Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

The Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC lets you access popular games and apps from the GetJar marketplace. This all-in-1 Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC lets you browse the web, watch YouTube videos, check email and much more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation71%25 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Priced for what you are getting.

07/13/2012
By ,
Thousand Oaks, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PROs:
Affordable (kind of) - Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich - Big enough color LCD screen (9.7) with multitouch - Preloaded with simple apps - decent WiFi Connectivity - Considerable storage space @ 8 Gig - USB for external Storage and keyboard and mouse devices - Extended 16+ Gig microSD Slot (might be limited to a certain capacity, not sure). Has rear and front camera with decent megapixs @ 2 and 3 . includes built in speakers and microphone (will do skype or viber) - Has animated wallpaper.
CONs:
No Bluetooth connectivity (what a let down) - Battery is average to 3-4.5 hours (will shorten as it gets older) - It does not have Android market, uses GetJar. - When installing Skype and Viber togther it will uninstall the other communicator, it only allows one to exist. - USB Bluetooth devices does not seem to work using included usb adaptor, and usb apks or drivers are hard to find and most does not work (any hacks is greatly appreciated and anticipated - Please hack it!) - @ this moment (7/13/2012) NO downloadable Device support at CobyUSA.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Over all great Value

05/11/2012
By ,
Southern CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this an awesome deal. I've had my for a month now it is a great internet tablet. This is not an ipad, but an excellent alternative for 1/3 the cost. If your considering buying an ipad as gift for a young child 13 or under this is a great alternative.
Pros: - the latest Android OS 4.0
- great internet tablet
- great size (same as ipad)
- great dispaly
- able to download AMAZON app / kindle. netflic etc
- USB connection
- HDMI output
- PRICE cannot beat the price for Adroid 4.0 10" tablet
Con: - No ANDROID APP market (Now called Google Play) although you can download and install via a semi-hack way
- processor speed is responsive but not as fast as ipad, but good enough
- back plastic feel flimsy and cheap
Over all great Value
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+58points
Review 3 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Great tablet

05/12/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tablet. The large screen is wonderful. I have never had a problem with it. Great product for the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Posted 05/18/2012
Can you tell me what cases you found to be compatible? Before I make this purchase, I would like to make sure it's protected all the way around, and their isn't many accessories out for this tablet, as of yet.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Awesome Tablet

05/15/2012
By ,
Joplin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an Awesome tablet at a great price. I've had it for about a month and not one single problem. My friends, who already had tablets, now want mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 5 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

LOVE IT

06/01/2012
By ,
MIDDLETOWN, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS TABLET FOR MY 10YR OLD SON AND WE ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! IT IS JUST LIKE THE IPAD, SAME SIZE AND SIMILAR FEATURES FOR $200 LESS. I'M ABOUT TO ORDER A SECOND COBY TABLET FOR MY MOM THAT'S HOW GOOD IT IS. SHIPPING WAS SUPER FAST GOT IT WAY BEFORE THE TIME, ORDERED IT TUESDAY AND RECIEVED IT THURSDAY NOT BAD WALMART..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 6 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black
06/21/2012
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm thoroughly enjoying my new tablet. I'm no techy and don't have a complicated phone and I found this easy to learn. It was a little complicated to put flash player on because it doesn't accept adobe but i eventually found one to download. My girlfriend has an Ipad and it's no Ipad but it isn't several hundred dollars for something that will be obsolete with something newer and greater. It's a great price for a tablet with dual camera, enough speed for me. I did a great deal of research before I purchased this and noticed on another website it was $100 more. The apps you can find like newspapers from all over the world, radio stations from all over the world. I didn't buy this for games but for reading and using the internet and it definitely meets my needs. It is nice and lightweight compared to my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Coby Could have done much better with their tablet

