Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Singer Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

The Singer 5400 Sew Mate sewing machine packs a punch! With features including 60 built-in stitches, variable needle positions and 4 fully automatic 1-step buttonholes, project possibilities are endless. The heavy-duty metal frame provides for overall durability and skip-free sewing. Push button stitch selection makes choosing your desired stitch foolproof, also assisted by the Stitch Guide included in your owner's manual. Easily reinforce stitches and sew in reverse with the Automatic Reverse button found on the front of the machine. The handy Quick Start Guide and Machine Intro DVD, included, will help you get started in no time!
Average Customer Rating:
3.784 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation75%38 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

An Excellent Buy

05/04/2012
By ,
Beaver Falls, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not one who usually leaves reviews, but this machine inspired me to write.
I've been an on-again, off-again sewer for the better part of two decades. I learned how to sew on my grandmother's 1950s model Singer sewing machine (hated it), and for the last ten years have used a Europro that my mom gave me as a graduation present. When the Euro-Pro died mid-project, I headed off to my local Walmart where they had this model in-stock.
I'll admit, I was nervous at first to buy this model, especially when I saw that it had "automatic" stitch width and length set. When I got home, I was preparing myself mentally for having to take it back, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the "automatic" settings can be changed very easily, and it sews like a dream. Honestly, for the first sewing machine I've ever purchased myself, I'm incredibly happy and would recommend this model highly to any sewer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+223points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Worst machine I have ever owned!

02/07/2014
By ,
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After not sewing in over 15 years I came across a craft project I wanted to make, so I bought this machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I figured I would never again be an avid sewer...then I had a granddaughter and I believe that is about to change!
This is my second machine. The first one I returned because I thought I had gotten a lemon. The replacement machine isn't any better.
The thread if constantly breaking. The bobbin gets bound up, the machine gives me a C4 error reading EVERY time i use it. I have re-threaded it, cleaned it, and cussed like a sailor more times than I care to count and it continues to go it. It is now skipping stitches. I thought maybe it was because I was using the zig-zag stitch, but it does it on a straight stitch too. My husband suggested taking it for an adjustment/cleaning. That will cost me $60. I can't justify it.
I regret buying this machine. I just want to bang my head against the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Sewing Machine

07/20/2013
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my sewing machine! My husband bought for my birthday gift. It was very easy to learn. The first time I used it was tricky for me but now, after 2 months of use, it's 2nd nature to operate. It is very smooth and easy to work with. I am currently working on a car seat canopy for a friend. It's 2 very thick fabrics together and I was worried if it could handle this or not. A thick flannel and dot minky together. But all I had to do was change the needle. That's it. It does what I need it to do, any stitch, no problem.
I have done small projects like a tab holder and cover, to throw pillows and drapes. It's seamless in the operation. I absolutely love this machine. The accessories are nice and affordable, it is easy to learn and operate, easy to clean, and most importantly it's there when you need it. The LED backlight is also a really nice extra.
I will eventually upgrade to one with more options, but I plan on keeping this one and teaching my daughter when she is old enough like my grandmother did with me. It's not much, but to me, passing this on to my daughter is priceless.
I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Sewing Machine

11/14/2013
By ,
Apple Valley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Singer 5400 long enough to have completed one project and this sewing machine couldn't be easier to use and work more effortlessly. Though I am not an expert by any means I have always been thankful my Mom taught me how to sew on her old Singer. I found the instructions easy to use and complete. I find the reviews that comment otherwise inaccurate. The DVD provided was very helpful as well. So for a guy who is 61 and not sewn in years, this was a great purchase. I would highly recommend the Singer 5400.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stitch question
Posted 12/01/2013
does this machine have a blanket stitch and a 1/4" foot?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Would give 1/2 of a star if I could

03/18/2014
By ,
Little Rock, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first machine and got it home to find out that it was a previously returned item. It was missing pieces, and was in incorrect packing. I returned it and got a new model and was quite excited. Singer has been a trusted brand in my family for many years. The machine was on sale and had about 40 more stitches than the Brother machine I was comparing so it looked like a good deal. I was very wrong.
To start, the bobbin is very difficult to load and thread for a beginner with little to no experience. It took me quite a few tries and multiple reads through the instruction manual. Once I finally got it threaded, the thread would break if I sewed above a certain speed. I specifically bought the recommended thread from the instruction booklet to try and avoid any trouble or damage to the machine. So I just decided to take it slow through my project and keep working. Then the error messages started.
I got multiple C4 errors (bobbin errors). It would skip stitches on the bottom of the fabric. Then it started bunching up. I pulled it out repeatedly and cleaned everything out, re-threaded, and tried to keep working. I could go for a manageable amount of time and then have to clear out the error but it started happening more and more frequently. The errors got to the point that I couldn't sew more than 5-6 stitches without one.
At this point I contacted Singer's customer support. I tried the lengthy list of troubleshooting and it did nothing. They recommended bringing it back to the retailer which I gladly did.
I'm now the proud owner of a Brother (model JX2517) which was $40 cheaper! It has fewer stitch options but I can deal with that. Since purchasing the Brother machine I have sewn a quilt, skirt, and other projects with NO issues whatsoever. Take my advice and go with the Brother models, Singer doesn't seem to be the gold standard any longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Better than I expected for the price

04/10/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this off the shelf in my local Wal Mart (got it for only $119.97)! Plugged it in and was ready to go. It sewed perfectly, right out of the box. It uses the same metal bobbins that my old machine used, so I didn't even have to thread the bobbin first. The bobbin loads like my old machine also.
I was pleased to notice that you can do fine adjustment on the needle position, to get a perfect 1/4" seam allowance that is needed for quilting.
I can't wait to try all of the decorative stitches and the buttonhole foot. Also anxious to see if it fits into my old sewing machine table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great Sewing Machine for Beginners!

