Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stearns Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Stearns Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest will help your children learn to swim the easy way. Made from soft flotation foam, this life vest offers maximum comfort and safety for your children. The puddle jumper floatation vest is U.S. Coast Guard approved and fits children weighing between 30 and 50 pounds. Offers full range of motion and is easy to move around in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.604 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%46 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Saved my life!

06/10/2013
By ,
Denver CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These things saved my life. I have a 21 month old daughter who LOVES to "swim" but cant yet, and doesnt know how to float or anything....she also fights me holding her in the pool, she is just a dare devil. So every time we swim its a nightmare because she wants to swim without me holding her, but cant yet. She also really likes jumping off the side of the pool into the water OVER and OVER and OVER. With these puddle jumpers she can do all of those things ALL BY HERSELF. She is actually under the weight limit (25lbs) but they fit fine and will probably fit for a long time. I didnt get the yellow one with a whale which was a bit of a bummer, i got a green one with a lion. But whatever. Love these. Best money I have spent in a long long time. My friend also bought some for her 4 and 6 year olds (6 year old is small) because they had never been in water before (WHAAAT!? i know...) and they LOVE these. I recommend trying them to anyone who is interested.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest
06/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 20 month old baby loves it. He can finally be at ease in the water.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

LOVE IT!!

06/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 and 1/2 year old last summer and she is using it this summer as well. She has absolutely no fear of the water so I was always on edge before we bought this vest. Now, I can relax and know that even if she falls in or jumps in she is going to pop right up. She never complains about it being uncomfortable so thankfully, I never have to fight her wear it. This has been one of the best purchases I have ever made!! Every toddler who hasn't learned to swim needs this vest!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Review 4 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

This is the one!!!

07/07/2012
By ,
Santee, Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying so many float devices & arm floats, FINALLY, this one does exactly what we needed it to do. A 1, 2 & 4 year old all love these & it works. The 2 yr old was paranoid about the swimming pool until he got this. Now he just jumps right in. This is nice because it fastens in the back where the kids cannot take it off without your help/permission. We ended up getting 3 of the 3D versions, but only because that was the only way we could end up with three the same so the grand kids would not fight over them. We ended up with the green froggy ones although we would liked to have had three yellow ones. Well, they work. They last. They are great. Both the boys & the girls float correctly with these, unlike some other floats. Can you tell we are happy with these?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

The best floatation device

05/29/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one of these for my daughter last year at 2 1/2 years old. She loved it, her friends loved it and the other kids in the family. We have since bought 3 more for other kids that go swimming with us. I love these things that much that I bought them for other kids to wear. My 5 1/2 year old nephew also did great with this, he really started learned how to swim with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 6 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Great!

04/14/2012
By ,
Lockport, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this for my 4year old daughter who is still learning to swim. She got this when she was about 2 1/2 and it allows her to swim freely without flipping over or sinking. Excellent product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Review 7 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Works Wonderful

05/24/2012
By ,
Ontario Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter last year when she was two. She was well under 30lbs. So it fit big of course. Nevertheless she was out in the pool swimming on her own. Now three and about 30lbs. it fits better but still big enough to last awhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Review 8 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Little Swimmers

09/27/2012
By ,
Surprise, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these for my 3 year old and almost 2 year old. My 3 year old loves it and the freedom it gives her to swim around without being a floaty ring or held by mom or dad. I like how easy it is to slip on. It can be a little difficult to get the arms out once wet, but all you have to do is squeeze the sides and it makes the opening bigger. My only complaint is they said the floaters are "roll proof"...my 2 year old rolls in it. Granted he is a chunker and quite buoyant. I attribute it more to his fat making his legs float up and throwing off the center of balance than the product being misrepresented. Both kids like to wear them and I like that I don't have a child clinging to my neck anytime we're in the water. Best purchase I've found since swim diapers :) I also liked how when ordering from the site to store option they had different colors/designs for me to choose from (boy vs. girl) which was so much better than getting two pink ladybug designs!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

highly recommend

07/14/2012
By ,
ashland, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my 20 month old granddaughter and 17 month old niece, it far exceeded my expectations, better than floaties and the girls let them on - the only drawback? they cannot get their little arms up to eat a snack when they have the vest on, but we can live with that
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Excellent!!! Well worth $16.00!

06/26/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old daughter and we love it! She swims around the pool like a fish! Other kids her age have come swimming with us and borrowed her other one (Yes, I bought two!), they loved just as much as she does! It will fit at least until five years of age, maybe longer. One word of caution is that kids get very confident and begin to think they can swim without it. You just have to watch them when they get of the pool and make sure they do not take it off and jump in! If it is put on properly though, they should not be able to get out of it:) Excellent product! If you are looking for a something to boost your kids confidence in the water and ease your mind at the pool, this is it! Love It!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest
06/12/2012
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 21 month old. It is a little big but he will still wear it some. Next summer it will be perfect for him. I am a little diappointed I didn't get the right one. I ordered it and they sent me a orange one with a alligator on it when I choose the yellow. Lucky they sent a boy one I guess. Really we like it though since he can't pop holes in it as easy. We have already went through 3 floats that were plastic for that reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Best Ever!!

