Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.756 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(287 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
48
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation71%203 out of 286reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
48
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Works great!

05/07/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee pot works great. No problems with anything so far. Definitely meets expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY !!!

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY PLEASE WITH MY NEW MR. COFFEE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
it happens
Posted 09/14/2014
I had the previous Mr. Coffee model and it lasted me a long time. I bought a Black & Decker and it died on me a year later. Sometimes you just get a lemon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

BEST COFFEEMAKER WE'VE EVER HAD

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I don't understand the negative reviews. This is the THIRD of this coffeemaker we have had. The first one worked perfectly for years. The second one I accidentally and stupidly ruined by forgetting to put the carafe on the hotplate during brewing....yes. I know, DUMB. The third, which we are currently using and have had for a few years, is working just great.
A word about cleaning: a reviewer below said to use 50/50 white vinegar and water to clean. This is incorrect and is not what the manufacturer recommends. To effectively clean, you have to use 100% undiluted white vinegar, then follow with three pots full of clear water. Only straight, undiluted vinegar will clean correctly. Do this before first use, and thereafter once a month.
We are coffee lovers in this household, and we love it strong. The strong option brews it up just right for us. We are so pleased with this model that my husband told me to get one or two to keep in storage, just in case it is discontinued. I plan to do just that, and Walmart has the best price, so I'll buy them there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

EXCELLENT VALUE

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really surprised at the negative reviews. This is an excellent coffee pot for ease of use and reasonably good coffee (there are better ways to brew coffee but they are labor intense). This is my 3rd Mr Coffee maker but it is only the 2nd Mr Coffee Programmable I have owned. I've had the current machine about 18 months with previous Mr Coffee machines lasting about 3 years. Regardless of brand when the coffee pot is new you must run a pot of water and white or distilled vinegar through it followed by 2 or 3 additional pots of water to remove the new-coffee-maker-taste. I brew a full pot of dark bitter fresh-ground coffee about 350 out of 365 days a year. I have never "cleaned" the coffee maker again. Maybe this is why it only lasts me 3 years! While I usually turn off the machine myself I can rest assured that it will turn off on its own after 2 hours due to the AUTO-SHUT-OFF FEATURE. This is the single most important feature that will make me purchase this machine again. I have never used and could care less about the program function. In a previous life I had access to an absolutely perfect counter top coffee maker that retailed for $1200. Mr Coffee may not be perfect but for the price you cannot go wrong.
PROS:
Ease of use
Auto Shut Off feature
Dependable
Reasonably good coffee
Excellent price --- costs about the same as purchasing a weeks worth of coffee from your favorite barista.
CONS:
While it fits easily under the upper cabinets, I have to pull it out to open it in order to pour in the water and insert the coffee.
As with all glass carafes of this type, water often dribbles out as you are pouring a FULL carafe into the reservoir. I ALWAYS hold a towel under the carafe when pouring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Second one because I liked the first so much!

08/17/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When our old coffee pot finally died, I opted to purchase the exact same model because we liked the other one so much. I would highly recommend running at least one pot of 50/50 white vinegar/water mix through followed by 2-3 pots of plain water. This is because of the plastic taste that comes with brand new coffee pots. That is the only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars.
Also, to keep your coffee maker lasting longer, do the same cleaning cycle as mentioned above at least once every month or every other month depending on how hard your water is. We have fairly hard water so I clean it once a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Second one going back today
Posted 08/21/2014
The first one lasted less than a month, I took it back, got another (no problem there), six months later this one has gone out. It will go back when I'm through with this comment.
I have all ways use Mr. Coffee and the products have been good, but since productivity at manufacter's quality has dropped so has Mr. Coffee. I will purchase a different brand this time. I do not recommend this maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee's done it again!

11/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a gift. They picked up the same day and they love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr Coffee always makes the best coffee

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought Mr. Coffee because reviews always say it makes the best coffee because it brews beans at correct temperature and it does for this coffee snob :) Because of my water and even with a filter the elements will fail in 1-2 years even with vinegar cleaning no matter what coffee maker I use so why by an expensive one. A little $20.00 but this time I purchased the purchase plan for 3 year coverage for an extra $5.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

New Red coffee maker

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ease of programing stylish design . do have to use more ground coffee to get the desired strength as my previous coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Love this coffee maker

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker has nice features at a great price! The only thing I wish it had is a lighted display. Makes a great cup of coffee though!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr Coffee 12 Cup Coffee Brewer

11/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price and quality (longevity) are not an issue with Mr. Coffee; but this design is one of their worst...a square brewing section on top. It's a tight fit for the coffee pot, and always seems to leak water on the heating plate below whenever you go to pour a cup of coffee. The typical snout nose brewing section on top much better fits the bill. Also, no filter basket is included with this coffee maker...so be ready to buy paper filters.
You let me down this time...Mr Coffee!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Simple and brilliant

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low cost, does a perfect job, easy to program and my last one lasted 15 years! Love my Senor Cafe! (Mr. Coffee).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Clunky

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes good coffee, except it is hard to slide the carafe out. And it is hard to read the on off and seettings buttons, the shine from the fake metal front makes it hard to see at nite.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working after 2 months

10/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bout this lower priced coffee maker, with the excitement of a clock and a "Stronger brew" button, which did just that! Until it stopped working today . So I'm going to try to find the receipt and return it, since it has a 1 year warranty. It just beeps multiple times now (like it is done brewing), yet puts forth zero water. Steam yes. Water no. Very disappointed in such a cheaper designed product. Especially from the makers of Sunbeam, Mr Coffee. Both brand names. But disappointed in both now.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not recomended for people who know good coffee

07/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker and was surprised to find out that it looked different from the machine marketed on its packaging. This coffee maker does not include a water filtering system that others at this price point due (see Black and Decker). It also does not have the Mr. Coffee logo on the steel panel nor the button in the middle which allows you to pause the brew cycle so that you can pour yourself a cup without waiting for the rest of the brew to be made. Also, this model doesn't come with a permanent filter, so you'll need to keep purchasing the paper ones. Finally, the main reason I do not recomend this product is because the coffee left at the bottom of the carafe, say the last few cups tends to come out scorched, regardless of the brand of coffee being used.
I have tried different coffee brands, which use differnt ratios of water and still, without fail this Mr. Coffee burns my brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not the best

01/07/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this maker for about 2 years. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst either. I would not recommend it though. One of the things I had a hard time with was pouring the water into the reservoir. It was narrow and I usually spilled water everywhere. The only thing I thought was special was the cleaning feature. If you followed the instructions, I worked great. I used vinegar and it worked great. I had really hard water and had to clean it about once every other month. It was nice to set it on the clean cycle and leave it. I would not buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

New Coffee Lover

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally don't drink coffee but my younger son talked me into getting a coffee maker and I'm glad I did. This coffee maker makes coffee really quick and it has a self cleaning option for easy clean up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next