Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Oster Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

The Oster Designed for Life 7 Speed Blender features a 6-cup dishwasher safe glass jar that is thermal shock tested for long lasting durability. Reversing motor technology switches the blade direction to eliminate clogging and draws contents in for uniform blending and chopping. Two pre-programmed settings guarantee restaurant-quality frozen drinks and chopping. Powerful patented blending and food processing blades slice, dice, chop and process with precision.
Average Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation91%138 out of 152reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 135 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Very satisfied with my purchase...

05/30/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just returned the ninja Mega kitchen.. Twas an unjustifiable piece of junk I've ever bought..lol
I did some research n stumbled on this beauty..and omg! What was I thinking.. Its absolutely purrfect!!! The power isn't as much but it does the job amazingly well..the ninja blender had me chewing my 'smoothie'.. 'twas horrible.. But this blended d same Amount of fruit (watermelon,pineapple,banana,strawberries,grapes n blueberries) into a smooth paste.. Delicious! Now I'm addicted to this inexpensive masterpiece.. Need I say more? Go get urs now : )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Salem , Or
same idea
Posted 06/11/2014
Thanks for sharing .. I'm planning to return my ninja , doesn't blend kale or spinach that use in my juices every morning. I saw this Oster in Walmart . I think can be a winter . I had a regular 10 speed blender and blends better my spinach and kale than the ninja, I could not even chew my smoothie I had to spit the chunks of kale ..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Built to last. Metal to metal gears spin blades.

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Oster BLSTRM-DZ0-015 7-Speed, Brushed Stailess Blender is well built.
Unlike some blenders (including my last one) this Oster has metal parts on top of the blender base and under the attachedment at the bottom of the glass pitcher that spin the blades to mix or chop food.
(Our old one was perfect except the plastic gear receptacle located at the base of the glass pitcher cracked. No replacement part available.)
The base on this Oster blender is very sturdy and offers just enough choices for blending or chopping food.
The pre-programmed button works well for smoothies. It spins in one direction, slows/stops, automatically starts spinning in the opposite direction and then again the other way and then it spins fast for one final round.
You do NOT program it, the button does all the work. You are free to stop it at any time and select a different button setting. OR you can just select it to spin low, medium or fast as well as hold the button in or select the speed for it to spin automatically until you press stop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Beats other blenders of more popular brands

05/27/2014
By ,
LA County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, it is a very good blender that is very versatile, i.e., it blends, crushes, and chops. There are 2 pre-programmed buttons on the left side of the control panel, one for frozen drinks; and the other is for food chop. On the right side there selection buttons for manual operation. I like this blender because of its good design, e.g., the base does not have any opening (gap or crevice) that would allow any liquid to leak down to the motor. Also, there are settings for the motor to rotate in reverse direction; the 6 sharp blades designed to get the job done quicker work very well together with the very powerful motor (note: most blenders on the market are powered by 350 Watts only). Other features which deserve compliment on Oster, the manufacturer, are the use of better quality for the blender parts, i.e., a glass jar, the base of the 6 blades made of metal, not plastic. I strongly recommend this blender @ Walmart.com----
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Not your ordinary blender..

12/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first tried it out I ran it without anything in it and it made a kind of vibrating/rough noise as the blades spun and I wondered if this was the way it was supposed to sound.. But then I put some water in it and the sound was more like a blender sounds. Just needs a load of some kind I guess
Then I tried the programmed Frozen Drinks mode with just water and watched it go through it's different stages with reversing the blade and different speeds and I thought Whoa! This is not your ordinary blender!
Then I tried some frozen fruit, strawberries, mangos, pineapple, and some pineapple juice (no ice, the fruit was frozen solid) and hit the Frozen Drinks programmed button. Man! That thing turned those frozen fruits into a great thick smoothie with no unchopped chunks at all.
Impressive..
I read a couple reviews that said the contents were suspended above the blades or they had to tamp down the stuff to get it to blend. Well if you have too much solids and not enough liquids...that's what happens. Not really a fault of the blender..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Better Value than Blendtec or Vitamix

05/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having only used it for 7 weeks (everyday once or twice), I have found the motor base unit to be quite durable and performing flawlessly. Oster boasts a 5 year guarantee, so I feel this almost puts the unit on par with the much higher priced Blendtec or Vitamix (at 1/6th the cost). In all fairness, the more expensive blenders have higher power motors, but it seems that the Oster is powerful enough. It certainly has shown enough power to blend all the smoothies (using carrots, apples & frozen blackberries among other "tough" ingredients) and nut based salad dressings.
The rubber seal in the blade assembly got quite hot and shortly after I tried pulverizing some flax seeds it started leaking. The manual does not specify whether on not to blend dry ingredients, but I suspect it does not like to run without some fluid to lubricate the rubber seal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Great blender. Powerful for its motor.

