Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Singer Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

The Singer 5400 Sew Mate sewing machine packs a punch! With features including 60 built-in stitches, variable needle positions and 4 fully automatic 1-step buttonholes, project possibilities are endless. The heavy-duty metal frame provides for overall durability and skip-free sewing. Push button stitch selection makes choosing your desired stitch foolproof, also assisted by the Stitch Guide included in your owner's manual. Easily reinforce stitches and sew in reverse with the Automatic Reverse button found on the front of the machine. The handy Quick Start Guide and Machine Intro DVD, included, will help you get started in no time!
Average Customer Rating:
3.493 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation66%51 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 98 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

An Excellent Buy

05/04/2012
By ,
Beaver Falls, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not one who usually leaves reviews, but this machine inspired me to write.
I've been an on-again, off-again sewer for the better part of two decades. I learned how to sew on my grandmother's 1950s model Singer sewing machine (hated it), and for the last ten years have used a Europro that my mom gave me as a graduation present. When the Euro-Pro died mid-project, I headed off to my local Walmart where they had this model in-stock.
I'll admit, I was nervous at first to buy this model, especially when I saw that it had "automatic" stitch width and length set. When I got home, I was preparing myself mentally for having to take it back, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the "automatic" settings can be changed very easily, and it sews like a dream. Honestly, for the first sewing machine I've ever purchased myself, I'm incredibly happy and would recommend this model highly to any sewer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+249points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Worst machine I have ever owned!

02/07/2014
By ,
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After not sewing in over 15 years I came across a craft project I wanted to make, so I bought this machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I figured I would never again be an avid sewer...then I had a granddaughter and I believe that is about to change!
This is my second machine. The first one I returned because I thought I had gotten a lemon. The replacement machine isn't any better.
The thread if constantly breaking. The bobbin gets bound up, the machine gives me a C4 error reading EVERY time i use it. I have re-threaded it, cleaned it, and cussed like a sailor more times than I care to count and it continues to go it. It is now skipping stitches. I thought maybe it was because I was using the zig-zag stitch, but it does it on a straight stitch too. My husband suggested taking it for an adjustment/cleaning. That will cost me $60. I can't justify it.
I regret buying this machine. I just want to bang my head against the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Love it! :)

10/16/2014
By ,
Lowell, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this today because I was sick of hand sewing guinea pig liners and pads for my little guy. I actually bought the Vivo singer sewing machine and was 50 bucks and it was so horrible. They were out of stock of the other sewing machines and so I just grabbed this and lugged it up my apartment. Hooked it up EZ and went sewing. Keep in mind, guinea pig liners are usually 3-4 layers of fleece & absorbent material. This machine ate it like it was nothing. I had about 5 C4 errors and it creeped me out really bad because the noise it makes is actually frightening, BUT, it was user error. I had the bobbin in the wrong way >.< (counter clockwise in the bobbin shell instead of clockwise). But this machine is great! Was expecting to return but was actually worth half of my paycheck haha. I am very happy and I've been sewing since I opened the package (It's been 5 hours and will probably be more) and completed so many liners, pads, etc. Imagine how long it would take for me to do it by hand? Haha :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

This is a great sewing machine

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initially I left a bad review on this because the one I got was suppose to be new and when I got home and opened it I found it was used which was really upsetting but walmart fixed that issue. I have been sewing on this machine for a couple weeks now and quite a bit I made a blanket and did a zig zag stitch applique for my babies name in large letters on it, I have made numerous cloth diapers and inserts with it and it has held up beautifully. This machine can take a beating. It sews Velcro, elastic and numerous layers of fabric just fine. Singer is a good brand and people need to stop knocking it. When you buy a singer they tell you that the inside is made from metal I do not see that anywhere on any of the brother sewing machines. It is a mystery what is in the inside of a brother. I have a brother to the 100 stitch project runway one and it runs great don't get me wrong but this runs better it purrs when it sews and it goes through thick layers much more smoothly! If I had to choose I would choose this over brother sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