06/07/2012
By ,
Jamaica, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros:
This Tablet comes with Android 4.0, clear crisp screen, Netflix looks great on it, and internet works fine.
Apps You Can Get:
Kindle, Nook, Netflix, Twitter, games, NBC Nightly News ( The only news app they have), Pandora, Skype, and many unknown/ unpopular apps.
Cons:
No Google play. Comes with Jetjar and it has very few good apps. You can download the amazon app store, which is way better than Jetjar, but no app store can top Google play. Amazon app store still don't have all the apps you might want. You can also download the SlideMe Market, but once again, you won't find a lot of cool apps. Tablet comes with 2 cameras (Web and back cam). They both seem to work fine, but I had some problems using Skype to video chat (Note that Skype is the only app you'll be able to get for video chatting) you can see the person you call, but they can't see you on their end. So what good is the web cam then? Guess it's just there to take pics, but I don't know if the reason is because the tablet I have has some type of defect. The tablet comes with wack apps. The only social networking app you can download is twitter from the Jetjar app store.
Conclusion:
It all depends on what you want to do. It might be good for some people who want to use it for eReading (Kindle, Bible, Kolo, & Nook app), Netflix, games, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 8 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Good product -- good price

06/25/2012
By ,
Altoona, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not knowing if I would even use a tablet (I'm a heavy computer user -- laptop and desktop), I thought this would be a logical product to try. The price (on sale when I ordered it) was great. It arrived quickly and worked perfectly from day one. I have downloaded lots of different apps and even purchased the Office/app to view and edit documents and powerpoints. Have used it everyday since it arrived to check all my email accounts; googled maps and information for a trip; have downloaded several books I am reading; Facebook; games; music, just about everything. It connects easily to a USB port and a TV for larger for synching and viewing. I'm sure there are more powerful tablets on the market, but this one is great for my uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Worth the $$ for what it is.

06/19/2012
By ,
Clearwater Fla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad little tablet for a low price.
Pros: very bright crisp display, easily connects to wifi, good battery life, ability to connect external keyboard / mouse combo with usb. My skype works great on it.
Cons: Getjar app suit is total trash. It's full of junk apps. Found one news app for USA Today and installed it, app said it was too old and gave an update link that lead to Google Play that this device can not access. You cant get access to Google Play period. Must be the Android licensing. I think this my worst experience with it. However if you have another device it's fairly simple to back up your apps on that device with Astro, then transfer them to Coby's download directory via usb cable connected to your pc. You can install any .apk apps from there easily with it's included file manager. Beware some of your apps will not work. Possibly because there is no menu key in Android 4.0.
I have loaded Opera Mobile browser on it, along with Adobe flash to be able to view embedded videos. This tablet handles Opera Mobile much better than it's included Android browser. However if your browsing a site with a lot of graphics, give the page time to fully load before trying to scroll down it. I also recommend using the resource manager to kill any unneeded processes that stay running after you go back to the home screen before doing any serious web browsing.
But remember, this is not an iPad. It's a cheap generic tablet that is great for a beginner, or a child. If your a perfectionist and demand excellence, this probably is not the unit for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

i bought 2!

06/30/2012
By ,
chino,ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So my spouse is deployed , i bought this product becuase of the the front and back camra. Well as all people know that the time differences is huge and opportunity to skype or video chats very small .the camra did not work! So i had 2 waste my time and gas to return items that said I can video chat. went back online and got the same product because it was a good tablet , other then the camera not working. waited for the tablet to be shipped back to me ....more time without seeing my spouse !! finally got my new tablet come to find out it's not the camera it's the product that doesnt work!! had to waste my time and gas again for the second time to return the product. I just purchased a different tablet online and now have to wait for it to be shipped to me. not only did this product not do what it was supposed to do but I've lost precious time to spend with my spouse .my daughter is 4years and this is hard for all of us . sad thing about it is I had a great tablet for skyping and but the internet slow on it, and it was returned. this will be my fourth tablet I have purchased within a month and a half ! all i want is to see my spouse....:-(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 11 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

not for downloading movies

09/09/2012
By ,
TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this because it was my son's 9 th bday.
We have two long trip that are coming up and thought it would be a good way to occupy the time. IPlaying games and watching movies. If there is a way to download movies I couldnt find it and I work in the IT field Im not technically challenged.
I returned it the same night I received it in the mail and exchanged it for a little more expensive but does what I want Nexus 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 12 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

