Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Average Customer Rating:
2.694 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation53%19 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Yes, it works...

08/23/2012
By ,
Castle Rock, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My four year old saw this on TV and wanted it for his birthday. I hit the web to see the reviews on it and was surprised at how polarized the reviews were. Most people either liked or hated it. It either worked for them or it didn't. After reading through a lot of reviews, I decided that it was probably worth the money, if nothing else for the novelty and science lesson. I ordered it online from Wal-Mart and picked it up in the store. Following the advice of the most positive reviews, I made sure to freeze the ice cubes overnight, chill the liquid beforehand and only filled the glass about half way. Following this route, I've been able to get a decent slushy after about 3 minutes of me (adult) shaking it. We’ve used cherry Kool-Aid and lemonade. My kids love it. You get a much lighter slush than you ever would in a blender with ice and the drink is not watered down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Slushy Magic

06/16/2012
By ,
Pgh,PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband picked this up while at the store. The kids have been asking for one for a while now and were very excited to finally get their hands on it! The first time we used it we let the cubes freeze for three hours, and the drink was chilled in the fridge for the same amount of time, yet the drink did not become slushy, only had a few pieces of ice in it. The kids were dejected. But I suggested to put the cubes back in the freezer along with their drink. The did that for about an hour, then placed the cubes inside the super chilled drink, and bam, we had a slushy like you see on the commercial. They've had the Slushy Magic for over a month now, and they still use it almost daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Fun and Educational for the Kids

05/22/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my kids and they love it. They are amazed how their favorite drink can turn into a slushy... They ask to use it almost every night. One thing I noticed is make sure you use all of the ice packets that come with it. If you only use two it will not freeze enough and makes it cold with a little slush on top. If you use all three right out of the freezer it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Good slushy maker, but hard to use

07/19/2012
By ,
Seattle, wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids loved this when they saw the commerical, but we were wating until it came to the store. When it finally came to walmart. We bought it. The bad part is that it is kind of hard to use, but to make it work right you have to have the 3 freezer cubes completely frozen which took two days in our freezer. Then you have to make sure your juice or drink you put in it is really cold. We chilled in the freezer. You then have to shake for more than 1 minute sometimes up to 7 minutes to turn it into a slushy. My kids really enjoyed making it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

My daughter loves this!

08/14/2012
By ,
London, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great for little kids! My daughter is 3 and she loves it. I only gave it 4 stars because it's pretty messy. I would recommend shaking it over the sink it does leak. Also make sure the cubes are froze solid not just slushy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Slushy Magic Not So Slushy?

11/27/2012
By ,
Westminster, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The instructions do say that the colder the beverage, the better the slushy. This is OH SO TRUE! We found that unless the beverage is already really cold, we could not get Slushy Magic to make a slushy. It just made the beverage colder. Our beverages had to be 36 degrees F or colder in order for ourts to work at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Debris in "magic cubes"

07/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just got home and washed the cubes off only to notice that there is debris floating in 2 of the 3 cubes. It honestly looks like mold! This nasty and shows there is no quality control so the product is going straight back to the store. I will NOT buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

So-So product

05/18/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just like that "Eggie" I bought a while back, the Slushy Magic will probably end up at my next garage sale table. If you're expecting a convenience store type slushy with this product, forget it. But it does make an very cold drink with a little slush floating on top, so I'm not giving it an F.
Also, be sure to do your shaking over a sink. Even with the lid screwed on tight, it leaks like crazy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Las Vegas
Waste of money
Posted 06/04/2012
I thought I may have bought a broken cup. But reading the reviews I see I'm not the only one having the same problem. Even with the lid screwed tight the cup leaks like crazy when you shake. Even if you fill up under the fill line. Don't purchase it's a waste of money .
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Makes a 'slushy' SORT OF...

