Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

The Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker will make a great addition to any coffee lover's kitchen countertop. It can be easily programmed to have a fresh, hot pot of coffee ready whenever you want it — perfect for those who need coffee the moment they wake up. The Brew Strength Selector allows you to personalize the strength of your coffee, so you can easily customize your brew. Plus, the Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker also features 2-Hour Auto Shut-Off and Brewing Pause 'n Serve to makes your coffee brewing experience simple and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(341 Reviews) 308
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
52
3 stars
22
2 stars
25
1 star
74
Customer Recommendation67%229 out of 340reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
52
3 stars
22
2 stars
25
1 star
74
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY !!!

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY PLEASE WITH MY NEW MR. COFFEE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Quit working

03/05/2013
By ,
annville, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this right before Christmas 2012. It has already stopped working. I am one who don't like to review a product until I have had it a while, at least 6 months. Everyone can usually say they like a product the first week or month. This is just around the third month of owning this, and it wont brew any coffee now. When I turn it on to start, it just starts beeping, like it does when your coffee is done, and then don't start brewing. I assume the beeping function is stuck to think it is done when its not. Before this one, I had a basic $19 coffee maker that did not have any extras, it worked for over 2 years. This time I thought it would be nice to have a clock and a self cleaning feature, so I got this one. I am on a tight budget, and this one was affordable. I suggest to either get a more expensive one, or get a basic one that just brews coffee and don't have "beeps and whistles." I think it is made to cheap to have extra features and this makes it mess up electronically.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
it happens
Posted 09/14/2014
I had the previous Mr. Coffee model and it lasted me a long time. I bought a Black & Decker and it died on me a year later. Sometimes you just get a lemon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Weird odor and taste

01/16/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously had this exact same model ( except it had two trim pieces that this one doesn't have ) for 7 years and the heating elements finally gave out. I replaced it with this one and had to take the first one back because nothing happened when I plugged it in(no lights or clock.) Because of the luck I had with my first unit, I went ahead and exchanged it for this same model. I followed the cleaning instructions even doing the procedure twice to be on the safe side. The first two days the coffee was great BUT THEN this morning the coffee seemed off and I noticed an odd smell in the kitchen and thought the drain in the sink needed cleaning. Later, I went to clean the pot and dump the filter and when I lifted the top of the unit the smell was horrible. I checked the tap water and coffee, both smelled fine so I made another pot to see what would happen. YUK! It's horrible. This machine is getting returned right after I finish this review. So glad I still have the receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Poor quality

05/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took the lid off the pot to wash it before my first use. As I was putting the lid back on, one of the pegs on the lid broke. I think that's the fastest a product ever broke on me. But I wasn't surprised, every part of this machine is made of very thin plastic. But I guess I shouldn't expect more for under $20.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/26/2015
Uh oh! I can understand how upsetting it would be to have the lid break on your brand new coffee maker. We can definitely help with this. Give us a call at 1-800-672-6333. We're available Monday-Saturday, 9am-6pm Eastern. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

MR. NO COFFEE

05/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased this about 6 months ago and already it has ceased to function. Of course the clock on this just flashes 12:00. At the time the unit costed $24.99 and now I see that they have had a " price drop" to $19.47. I guess the days of buying a name brand appliance means absolutely nothing anymore. Am very upset with this " Brand name".
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/23/2015
Brewing for only 6 months can certainly be frustrating. Generally our products are very well made and problems are few and far between. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in the Mr. Coffee brand, and encourage you to contact our customer care team at 1-800-672-6333 so we can get you back to brewing soon! We are available Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/23/2015
Brewing for only 6 months can certainly be frustrating. Generally our products are very well made and problems are few and far between. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in the Mr. Coffee brand, and encourage you to contact our customer care team at 1-800-672-6333 so we can get you back to brewing soon! We are available Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great Coffee Maker

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great coffee maker. Not expensive but makes a great pot of coffee every time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

BEST COFFEEMAKER WE'VE EVER HAD

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I don't understand the negative reviews. This is the THIRD of this coffeemaker we have had. The first one worked perfectly for years. The second one I accidentally and stupidly ruined by forgetting to put the carafe on the hotplate during brewing....yes. I know, DUMB. The third, which we are currently using and have had for a few years, is working just great.
A word about cleaning: a reviewer below said to use 50/50 white vinegar and water to clean. This is incorrect and is not what the manufacturer recommends. To effectively clean, you have to use 100% undiluted white vinegar, then follow with three pots full of clear water. Only straight, undiluted vinegar will clean correctly. Do this before first use, and thereafter once a month.
We are coffee lovers in this household, and we love it strong. The strong option brews it up just right for us. We are so pleased with this model that my husband told me to get one or two to keep in storage, just in case it is discontinued. I plan to do just that, and Walmart has the best price, so I'll buy them there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Best Coffee maker

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this coffee maker before and when it was time to replace as it stopped working I looked for this one and could not find it anywhere, so I purchased a different one that did not last as long. When I found this machine again I knew I wanted to have this coffee machine back. I don't ever want to go back to another one again. I will always use this one machine its the best and nothing out there compares to this Mr. Coffee machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

love it!

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect.....love the delay timer !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Horrible!

04/20/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker for my husband and I. We had it for about a week and I started to notice that there was still a lot of water left in the filter on top of the grounds that wasn't going into the pot. It didn't happen all the time so I figured maybe it was just a weird thing happening. Well this morning I made a 8 cup pot of coffee and when it beeped to alert me that it was done the level of coffee read less then 6 cups! It continued to drip after it beeped for a good 10 minutes while I was on the phone with Mr. Coffee, who were no help, they had no trouble shooting ideas or anything, they simply wanted to send me a new one, that wasn't even the same model. Was not impressed. Returning it to wal-mart asap.
Product does look nice, I love the design and it seems very durable. But, losing 2 cups of water during the brewing cycle made for a very strong cup of joe. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maple Shade Nj
The same thing happened to me
Posted 12/18/2013
in less then two months .... its a terrible machine
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

First review of anything - don't buy it!