good onlly for light fabric

06/22/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when i got it home i thought it was great quiet worked well on cotton and flannel though i had concern because it kind of remind me of a toy sewing machine because of how slow it ran but i said what the heck lets give it a chance. but when i tried to mend my daughters stretchy jeans the new needles i bought for jean material begain to break. i broke 4 needles. the 4th one was on a piece of cotton material while i was trying to figure out what was wrong with the settings after that it broke 3 more needles with out any fabric at all. when the machine snags the machine will continue to run for 30 to 40 seconds after you take your foot off the lever. its ok for light sewing but if your going to do any serious sewing quilting sewing though thick fabric extra it may tear up your machine. i will admit singer has gone way down in quality over the years. i learned how to sew on an older singer then was gifted a cheaper one with less bells and whistles but none the less got the job done for about a year then it too one day 5 different pattern settings would no longer feed though on my feed dogs on my singer simple almost like gears broke apart for them. so i thought i was doing well when i upgraded to what i thought was a more classy singer but i guessed wrong from now on i am going to take my business to either brother or Janome because singer has well declined in there products
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Sewing Machine

07/20/2013
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my sewing machine! My husband bought for my birthday gift. It was very easy to learn. The first time I used it was tricky for me but now, after 2 months of use, it's 2nd nature to operate. It is very smooth and easy to work with. I am currently working on a car seat canopy for a friend. It's 2 very thick fabrics together and I was worried if it could handle this or not. A thick flannel and dot minky together. But all I had to do was change the needle. That's it. It does what I need it to do, any stitch, no problem.
I have done small projects like a tab holder and cover, to throw pillows and drapes. It's seamless in the operation. I absolutely love this machine. The accessories are nice and affordable, it is easy to learn and operate, easy to clean, and most importantly it's there when you need it. The LED backlight is also a really nice extra.
I will eventually upgrade to one with more options, but I plan on keeping this one and teaching my daughter when she is old enough like my grandmother did with me. It's not much, but to me, passing this on to my daughter is priceless.
I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400
07/27/2012
By ,
Arvada Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Singer serwing machine for 45 years that has worked perfectly. I needed to replace it and chose this machine. The machine is wonderful. It does so many things and it sews on all weights of fabric without a hitch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Very disappointing!

05/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All 6 needles broke within a few hours of use. As others have said, the needles don't feed correctly. My son, who is very experienced, was beyond frustrated as he worked on a special dress for his sister, and we returned the machine to the store within 2 days of purchase. We opted for a Brother model which he LOVES and is much better! I would steer clear of this Sew Mate machine.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Disappointed

05/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When my over 20 year old Singer sewing machine decided to call it quits, I replaced it with this one. I was quite excited to have all of the neat little stitches at the press of a button and I love the needle threader! My first project went well and I was pleased. As soon as I started another project though, the thread kept breaking and the stitches kept getting knotted up. After checking that everything was set properly, I've come to the conclusion the machine is junk and am taking it back to the store. I'm left with a half finished project full of stitching knots and great disappointment in the Singer brand. I guess it's true that they don't make things like they used to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Too many error messages and problems

04/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My mother bought this for me on 02/22/15 as a late birthday gift. I was so excited! The machine worked well initially, but after using it for almost 8 weeks it's having repeated problems.
Like another reviewer my thread keeps getting bound up, knotting up, and I keep getting c4 messages on the display. We've taken it apart, cleaned it, re-assembled it, and the problem persists. It'll run briefly then we're back to the same.
We have noticed that the needle on this model appears to scrape the side of the metal plate as it goes through. We believe that this maybe the problem, and it is a design flaw. It isn't something that can be repaired by sending it to the standard shop.
The mechanism that brings the bobbin thread to the top is also ineffective and won't consistently do it's job 100% of the time. If you work with it enough eventually you can get it to do what it should, but it shouldn't take so many tries to get it to bring the thread around so that it can be pulled up.
We plan to take this machine back today, and I'm going to upgrade to a different model. I think this one simply isn't made as well as it should be.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400
07/06/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a beginner with sewing, have never owned a sewing maching, haven't even used one in 20+ years but I really wanted to get into sewing. This machine is great! I recieved the SewMate as a gift but the bobbin got hung up horribly after just a couple small projects so I upgraded a little to this machine. Very easy to use, simple threading, and I believe great for a beginner such as myself. Runs very smooth. It's pretty quiet too, I have a little one and I can use it just fine while he is napping in the other room. I would recommend this to anyone, even a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

First 2 machines were defective!

