Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Westinghouse Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Westinghouse Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

The Westinghouse 40-inch Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV delivers brilliant pictures in true 16:9 aspect ratio. Wide viewing angles reduce glare to create clear views from more areas in a room. Its 100,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and high brightness of 360cd/m2 gives you deeper blacks and brighter whites while its full spectrum color produces brilliant images. The full HD 1080p LCD HDTV features a response time of 6 milliseconds for blur-free, seamless picture movements. The built-in tuner broadcasts digital TV signals, including HDTV programs. Get the most out of your HD experience by connecting up to three HD devices via the included HDMI ports. This wall-mountable LCD TV is Energy Star-rated so it consumes less power and saves on your energy bills. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Westinghouse 40-inch HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation86%185 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great for the money

07/21/2012
By ,
elgin, illnois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought on impulse via the website. The price was so attractive, and I like Wal-Mart. This 40" TV does all I need it to do. Plenty of connection optiions. Cool running. Straightforward menu to change features quickly. Decent remote. There are some TV's out there with slightly sharper definition, or web-straiming options, etc., but none within miles of this price. The picture looks great, actually. When I first auto-scanned to acquire my cable company's channels, it picked them all up. Later, I found that some had disappeared. I called the 800 number after fiddling with it, and got a live voice immediately. How cool is that! The person gave me correct instructions for re-set. All the channels popped back. All is fine and dandy now. What more could you ask of a product and its backup? The stand mounts off-set a bit which confused me, and no illustration to help with that install -- but no big deal. Buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 2 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

I'm happy with this item

06/26/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went with this item purely on price as it had no reviews at the time.
Bought this to replace my 9 yr old very expensive Samsung TV.
I had to buy this unexpectedly, since my old TV went out and I didnt have the money to replace it with the same quality TV I had.
This TV is great...has nice picture, good sound, and Im very happy with it.
Does not have all the bells and whistles of an expensive TV, and I dont mind.
This is a good inexpensive TV, and I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Review 3 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090
06/26/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A superb purchase, with which we are enormously pleased. The picture is easy to adjust, and the unit's splendid picture quality is visible from various points in our den. We match it with AT&T UVerse and have enjoyed it thoroughly. The remote is easy to use and a good navigational guide. The instructional manual is even easy to read and understand -- a BIG plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 4 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Good value, pretty good but not great performer.

07/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The speakers are out of the rear which throws sound towards another room which i don't like and they're just ok, not the greatest for music. I like the VGA input but most westinghouse tv's seem to have it. No alarm timer which is surprising considering this tv has a good amount of features. Definately worth the price despite a few things that are lacking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+22points
Review 5 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

GOOD FLAT SCREEN FOR THE PRICE

07/25/2012
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything about this TV is good, the only exception is the sound. If you are just going to watch regular cable TV the sound is fine but if you want quality sound for movies you will need a speaker system with this TV. I actually bought the Phillips brand sound bar with sub woofer to connect to the TV which made watching Blurays 100% better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 6 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great TV For The Price

05/17/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced an old Sony projection TV with the 40" Westinghouse LCD in my game room and it works great. I have a stereo system attached to the TV and the picture quality is simply great. It lacks the picture in picture that I used to have but for the price it's great because I think I paid close to 10 times the price of LCD today when I bought the old unit 10 years ago. The value is simply amazing to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+186points
Review 7 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Lovely TV overall!

10/15/2012
By ,
Sebring, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With this TV it was very easy to put together and set all my gaming systems up (Xbox 360, PS3, and PS2). The remote was a old fashioned and not that great of a signal but works well. The TV takes about 5 seconds to turn on but everyone only has time to spare. The TV has great picture quality and sound with an HDMI cable. As for the regular VA cable not that great in picture but the sound is still great. I will test the Y/Pr/Pb, L-channel, R-channel cables to see the sound and picture quality. I will update that hopefully. The shipping was slow 14 days but I picked from site to store which is slow but yay it saved me some money. It came in great condition and was not damaged. Overall all my gaming look amazing and the sound is great (you do not need the sound all the way up because it is plenty loud. Love it! ^_^
P.S.: I am a very picky buyer of anything I look at reviews and the specs. of anything I buy. Plus I am going to school now to be a Computer programmer. Love Technology!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great value but cannot use universal remote

07/18/2012
By ,
Standish, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price of this 40" 1080P flat panel is hard to dismiss. The picture quality is good. The sound is acceptable for built-in speakers. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent high-def TV. BUT, you should be aware that there doesn't seem to be a code for universal remotes that works properly. This includes Time Warner and DirecTV remotes. I can find a code to turn the TV off, but none that will turn it back on. Some may find this a minor inconvenience, but I find this a major pain in the buttocks and may spend a little more next time to eliminate the need to keep track of two remotes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Learning Remote
Posted 07/22/2012
I ran into the same problem with an Olevia TV; so I bought a learning remote. A learning remote can learn from any other remote. You can teach it the commands from your TV remote, cable box remote, DVD player remote, etc. It's great because you can consolidate all the functions you need into one remote.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

A nice TV set.

