Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pantech Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Pantech Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Please note: Unlocked cell phones are not locked to a carriers network. Your phone and carrier can be selected independently. Unlocked cell phones are compatible with GSM networks and GSM SIM cards. The Pantech Link Cell Phone brings GPS navigation service to an even greater number of AT&T customers. Stylish and durable, this unlocked GSM cell phone fits your lifestyle and lets you do more on a mobile phone. Enabled with Bluetooth technology, this Pantech cell phone provides a wireless link to tons of great accessories. Your Pantech Link Cell Phone comes with a MP3/WAV/AAC player, polyphonic and MP3 ring tones, vibration alerts, loudspeaker and a MicroSD card slot for cards up to 32GB. Other features of this unlocked GSM cell phone include a 1000 entry phone book, photocall, 1.3 megapixel camera and video capabilities. You'll also be free to instant message and email friends and family with ease using your Pantech Link Cell Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation78%43 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 112 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Excellent for a "pre-pay Phone"

01/17/2013
By ,
central FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Didn't want to use upgrade on the ATT service for just a basic phone for talk/text, so bought this one at Walmart, stuck old Blackberry SIM card and it works, although have to call/go in to ATT store and change phone on your account. It has more features than anticipated - speaker phone, ring tones/modes like vibrate. Has decent camera and good functionality -incl keyboard that allows you to type easily. Has programmable quick link that allows you to get to contacts, text or whatever you choose by clicking up/down/left/right on center dial. Downside is that the Data/internet links are too easy to accidentally click and ATT charges you for the data #unless you call to take it off bill as error#. I tried having data shut off on that phone, but it wouldn't allow pictures via text if you take data off your plan. If you pre-pay data, this would be costly and annoying. Otherwise, great little phone. Oh, this also works with old blackberry charger and some accessories!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Discontinued by manufacturer

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Though this phone is unlocked, it did not work with my sim card. I called the manufacturer and was told it is a discontinued product and the problem was not my sim card but the phone itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

I love it

08/18/2014
By ,
Rochester, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great Very nice and thin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Great Savings

09/28/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a HUGE savings for me. I had a plan with me and my son on it and when my son got on his own plan I really hated paying $50 dollars a month just for me being that I only use my phone very little. I text more than I talk on the phone. I changed from a regular AT&T plan paying $50 a month to this phone with the basic plan of unlimited text and 250 min talk for a total of $27 a month. The phone is OK for texting. I don't particularly like the raised keys but it works for what I need it. Doesn't have a real long battery life. I usually have to charge it every other day and have to delete text messages about once a week. Overall the phone is a good value for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

nice basic phone

11/14/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No bells and whistle just a simple phone that we added to our monthly bill after sim cards put in by AT&T at there store for FREE. We bought our teenagers smart phones very expensive and way to much phone. They got to caught up in games, apps, internet connection which led to trouble. These little phones we have now they can only call and txt, all is well!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Grreat phone, one caveat

08/31/2012
By ,
Tuxedo Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAVEAT - You can't customize the navigation buttons. So you will accidentally access the ATT network and use up your minutes. This has been a complaint from other owners as well.
Aside from that one annoyance, this is a great phone! I love the fact that the wallpaper can be a an animated GIF file. Good build quality and a nice bright screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Vacaville
COMPROMISE
Posted 11/04/2012
It was difficult to find a cell phone through AT&T that was no longer reliant on a touch screen. I Like the larger screen, however, when pictures come in, they are downsized quite a bit. The AT&T network button is repeatedly touched by mistake, no matter how much caution you use. As directed by AT&T, I have placed a 5 second lock on the keys once the phone use has been completed, but you will find that it still is too easy to trigger. These accidental triggers add up ($) over a months time. I had this phone for nearly 4 months & each month I call AT&T asking those minutes/$ to be erase. So far they have been compliant without an argument, but you have to decide if the monthly cost is worth the call & wait time. Also, AT&T tells me they can deactivate this feature, but then you wil no longer be able to accept nor send pictures. The keys are very small. As previous reviews have stated, you will adjust. I have adjusted somewhat, but still very much dislike the tiny keys. I like the back of the phone because it has a rubber like surface, preventing falls to the ground. Overall, I like the phone, largely due to the fact that the touch screens are becoming obsolete. My choices were limited.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Lubbock, TX
Question?
Posted 09/13/2012
Is this phone 3G and does it have wifi? Thanks-
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Ideal for all users.

