Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Oster Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster TSSTTRDFL1 features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features on the Designed for Life Brushed Stainless 4-Slice Toaster include specific function settings for warming, toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to customize results. A toast lift is also included for safety and convenience. Extra-long slots on this Oster Toaster accommodate a variety of breads, while auto-adjusting bread guides adjust to bread thickness for even toasting. Convenient warm, cancel and anti-jam features on the Oster 4-Slice Toaster automatically shut the toaster off to make for safe and hassle-free operation. The Designed for Life Brushed Stainless 4-Slice Toaster is ideal for toasting a variety of items.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation67%72 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Good for longer bread

11/02/2012
By ,
Dublin, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The problem I had with my old toaster is that it only worked for traditional sized bread. I prefer larger breads, but to fit those in my toaster I would have to trim off an edge, which was a hassle.
This toaster solves that problem nicely, and if you're doing bagels or smaller break then you can make enough for two people at once - no waiting or taking turns. The only problem I has was with English muffins. They don't pop up far enough to pull them out. You can pull the lever up a little, and that helps, but I still burned my fingers reaching in to get them.
It does take up more counter space than other toasters, so this might not be good in a tiny kitchen. And it looks nice, but like most stainless steel appliances it, shows every little fingerprint and smudge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Love this Toaster!

11/25/2013
By ,
Hutto, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing I noticed about this toaster, besides the obvious gorgeous brushed stainless steel, is that it has just two slots, but fits four pieces of bread or four bagels. The neat thing about that is it fits larger pieces of bread like flatbreads and artisan breads. I've used it almost daily and have found it performs perfectly every time. If you prefer lighter toasted bread, I prefer to set it at 2. For darker toast, setting it at 3 appears to be the max. It's a great toaster!
Disclosure: I received this product at no charge in exchange for my honest review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Posted 06/11/2014
I would like to know how you become a product tester?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Great Looking Toaster! Multi-functional, too.

11/19/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited for my new toaster to arrive. The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster is beautiful. It looks great on my counter. I love the fact that I can toast four slices at once, and that it fits thick slices and bagels. Or even really oddly shaped bread. The toaster is lighter than it looks, and very easy to move, if you don’t want it on your counter all the time. This toaster comes in really handy when we have family in town, and everyone is eating breakfast at the same time.
I used it to defrost frozen bread, and it was amazing. It heats up so fast! I make homemade bread sometimes, and the slices are really thick. Thick slices work fine in this toaster. But, cut as straight as possible or your bread will be toasted REALLY unevenly. And watch the toaster. It’s so fast that I almost burned a few slices before I got used to the timing.
The only thing I really don't like about this toaster is that it doesn’t toast evenly, even with store bought professionally sliced bread. (Unless you turn the setting way down and rotate the bread, and then toast it again.) It toasts super-fast, but not perfectly even. So, if you like your toast perfectly even AND fast, this toaster is not for you. If you want an attractive toaster that makes lots of toast super-fast, and are not a perfectionist about your toast, then you might want to consider this toaster. It's good enough for me.
There are four modes on the toaster: Warm, toast, bagel, and frozen. I only use the toast button, and press the cancel button when I think it’s done. I don’t really need all these buttons! Maybe if I learned to use the buttons, I would have better success with the toaster. There is a dial that adjusts how toasted you want it. It works well. I use it a lot because my kids like their bread barely toasted.
NOTE: Toast nothing for a few times before you use it. The first time we used it, our bread tasted sort of plastic-like. It wasn’t very appetizing. After the first few times, it went away. Now it's perfectly normal.
Disclaimer: I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

I love Oster products!

06/13/2014
By ,
North Easton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This addition to my kitchen is just great!
Be careful though, adjust the gage to between 4&5 for perfect toast.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Bad Product

12/12/2012
By ,
Bellevue, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My old Hamilton Beach cheapie toaster finally died after 4 years of continuous, daily use. I had wanted to upgrade to a 4 slice toaster anyway. I checked out another store for higher end toasters and I just wasn't ready to spend $70+ on a toaster...so back to Walmart I went. I loved the design of this toaster. I'm short on counter space and this one is narrow and long vs. wide. It also looks really nice with the brushed metal. I've had this toaster for 3 weeks now, hoping there's a learning curve to this thing...and unfortunately I think I just wasted $40. I cannot ever seem to get perfectly toasted toast to save my life. Just when I think I've got the right setting, I end up with either burnt toast or under-toasted toast. Also, the edges of the toast are always over-done. I can't win! This thing is going back to the store. The only reason I didn't give this a 1 start rating is because I really do like the design. To bad it doesn't work right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Oster Designed 4 Life 4-Slice Toaster is a winner

