Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Big Boss Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Big Boss Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer is a healthy way to enjoy all your favorite foods! It leaves food moist on the inside and browned and crispy on the outside, without the use of added fats or oils. The energy efficient tabletop cooker combines halogen heat, convection and infrared technology. Halogen directly heats the surface of the food for browning, roasting and flavor. Convection circulates the hot air, evenly distributing the heat for faster cooking. Gentle infrared heat cooks from inside out, sealing in juices. Use it to roast turkeys, bake fish, broil steaks, air fry chicken, grill meats, toast breads, steam vegetables and even make dessert, all without preheating or defrosting. The glass dome allows you to see the cooking process. The lid's tight seal keeps hot air inside, so the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer will not heat up your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.775 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation77%55 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great for our needs

02/26/2013
By ,
No Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product takes up a lot of space and is really good for two people, not a large family. The basket is small and the actual cooking space is limited. I've only used it twice so far and realize that you have to really adjust your cooking time. Timetable included in the book is not very accurate. Overall I would recommend it but I could really have done without it. My conventional oven takes only a few more minutes than this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Worthless...Doesn't taste fried...read on

09/19/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken.
First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried.
Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt.
Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries.
This product was a real disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Not worth the expense

01/25/2013
By ,
Forest Hill, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Expected good things from this product. Advertising showed several items being cooked at once, but mostly cannot be done. Potatoes burn at ends before they get done. Chicken does not brown as shown in advertising. I tried to contact the manufacturer as I had questions, and wanted to buy another basket, but no response from the email address given.
Very disappointed in product and would not recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
12/12/2012
By ,
clyde,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what it says it will do frys tasted as good as those in oil
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Fragile and doesn't heat well

08/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried this out on some poultry. Greatly exceeded the recommended time and the meat was still raw. Construction appears flimsy. We have had convection ovens before that were much sturdier and worked much better
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer Is As Expected

03/30/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this for someone else. He said it was what he expected. So far the food that he made tastes good . He would have liked to have receipes for it included. Nothing special in its appearance and has a two year warranty.
Price wise it is the same price as other companies are asking and he considers the price a little high , because the fryer part where you put the food is glass.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

excellent product

11/20/2012
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If You are looking for healthier cooking this is the item for you. You put a small layer of oil on the bottom and voila
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

save your $ not worh it!

03/28/2013
By ,
south dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned it! Tried sliced potatos for homemade french fries. the time indicated for that item ...hadn't even begun cooking process. After more than 3times the original cooking time..... they were still not even half cooked! Tried ore ida sweet potato fries.... same thing 3x the cooking time and they were still soggy! I can accomplish soggy fries in my oven! It's a good concept just does not work!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
02/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to everyone, it is awesome easy clean up and you make your whole meal in it with oils
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

very good

04/11/2013
By ,
Edwards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only wish it came with a dish or pan to use instead of using racks all the time. I love the speed and not using the oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Big Disappointment

08/29/2013
By ,
Sonora, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am surprised at the positive reviews for this product. It does not do what it claims. I "fried" boneless skinless chicken breasts which I soaked in buttermilk for a couple hours, then dredged with seasoned flour, then an egg & buttermilk mixture and again in the seasoned flour. Against my better judgment I followed the instruction in the recipe booklet by placing the lower cooking rack, the mesh basket, then the chicken on top. The coating stuck to the mesh basket just as I thought it would. I spritzed the chicken with Olive Oil and it barely browned, then the coating fell off. The only thing that saved my chicken was that it was soaked in buttermilk which made the chicken juicy on the inside but it was not "fried" at all. I also made "fried" cod with a panko breading, dipping my fish in egg, then seasoned panko and laid it on the lower cooking rack. I spritzed both sides with olive oil and AGAIN it did not brown. It dried out my fish and my R/M absolutely hated it. I put some breaded zucchini wedges spritzed with olive oil on the top rack and they also did not brown. I made onion rings which was also disappointing. They were more baked than fried. I can use my convection oven and achieve the same if not better results.
If you look at the recipe book and the box you will see they show chicken on the bottom and french fries on the top rack; however, you cannot cook these together because the chicken is cooked at 375 degrees and the French fries at 450 degrees. They cannot be cooked at the same time. This is very misleading.
I cook six to seven days a week. I expected way more from this product. I would rather use a little olive oil in a pan to cook my chicken breasts or fish fillets, or use my convection oven and toss potatoes or vegies with a little olive oil and seasoning than have my dinner ruined. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I will be returning this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Don't waste money

