Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
19
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation70%173 out of 246reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 124 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
19
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY !!!

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY PLEASE WITH MY NEW MR. COFFEE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

DO NOT BUY!!!!

06/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work after 2 days!!! Wish I had read the reviews about this particular coffeemaker before I bought it....it got all 1 stars from the Mr. Coffee .com site!!! When the coffee "brews" the water stays in the reservoir and it just steams away....and you get 1/2 of the desired amount of coffee and it is all grounds!!!!! Very angry...because nothing should stand between me and my morning coffee!!!! (lol!)
Going back to the store and I will not buy Mr. Coffee again...used to be a good brand. Not anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not the best

01/07/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this maker for about 2 years. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst either. I would not recommend it though. One of the things I had a hard time with was pouring the water into the reservoir. It was narrow and I usually spilled water everywhere. The only thing I thought was special was the cleaning feature. If you followed the instructions, I worked great. I used vinegar and it worked great. I had really hard water and had to clean it about once every other month. It was nice to set it on the clean cycle and leave it. I would not buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great product for the price.

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This coffee maker is used every single day and hasn't missed a beat. I'm very happy with this purchase. Just a heads up that the clock isn't illuminated so having a clock on it is only useful in the daytime (dim but visible-black on gray). At night you can't see what time it is at all so if you use your coffee maker as a clock like I do then you might re-think this purchase for one with an illuminated clock. Packaging and description don't mention it at all so I only assumed it would be lighted as all my other programmable coffee makers have been in the past. Something I will eventually get used to because everything else about this coffee maker is "spot on".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Good for a coffee lover

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so glad that it's came I start to a cup of coffee when I got it to my house.. So so happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Good Coffee Maker

07/23/2014
By ,
Stafford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has done a good job of making a pot a day. No problems; simple to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Best for the money.

07/23/2014
By ,
Rockfall, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, makes great coffee. Has auto features like the more expensive units. Can't go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Worst Coffee Pot I've ever owned!

07/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too many issues to list them all. Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

I gave it to a friend and they like it very much.

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend says it is very easy to program this coffee maker. I should have given it to them sooner. They like it very much. It makes coffee very fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Slow to perk!

07/19/2014
By ,
Lake of the Ozarks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This coffee maker seems like it takes a long time to perk! May return it and see if the next one is any faster!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Time will tell

07/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I only had the coffee maker a week. It does get hotter than my last Mr. Coffee coffee maker, and the water does not evaporate doing brewing like the previous maker. For some reason the coffee does not taste the same. I cleaned the coffee maker out before using, and I am using the same coffee. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Good Value

05/31/2014
By ,
Farmington Hills, Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good price & product. Had my first one for over 3 years, now-a-days thats a long time in this throw away world. Good product workes well. This is maker number two. The only thing I could say is so long as you don't keep the machine on all the time(restarting/turn back on) just to keep coffee warm it should last longer than mine did. I blew out the heat coil in the warming plate. Run a brew cycle and after it shuts down(2 hours later) just heat up leftover coffee in microwave....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not recomended for people who know good coffee

07/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker and was surprised to find out that it looked different from the machine marketed on its packaging. This coffee maker does not include a water filtering system that others at this price point due (see Black and Decker). It also does not have the Mr. Coffee logo on the steel panel nor the button in the middle which allows you to pause the brew cycle so that you can pour yourself a cup without waiting for the rest of the brew to be made. Also, this model doesn't come with a permanent filter, so you'll need to keep purchasing the paper ones. Finally, the main reason I do not recomend this product is because the coffee left at the bottom of the carafe, say the last few cups tends to come out scorched, regardless of the brand of coffee being used.
I have tried different coffee brands, which use differnt ratios of water and still, without fail this Mr. Coffee burns my brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great product

07/11/2014
By ,
Panama City, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love waking up to coffee brewing. Best alarm clock ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Excellent and inexpensive choice.

04/29/2012
By ,
64086
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great coffee maker. The "Delay Brew" is great, the "Regular" or "Strong Brew" is a good feature and the two-hour delay is nice, not too long or short. Pouring from the carafe is easy and I don't splatter the water or coffee. It was so inexpensive too! I have used $100 dollar coffee makers that could not perform this well.
I also bought the add-on filter, it does make a difference in the taste.
Age:35 - 44
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great value for this coffee lover!

04/19/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of owning a Mr. Coffee thermal maker, we decided to go back to a traditional maker. The thermal maker didn't quite heat the coffee up enough anymore. After months on trying to find the "perfect" coffee maker, I finally decided to pick up this inexpensive pot at my local Wal-mart. It has all of the same features as my old maker at half the price! I love the look....with the stainless steel accents. The only feature that I wish it had was a illuminated clock. However, you can't get a better coffee maker for the price. Highly recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next