Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Sauder Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

The Sauder Beginnings Desk in a Cinnamon Cherry finish features storage space and cord management.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation81%43 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk for the value.

12/13/2012
By ,
Columbia, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great desk for the value. Easy to put together, just time consuming, but worth the personal labor. My only complaint is the very plastic pulls. I've had Sauder products before and they were good products, durable and stylish, but the platic handles on this piece, are just cheap. The other pieces I've had, the pulls were metal. They make this great desk look cheap. I would have paid a few extra dollars for metal pulls! I will be purchasing different ones for the desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Good Desk for the Price

12/06/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
*One of the cheapest desks you can find that features a CPU tower cubby w/door (a must have for those of us with tiny explorer fingers).
*Not terribly difficult to assemble for the average person (although having 2 people is recommended).
*Has ample desktop space if you use the keyboard tray-On mine I have a monitor & speakers, mouse, 3-in-1 Printer, lamp, modem and phone with plenty of space left over.
*Seems somewhat sturdy. Dancing on it is not advised.
*The Sauder company has great customer service.
Cons:
*Materials are cheaply made. The laminate finish does chip and scratch easily, a drink coaster is highly recommended to avoid bubbling. When the desk first arrived, the desktop had a huge crack right down the center of it, but ordering a replacement was quick, painless and cost free.
*The instructions could have been easier to decipher. The manual is just a picture book and they just threw all of the hardware in one big bag. Still not terribly difficult for a person of average intelligence.
*The keyboard tray doesn't really have enough space for a keyboard and mouse, which is why I have my mouse on the desktop. Also, I would have like a little more space between the tray and the desktop, because I sometimes like to leave the tray pushed in.
Overall this is a decent desk if you're just looking for something simple to use. Its not the prettiest and as people have done in other reviews, I too plan to swap out the cheap looking plastic handles with something a little nicer. I also left the cardboard backing off of the tower cubby to avoid overheating. I'd like to also note that the color is nothing like in the picture. It is much much darker, more like a dark chocolate cherry than a cinnamon cherry. I had read that in other reviews and bought this desk in hopes that it was true. I like the true color much better than the one in the picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk

09/19/2012
By ,
Harlingen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was afraid to purchase this desk because of some of the reviews about the parts not lining up, but have purchased a television stand and a pair of night stands from Sauder before, so decided to get it anyway. I love to put furniture together, unlike my husband, I have the patience for it. It did take me a few hours but I followed the instructions to a T and had not problems at all. It went together perfectly. My sister-in-law saw it and is planning on getting the same one. It is a beautiful desk. I don't keep drinks near my computer so will not have a problem with the "rings" or water damage to the desk. It is a good size (not too big) and has a good amount of space for storage. My husband has a gaming computer, so the tower was too big to fit inside the desk but tucks underneath the desk just fine with plenty of space for my legs to fit comfortably. My other Sauder furniture is still in great condition after more than 5 yrs (for night stands and 3yrs for tv stand), so I expect this desk to do the same :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Drawer's off.

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pretty easy to put together and looks nice but the drawer and door are not lined up right. The holes are off and we had to drill addition holes so the drawer would fit and the door scrapes the bottom on the frame and sticks. I would not recommend this to anyone. Now, give me a saw, I need to make a few adjustments.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Got 'r dun!

07/23/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this desk at 4 PM yesterday and had it set up before I went to bed. It's plenty heavy at 89 pounds so I'm not expecting it to fall apart anytime soon. I'm a 71 year old woman with arthritis and emphysema and if I can put this together, no dudes should be whining about how hard it was!
I found everything come together just fine and the directions were excellent. Some of the pre-drilled holes are hard to find so you may not think they are there but they ARE and you will find them by looking closely. I had to adjust the door hinges a bit to get the door to close properly and also the drawer track. Very minor adjustments. My tower is close to 15" high so using the cubby for the tower and the shelf will not work although I found I can simply set the shelf on top of the tower. Or set the tower up under the desk (or on the desk) and use the cubby for storage.
One thing I like a lot is that the keyboard and mouse pull-out shelf is framed in so the mouse is not getting knocked off the back of the shelf. Some here mentioned leaving the black backing off the cubby area to give the tower more air. I left it on simply because dust in the computer fan causes over-heating, as well, and I want my computer to remain clean. I also have the desk near a heat duct and that backing will prevent the heat from hitting the computer.
I also ordered this desk because it's MADE IN THE USA. I ordered on Friday and had the desk Tuesday. If I wanted something luxurious, didn't have to put it together and money was no object, I would have gone to a furniture store and paid $400. This desk was cheap and suits my needs.
The posts here about using wood glue was a good idea although I elected not to in case I needed to make adjustments or messed up. I can now go back, remove a few screws, use the glue and replace the screws if I wish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

So far Soo Good.

