Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Rival Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

The Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver has a measured collecting container that makes frozen snow cones, slushies and frozen drinks easy. It uses ice cubes from your freezer, so no special freezing mold is required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation77%27 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

SnoCone/ Slush Machine

11/18/2012
By ,
Eden, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this machine for my grandson because he wanted a SnoCone machine. I decided on this one because it can be used also for just crushed ice. I csn't rate on it's performance because it hasn't been used yet. That's why I gave it a 4 Star.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great ice shaver machine!

09/18/2013
By ,
Roxboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing 3 machines from the store and which all worked @3-4 times, I returned them and decided to order online. Once again, after ordering 3 (all from different companies) I had to return the first 2 (worked several times and quit) and so far......the 3rd one has worked like a charm!!!
It is the Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver and to date, I have had no issues or problems and am very,very pleased with my "working" Ice Machine!!!! I have a rare Lung Disease and stay extremely thirsty at all times and was drinking 8-10 bottles of water a day. Needless to say my fluid intake made me look like a "blowfish" and also made me was very uncomfortable. The Ice Shaver delivers the exact amount of fluid I need, and is wonderful to crunch on as it does not break your teeth!!! Love it, love it!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

This ice crusher exceded my expextations.

07/01/2014
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received it yesterday and used it two times, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Making snow cones

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great makes the shavings nice and small. But it is noisier than I thought it would be. But over all very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Whole family loves it!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use...easy to clean!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great product for the price!

09/03/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine for the price! I have purchased ice machines in the past, and was not happy with them. They either didn't work well or broke down after a few months. This machine works excellent and produces the ice just the way I like it. My sister also has this Rival brand ice machine and she purchased hers 10 years ago. Just to show you how durable they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Slow, Noisy & Finicky

08/15/2013
By ,
northern Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless you unload jets for a living, the little plastic Rival ice grinder is unbelievably LOUD.
Could accept the noise, but it is also SLOW. Expect 3-5 minutes to make a single snow cone. If you have kids waiting, then you know that is a deal breaker! Also expect hard ice chips the size of a grain of rice, not the melt in your mouth fluffy commercial shave ice quality.
Worse yet, it would just spin noisily on ice from an automatic ice maker (typical half-moon shaped wedges) with no output. Had to pound the ice into tiny little chips first with a wooden mallet before machine would work slowly.
Note that most reviewers had purchased as gift and never actually used it. I returned it to WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Much enjoyed

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took a little to get the hang of assembly needed every use. Like the multiple crushed/shaved ice settings & being able to have crushed/shaved ice for more than one person at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver
07/19/2012
By ,
paducah, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seems to be a good product. like the fact that it is quiet .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

great for snow cones

07/04/2014
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used this for the first time, and for snow cones it is great, for slushies it could shave a little finer for me but is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Couldn't get ice to shave at first

03/09/2014
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was frustrated at first because the ice wouldn't shave no matter how I fed it into the shaver. Finally, we realized if we put the ice in the cup and let it sit for about 5 minutes, it worked. Better anyway. This is not a very fast method but eventually it got the job done. Once it works, the ice is nice. I have only used the snow cone setting because of the time element.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Love it!!

04/04/2014
By ,
Pollock, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

NOT WORTH IT

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had 3 of these machine it, broke sent it back to the company they sent it back when than a month broke at the same place again,they had me to cut the cord of the machine to show I had cut the cord sent me another broke at the same place again machine no children had operated
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Our second unit,

06/29/2012
By ,
Shelton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We don't do snowcones, but we both like iced coffee and this shaver works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Okay but not what I was looking for.

09/06/2012
By ,
Urbana, Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted something to make an icee but it doesn't make the ice small enough.
Will keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Carolina
I Love it so much!
Posted 01/10/2014
I have had this for over a year and used it at least 3 times a day for a year that it broke and was shaving little black pieces of plastic in my ice which let me know I needed to order another one. I think I might order 2 so I can have a back up. I am addicted to this ice shaver.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great Product!

11/04/2012
By ,
Cumberland, VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, Great price, Very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Product does not shave ice well

03/28/2014
By ,
Elberton, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product will not shave ice. It appears to be shaving but no ice is being released to container to use. Will return as not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

It Works

08/25/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for grand kids they were happy for the snow cones
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great for halol halo

08/15/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to make a Filipino desert dish called Halo Halo. Makes great shaved ice and the halo halo is like a taste of home according to family. next attempt is to try to make some frappes like McDonald's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

it keeps breaking. can take only so much.

12/12/2013
By ,
MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use it 2-3 times a day, but after couple weeks or so, it breaks. neat little machine, but can't take the pressure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next