07/08/2012
By ,
Mason Neck Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality is exceptional for the very reasonable price and included free shipping.
The remote works well and the sound quality can be changed whether watching movies or streaming music through my Apple tv via my computer. I would recommend this television to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 10 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great Value, Love it

07/08/2012
By ,
Rochester, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about this TV was a great value in my opinion. It looks great and the stand is sturdy.. other reviews have complained about the sound quality but flat screens are not generally known for having theatre surround sound.. In my opinion the sound on this TV is wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 11 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Luv my Westinghouse 40" LCD TV

08/13/2012
By ,
Antioch, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this television I did my research on line and through out the news paper ads. Most of the prices were high to higher, I wanted a 40" within my budget ...more or less I wanted bang for my buck. Walmart.com provided me with everything that I was looking for in a beautiful 40" flat screen tv. I wasn't thinking Westinghouse however not at all disappointed. I read the reviews and compared the price over Best Buy, they have the exact 40" for $30 more. Walmart shipped it straight to my door free of charge and all I had to do was move it upstairs and enjoy. When I received it my grandson set it up for me which was extremely easy and I was just over joyed at the clarity and depth of color that this television gives. I have it in my bedroom and it presents the viewing of a large screen tv and did I mention loving the sleep timer, I no longer have to sleep with the tv on and have it disturbing my rest. It may not have all the bells and whistles of the name brand televisions however for the money and quality I'm very well satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great bang for the buck

07/16/2012
By ,
Westlake, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for a 42" plasma. 1080P plus LCD, the cheap price & free shipping sold me. Sound is not great but it's average. Picture quality is very good, I think you definitely need a blu-ray player to notice it.
I've only had it for a week and the only bad thing I'll say is that there are to many steps to switch from tv to avi to hdmi. You have to choose and select, an extra step from my old tv.
Also I channel surf a lot. Seems to be a 2 second delay between selecting a channel and it popping up on the screen.
Overall happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Not bad for the buck

07/09/2012
By ,
Decatur, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pic looks great and it was a great price. Got as a back up and really happy with it. Only problem I see is there is a slight noise you hear every once in a while. I think it's the cooling fan but hardly ever notice it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 14 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great Basic TV!

07/22/2012
By ,
Hallandale Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Westinghouse TVs are a great value. If you are looking for a basic TV with really good picture quality and reliability, go for Westinghouse. This is my second Westinghouse. Not a replacement but an additional TV. I bought my first Westinghouse LCD TV 6 years ago and it is like I just took it out of the box. Buy this one and you will not be sorry. I'm glad I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great TV

06/12/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this tv as a gift and had not previously looked at Westinghouse. This TV has a great picture. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 16 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great Tv

07/21/2012
By ,
Oconto Falls, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv for my new apartment in collage. I searched every where bestbuy, target, shopko, and walmart. I read every review went on to you tube and found reviews and i took a chance on this tv and it paid off. It is amazing the tv was packaged nice and was easy to set up. 3 questions when you first turn it on and you are ready to go. Any one that is nervous about buying this tv does not half to be it is just as good as my partents 40 inch vizio but for half the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 17 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Average TV, dead pixel on arrival

07/26/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The picture quality of the TV is not bad, average for cheap 1080p LCD TV's. The connectivity is good, audio out, VGA, 3x HDMI are all there. The bad part I experienced was a dead pixel in the middle of the screen. It's only noticeable when the screen is dark, and the manufacturer wouldn't do anything about it since "it was only 1 pixel". Returned to Wal-Mart for a refund, but probably would have kept it otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

I'm shocked

08/04/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is awesome. I got it on sale and I wish I had enough money to buy 2 or 3. It looks awesome, great quality picture, and is energy efficient. total A+. I have it hooked up as a PC monitor and I haven't had any issues with it. .. . so far so great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090
09/22/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This super 40" flat screen TV cost me the same amount I paid for a Visio 29" a year ago! The picture is flawless, the profile is thin, it's 1080P, and was a cinch to hook up using the HDMI cable I ordered at the time of purchase. For those of you who don't know: you need to buy a HDMI cable to attach your DVR as one does not come with it. You can use RCA cables by HDMI is what it says; high def multimedia and other than plugging in the power cord there is nothing else you need to do. The only complaint I have heard from my family is that it is hard to see the red or blue lights that signal the power is on or off. I mounted it on the wall and that always takes two people but the TV itself is very lightweight. Wonderful buy and hope this raving review doesn't jinx the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090

Great TV, especially for the price.

09/14/2012
By ,
Rome, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a bigger TV that didn't have a big price tag, but was still good quality. That's exactly what I got with this TV. I was kind of hesitant to purchase it because of some bad reviews, but took a chance with it anyway. It is a really good TV. Perfect size, good picture, and I really do think that it has good sound. Mine sounds just like the VIZIO I had before purchasing this TV. The only thing I do not like about this TV is it only has one hookup on the back. So if I want to watch a movie, I have to unhook my satellite box and hook up my DVD player. I'm sure there is something I can buy that will allow me to have both hooked up at the same time. Other than that, good TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next