Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
155
4 stars
49
3 stars
20
2 stars
22
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation70%214 out of 306reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
155
4 stars
49
3 stars
20
2 stars
22
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Works great!

05/07/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee pot works great. No problems with anything so far. Definitely meets expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY !!!

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY PLEASE WITH MY NEW MR. COFFEE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
it happens
Posted 09/14/2014
I had the previous Mr. Coffee model and it lasted me a long time. I bought a Black & Decker and it died on me a year later. Sometimes you just get a lemon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Have owned it for five years

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've owned this coffee maker for five years now, and it just started leaking water. We make AT LEAST two pots of coffee a day, every day, and sometimes more, so this thing has lasted through at least 3,700 pots of coffee. I'm replacing it with the exact same model. Thankfully they still make it. At $24, you really can't beat it. We've owned more expensive coffee makers, and even other models of Mr. Coffee coffee makers, but we've never owned one that performs as well as this one. Some other models even seem to leak coffee down the front of the pot as you're pouring, but this one does not. It also has some nice features, such as the 2 hour Fresh Brew delay, and the overnight time delay. The "Strong" coffee feature is one we use often. It also has a self cleaning cycle, and it lets you know when it's time to run it. Yep, if you're in the market for an inexpensive coffee maker, you certainly can't beat this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

BEST COFFEEMAKER WE'VE EVER HAD

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I don't understand the negative reviews. This is the THIRD of this coffeemaker we have had. The first one worked perfectly for years. The second one I accidentally and stupidly ruined by forgetting to put the carafe on the hotplate during brewing....yes. I know, DUMB. The third, which we are currently using and have had for a few years, is working just great.
A word about cleaning: a reviewer below said to use 50/50 white vinegar and water to clean. This is incorrect and is not what the manufacturer recommends. To effectively clean, you have to use 100% undiluted white vinegar, then follow with three pots full of clear water. Only straight, undiluted vinegar will clean correctly. Do this before first use, and thereafter once a month.
We are coffee lovers in this household, and we love it strong. The strong option brews it up just right for us. We are so pleased with this model that my husband told me to get one or two to keep in storage, just in case it is discontinued. I plan to do just that, and Walmart has the best price, so I'll buy them there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

It's a COFFEE POT what else !

12/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give it 5 stars but on strong brew it takes about 15-16 min to brew. But overall it makes a good pot of coffee like it is supposed to. It replaced another Mr. Coffee pot that died after about a year of daily one pot service. Quess that is today's lifetime.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Second one because I liked the first so much!

08/17/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When our old coffee pot finally died, I opted to purchase the exact same model because we liked the other one so much. I would highly recommend running at least one pot of 50/50 white vinegar/water mix through followed by 2-3 pots of plain water. This is because of the plastic taste that comes with brand new coffee pots. That is the only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars.
Also, to keep your coffee maker lasting longer, do the same cleaning cycle as mentioned above at least once every month or every other month depending on how hard your water is. We have fairly hard water so I clean it once a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Second one going back today
Posted 08/21/2014
The first one lasted less than a month, I took it back, got another (no problem there), six months later this one has gone out. It will go back when I'm through with this comment.
I have all ways use Mr. Coffee and the products have been good, but since productivity at manufacter's quality has dropped so has Mr. Coffee. I will purchase a different brand this time. I do not recommend this maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Stay Away

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker less than six months ago. It want do anything now... I would recommend that you by something else. It should have lasted longer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

You get what you pay for

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We went through two of these in under 5 years. Buy a cheap product, get a cheap product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great coffee Maker

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes 12 cups really fast
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Lasted less than one month!

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for Christmas, started using it a few days after Christmas and stopped working January 23rd, didn't even last a month! Piece of garbage! Did not over use it, cleaned as directed and it just stopped working the morning of January 23rd for no apparent reason!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Coffee Time

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great. Make 1 cup or 12, has timer so I get up to fresh made coffee. Simple to use. Comes with water filter and basket so you don't have to use coffee filters. It also has brew strength. Lovin it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Wake up to coffee

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product meets my expectations.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Already not working right, bought in Oct

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The brew basket is holding water because the knob on the bottom of it isn't making contact with the top of the coffee pot. But only sometimes. It's like the lottery, you never know if you'll win or just be standing there, empty cup in hand, all sad. On the pet peeve side, it BEEPS. It beeps when it's "done' brewing and beeps when it shuts itself off. Not something you want in tight quarters when someone might still be asleep when it does that. Buy something else.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Morning Brew

01/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good quality for the price. Easy to pour water into.
I would definitely recommend this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Didn't last long

01/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked well for about 2 months and then stopped working.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Worth more $$$

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Choice of brew strenghts, self cleaning cycle, compact, attractive design - features not expected at a price this low plus it makes a good cup of coffee.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next