04/23/2010
By ,
Lake Forest CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall the product is good for its price..brr if you care while assembling and know some tips and tricks then it worth more that what you spent on it.
Pros:
1) Fairly strong. It serves the purpose. Well Its a PC table not something to stand upon. I put two monitors and probably put some speakers and a printer. I do not expect people to sit on table
2) Spacious:
Its more than enough for a PC and its immediate accessories.
3) Good instructions:
Very good step by step instructions. It was like a piece of cake.
Cons:
1) Material quality is average. Need to handle with absolute care. MAKE SURE YOU ARE TAKING HELP OF ANOTHER PERSON OR YOU ARE GOING TO TEAR OPEN AT LEAST ONE OR TWO SCREW HOLES IN BOARD.
2) alignment of drawer and door is not good. It is not aligned properly.
3) some nails are used which may create issues if you are planning to ship this later(got tips below)
4) Missing shelf inside door apartment. I don't think it is indented to use for PC cabinet as it is closed from back and of course no air circulation inside. and most of the space will go waste if no shelf inside. Now I am looking for one inside to fix in my table.
Tips:
Get something additional if you are looking for a strong trouble free and re-packable table.
1) 1 tube of glue (probably latex/petroleum based)
2) a set of screws to replace the nails.
Use glue in places where you would be making more wear and tear and (of course the places where you expect no disassembly while packing). Eg: I glued door metal braces and metal rollers. I replaced the nails with similar screws I bought separate so that I can disassemble it later.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

decent for the price.

06/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We decided to put our computer in the living room so we needed something that looked like it belonged in there (no hutches, L shape, etc). I gave my wife three desks to choose from and she picked this one. It was easy to assemble, I used wood glue on all the joints and recommend you do the same. I decided not to install the back piece (cardboard) so my computer could breath a little and not overheat. I game on it a lot and haven't had any problems with it overheating. I do have one minor issue with the drawer though, It seems like the drawer is a little too small (maybe 1/8 inch) for the slot and the rails get hung up sometimes. If I push down a little on the drawer as I open/close it it works just fine, so no biggie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Too much work for a cheap desk

06/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I was setting it up two of the metal pieces that connect boards bent and made the board fall and tear a whole in it. I had to return the desk. There were way too many parts to assemble for a cheaply made desk. Most desks I have bought with doors, the hinges were attached but these you had to put on. Probably easy enough to do but if I'm going to have to work that hard to assemble I might as well buy something sturdier.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

I love this desk!!

02/18/2011
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is a gamer and this desk works great for him. The keyboard shelf is 28" long so it fits his gaming keyboard better then our last one. The desk is darker then the picture they provide. I did use wood glue when I put it together to make it stronger. Its a VERY sturdy desk and we love it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great price, Great look, Okay durability

01/24/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The time it took for this desk to arrive was ridiculously short. I bought it in the evening online, got an email that it had been shipped the next morning, and received it the very next day! Putting it together was easy, but when the desk is upside down in the beginning, you are supposed to flip it for the rest of the building process. When I did this, the corner of the top wood had cracked a bit. Maybe it was because I had flipped it without help. None of the pieces came damaged, so it was my mistake. Be careful when putting together! Other than that, the desk is beautiful and to my surprise, came with an extra shelf piece to put where the computer box would go, in case you are not using it for a computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Desk

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good. But installation is complicated and time consuming
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

DO NOT BUY!!!!

09/09/2010
By ,
Virginia Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this desk because it looked like it'd be exactly what we needed for the guest bedroom. It got here, I took it out of the box and broke it down. Family members put it together for me, and let me just say this desk is a huge piece of junk. The top is bowed and cracked in the middle with a chunk missing out of the back left corner, as a result of the top being warped we can't use the drawer, and anytime we attempt to put anything on it heavier than a packet of papers it makes a rather ominous creaking sound. It's a pile of junk, and if I could physically prevent anyone else from purchasing it, I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dover,DE
Posted 07/26/2011
You should of return that one,some times they get mess-up from shippin or defect,i hope you order another one this dest top is the best one i burt that low of a price.......
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Part(s) Missing

04/02/2014
By ,
Erick, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There was a bracket missing for one of the drawers. It is really terrible when you order something as a wedding gift and go to put it together and there is a part missing and therefore you can't put it together and then you don't have a gift to give.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love it!

04/02/2014
By ,
Bowling Green KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the desk. A little hard and around 3 hours to put together . All in all great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

simple but great

03/28/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it's amazing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Wrong Color

12/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do NOT get this product if you were looking for a wood color. It looks black. It does not even remotely have any brown in it. Now I have an odd looking huge black desk in an all espresso colored wood house. The product iteself is great just not the color advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

hard to put together

10/05/2011
By ,
Longmont
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was difficult at best to build, mostly involving the drawer and door. The rails on the drawer did not fit together properly and the hinges on the door was difficult to install for me (I am wheelcair bound so others may not have the same difficulty). I also noticed that not all the hardware was present to build the product
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Justme3

03/09/2014
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better to what look like
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

i like the look of the desk

02/05/2014
By ,
Athens, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish my computer head would have fit inside the cabinet, the holes for the shelf should have been higher
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Beginnings Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Easy to assemble, sturdy

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and sturdy.
I modified the back board by cutting it out about 3.5 inches from the sides and left off the front door to increase airflow for my tower and give greater access to the back while still maintaining stability.
I recommend leaving the front door off till your sure you'll be able to close it with your pc in the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next