Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Big Boss Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Big Boss Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer is a healthy way to enjoy all your favorite foods! It leaves food moist on the inside and browned and crispy on the outside, without the use of added fats or oils. The energy efficient tabletop cooker combines halogen heat, convection and infrared technology. Halogen directly heats the surface of the food for browning, roasting and flavor. Convection circulates the hot air, evenly distributing the heat for faster cooking. Gentle infrared heat cooks from inside out, sealing in juices. Use it to roast turkeys, bake fish, broil steaks, air fry chicken, grill meats, toast breads, steam vegetables and even make dessert, all without preheating or defrosting. The glass dome allows you to see the cooking process. The lid's tight seal keeps hot air inside, so the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer will not heat up your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.775 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation77%55 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

AMAZING!!!!!!

12/21/2012
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not sure what is up with all the negative reviews but I purchased this Big Boss Oil-less fryer a few months ago for my mothers 59th birthday since she does a lot of cooking. So far, we have made french fries, tater tots, onion rings and chicken nuggets in it and I can honestly say this thing is the most wonderful machine ever! All you have to do is set it to the temperature that is recommended for what you are cooking, then turn on the timer and the light comes on automatically along with the fan. The results of the food turns out excellent as always but without the massive amounts of grease like a normal deep fryer and both me and my family think it tastes just as good. I love the fact this machine saves you money on your energy bills compared to the standard oven and plus its kinda fun to watch it cook. I also find it nice that it has a special safety feature that the oven will only turn on once the handle is down all the way. To get to the main point, I HIGHLY recommend this product to EVERYONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great Alternative to Frying!!!!!

06/13/2012
By ,
Cordova, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, I am a LONG TIME deep fryer guy. But due to recent diagnosis of high blood pressure, I have retired my Fry Daddy. The Big Boss oil less fryer was exactly what I was looking for. It is as simple to operate as my deep fryer and the results are spectacular.
This "air fryer" is as close to deep frying as you will get!! I have done pecan crusted catfish, parmesan salmon, montreal strip steak, and sweet potato fries.
But the real winner was the chicken. it was crispy, great texture, and flavor was all there. I admit that i do spritz (sprayer included) it with olive oil but who cares??? I still reduced my calorie intake by 80%.
My wife has taken to making buffalo hot wings in it....again, no oil and lots of flavor.
My only gripe is that the tongs are kind of flimsy.
Kudos to the Big Boss Oil Less Fryer for providing us fried food lovers an alternative. and to Walmart, whose $99 retail is considerably less than the $119 i was going to pay at amazon.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+263points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great alternative to deep frying

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great alternative because I always hated the fact that in a traditional deep fryer, you either have to clean out the oil after each use (lots of waste) or you keep it in there which is just gross depending on the length of time between uses.
But specifically my husband always preferred deep frying hot wings and I thought baking them was still great (much healthier too) but this is a nice in-between that we both agree with since we are trying to lose some weight.
The only thing that I would complain about is that you can't fit much at a time when you are trying to "fry" an item because they have to be spread out on a single layer and its annoying to pull out each item at a time because they stick to the basket. :(
Also I would suggest to create a medium height rack because there is a low & high rack and we thought that there should also be a middle rack as well. Even though we haven't used it yet for anything else since we only got it last week, but am excited of all the different features it has (including a wash setting!).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Unit Broke in First 5-minutes of Use.

09/23/2012
By ,
Metairie, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit on Sunday September 23, 2012 and it broke within the first 5-minutes of use, which ruined my meal. The light turned off within the first 5-minutes, since this unit was new to me I assumed it was part of the cycle. The heat and power light also went out at that time. After the timer (set at 30-minutes) turned off the food was raw and the unit was luke warm, not hot enough for cooking. I don't know if this was just a fluke isolated incident for this unit to break in 5-minutes or if it is the product is not ready for prime time.
Within the paperwork of the unit it gives you a 1 800 number that states "Do not return it back to the store". I called that number, which prompts you though an automated system, only to get another number to call, that prompts you through an automated system only to find out they are closed on Sunday.
The product itself appears to be of good quality (glass bowl versus plastic) but I'm now afraid that it may not be built to last.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Healthy alternative

