortment of lenses and larger flash -580ex#. The issue I have with the Canon 220ex flash is it always overexposed my images and it did not have a bounce function. I started carrying the Canon 580ex flash, but it's size made it incompatable for the use I was looking for.
That's when I purchased the Sunpak DF3000 from Walmart ($60# because it's reasonable powerful #GN 92# and the flash head has the ability to bounce and rotate. I have been extremely happy with this flash. It's very light weight, will illuminate most social event situations, and the bounce and rotating head makes it possible to achieve soft lighting by bouncing off of walls & ceilings. The limiting factor is the GN of 92 doesn't provide much latitude for bouncing off of walls or high ceilings in larger rooms. The bounce function works relatively well for smaller rooms #10' x 12' with 8' ceilings max#.
The Sunpak's light output is around 160% higher than the Targus flash unit. The Targus flash has the ability to bounce, but it's extremely low light output #GN 52# makes the bounce ability almost useless. As other's have indicated, it's construciton is not very sturdy, but if you want something lightweight that illuminates small parties and social events, it is OK. For $10 more, I would definitely purchase the Sunpak DF3000. The upside of the Targus is it is smaller and lighter than the Sunpak DF3000. It provides more light output than the built in flash on my Canon G12 camera. It's relatively inexpensive and a decent flash.
Overall, I would purchase the Sunpak DF3000 again. It's price point is very good and it provides a decent light output for the money, size, and weight of the flash. The bounce and rotating head make it a very nice addition to my photography equipment. It is much, much, much better than the Canon 220ex and Targus TG-DL20C flashes
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Works well for a great price.

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flash works well with my DSLR as described. Shows clear photos and great lighting effects for a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Works great with Canon S5 IS

08/21/2012
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pictures looked great when bouncing the flash off the ceiling. In manual mode, I can dial down the brightness using in-camera menu. It would be even better if it has on-flash manual with brightness settings for to use as a remote flash.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Great flash fora beginner

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I havent used this yet, just been playing around with it at home. Seems easy to use, looks like has very good light and seems to be just what I want. Will know more when I finally use it, but so far have not being taking night pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Great value

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price! Simple and easy to use. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

I'm not a professional but it works for me.

11/12/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this because my Digital Canon Rebel (the first one they made, so on the older side) was dropped and the camera & flash didn't want to communicate anymore. A friend had bought one of these and I tried it on my camera to make sure the camera would "talk" to an external flash. When it did, I ran right out and bought myself the flash. I researched flashes previously but for the price of an external flash it was hard to find a "cheap" flash that wasn't a manual. I'm not a professional and I wasn't sure if I'd be able to work a manual flash. This one works just fine for taking pictures of my kids. The only thing I noticed was when I'm trying for continuous shooting the flash didn't fully keep up, but it wasn't that bad at all. Out of 10 pictures the flash didn't go off maybe twice at most.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash
08/19/2012
By ,
Greenville SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great fit for my Canon DSL with the right amount of flash that works well with the tilt for bounce with less shadows. Thanks for the great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

SO severly UNDERwhelmed

11/08/2013
By ,
Erie PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third and LAST time I gave Sunpak a chance. I thought it a fluke, but I see it is just cheap (non)quality merchandise. My first one quit working so I bought another. It lasted about 3 weeks and just stopped working. I went and bought another thinking I could use the second as a spare for parts. HA! The 3rd one arrived NON Functional! If you want an external flash, spend the few extra bucks and buy a better quality one. This is not worth even thinking about., Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Good buy for the money!

01/23/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price! Great addition to a Canon camera without breaking the bank. Meets/exceeds my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

Quit firing after 2 months

11/24/2012
By ,
Tomball, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There's no value in a flash that quits working after 2 months. It stopped working at my kids' birthday party to add to insult :/
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash
06/09/2013
By ,
black canyon city, az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash

cheap price, cheap quality. u get what u pay for

01/28/2013
By ,
katy, texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
its works. just a simple flash. u get what u pay for on this
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Canon Sunpak DF3000 Flash
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5