06/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these yesterday.. not at Walmart, but at one of those last consumer warehouses, so I paid $2 less.. Bought them because everyone at my house is ALWAYS at 7-11 buying Slurpees, and, well, can't afford a Slurpee machine. Yes, I knew this is more of a 'kiddie' thing... but, the amount of 'slushy' you get from it, and the POOR quality, the KIDDIE you buy this for better be in the age range of 2-4 years of age! -the cup is about 8-12 oz. BUT, you need to freeze these 3 'magic slushy cubes' #for about 2 hours#and these 3 cubes take up MOST OF THE CUP!!! Also, the instructions DO TELL YOU that the drink you pour in your 'slushy cup' MUST be cold, and the colder the better.. and THEY AIN'T LYING!!! I was using EXTREMELY COLD SODA.. and my slushy was no wear near the quality of a SLURPEE!!! I went and poured MY SLUSHY into another cup.. and my 'slushy' MELTED!! #DID NOT LIKE GOING AROUND THE FAKE GIANT CUBES!#
I paid $7 at the other place.. for a cup, lid, long spoon, and 3 'ice cubes' that resemble breast implants.. I figure the cost to make this product is under 50 cents.. I figure PARENTS will get tired of washing this after a few times OR the kids will BREAK a few of the cubes...
ALSO.. if you are 'SLUSHING' SODA.. it is wise to read the instructions! #to make these WONDERFUL SLUSHYS.. you must SHAKE the cup-with lid on it of course- for a few minutes-. The lid has a TINY hole on the top of it. If you are doing SODA, you must take your finger OFF the top every 3,4 shakes or so.. I will admit, I did not read it all, and thought I did not have a full seal on the cup, as I kept getting soda all over me! Pays to read!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Not Worth $15

07/22/2012
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's NOT completely worthless. It DOES make a slushy. But most of the room is taken up by the cubes so you don't get much slushy. It's a cute product for the kids to shake but at nearly $15 a piece? You have to buy one per child because it's not enough to share and that's too much money to spend on a product like this in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

It works!!!

11/29/2012
By ,
MASS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical that this would work when my daughter got it for her bday. It does work and she's made many drinks with it. She loves it and I'm happy that it worked for her since she was excited to get it as a gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

WASTE OF MONEY

08/20/2012
By ,
ILLINOIS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. I TRIED MANY TIMES AND I COULD NOT MAKE A SLUSHIE THE ONLY TIME IT TURNED INTO A SLUSHIE WAS WHEN I LEFT THE WHOLE CUP IN THE FREEZER FOR A FEW HOURS. WASTE OF 15 BUCKS. WELL AT LEAST MY DAUGHTER HAS A NEW CUP. BUT WE ARE MAD!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker
01/03/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son was very happy to recieve his slushy magic for Christmas. He say this is the best toy ever.
Thanks again for getting it here before Christmas, so my son had something to open on Christmas Day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Junk

09/02/2012
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried a soft drink and chocolate milk; did not make a "slushie", only collected ice directly on the reusable cubes. If I had been a child (I had intended to buy more for children in my charge), I would have been sorely disappointed in the whole world.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

dont use slushy magic

02/16/2014
By ,
st.lucia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not like this product. waste of money. when I got to my home to see how it works I was so disappointed to see that it only made my drink slightly cold. when I see anything like this product again I will never buy it. thumbs down to this product. don't make my mistake. save your money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker
12/30/2012
By ,
Huntingdon, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter loves it. However, as a parent I am not a big fan. It makes a mess, and you get more drink then you do slushy.. It works for kids.. However, it's messy!! I wouldn't say it's great, but it's not terrible either. Just an average product!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Actually Works!

01/01/2013
By ,
Cortland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The science behind it is sound but you still have to questions whether it will work. It's just like the old ice cream makers. salt and ice create intense cold. Will we use it on a regular basis, probably not but kind of neat on occasion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker
01/03/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 6 year old grandson, he absolutely loves it. It is easy enough for him to use himself. I like that you can use your own juice and don't have to buy extra packages for this. Would recommend this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker
07/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter pick this for a birthday gift and was so excited to get it home. She was so disappointed! It didnot freeze much and she almost cried! This is going back!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Slushy Magic Slushy Maker

Awesome! But

12/30/2012
By ,
Morehead, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works great but it's not mess free like it says on the box. I suggest u shake it over the sink or wrap a towel around it or u will have liquid all over the place
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next