08/12/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For health reasons my family decided to ditch the fried food, and try a more healthy alternative. The first night we tried this, we made onion rings, low fat jalapeno poppers, and calamari rings. The recipes were a mixed success, but the cooking was perfect. The onions were soft and done, the outside of everything was crispy and not over done. The calamari was just as good as at the restaurant without all the grease. Chicken was made the next day. Not one squirt of oil, and it was the juiciest, most delicious chicken ever made in this house. Bottom line is, the product works, it works well, and we are VERY happy. A few words of caution. If you are purchasing this product with the expectation that the food comes out tasting fried, those results are only achieved with meat products. Vegetables are done and tasty, but not the same. Also, it is BIG. It takes up a fair amount of counter space, and only cooks small portions at a time. If you have a large family, expect to make multiple batches. As the screen is hard to clean, aluminum foil on top of it is recommended for easier cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
06/14/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using the Oil-less fryer for a few months now, and it is hands-down my favorite kitchen appliance. I'm on a fairly restricted nutrition plan and eat TONS of boneless skinless chicken breasts. Broiling or baking turns chicken breasts into nasty little hockey pucks very quickly, and I could never quite figure out how to fully cook the chicken without drying it out. The Oil-less fryer makes it easy: I pop the chicken in, set the timer for 15-20 minutes, and get chicken that (really is) crispy and browned on the outside and moist on the inside. It's awesome. I've only been able to achieve comparable texture with my steamer, but the steamer takes much longer and doesn't cook the chicken as thoroughly. I've also "fried" potatoes and sweet potatoes with very good results.
As you can tell, I'm a huge fan of this oven, and I hope it keeps working for a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Makes Best Fried Chicken Ever!!

11/23/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit because I had a gastric bypass surgery recently and am not able to tolerate fried foods. My wife used this unit to cook chicken with only two squirts of olive oil from a squirt bottle provided by the manufacturer. My entire family was shocked to find that the chicken is absolutely the very best fried chicken that we've ever had. This product is the best kept secret in food preparation on the market today. We just bought the product two days ago but have enthusiastically recommended it to family members and friends. Today, my father in law bought two of them and my wife is about to buy another as a present for a friend. I highly recommend this product to anyone that is trying to improve their eating lifestyle or that cannot tolerate greasy foods. Again, this wonderful product "fried" the best chicken that I've ever had and used only two small squirts of olive oil. I wish this product had been available 20 years ago because I'd sure be a lot healthier today if it had been. One other thing about this product is that I purchased it at a Wal-Mart Supercenter and the actual price was slightly less than the online price which was a very pleasant surprise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Convection did not work first time, first day

06/11/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to use this for my cod breaded in panko. It did not take long to realize that even at the highest heat setting 480f and 30 minutes later, it just wasn't going to cook the fish. I realized the convection fan was silent. The out side wasn't even hot. I am not giving up, I got a lemon, I will try another one. As I see some people get one that works. I won't bother with the manufacturer though no one else had any luck with them. At least Walmart takes care and stands behind the things they sell. So, I will return it tomorrow and see if they will send me another because none of the stores in my area have any in stock. I will update this when I have successfully cooked a meal in the new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

EVERYONE should cook this way!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't get over the efficiency and ease of this product....Yeah, it's bulky, but WHO cares!!! Clear alower shelf or floor in your pantry and make room for the miracle tool! Southern Fried Chicken? Haven't had it in 30 years (always fighting the battle of the bulge) with THIS? Incredible...Crispy out, moist in! Next night? Veal chops breaded in panko....added a side of spaghetti and thought I was at my favorite Italian restaurant. Next up? Turkey breast....ok, ok, I admit I overcooked it (definitely my mistake) but still mosit and very very good! Next trick....can't wait to try fried chicken livers and (at a separate time)won tons! WELCOME BACK FRIED FOODS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Our Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

09/24/2012
By ,
Meridan, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our big boss is great. We have had ours for about 7 months now and it was well worth the money. We wanted to eat healthier and saw this and thought why not and tried it. Was the best decision we have made. It works great. We can do 2-3 courses at one time. Some recipes do have to be altered because it is not like cooking in oil and not like cooking in the oven but not much change in what you need to do from directions. Some things need a bit more time and others need less, just depends on what your cooking. Have fun experimenting, we have. There are other versions of this oil-less fryer out there and do not get mixed up with them. This is the one to get. Others have been found to not do what it sais it should do and break easily. The others are also smaller and do not cost as much as this one. This one cooks great and is easy clean up. At first I was very skeptical but after my dear husband cooked a couple dishes with it, we were both hooked. We use it every few days. We would use it more but we cook to where there are left overs so then we are not in the kitchen cooking all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Real Nice:)

07/25/2012
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband just purchased the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer about a month ago. I just was able to use it last week for the first time, I fried wings in it, used only two sprays of olive oil and they were GREAT!!!!! My husband used it for the second time last night, he used batter on the chicken parts, three sprays and placed them in the fryer. His chicken came out even better than mine, Crispy, Tasty and much healther for the entire family. We really have had a great experience so far with the fryer after two uses. Also the amount of time varies from the cook book, it all depends on if you like your meat well done or not. We really don't have any Cons about this product. ALSO easy to clean, just soak the racks and the glass container cleans with a towel and soap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Great way to cook chicken!