09/28/2013
By ,
Burkburnett, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a sewing expert...just a crafting aficionado trying to learn how to use a sewing machine. This singer sewing machine is easy to operate....easy enough for someone with no sewing machine knowledge like me, to work with. I haven't really done a lot of projects using my new singer yet...but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Seems to be a well made machine

03/17/2014
By ,
Cleveland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The duties seem to be limited to non heavy duty projects. I used a heavy thread in it , making drapes, and the machine failed to stitch properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400
07/06/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a beginner with sewing, have never owned a sewing maching, haven't even used one in 20+ years but I really wanted to get into sewing. This machine is great! I recieved the SewMate as a gift but the bobbin got hung up horribly after just a couple small projects so I upgraded a little to this machine. Very easy to use, simple threading, and I believe great for a beginner such as myself. Runs very smooth. It's pretty quiet too, I have a little one and I can use it just fine while he is napping in the other room. I would recommend this to anyone, even a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400
07/27/2012
By ,
Arvada Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Singer serwing machine for 45 years that has worked perfectly. I needed to replace it and chose this machine. The machine is wonderful. It does so many things and it sews on all weights of fabric without a hitch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Love it!!!

08/14/2012
By ,
Napoleonville, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine to replace a Kenmore I have had for 14 years. I got it home and tried it out. This machine doesn't shake or jump when using it. It is heavier than it looks. Everywhere else this machine cost more. It is easy to use. I highly recommend this one. I learned how to sew using a Singer when I was a teenager. I am glad I choose a Singer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

It's OK....But....

02/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a Singer fan! When my almost 40 year old Fashion Mate couldn't hold the tension adjustment any longer I bit the bullet and got this machine on the recommendation of a friend. Apparently these machines are hit and miss because hers is fine but mine oiled up the thread horribly at first and still continued to some degree after several days of use. Also there were dropped stitches and tangles of thread under the fabric. Yes, I did hold the thread when I began each seam and that was better but didn't solve the problem completely. So after 3 garments and a week of frustration I returned it. Walmart was great about taking it back. I ordered a completely different machine and I'll review that one after I've sewn a little on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

One gets what one pays for...

09/26/2013
By ,
Wausau, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a cheaper machine it does stitch, but is frustrating in that the bobbin binds up constantly if one sews at max. speed. Makes a lot of noise when stitching, not a quiet machine. I'm a very experienced sewer and wanted a simple machine to cart around or to have just as an extra one for sewing a few simple stitches. Would recommend buying a better machine for someone who only has need of one or fine if one only does mending and a few projects now and than. Have a really good machine [Janome] that I use for applique and more decorative stitches which runs much smoother and quieter ... never binds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Get ready for a bird nest!!

04/01/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brand new out of the box and the bobbin keeps getting tangled, no matter how many times I re thread and adjust the tension. I have owned a singer before and this is the first time a machine does this, very frustrated and disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

nice machine

10/28/2013
By ,
north carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are learning to sew or getting back into it this is a good machine. Its easy and quiet. The dvd makes everything easy to understand. I gave four stars for this because of those reasons but I chose to return it and put a few dollars into having my old machine gone over and adjusted. The quality in the new model is just not there. lightweight plastic. Also. It is a bright white color with a bluish white light bulb. Very hard on the eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Love Love Love!

04/13/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using an older machine for a few years and thought this one would take some time to get use to.... Nope! I watched part of the DVD and went right in there and had no problem adjusting to my new machine! I love that it has the Bobbin in the same place as my old one and not a drop in, ... I just still can't figure out the Threader, but I don't need it anyway, I just thread it myself as usual. It is much quieter than my old machine... I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. I recommend it for anyone of any level of sewing! Last night I replaced a button on pants in a matter of minutes compared to hand sewing it. My hubby was also impressed! LOVE LOVE LOVE my machine!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great product for the price!

02/10/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first brand new sewing machine, as others I had were passed on to me. I absolutely love it. It sews through heavy material, as well as lightweight. The price was cheaper online than in the store, and for the price it meets all my expectations. I actually like to sew, for now I have a machine that cooperates!! We bought our daughter the 70 stitch machine, and she also loves her machine. I saved a few bucks by getting "only" 60 stitches...which are plenty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

low-quality

04/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift. The thread take-up kept dropping the thread, and then it would tangle in the bobbin area. Changing tension did not solve the problem. I had to keep stopping to re-thread. I sent an e-mail to Singer customer service. Two weeks went by without a response, so I sent another e-mail. I tried calling. I was on hold for an hour and then got disconnected. I gave up, returned the machine to the store, and bought a different brand. The next day I finally received an e-mail response. It was completely unhelpful and told me I hadn't threaded it correctly. I know how to thread a sewing machine. Singer is not the quality brand it used to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

super noisy sewing machine

11/15/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 85 year old mother. It was really loud and when went to remove a bobbin from the bobbin loader an important spring fell off and I could not find how to replace it.
Returning to Walmart today. I replaced it with a basic Brother machine from my local sewing machine dealer and it is quiet and appears to be much better built AND is $20 cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer 5400 Sew Mate 60-Stitch Sewing Machine, 5400

Great for a beginner.

11/17/2013
By ,
Brandenburg,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next