Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Western Digital Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Boost your PC's performance with the Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB Hard Drive. It features Western Digital's exclusive WD GreenPower Technology making it ideal for devices that require low power consumption and cool, quiet operation. With 1TB of storage space, this internal hard drive can hold plenty of photos, audio files, documents and more. You can even store up to 526 hours of HD video. This hard drive operates at 5400RPM to ensure superior performance and is compatible with Windows 7, Vista, XP and 2000, and Mac OS X.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation78%7 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

So, far so, good not a Bad Hardrive.

11/04/2012
By ,
Abilene Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a problem at first getting it online,but I called Western Digital and got step, by step, instruction's from their Tech and got it Online and it, run's great it run's a lot faster than my PATA/IDE 160 Gig Drive. I partitioned it to run Vista and Linux Ubuntu Operating System's, on the same Hardrive and Win 7 Ultimate, so far it run's without a hitch,Great Tech Service and,excellent product.....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Very good product

02/28/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I got this product: When I booted my computer, I kept getting an error that said "no bootable device found" and decided it was best to replace the hard drive and re-install the operating system. (New motherboard did not solve this problem for me)
Note: this hard drive does not come with any screws or cables. Only the hard drive itself! Use the screws and cables already in your computer.
1) Opened up the side panel of my desktop PC (make sure PC is powered off and power cables unplugged - you don't want to get shocked!)
2) Unplugged all of the cables going into my old hard drive
3) Unscrewed the mounting unit (case) that contained the hard drive
4) Unscrewed the old hard drive from the mounting unit and replaced it with the NEW hard drive
5) Screwed all of the cables into the NEW hard drive
6) Closed the side panel of the PC and re-plugged the power cables into the computer
7) Booted the computer and inserted a disc of my operating system
8) Installed the operating system on the new hard drive.
Done! Everything works great! Very happy with the product and the price. Hope you like it too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Does Not Work

03/27/2014
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Computer does not show anywhere
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Great Product Great Price

11/19/2013
By ,
Hugo, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this for my Security system DVR. It's awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Doesn't come with Sata cables

12/12/2013
By ,
RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drive came ready to go. Easy to upgrade. However, make sure you have available Sata cables in your machine or you will be making a trip to radio shack for required connector cables. Walmart doesn't carry them in most stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

the product is great, speed is very good

09/14/2013
By ,
Lake Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only disappointment was that Walmart did NOT include the four screws needed to install the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive
07/02/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good option for the price, only one comment i received the HD without any of these (supplier box, instruction manual, screws and Sata cable)..Fortunately i had all those components in my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Not sure what everyone is talking about.

10/25/2013
By ,
Bicknell in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the 500 gb green drive as my primary drive lasted five years.When it went out I ordered this one no problems yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

VERY POOR RELIABILITY!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/12/2013
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I installed this drive & installed Windows 7 Ulimatye 32-Bit IS & drive failed within 1 week!!!!!!
Would not purchase another Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Caviar Green
Posted 09/14/2013
Western Digital Caviar GREEN hard drives are not meant for working environments. They are specifically for backup purposes. These drives are slower, "greener", quieter, cooler etc.. The hard drives are not meant to be your primary HDD. Sorry for the confusion.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Midwestern USA
Perhaps............
Posted 09/12/2013
I guess I would not condemn a product or vendor if i have a problem with their product, IF THEY REACT TO THE PROBLEM AND TAKE CARE OF IT. HDDs, after all, are delicate and get bounced all around the world in getting to you from the manufacturer. Did WD or WalMart or whoever take care of this problem, or did you deny them the opportunity. Did you ever consider how very few times complicated and sensitive devices DO NOT FAIL?? Consider that, then count your blessings, be charitable. They did not deliberately create a malfunctioning drive just for you, you know? Thanks for your patience.
ssmiley12
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)