08/30/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this item for a friend who was dieting, but the more I looked at it the better I liked it. We got it and tried "fried" chicken breasts. The chicken was the best I have ever made period. I cut up the chicken in large pieces, and the smallest pieces were not over done. All of the chicken was tender and delicious. So good, my husband invited our neighbors over for more chicken. They pronounced the chicken awesome as well.
A recipe book comes with, but I bought shake and bake which was great. The only down was ours was missing the instruction booklet so I found it online and printed it. There is some vital info in the manual. For one, the handle has to be down for the device to be on. To check the chicken, you lift up the handle and this turns the cooker off. You don't turn off the timer when your product is done, just let the timer run down.
Today, I cooked half frozen chicken breasts and they were wonderful. I cut up the chicken into 1 inch pieces and cooked as for popcorn chicken. They were dipped in a beat up egg and done shake and bake style. In 15 minutes they were done tender and crispy as per my husband's taste. I made potatoes in a shake & bake style. They came out great as well. In our hot climate, this kind of cooker is a blessing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Very poor customer service.

09/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer I purchased would not get hot enough to cook very thinly sliced potatoes. After 45 minutes the potatoes were only warm. I could pick up the glass bowl with my bare hands. The fan never did come on. The customer service number is a recording that gives customer service numbers to a variety of other products but, not The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer. The customer service number also has an operator option that went to voicemail. Leaving a message was a waste of time. After two days there was no return call. I went to the Emson web site and sent an email that also got no reply. I realize I probably just got a defective unit but, with the poor customer service I did not want to risk another one so I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Works as advertised

06/19/2012
By ,
lorain, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i saw this on TV and then saw it at Walmart store. My doctor just told me that my husbands cholesterol is way over the limit and he just loves fried food so I figured for $89 I'll give it a try (by the way Walmart is like $30 cheaper than the price on tv)
And it really works great
I had t get used to the timing though but just like anything new you need to get used to it
Anyone who wants fried food with out all that Greece this is the fryer to get
Oh by the way they throw in a free recipe book and an oil spritzer
Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Excellent Appliance!!

07/09/2012
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recieved this for Mother's Day this year, and I have NOT fried anything in oil since I got it.. We have used it for chicken and wild turkey and french fries and even warming up cold pizza.. I highly recommend this product. It has a small recipe booklet inside, please note that it can be used with (Optional Olive Oil) a few sprays if you would like. Not necessary, our chicken comes out crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Does what hoped it would..

06/29/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had been debating buying a deep fryer, but just didn't want to deal with the mess they make, so had to try this oil-less fryer. Never intended to try cooking chicken or entrees in it, wanted it for french fries, tater tots, breaded shrimp, fish sticks, things like that. So far so good, cooks from the outside in and the inside out at the same time it seems. Have yet to add any oil to these types of frozen foods, and while not exactly like deep-fried, results are real close. As far as cooking speed, is slower than a deep fryer of course, but not all that much longer when you figure in the time it would take to heat oil. It does take up a lot of counter space, and will barely cook enough for two people, maybe, but over-all does what it says it will do. Am keeping it...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

FANTASTIC product!~

03/24/2013
By ,
Lakebay, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this on the Dr Oz TV show and it looked like a product that would be convenient and make healthy meals. It does exactly what it's advertised to do.................cooks VERY quickly and quietly! It's a snap to clean and cooks as promoted.........with NO or just a tiny spray of oil. French fries taste as good as deep fried, just with NO oil and in 1/3rd the time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

THIS ITEM ROCKS!!!

07/09/2012
By ,
dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this item. It does exactly what it said it would when I saw it on TV. Its efficient, its user friendly, and it does a great job of making products taste deep fried even though I am air frying them.
I have only one complaint and that is that its a bit large for just me. My mom says its time I settle down with a wife, so maybe the BIG BOSS will be the catalyst I need to make that happen!
Anyway, this is a great item that I will use for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer
02/02/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that this product would be excellent for a person who had no oven. It is quite large. Also it is attractive but heavy. Should be able to have it located in one special place and not have to put away after each use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

healthy choice and easy to use

01/20/2013
By ,
Prince Frederick, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In LONDON i saw air fried product, and did excellent cooking for French fries. However, there is no same product in U.S. The big boss oil-less fryer is the closed one i could found. I only tried to cook French fries and Fried chicken wings. French fries could not be done by following the recipe and the cooking min. Actually min needs to double. However, Chicken wings turned out excellent. it is fair to say that, it should be very good product considering healthy cooking way and easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next