05/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had the luxury of having this blender for 6 months, a year, or two years.
This isn't good, as my two prior blenders burned out pretty soon, though they were
much cheaper.
So I'll just say that so far, I've been able to put most anything into this blender and
have it properly ground down to make a smoothie. Remember to let it grind down
one item at a time, and it will be easier on the blender. I agree with some reviewer
out there that it's kind of an odd-looking blender, but oh well, if it continues to do
its job I won't care. I give high marks to Oster for having a glass container not
a plastic one. Also, the machine's ability to reverse its geers is a very surprising
and novel benefit of the blender. I'm betting that the $59.95 I spend on this blender
will be just enough to ensure that I'll have it still working well come two or three
years from now. As always, you get what you pay for. No more $19 blenders
for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Best Blender Yet!

04/18/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oster wasn't my first choice, but after doing a lot of research this blender came out on top as far as performance, style, ease and a stand by our product 5 year guarantee. Most blenders have a 1 year guarantee, which says to consumers after that the probability of failure can occur. So this spoke volums to me. I also loved the brushed stainless look, very stylish on the counter, plus the working buttons are on the front which makes it easier to see and read, at least for me. I love the heavy glass jar that can go from cold to hot without breakage, most blenders jars are plastic. It has six blades to do the job better and on top of that they are reversable, spinning in one direction and then reversing to do the job in a more thorough way. Top all that off with two programed buttons (which I didn't find on any other blender) one for those special frozen drinks, which takes the guess work out and the other for food chopping so no guessing there either. All in all I couldn't be happier with the style and performance of this blender. I also purchased the malt maker blade, especially for making malts which no other blender had that I found. Way to go Oster!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Plesantly Amazed!

07/21/2014
By ,
The Klingon Dog World
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed with the power and how finely it minced hard vegetables and even hard, dry star anise seeds. I had a cheap Oster Blender that took three years of almost daily use making fruit and veggie smoothies. This blender has much more power and with the four blades it even keeps thick smoothies churning top to bottom. The reversing feature helps to clear up jams. Square jars (Ninja) can leave stuff stuck in the corners that doesn't get chopped. Round jars (Black & Decker) can create a vortex that spins everything but doesn't chop properly. The Oster jar has big enough protrusions to keep everything moving and chopping just right. The glass jar is easy to clean and can be put in the dishwasher. This is a great product and great value, I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Fantastic for Juicing or Blending

01/24/2013
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was actually in the market for a juicer but past experience with trying to clean one after using it made me consider the NutriBullett or this Oster. After all the negative info out there on the bullett, I decided to try the Oster and I am glad I did. I make health drinks with it and it completely liquifies every thing I have fed it so far. Hard carrots in a small amount of liquid become completely juiced. I usually make a smoothie from carrots, blueberries, apples, brocolli, kale, walnuts, and strawberries with grape or apple juice mixed in to blend. The taste is fantastic and there is no pulp of any kind left. It becomes the consistency of a thin milkshake. I put apples in peel and all, no leftovers of any kind.
Dont let the hype try to convince you that food must be juiced to get the most nutrients out. A blender like this one will work just as well. I did the research.
The main reason there is no pulp or residue is because of the auto reversing blade. I mix my drinks on low first, then switch to the "frozen drink" setting which engages the auto reversing feature. Super easy to clean, just rinse out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Best blender for my needs

04/06/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a blender to make smoothies and healthy drinks. After doing much research I finally decided on the Oster Designed for Life 7 speed blender for these reasons:
• It fits my budget. $60 is a reasonable price for what you get.
• It has 600 watts of power (more than my previous 16 year old Osterizer which still does a fair job with only 125 watts). Blenders with over 1,000 watts of power may overheat cold drinks.
• It has a 5 year satisfaction guarantee, and is made in the U.S. by a well-known company. Other blenders I researched at $200+ were made in China and had only 1 year warranties.
• This blender is made with metal parts (not plastic) and has a tempered glass pitcher. The pitcher will accept hot or cold food, and can also be put the in the dishwasher.
• It has a removable blade assembly which I can tighten myself to ensure no leakage.
• I like the reversing motor technology that switches blade direction to eliminate clogging. It really works well when making frozen fruit smoothies.
I made myself a fruit yogurt smoothie, blended some rice milk, frozen fruit and yogurt. After that became smooth, I threw in a handful of sliced almonds — because I had no almond butter. I was pleasantly surprised that the crunchy texture of the almonds completely disappeared when I blended everything together. My smoothie was indeed smooth.
I also made a green drink with a cucumber and some pieces of kale. First I cut the cucumber in cubes and chopped it up on the food chop setting. Then I increased the speed of the blender to high and liquified the cucumber. After that I added a little lime juice, and put in some kale leaves without the stems. The blender liquified those as well. I didn't see any small pieces of leaf floating around. It made a very thick healthy drink.
I found that this blender works better for me when I blend in stages rather than throwing everything in all at once, although sometimes that can work too.
My final advice: Following the directions in the user's manual, and working with the blender in the way it was designed to be used, will get you good results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
CORRECTION
Posted 04/07/2014
Oster blenders used to be made in the U.S. Nowadays they are made elsewhere. This blender was made in Mexico.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