06/28/2012
By ,
arlington, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After wasting lots of money on other products, this is the best ever swim aid I have ever found for little ones. My 3-year old and 5-year old grandsons, and my 6-year old granddaughter are all swimming all over my pool with this item. All were afraid of the water, but they feel safe and secure in the Puddle Jumper, and I feel comfortable with this design that won't accidentally come off, deflate, or let them go under the water.
I have 3 of these and they are great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

great for a child scared of water

06/29/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product gave me a great security of letting my child in and around the pool with the family this summer. It fits great and gives my 3 year a lot if confidence in the water!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Amazing! Best swimming Investment

07/26/2012
By ,
Kelseyville, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old daughter (who was petrified of deep water) after seeing a kid younger then her wearing one. After 10 minutes of holding onto me screaming she was going to drowned she was jumping off the diving board at our local pool. AMAZING PRODUCT. Well worth the money. She has NO fears of swimming and I have no fear of letting her swim without me two steps behind her. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a floatation device for their child. I wish I had bought this sooner, and had never wasted money on life jackets. Now if our local Walmart would only get boy ones in stock! My son is dying to swim like his big sister!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 15 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

all my children's cousins have one

07/17/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't actually own this product yet, but I've borrowed it a couple times. One set of cousins got them last year and love them, and my daughter borrowed one. Now the other set of cousins has them too and also loves them. As far as durability goes, all I can say is both families that do own them use them a lot and they don't have any damage. After my youngest borrowed one this past weekend, I finally decided to buy one. He likes the water, but usually doesn't last very long before he wants to get out, but this time I had to practically drag him out of the pool. He was so happy to be able to "swim"! I highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 16 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest
06/06/2013
By ,
ABP
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It says that this vest for for 30lbs and up but my daughter is 28lbs and it fits her just fine. I do like the vest but the one issue I have is that it really does not keep her above water as much as I thought it would. Of course she floats with it on and if she goes all the way under water it shoots her back to the the surface quickly but when she is just floating around the pool it just barely keeps her face out of the water. The water comes up to her chin and this makes my daughter a little nervous.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Cool invention

06/04/2013
By ,
Sylmar, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may not get the Yellow shark. I got the blue tiger when I went to pick up my order. My son is 2 1/2 years old and fit him perfectly. Now if I could get him to not be afraid of the water :) I bought one for my daughter at the same age 2 years ago and she dove rite in the pool. She swam like a little fish. It worked like a charm she was in the deep end without any trouble. My daughter is 4 years old now and this year the back strap was too tight when snapped. We only used it a few times so its condition was still fairly new. I undid the end and gave it and extra inch of slack and sewed it back together. If there was any improvement it would be to make one a little bigger for kids ages 4 to 5. My kids are not fat actually pretty thin but they are at the 90 percentile so they look a year older than what they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

Excellent product

08/11/2013
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter, who is only two years old. She can't swim yet, and she's not afraid of the water at all. However, she made me very nervous in her usual floating devices. When I bought this and put it on her, she jumped right in the water. She is able to swim in any depth of water in the pool and she does not have any issues about being in deep water. Needless to say, I don't have to worry about her so much. It's great to see her have so much fun in the water. This was a great purchase and I am so glad we got it. Because it's not inflatable, it will last long enough for her sister to use. If you are looking for something to keep your little swimmer afloat, this IS it. You will not regret this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

5 Stars - Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

07/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this life vest for my daughter that is 3 1/2 and weighs 35 lbs. This is probably the best life vest I have ever purchased. It keeps them in the swimming position and gives them free movement around their arms. It is life guard approved. It didn't take long for her to jump in and she actually likes to wear them. I've tried the vests and find that the strap rubs between her legs and while in the water it always seems to ride up under her chin. So if you've had that same problem and your child is between 30 - 50 lbs. give this one a try. I think everyone that has a child around her age has asked where I purchased it from!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Sterns Puddle Jumpers Life Vest

bought one for my son, it arrived in pink!

07/19/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really like this vest, it is comfortable for my 3 1/2 year old son to wear for long periods of time and supports him well in the water. The problem that I had when ordering it from the website was the one pictured (yellow with a shark) was NOT what we got. When I picked it up at the store, the puddle jumper we recieved was HOT PINK! I wish there was a way to choose the color or at least the gender. I was very disappointed that I had to return it and go to Dick's sporting goods to find one that was a little more appropriate for a boy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kelseyville, ca
Good to know
Posted 07/26/2012
I'm having trouble finding one for my son. Our local Walmart only carries girl ones. Glad I read this before ordering online. I'd be pretty upset if I got a girlie one for him..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next