Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.594 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(382 Reviews) 349
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
57
3 stars
26
2 stars
28
1 star
86
Customer Recommendation66%252 out of 381reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
57
3 stars
26
2 stars
28
1 star
86
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY !!!

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY PLEASE WITH MY NEW MR. COFFEE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
it happens
Posted 09/14/2014
I had the previous Mr. Coffee model and it lasted me a long time. I bought a Black & Decker and it died on me a year later. Sometimes you just get a lemon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

My last Mr Coffee?

07/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Mr Coffee 12 cup programmable coffee maker to replace the one I already had, a mistake. The one I had was a replacement from the Mr Coffee company if that tells you anything. The replacement's auto-on functions stopped working about one month after I received it, within one year the electrics weren't working right. So anyway, on this new one: it has a slight but pervasive plastic/chemical odor to it. It brewed the first pot beautifully. The second and third days, it started spewing coffee grounds all over the inside of the machine as it brewed, mostly under the filter. I have to unplug and try to rinse out the insides each time. So it's going back. I think no more Mr Coffee, this is the third one and none have lasted more than a few months working properly, this one is less than a week.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team07/08/2015
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The plastic odor is because the coffee maker is still very new, and that issue will go away with use of it. Your coffee maker could spewing due to parts being improperly placed inside, or there could be clogging in the spew. Please contact Mr. Coffee direct at (800) 672-6333, and lets focus on getting you back to brewing some fresh coffee. i look forward to speaking with you! mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr Coffee is reborn

07/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My retired Mr Coffee served me well for many years, but finally gurgled, hissed and belched for the last time.
The newly designed Mr Coffee works perfectly, is quieter, and I am especially happy with the simple timing controls being on the top rather than near the bottom as with the old Mr Coffee. The water fill access port is a bit too small but manageable if your hands don't shake. The ability to change the taste from regular to strong is a real plus.
If only there was a battery backup to save the programming when a power outage occurs, but the price would likely be much higher.
It's a fabulous product and well designed for the price. You will be happy with your purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Very Pleased

07/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expensive coffee pot broke down while I had house guests and needed a coffee pot right away. Decided to check Walmart on line to see what was in the store. Well, this brewer was very reasonable and available for same day pick-up, which I needed. After placing the order on line I was notified shortly that my order was ready for pick-up. I have been using the coffee maker for several weeks and am very happy with it, coffee is very hot, and cup size is exact....I like the 2 hr. shut off....For a an emergency quick replacement I am very satisfied with this Mr. Coffee and would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not impressed

07/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My nine-year-old Bunn died, and I purchased this Mr. Coffee. I suppose for the price it's adequate, but it's a huge step down. Seems flimsy. Must be very certain the coffee basket is seated properly (I learned the hard way!). Takes extra care to pour the water into the reservoir at the back of the machine. Painfully slow after being accustomed to the Bunn. Haven't used the programming feature since my rising times vary.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team07/25/2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hear you, and will document your comments and concerns, and forward them on to our development team for review. We are always looking for the best ways to upgrade and improve upon our products, and we rely on our consumers' feedback to best help us. We are happy to have you as part of the Mr. Coffee family, and will be here for you should you need. We can be reached at 1-800-672-6333, and are available Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

BEST COFFEEMAKER WE'VE EVER HAD

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I don't understand the negative reviews. This is the THIRD of this coffeemaker we have had. The first one worked perfectly for years. The second one I accidentally and stupidly ruined by forgetting to put the carafe on the hotplate during brewing....yes. I know, DUMB. The third, which we are currently using and have had for a few years, is working just great.
A word about cleaning: a reviewer below said to use 50/50 white vinegar and water to clean. This is incorrect and is not what the manufacturer recommends. To effectively clean, you have to use 100% undiluted white vinegar, then follow with three pots full of clear water. Only straight, undiluted vinegar will clean correctly. Do this before first use, and thereafter once a month.
We are coffee lovers in this household, and we love it strong. The strong option brews it up just right for us. We are so pleased with this model that my husband told me to get one or two to keep in storage, just in case it is discontinued. I plan to do just that, and Walmart has the best price, so I'll buy them there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Good

07/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bay
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee

07/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good for the price. Works fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great

07/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I really like it I make 1 pot a day set timer coffee ready when I get up
I have not had the trouble that some people have
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not recomended for people who know good coffee

07/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker and was surprised to find out that it looked different from the machine marketed on its packaging. This coffee maker does not include a water filtering system that others at this price point due (see Black and Decker). It also does not have the Mr. Coffee logo on the steel panel nor the button in the middle which allows you to pause the brew cycle so that you can pour yourself a cup without waiting for the rest of the brew to be made. Also, this model doesn't come with a permanent filter, so you'll need to keep purchasing the paper ones. Finally, the main reason I do not recomend this product is because the coffee left at the bottom of the carafe, say the last few cups tends to come out scorched, regardless of the brand of coffee being used.
I have tried different coffee brands, which use differnt ratios of water and still, without fail this Mr. Coffee burns my brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Loved it while it worked

