Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rival Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

The Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver has a measured collecting container that makes frozen snow cones, slushies and frozen drinks easy. It uses ice cubes from your freezer, so no special freezing mold is required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation77%27 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

SnoCone/ Slush Machine

11/18/2012
By ,
Eden, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this machine for my grandson because he wanted a SnoCone machine. I decided on this one because it can be used also for just crushed ice. I csn't rate on it's performance because it hasn't been used yet. That's why I gave it a 4 Star.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-9points
Review 2 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great ice shaver machine!

09/18/2013
By ,
Roxboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing 3 machines from the store and which all worked @3-4 times, I returned them and decided to order online. Once again, after ordering 3 (all from different companies) I had to return the first 2 (worked several times and quit) and so far......the 3rd one has worked like a charm!!!
It is the Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver and to date, I have had no issues or problems and am very,very pleased with my "working" Ice Machine!!!! I have a rare Lung Disease and stay extremely thirsty at all times and was drinking 8-10 bottles of water a day. Needless to say my fluid intake made me look like a "blowfish" and also made me was very uncomfortable. The Ice Shaver delivers the exact amount of fluid I need, and is wonderful to crunch on as it does not break your teeth!!! Love it, love it!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great product for the price!

09/03/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine for the price! I have purchased ice machines in the past, and was not happy with them. They either didn't work well or broke down after a few months. This machine works excellent and produces the ice just the way I like it. My sister also has this Rival brand ice machine and she purchased hers 10 years ago. Just to show you how durable they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 4 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver
07/19/2012
By ,
paducah, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seems to be a good product. like the fact that it is quiet .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 5 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Slow, Noisy & Finicky

08/15/2013
By ,
northern Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless you unload jets for a living, the little plastic Rival ice grinder is unbelievably LOUD.
Could accept the noise, but it is also SLOW. Expect 3-5 minutes to make a single snow cone. If you have kids waiting, then you know that is a deal breaker! Also expect hard ice chips the size of a grain of rice, not the melt in your mouth fluffy commercial shave ice quality.
Worse yet, it would just spin noisily on ice from an automatic ice maker (typical half-moon shaped wedges) with no output. Had to pound the ice into tiny little chips first with a wooden mallet before machine would work slowly.
Note that most reviewers had purchased as gift and never actually used it. I returned it to WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 6 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Our second unit,

06/29/2012
By ,
Shelton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We don't do snowcones, but we both like iced coffee and this shaver works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 7 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Okay but not what I was looking for.

09/06/2012
By ,
Urbana, Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted something to make an icee but it doesn't make the ice small enough.
Will keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Carolina
I Love it so much!
Posted 01/10/2014
I have had this for over a year and used it at least 3 times a day for a year that it broke and was shaving little black pieces of plastic in my ice which let me know I needed to order another one. I think I might order 2 so I can have a back up. I am addicted to this ice shaver.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great Product!

11/04/2012
By ,
Cumberland, VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, Great price, Very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Couldn't get ice to shave at first

03/09/2014
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was frustrated at first because the ice wouldn't shave no matter how I fed it into the shaver. Finally, we realized if we put the ice in the cup and let it sit for about 5 minutes, it worked. Better anyway. This is not a very fast method but eventually it got the job done. Once it works, the ice is nice. I have only used the snow cone setting because of the time element.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

It Works

08/25/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for grand kids they were happy for the snow cones
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 11 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great for halol halo

08/15/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to make a Filipino desert dish called Halo Halo. Makes great shaved ice and the halo halo is like a taste of home according to family. next attempt is to try to make some frappes like McDonald's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Love it!!

04/04/2014
By ,
Pollock, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Making snow cones

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great makes the shavings nice and small. But it is noisier than I thought it would be. But over all very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

This ice crusher exceded my expextations.

07/01/2014
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received it yesterday and used it two times, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 15 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Cheaply built

08/13/2013
By ,
Prescott AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My ice shaver broke 2 weeks after receiving it. Made in China. I wish WalMart would sell more American made products.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Whole family loves it!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use...easy to clean!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

it keeps breaking. can take only so much.

12/12/2013
By ,
MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use it 2-3 times a day, but after couple weeks or so, it breaks. neat little machine, but can't take the pressure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

great shaver for the money

11/10/2013
By ,
whitmore lake, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for small jobs but takes a while to shave had to refill ice 3x to make large slushie
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 19 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver

Great ice shaver

11/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it does the job, but be warned....it is VERY loud!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Rival Deluxe Ice Shaver
10/16/2013
By ,
Goshen indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had other snow come makers and smoothie makers ! This is an excellent combo. Works in seconds!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next