03/04/2014
By ,
Orangevale, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there were bad reviews on this coffeemaker but bought it anyway. Within 3 months, it wouldn't turn off. So, I had to leave it on the timer to turn it off. Then, even after cleaning regularly, only a few cups of water would flow through. Now the timer does not work. I will take it back - I don't care how long I've had it, because I expect so much more out of Mr. Coffee and Walmart. It has many design flaws, or is so cheaply made, it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great cup of coffee

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It makes coffee quickly
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not recomended for people who know good coffee

07/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker and was surprised to find out that it looked different from the machine marketed on its packaging. This coffee maker does not include a water filtering system that others at this price point due (see Black and Decker). It also does not have the Mr. Coffee logo on the steel panel nor the button in the middle which allows you to pause the brew cycle so that you can pour yourself a cup without waiting for the rest of the brew to be made. Also, this model doesn't come with a permanent filter, so you'll need to keep purchasing the paper ones. Finally, the main reason I do not recomend this product is because the coffee left at the bottom of the carafe, say the last few cups tends to come out scorched, regardless of the brand of coffee being used.
I have tried different coffee brands, which use differnt ratios of water and still, without fail this Mr. Coffee burns my brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

perfect start to every morning

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful product! Easy set up, easy self-cleaning and super delicious coffee! Experienced one mishap of not placing the pot under the spout correctly, causing coffee to go everywhere, but that was human error! Convient timer and auto shut off makes this the coffee maker for everyone!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Second one because I liked the first so much!

08/17/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When our old coffee pot finally died, I opted to purchase the exact same model because we liked the other one so much. I would highly recommend running at least one pot of 50/50 white vinegar/water mix through followed by 2-3 pots of plain water. This is because of the plastic taste that comes with brand new coffee pots. That is the only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars.
Also, to keep your coffee maker lasting longer, do the same cleaning cycle as mentioned above at least once every month or every other month depending on how hard your water is. We have fairly hard water so I clean it once a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Second one going back today
Posted 08/21/2014
The first one lasted less than a month, I took it back, got another (no problem there), six months later this one has gone out. It will go back when I'm through with this comment.
I have all ways use Mr. Coffee and the products have been good, but since productivity at manufacter's quality has dropped so has Mr. Coffee. I will purchase a different brand this time. I do not recommend this maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Stopped working after 5 months

11/26/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for $25 and it worked fine up until this morning. I set the timer for the morning but nothing brewed. When I hit the start button I can hear the relay switch click but the warmer does not get hot, no water gets sucked up, and most importantly, NO COFFEE! I checked the outlet, I checked the filter holder and the carafe. Maybe that's why it was only $25. It has a 1-year warranty but I lost the receipt. It would probably cost more to ship than buy anyway. Got myself a Cusinart at Williams Sonoma on Black Friday (at 5pm not 5am btw) for $39. Hopefully it will work better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leslie, AR
Some questions?
Posted 07/16/2013
How many pots do you make a day? How often do you run clean cycle or run vinegar through it? Do you have hard water?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

great value

04/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, when I got this I thought wow, this thing is cheap, as in low quality. Hummm, maybe, but I didn't pay that much for it so it's be expected. I have been using it for a while now and I must say the coffee maker gets it done! Works well and doesn't have a buch of fancy extras that I never use anyway. I've have had more expensive coffee makers and this one works as well, expect maybe for the Bruan professional grade, but that's like 10x as much and really not that much better. I have used the extra filter with a different maker and yes it does make the coffee taste better but wow those filters are very expensive, to me anyway.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Have owned it for five years

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've owned this coffee maker for five years now, and it just started leaking water. We make AT LEAST two pots of coffee a day, every day, and sometimes more, so this thing has lasted through at least 3,700 pots of coffee. I'm replacing it with the exact same model. Thankfully they still make it. At $24, you really can't beat it. We've owned more expensive coffee makers, and even other models of Mr. Coffee coffee makers, but we've never owned one that performs as well as this one. Some other models even seem to leak coffee down the front of the pot as you're pouring, but this one does not. It also has some nice features, such as the 2 hour Fresh Brew delay, and the overnight time delay. The "Strong" coffee feature is one we use often. It also has a self cleaning cycle, and it lets you know when it's time to run it. Yep, if you're in the market for an inexpensive coffee maker, you certainly can't beat this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Not the best

01/07/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this maker for about 2 years. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst either. I would not recommend it though. One of the things I had a hard time with was pouring the water into the reservoir. It was narrow and I usually spilled water everywhere. The only thing I thought was special was the cleaning feature. If you followed the instructions, I worked great. I used vinegar and it worked great. I had really hard water and had to clean it about once every other month. It was nice to set it on the clean cycle and leave it. I would not buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, JWX23WM

Great value for this coffee lover!

04/19/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of owning a Mr. Coffee thermal maker, we decided to go back to a traditional maker. The thermal maker didn't quite heat the coffee up enough anymore. After months on trying to find the "perfect" coffee maker, I finally decided to pick up this inexpensive pot at my local Wal-mart. It has all of the same features as my old maker at half the price! I love the look....with the stainless steel accents. The only feature that I wish it had was a illuminated clock. However, you can't get a better coffee maker for the price. Highly recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next