10/13/2012
By ,
Griffin, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has realy been a great phone. Although I've not had it for more than a few weeks, I'm most satisfied with it. It's compact, fast and full featured. I would absolutely recommend this phone to anyone who wants a dependable handset.
Great price, Great Phone - Thanks Again Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)
10/26/2012
By ,
stillwater ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my old pantech phone battery died had to get a new phone this phone was sim card ready when it arrived love it camera pictures are so clear well worth it cost wise and shipped very fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Good if it works.

01/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are not a data user this is a good phone. However it has a flaw that other reviewers on other sites have commented on too, and the problem is not yet fixed. (This is my second phone like this and I will be returning this one, because the problem started immediately) The date/time of texts are inaccurate. So if you are looking back to a texting conversation, it is all out of order or in two different blocks. The messages in are dated correctly, but the messages out are dated yesterday. It's very confusing. It took my first phone a year before it started doing this, but my new one had it from the start. The other problem I've had is that it just stops working. I have to remove the battery and put it back in. For the first year I had my first phone, I liked it. It is a good value if it continues to work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Great basic cell phone!

10/26/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great! Not a "Smart phone". I use it for voice and text only, but it has other capabilities I've not tried. I thought keyboard keys would be too close together, but since they are raised I have no problems (unlike my previous slide-out messaging phone). Screen is not touch sensitive, but it is very easy to negotiate the menu with the 4-way toggle. Battery life is great. For $40 through Walmart how could you go wrong?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Great phone

06/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this phone. Looks like a blackberry but it's not. I don't need all the bells and whistles of a smartphone or iPhone. This is perfect. Easy texting and very user friendly. I'm not very tech savvy and I got this phone to work for me in minutes. Love it. Screen could be a little bit bigger.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)
08/06/2012
By ,
Miami,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phOne , specially for those who want to use a phone similar to a blackBerry , it is a simple but perfect for a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Great Value!

10/29/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I both bought this phone. It is comfortable to hold, easy to use and had all the features we were looking for. It also has a good looking display. One of the charging cords came defective but we were able to order a new one and exchange it with out any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)
12/13/2012
By ,
Racine, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone to use with my T mobile sims card, since I didn't want another 2 year contract if I got a new free phone from T mobile. Works great with Tmobile sims card. Just remember it isn't compatible with the newer 'micro' sims card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Terriffic for the price.

01/10/2013
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought to use with t-mobile. Works great but don't expect all of the default "internet" features to work. Still a great phone to text with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)
10/13/2012
By ,
louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phone woorks good so far i am happy with the store pick up was in and out in no time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

I hate this phone.

08/12/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first this phone was great for a back up, I've had it for a couple of months now. Everytime someone texts me I have to turn it off to even be able to see what they said. If you text a lot like me do not buy this or you'll be wanting to throw it out of the window everytime you try to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas
Did you try to return it?
Posted 09/03/2012
It seems like you could have demonstrated the defect to the store and gotten them to help with it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Cheap and works

11/15/2012
By ,
san marcos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap and works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

Great phone for a beginner with no Internet access

02/16/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone is of good quality but you cannot remove AT&T as your Internet provider therefore it doesn't meet my needs. Text and calls are good but quality of hearing the person on the phone is not. I am not happy with the manufactor or AT&T.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pantech Link P7040 GSM Cell Phone, Wine (Unlocked)

i really like this phone!

01/19/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the phone is a good size, i have small hands so it wasn't a problem for me to text off of it, but my husband can also text off of it and not worry about hitting the wrong buttons. and for the price, its a very good phone. i would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next