A Little Dynamo

10/14/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this Oster Designed for Life Blender twice a day since it arrived and could not be happier with it. This little dynamo makes quick, easy work of carrots, squash, zucchini, apples, pears, peaches, plums. We have not had a single problem with leaks or stains and clean up is a breeze. I take it apart and hand wash and dry the pieces so no rust problems another reviewer mentioned.
The buttons are easy to use, the preprgramming is a snap for chopping and frozen drinks all while leaving the option for manual functions. Well thought out.
We recommend this blender for those looking for a workhorse for preparing fruit/vegetable blending and the price just can't be beat. Great price, great value, awesome little dynamo of a blender.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Best blender ever.

11/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this blender for Christmas last year. Although it's been awhile I still wanted to leave a review. I actually did some research on blenders before requesting this this one. I usually just use my blender for drinks, shakes, smoothies, margaritas and this blender works wonderful for this. My past blenders would get air pockets and need to be stirred but not this one. The blades reversing during blending really makes a difference. I always end up with the perfect drink just from the push of a button. All the parts are metal and glass, no cheap plastic parts that break easily! I LOVE this blender and highly recommend it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

I Returned Vitamix costing 9X--Oster the Winner!

09/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Vitamix based on a friend's hype, and oh, those infomercials! The Vitamix is a good machine to be sure -- but the Oster 7-Speed Blender delivers more than adequate power with better engineering -- more blender and chopping control, automatic function, reversible motor, and a GLASS jar vs. plastic on the Vitamix. The Vitamix is much noisier. Durability? Both have a 5 year warranty. The Vitamix comes with a nice recipe book but it costs 9X more. Figure it out for yourself. I returned the Vitamix and I'm totally satisfied with the Oster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Oster Still makes a great product

07/01/2014
By ,
Waleska, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased on 08/16/13 - wanted to use the blender before commenting on it, works great.
The 2 pre-programmed settings are fantastic, every morning the wife and I have a frozen fruit smoothie. We add 4 cups of frozen fruit, yogurt, juice and milk then press the Frozen Drink button, by the time everything gets put back into the frig, the blending is done. At 600 watts the power consumption is low with plenty of power for all food prep we use it for. The manual pulse buttons have just the right speeds. Had to laugh while watching the ninja mega infomercial as they use this model and claim it is a commercial unit. Price/wattage/versatility/cleanup, I'll take the Oster every time.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Great blender

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this blender - it does everything it should and more. It makes great smoothies and other frozen drinks with a preset button. It purees tomatoes for sauce, grinds nut and crushes ice. The jar is made of sturdy glass and it is easy to use and clean. I tried and returned two other blenders before choosing this Oster. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Great Product

05/24/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was already a fan of Oster blenders when I found this blender. I bought this one to replace the Oster blender I got 10 years ago that finally died. My family loves smoothies so that is what I tested first. It worked like a charm. Before, I had to stop the blender every 15 seconds or so when the process seemed to stall, mix up the frozen fruit, and then start again. With this blender, I put the ingredients in, pressed the auto setting and just watched the process from start to finish. Perfect Smoothies!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Great Blender

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I'm trying to eat healthier I brought this blender so that I could make vegetable and fruit smoothies. Let me tell you, this blender is awesome! I was even able to make banana ice cream with it. All I did was took one whole banana and placed it in a zip lock bag, which I placed into my freezer overnight. The next day I placed just a tad bit of water into the blender along with the frozen banana. After 2 cycles of the food chop setting my frozen banana turned into a smooth serving of banana ice cream! My son absolutely loved it. Hopefully this blender lasts for more than a year.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Works very well, as expected.

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've made several smoothies with it so far, sometimes including ice cubes, and it's worked perfectly, with no problems at all. I like the "reversing motor" feature of it as I think it assures that ice cubes or other firm chunks don't get stuck. Since the reversing feature isn't well explained elsewhere I'll explain it here: when you press the "Preprogrammed Frozen Drinks" button (as for a smoothie) the blade whirls one way for a while, then reverses briefly for awhile, then forward again, then reverses again, and then forward at high speed for the remainder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Great blender, looks nice on counter

08/06/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased for my husband to make his protein drinks, replacing our 10+ year old blender which sounded like someone was torturing something when it ran. The new one looks VERY nice. The bowl part is heavy glass. There are not too many settings, so it's easy to operate and is relatively quiet considering how powerful it is. We have not tried blending anything with ice, but it works really well and my husband says it blends the protein and banana combo much more than our old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed for Life 7-Speed Blender, Brushed Stainless, BLSTRM-DZ0-015

Must be a refurbished

03/11/2014
By ,
Evans, Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love the style and options but ordered online and received a used, scratched and dented appliance. So I will be driving to local store to return it. My store shows they have one in stock so will try that one. We will see and as the news people say," details at 11".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next