You get what you pay for

09/11/2012
By ,
Chalreston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did what I thought was fairly solid research before purchasing this product for my mom's birthday. She wanted a tablet to play games like Scramble, Drawsomething, and mess with Facebook. These are all apps that are not compatible with this tablet. They say there are comparable apps, but whats the point if you can't play with your friends? I've already returned it and will be getting something compatible with Google.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 13 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

great tablet

09/21/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i browsed tablets for my niece,
being an Ipad user, was hard to judge tablets just by specs online,
tablet is great, easy to use, fast and powerful,
apps are plentiful,
for the price, paid $169 at BJ's, i would purchase this over an Ipad,
and no ads like kindle and such
it runs adroid 4.0 which i prefer over others,
interface is very very similar to Ipad,
no regrets,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Very disappointed

06/11/2012
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet because it had the latest software, an attractive price and good reviews but I was disappointed with my purchase. I liked the fact that there was a front facing camera as well as a rear facing camera. I particularily wanted to use the Skype App. I downloaded the App but it did not work. I tried uninstalling it and reloading it but it still didn't work.
I tried contacting Coby technical support to resolve the problem. When eventually I got through, the person on the other end was not very helpful. He said that I had to contact Skype. I couldn't find a phone number to contact Skype so I returned the tablet. I was also disappointed that some of the other Apps that I wanted to run were advertised as free but turned out to be only time-limited trial versions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 15 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black
08/13/2012
By ,
Independence, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisified with my coby tablet. I think it does the same as ipad, except for the price. Walmart again got my order on time. not damaged, and i know i got the lowest price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Not bad - Not great

08/23/2012
By ,
Brillion WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Arthritis made using a laptop with mouse or touch pad difficult and since retirement I do not need the laptops power except on occasion. I thought a tablet might be the answer and after a LOT of reading and shopping I decided to go low cost, just in case it did not fulfill my needs. Well the Coby MID9742-8 did. Once I got over the quirks and limitations and with the help of excellent telephone support this tablet performs just fine. I will not duplicate much of what is said in other reviews so here is my list of pros and cons.
PRO:
1. Nice size screen an it is bright enough I can even use it out side.
2. Card slot, hdmi port and USB port are useful and a surprise for a tablet at this cost.
3. Responsive screen and nice solid feel when holding it.
4. Fast charging which is good since battery life is not the best.
CONS:
1. Finger print magnet.
2. It is slow and sometimes hangs up when loading games.
3. Not all aps will work on it, even some GetJar aps. I had to load and delete a lot of aps to get it to do everything I wanted. Again thanks to excellent support staff.
4. Battery life is shorter than expected but for my use it is adequate.
I am happy with it. Just do not expect iPad/Samsung/Acer performance or utility and you won't be disappointed. A better tablet tablet for the dollar.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

great for kids! easy to load amazon apps...

06/11/2012
By ,
Tarrytown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know it's not an ipad but so what....It does more than I need it to do for a 9 year old. I have also loaded some apps from amazon app store that I like. So for us, it's great. Graphics are clear and bright. Battery life is decent. For 1/2 the price of an ipad, it's a great little device!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

Great tool for work and awesome toy for the family

05/31/2012
By ,
Lakeland Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing rocks..! Now my wife wants one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

dissapointed.

10/26/2012
By ,
wv
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i had my coby tablet shy of 2 weeks and it did well other than a couple of freeze ups until i was reading a book on it when the screen light went dark, upon calling customer service,was told it sounded like a light part went bad. in such a short time period, not highly likely i would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Coby MID9742-8 with WiFi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System, Black

tablet I received was defective

09/17/2012
By ,
Austin Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
product was shipped out of Arkansas. I think it had been returned. some of programs didn't work or were missing. called Coby technical support and they said to return product. product has been inspected and had sticker on it. not impressed with Cosby quality. returned product and bought Nexus 7
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next