Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Western Digital Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Boost your PC's performance and dramatically increase your storage space with the Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive. It features Western Digital's exclusive WD GreenPower Technology, making it ideal for devices that require low power consumption and cool, quiet operation. This internal 1TB desktop hard drive can hold a large volume of photos, audio files, documents and more. It can store up to 526 hours of HD video, likely more than enough for all your home movies. The SATA 6Gbps flexible interface has fast transfer speeds to make data storage and retrieval even easier. This Western Digital desktop hard drive operates at 5400RPM to ensure superior performance. It is compatible with Windows 7, Vista, XP and 2000, and Mac OS X, and installs in any standard-size available bay in your desktop unit.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation75%9 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

So, far so, good not a Bad Hardrive.

11/04/2012
By ,
Abilene Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a problem at first getting it online,but I called Western Digital and got step, by step, instruction's from their Tech and got it Online and it, run's great it run's a lot faster than my PATA/IDE 160 Gig Drive. I partitioned it to run Vista and Linux Ubuntu Operating System's, on the same Hardrive and Win 7 Ultimate, so far it run's without a hitch,Great Tech Service and,excellent product.....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

The Hard Drive I got was used!

05/06/2014
By ,
JBaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The hard drive arrived on time. I was very excited when I got it because my current hard drive is failing. When I opened the box, I found the hard drive was not in a box from the Western Digital factory. It was in a static bag with plastic supports. There was not any cables, no manual or CD in the box. I have bought hard drives in the past from Seagate that had cables, manuals, and CDs in the box sealed at the Seagate factory. I should have stuck with Seagate, but the Western Digital hard drive had more storage for the price than the Seagate ones sold on walmart.com.
I tried to install the Western Digital hard drive for two days. It would not work on my Compaq Presario. The hard drive had read errors. It took 6 hours to format the hard drive to go with my operating system and it still did not work. I downloaded software from the Western Digital website, but that did not help. I will not purchase another hard drive from walmart.com. When I purchase something for my computer, I want it to be new, sealed in a box from the manufacture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Very good product

02/28/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I got this product: When I booted my computer, I kept getting an error that said "no bootable device found" and decided it was best to replace the hard drive and re-install the operating system. (New motherboard did not solve this problem for me)
Note: this hard drive does not come with any screws or cables. Only the hard drive itself! Use the screws and cables already in your computer.
1) Opened up the side panel of my desktop PC (make sure PC is powered off and power cables unplugged - you don't want to get shocked!)
2) Unplugged all of the cables going into my old hard drive
3) Unscrewed the mounting unit (case) that contained the hard drive
4) Unscrewed the old hard drive from the mounting unit and replaced it with the NEW hard drive
5) Screwed all of the cables into the NEW hard drive
6) Closed the side panel of the PC and re-plugged the power cables into the computer
7) Booted the computer and inserted a disc of my operating system
8) Installed the operating system on the new hard drive.
Done! Everything works great! Very happy with the product and the price. Hope you like it too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo, NY
Not as fast as most modern ones
Posted 06/28/2014
This only 5400rpm & has no cache. Not quite as fast as most popular modern hard drives at 7200rpm & up to a 16mb cache. I'd gladly sacrifice less space for more speed & performance. Also I would not use a 1tb drive for your OS. That's way to much data to lose or back up all the time if it gets infected or wears out. Use the larger drive as a second internal or external drive to save all your files & large files on, & a smaller one to put your OS on. The OS will spin & wear the drive out faster, while the drive for files spins less, & works less so it will last a lot longer. Also if the OS gets corrupted or infected, the drive with your files can still be accessed on any computer or after a clean install. Also the larger drive can hold backup copies of the OS on the smaller drive.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

veary good

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice prodict set up was not to hard nice to have some room on the drive now
thank you
RJAB4949
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

lack of knowledge and memory made a slow install

07/23/2014
By ,
Oregon, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
computer would not recognize the hard drive and it would not show up in my computer. After trying different jumper settings, and some angry words I remembered that the hard drive may not be formatted. after I formatted it and left off the jumpers it was easy as pie. Works well and am happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Great Product Great Price

11/19/2013
By ,
Hugo, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this for my Security system DVR. It's awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive
07/02/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good option for the price, only one comment i received the HD without any of these (supplier box, instruction manual, screws and Sata cable)..Fortunately i had all those components in my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

the product is great, speed is very good

09/14/2013
By ,
Lake Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only disappointment was that Walmart did NOT include the four screws needed to install the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Doesn't come with Sata cables

12/12/2013
By ,
RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drive came ready to go. Easy to upgrade. However, make sure you have available Sata cables in your machine or you will be making a trip to radio shack for required connector cables. Walmart doesn't carry them in most stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Not sure what everyone is talking about.

10/25/2013
By ,
Bicknell in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the 500 gb green drive as my primary drive lasted five years.When it went out I ordered this one no problems yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bicknell in
Still working fine
Posted 04/25/2014
Ten months later still no problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

Does Not Work

03/27/2014
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Computer does not show anywhere
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive

VERY POOR RELIABILITY!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/12/2013
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I installed this drive & installed Windows 7 Ulimatye 32-Bit IS & drive failed within 1 week!!!!!!
Would not purchase another Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green SATA 6Gbps Desktop Hard Drive!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Caviar Green
Posted 09/14/2013
Western Digital Caviar GREEN hard drives are not meant for working environments. They are specifically for backup purposes. These drives are slower, "greener", quieter, cooler etc.. The hard drives are not meant to be your primary HDD. Sorry for the confusion.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Midwestern USA
Perhaps............
Posted 09/12/2013
I guess I would not condemn a product or vendor if i have a problem with their product, IF THEY REACT TO THE PROBLEM AND TAKE CARE OF IT. HDDs, after all, are delicate and get bounced all around the world in getting to you from the manufacturer. Did WD or WalMart or whoever take care of this problem, or did you deny them the opportunity. Did you ever consider how very few times complicated and sensitive devices DO NOT FAIL?? Consider that, then count your blessings, be charitable. They did not deliberately create a malfunctioning drive just for you, you know? Thanks for your patience.
ssmiley12
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)