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker about couple of years ago. I 'upgraded' from another lesser known brand(which I hadn't used since buying this one).
Mr.Coffee is a brand I grew up with. I still have fond memories of Joe DiMaggio's commercials. Back then Mr.Coffee seemed to make products that lasted for years on end. I'd hoped&expected that was going to be the case when I did my coffee maker 'upgrade'. I was proven wrong.
This product is a fine coffee maker but it just didn't live up to my expectations. Yesterday the red light came on indicating it was time for a cleaning cycle. I did the cleaning as I had many times since purchasing and it went through that cycle without problems. When it finished cleaning I turned it off and allowed it to sit five minutes before filling the reservoir with water again to run another cycle(to clear any vinegar leftover from the cleaning). I hit the on button and all the machine did was beep five times as it does when brewing cycle is over. I repeated this three more times&each and every time the water sat in the reservoir. It wouldn't move. I thought maybe the unit was hot and tired so I dumped the water out and left it alone til this morning. I woke today looking forward to my morning cups of coffee. I filled the reservoir again with fresh water,filled the filter with coffee grounds,hit start and nothing! It wouldn't brew! All it did was attempt to brew(that is to say I heard what sounded like the brew cycle starting)then the beeps five times but no coffee! :(
I looked&looked for the manual yet couldn't find it. I then went to the Mr.Coffee website in an attempt to download the manual&couldn't even do that. When I clicked on the manual it wouldn't access it. I telephoned the number listed and the telephone agent told me to "click the manual link"(something I'd done a couple of times already lol). I called a second time,this time frustrated at not only NOT having my moring cups of coffee but also at what seemed to be a faulty Mr.Coffee website. The second agent instructed me to do the same as the first agent had but that was in vain. He then went in to attempt to access the manual himself only to discover he too was unable to access the manual. Long story short he went on to attempt to determine what could have possibly gone wrong with my Mr.Coffee. While he was reading the manual(the one I couldn't access on their website)I pointed out there were other reviews of this model who'd faced the same problem. He then surprised me by informing me he was shipping out a replacement of my now dead Mr.Coffee maker.
I enjoyed this product when it worked but can't honestly say I'd recommend it to a friend/family member looking for a coffee maker. I'm from a time when products held up longer than a couple of years. I thought Mr.Coffee still produced appliances that did just that. While I'm extremely grateful to Leslie(the telephone agent that assisted me)I'll not purchase another Mr.Coffee again in future.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Works just fine

07/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is great for any Iperson who is new to using a coffee machine with a timer. It's easy to set up the timer, as well as the clock. I was happy to wake up to coffee already made. Instead of having to wake up and make a cup of coffee. Easy to set up, and it also provides the option to brew your coffee as either strong or regular. Just hit the button , this is so cool.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Stopped working after 5 months

11/26/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for $25 and it worked fine up until this morning. I set the timer for the morning but nothing brewed. When I hit the start button I can hear the relay switch click but the warmer does not get hot, no water gets sucked up, and most importantly, NO COFFEE! I checked the outlet, I checked the filter holder and the carafe. Maybe that's why it was only $25. It has a 1-year warranty but I lost the receipt. It would probably cost more to ship than buy anyway. Got myself a Cusinart at Williams Sonoma on Black Friday (at 5pm not 5am btw) for $39. Hopefully it will work better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leslie, AR
Some questions?
Posted 07/16/2013
How many pots do you make a day? How often do you run clean cycle or run vinegar through it? Do you have hard water?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Very Affordable,good value

07/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If i could change anything about the coffee maker it would be the lid,it is kinda chinsy,wish it was a more secure top.Other than that very happy with my purchase and it was a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee

06/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Mr Coffee was not as good as the first one, same coffee maker I bought over 4 years ago. This one seems cheaply made, I loved the first one, this one I wouldn't buy if I knew before hand.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team06/02/2015
I'm sorry to hear that! We definitely want you to be happy with your purchase. If you're having any problems with the coffee maker, our Mr. Coffee specialists will be more than happy to help you. Please give us a call at 1-800-672-6333. We are available Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern. mrcoffee-jcs
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Second one because I liked the first so much!

08/17/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When our old coffee pot finally died, I opted to purchase the exact same model because we liked the other one so much. I would highly recommend running at least one pot of 50/50 white vinegar/water mix through followed by 2-3 pots of plain water. This is because of the plastic taste that comes with brand new coffee pots. That is the only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars.
Also, to keep your coffee maker lasting longer, do the same cleaning cycle as mentioned above at least once every month or every other month depending on how hard your water is. We have fairly hard water so I clean it once a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Second one going back today
Posted 08/21/2014
The first one lasted less than a month, I took it back, got another (no problem there), six months later this one has gone out. It will go back when I'm through with this comment.
I have all ways use Mr. Coffee and the products have been good, but since productivity at manufacter's quality has dropped so has Mr. Coffee. I will purchase a different brand this time. I do not recommend this maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 320 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next