09/16/2013
By ,
Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke within 5 minutes. Noisy operation until fan totally stopped. Good luck with Enetson customer service. $26 to mail back for repair or replace since cant send back to Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yes you can return it to Walmart
Posted 06/04/2014
You can return ANYTHING you buy from Walmart....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Best for frying

08/19/2013
By ,
Nekoosa, WI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Big Boss Oil-less fryer is excellent.
I have another similar brand, and this one can run circles around it.
The style is better, and the french fries turn out great.
It should also be great for chicken breasts, and all you would want to
use it for, instead of the big stove oven.
Easy to get the food all arranged and get it going.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
09/26/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed in product. Took twice as long to cook as it said. Product came broken and we had to tape together to try it out. Food was ok , had to put potatoes in microwave to finish them because we got tired of waiting. It will be going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great Cooker

03/18/2013
By ,
Rio Rancho New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read the reviews on this product and they were correct, the fish we love crisp tender on the inside & steamy and it cooks potatoes better than the oven.
They brown all over our main reason was fish & french fries and it works fine sure it's not McDonald's but, it as close as I have come!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

It Doesn't Fry & It Doesn't Cook

06/08/2012
By ,
Deep South (where we know what frying is)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was taken with the promises on the box: No-oil frying. I got it home, followed, the instructions, and sliced some potatoes to have some hot french fries. My Boss Oil-less Fryer cooked those fries for six whole minutes before it died. Permanently. RIP.
I called customer service using the number supplied on the info card in the packaging. That just referred me to select from a menu of other customer service numbers to find the right one for the product I bought. Of course, the Boss Oil-less Fryer was not listed as any of the products I could call for support. I called the number for one of their other products. The bored customer service rep offered a variety of options: I could ship it back to them at my expense and they'd send me a new one; I could take it back to Wal-Mart and they might give me a replacement; or I could go back to Wal-Mart and beg for a refund. Like I want a replacement for a product with a life expectancy less than the french fries I was hungering for.
I ended up finishing the potatoes in my oven.
Note also, that beyond my experience that the Boss Oil-less fryer fails in less time than it takes to pre-heat an oven and that their customer service is worthless, the actual worst thing about the product is: It doesn't fry anything. The Boss Oil-less Fryer is not a fryer at all. It's an oven. It BAKES those potatoes and breaded chicken parts so glisteningly displayed on the box.
It might be a pretty good oven if it actually worked longer than it takes to write this review, but it is not and never will be a substitute for a fryer.
I'm still waiting to get some fries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Amazing Buy/Amazing Item
Posted 06/14/2012
I've been using the Oil-less fryer for a few months now, and it is hands-down my favorite kitchen appliance. I'm on a fairly restricted nutrition plan and eat TONS of boneless skinless chicken breasts. Broiling or baking turns chicken breasts into nasty little hockey pucks very quickly, and I could never quite figure out how to fully cook the chicken without drying it out. The Oil-less fryer makes it easy: I pop the chicken in, set the timer for 15-20 minutes, and get chicken that (really is) crispy and browned on the outside and moist on the inside. It's awesome. I've only been able to achieve comparable texture with my steamer, but the steamer takes much longer and doesn't cook the chicken as thoroughly. I've also "fried" potatoes and sweet potatoes with very good results.
As you can tell, I'm a huge fan of this oven, and I hope it keeps working for a long time!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great product

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer is a great product. I was a little unsure at first, but I went ahead and ordered it and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did. It's a wonderful product for eating healthy and losing weight. All the grease cooks out of your food and the proof is on the bottom of the container. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

really like it

03/29/2014
By ,
columbia s.c.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my frier, I just have to get used to it. I cooked Chicken legs in it and they turned out good, but then cooked frozen legs and they didnt get done inside. It will take some practice but I really do like it a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

The recipes provided with the product are not good

11/29/2012
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a good cook but I have not been able to get any of the recipes the come with the product to work. Not sure what I am doing that makes this not work. The only thing that worked was my cinnamon rolls but it was not worth the time to clean the usit afterwards. I will keep experimenting since I have purchased this product. It is very noisy as well. Thought it might make my cooking easier since I am always cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Patience is a virtue...

05/07/2014
By ,
Savannah, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Takes time learning to use it; so patience is a virtue. Nice to have a timer, but will overcook if you don't pay attention. (Or undercook.) being able to use aluminum foil or any oven safe utensil is a big plus. I like to wrap seasoned meats really tight in foil & bake. A regular oven takes all day to get meats tender & heats the house & can still let the meat get dry. This little gem does the job in half the time & there's no dryness. Am still learning the ups/downs, but, it's definitely a keeper. Cleaning is easy... Another really big plus!!
I love to cook so this is large enough for a family while handy enough for a couple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 66 total reviews