01/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I received my first machine as a Christmas gift. I went to use it and it made an odd clunk noise, which was the needle hitting the shuttle casing when it would go down. I thought, not a big deal, I will just exchange it. The next one will be perfect...wrong! Nowhere is this walmart's fault, but it is very frustrating to learn you have a second defective machine. The second one, the needle couldn't move side to side. It stayed aligned to the left. It at least sewed...kind of. Since the needle couldn't go back and forth it could sew a simple straight stitch. Now I was annoyed, so I called Singer. After an hour on hold, I finally spoke with a real person. (I was really hoping it was just an operator error this time, but had a gut feeling it was defective too.) and I was right, nothing could be done other than return the machine. I'm not sure what possessed me to even try a third machine, never am I so patient! But the next town over had one in stock so I exchanged. Thankfully, the third one works! It is a great machine, unless it's your third; then you're left with a sour taste in your mouth. I'm do love that it is simple to use and has several stitching functions.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Sewing Machine

11/14/2013
By ,
Apple Valley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Singer 5400 long enough to have completed one project and this sewing machine couldn't be easier to use and work more effortlessly. Though I am not an expert by any means I have always been thankful my Mom taught me how to sew on her old Singer. I found the instructions easy to use and complete. I find the reviews that comment otherwise inaccurate. The DVD provided was very helpful as well. So for a guy who is 61 and not sewn in years, this was a great purchase. I would highly recommend the Singer 5400.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stitch question
Posted 12/01/2013
does this machine have a blanket stitch and a 1/4" foot?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

low-quality

04/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift. The thread take-up kept dropping the thread, and then it would tangle in the bobbin area. Changing tension did not solve the problem. I had to keep stopping to re-thread. I sent an e-mail to Singer customer service. Two weeks went by without a response, so I sent another e-mail. I tried calling. I was on hold for an hour and then got disconnected. I gave up, returned the machine to the store, and bought a different brand. The next day I finally received an e-mail response. It was completely unhelpful and told me I hadn't threaded it correctly. I know how to thread a sewing machine. Singer is not the quality brand it used to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Better than I expected for the price

04/10/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this off the shelf in my local Wal Mart (got it for only $119.97)! Plugged it in and was ready to go. It sewed perfectly, right out of the box. It uses the same metal bobbins that my old machine used, so I didn't even have to thread the bobbin first. The bobbin loads like my old machine also.
I was pleased to notice that you can do fine adjustment on the needle position, to get a perfect 1/4" seam allowance that is needed for quilting.
I can't wait to try all of the decorative stitches and the buttonhole foot. Also anxious to see if it fits into my old sewing machine table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Love Love Love!

04/13/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using an older machine for a few years and thought this one would take some time to get use to.... Nope! I watched part of the DVD and went right in there and had no problem adjusting to my new machine! I love that it has the Bobbin in the same place as my old one and not a drop in, ... I just still can't figure out the Threader, but I don't need it anyway, I just thread it myself as usual. It is much quieter than my old machine... I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. I recommend it for anyone of any level of sewing! Last night I replaced a button on pants in a matter of minutes compared to hand sewing it. My hubby was also impressed! LOVE LOVE LOVE my machine!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400
12/25/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned Singer sewing machines before and although I have tried other makes I always return to Singer. This machine does everything I want to do and much more. There is also a great instructional video which is extremely helpful in getting started. The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

overall a good product

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The machine took a little time to set up and get used to the functions. It was not all that quiet but was not loud. Overall it's a good sewing machine and an even greater price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

It's OK....But....

02/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a Singer fan! When my almost 40 year old Fashion Mate couldn't hold the tension adjustment any longer I bit the bullet and got this machine on the recommendation of a friend. Apparently these machines are hit and miss because hers is fine but mine oiled up the thread horribly at first and still continued to some degree after several days of use. Also there were dropped stitches and tangles of thread under the fabric. Yes, I did hold the thread when I began each seam and that was better but didn't solve the problem completely. So after 3 garments and a week of frustration I returned it. Walmart was great about taking it back. I ordered a completely different machine and I'll review that one after I've sewn a little on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Product for ALL users

12/25/2012
By ,
San Tan Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super easy to use! I love my new machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next