Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.691 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(204 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
28
3 stars
13
2 stars
19
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation68%138 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 119 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
28
3 stars
13
2 stars
19
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Works great!

05/07/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee pot works great. No problems with anything so far. Definitely meets expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

New Pot

04/14/2014
By ,
Metairie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good cup of Joe. Not a 5 b/c I had to buy the permanent filter- thought it would be included. Like the alert it is done & that it is turning off 2 hrs later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Ummm...Coffee...

03/04/2014
By ,
Louisville,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has got to be the best coffee maker ever!
With the settings for "strong" and "regular" brews of coffee, you can always get the perfect cup.
I even like the "beep" feature which lets you know when the java is finished brewing.
The price is great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not the best

01/07/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this maker for about 2 years. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst either. I would not recommend it though. One of the things I had a hard time with was pouring the water into the reservoir. It was narrow and I usually spilled water everywhere. The only thing I thought was special was the cleaning feature. If you followed the instructions, I worked great. I used vinegar and it worked great. I had really hard water and had to clean it about once every other month. It was nice to set it on the clean cycle and leave it. I would not buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

11/20/2013
By ,
Hudson, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup and to make coffee. Use it at least once a day, sometimes more, and the coffee comes out great. Easy to program. I have had other Mr. Coffee units and I love them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Disappointing

03/04/2014
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very lightweight construction and flimsy feel to it. Coffee takes 25 minutes to brew and 12 cups of water yields 10 cups of coffee. The shower head that sprays the hot water is on an arm ( like a faucet ) and you have to swing it over the coffee grounds before brewing and then push it to the back to remove the basket for cleaning. Coffee is not good tasting. Perhaps due to the long brewing time? I regret this purchase.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23

11/20/2013
By ,
Forest City,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this not even a year, i take very good care of my coffee pot. Make sure its cleaned. I make maybe 2 pots a day. Should this last longer then just a few months. Thought Mr. Coffee was one of the better ones. Guess the cheap one i had from Dollar General lasted longer than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

love it

04/06/2014
By ,
baltimore, maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a simple coffee maker and I got it with this one love the timer on it just right for the morning
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Excellent quality and value

04/05/2014
By ,
Chicago Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker is an excellent value. Easy to set up and use. An excellent value and is exactly as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Best Mr. Coffee I have ever had.

04/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First coffee pot other then a Bunn where the pot did not drip when pouring also this one does not drip on the burner when the pot is pulled out while the coffee is still brewing. I also love the rich setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Obnoxiously loud BEEP BEEP BEEP you can't turn off

11/09/2013
By ,
WNC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this a few months and when I was sleeping normal and not waking up before the rest in the household I didn't pay much attention to the notification beeps that the coffee was done and again when it shut off after 2 hours. If you don't want to wake everyone else even behind closed doors you can't make coffee w.o them hearing the beep- it's that loud.
One huge plus is this carafe does not dribble like my no drip B&D brand did. I do like that but surely there is a coffee maker that doesn't drip OR beep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not recomended for people who know good coffee

07/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker and was surprised to find out that it looked different from the machine marketed on its packaging. This coffee maker does not include a water filtering system that others at this price point due (see Black and Decker). It also does not have the Mr. Coffee logo on the steel panel nor the button in the middle which allows you to pause the brew cycle so that you can pour yourself a cup without waiting for the rest of the brew to be made. Also, this model doesn't come with a permanent filter, so you'll need to keep purchasing the paper ones. Finally, the main reason I do not recomend this product is because the coffee left at the bottom of the carafe, say the last few cups tends to come out scorched, regardless of the brand of coffee being used.
I have tried different coffee brands, which use differnt ratios of water and still, without fail this Mr. Coffee burns my brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Coffee Maker only worked for 15 months

04/02/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received the Coffee Maker Christmas 2012 and it stopped working last week (March 2014).
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

It stopped working

02/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker about 4 months ago and it was working perfectly fine 3 days ago I got up to make coffee and it wasn't working no more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Excellent and inexpensive choice.

04/29/2012
By ,
64086
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great coffee maker. The "Delay Brew" is great, the "Regular" or "Strong Brew" is a good feature and the two-hour delay is nice, not too long or short. Pouring from the carafe is easy and I don't splatter the water or coffee. It was so inexpensive too! I have used $100 dollar coffee makers that could not perform this well.
I also bought the add-on filter, it does make a difference in the taste.
Age:35 - 44
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great value for this coffee lover!

04/19/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of owning a Mr. Coffee thermal maker, we decided to go back to a traditional maker. The thermal maker didn't quite heat the coffee up enough anymore. After months on trying to find the "perfect" coffee maker, I finally decided to pick up this inexpensive pot at my local Wal-mart. It has all of the same features as my old maker at half the price! I love the look....with the stainless steel accents. The only feature that I wish it had was a illuminated clock. However, you can't get a better coffee maker for the price. Highly recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next