11/19/2013
By ,
mid-Atlantic
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster looks much more expensive than it is. It is constructed from brushed stainless steel which gives it a more upscale, modern look. This 4 slice toaster was easy to use with bagels, english muffins, frozen waffles and toast. The extra long slots really make a difference and let you toast anything thick or thin since it automatically adjusts. It toasted everything I tried from thick farm-style bread to giant bagels evenly and quickly. I like the multiple features which truly make it a great value. It has settings for warming, toasting, frozen and even a special one for bagels. You can even cancel the setting and change your mind then choose another one. There are also options for your toast so you can lightly toast or char it just how you like. Oster includes a little toast lift as a bonus...yay no more burnt fingers for me! I also love that it has an auto shut off feature which is invaluable for a busy mom like me. This one is a keeper. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Hot toast

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This the toaster we wanted and were unable to obtain from a Walmart competitor. I ordered it on line and received it in less than a week, delivered to our local store. All in all I am very pleased with this new option!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

terrible toaster

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't imagine a toaster being terrible, but this one is. Half the toast gets burnt and the other is lucky if its warm. No matter what the setting is.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Worst toaster ever.

12/25/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not matter what bagel or toast setting you use or how many times you use it, it will not make toast or a bagel the same way twice. Half the time it makes a vibrating type noise while you are using it. Two peices of regular bread is to much weight for the spring to pop up with. You have to lift the handle up to the top to grab the toast. If you put four halves of bagels in it, it will NOT pop up at all when it is done and burn them to a crisp. Actually the four settings; warm, toast, bagel and frozen are basically the same. The dial for toast level; anything over level 3 is burned. I felt stupid for spending so much on a toaster anyway. Looks great though. Now i feel like a idiot. I left out to sea for two weeks the day after i got it. The box and receipt were thrown away by the wife. Was planning on taking it back. Do not buy this toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

I got burned

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ticks me off-I buy a new toaster because the old one did not cook evenly on both sides, now I got a 'new' one, and still half burns one end of bread, muffin & bagel. NOT happy
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Doesn't do tall bread

12/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though it does long bread, a slice of my bread made in my breadmaker still has to be cut since it is too tall. Generally toasts evenly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

at last!!

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 3 attempts I finally found a toaster that meets my needs. It does what I was expecting--Toasts evenly with easy to see buttons to select what it is you want to toast. The only gripe I have is the slots are not very deep so if the bread is the big artisan type you will have to cut the bread in half to fit . I will keep this toaster and hope it lasts.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

A Lean Mean Toasting Machine

05/09/2012
By ,
Mission, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an elegant and sleek toaster. The controls are easy and the design is very professional. In our house, we are constantly toasting bagels, muffins, and breads. The last model finally died earlier this week. This model is somewhat hard to find. We had to drive 20 miles one way to find it. Make sure to read the directions and turn it on and go throuh a couple of heating cycles to get rid of the new toaster smell and possible dust inside.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Doesn't toast evenly

11/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This toaster simply doesn't toast very well. The edges of the bread would burn while the center was still white. I tried different settings; nothing made it work right. Today I purchased the simpler Sunbeam 2-Slice Toaster, plugged it in, and it made absolutely perfect toast! So we will be returning the Oster. It may be "Designed for Life," but it is not Designed to Toast.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Thumbs Down

06/28/2012
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Toaster is a piece of junk. I am returning it ASAP. It burns the edges of bread black and leaves middle of bread untoasted. I tried to toast several different kinds of bread and tried putting the bread in different positions in the slots. Nothing worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Uneven toaster

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks cheap, especially knobs. Toasts eleven, burns edges, center of bread u toasted.
Very dissatisfied
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Returned It!

09/27/2012
By ,
Greencastle, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this toaster but had the same problem as some of the other reviewers. For normal slices of bread, the crust burned before the bread toasted even experimenting with different darkness settings.
The slots are not only long but really wide and I think it would be good for reheating Belgian waffles, toasting bagels or thick slices of bread. For regular bread the slices slanted in the toaster and just did not work well. I am really pleased with Walmart's return policy and this is my first experience returning something that I had already used. In the meantime I'll just keep using my $7.92 Rival toaster.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Waste of money

07/19/2012
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this toaster and the element that pops the toast up broke after two uses that week. I returned it the following weekend for a replacement unit, brought it home and right out of the box, none of the buttons worked and it wouldn't heat up. I will be returning it again this weekend for my money back. When it worked the two times before it broke, it seemed to toast well and I liked the idea of the longer slots for odd sized bread slices but for the money, I expected better performance from a toaster that boasts "Built For Life".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Google toast at a reasonable price

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is lightweight, attractive, makes good toast, has a button to easily pop up the toast if you set the time too long, and reasonably priced. My small complaint is that some extra tall bread slices don't get their tops fully toasted.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Oster 4-slice toaster

04/23/2014
By ,
South west Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One side of our old 4-slice died. Went to Wal-mart and bought this toaster. I am very pleased with it so far. The slots on top are big enough for my rye bread. No more toasting one half, pulling it out turning it around and sticking it back in to toast the other half.
My favorite breakfast item is a well known brand of English muffin. No toaster that I have had before this one would toast an English muffin in one set. You always had to push it back down for another run. I set this toaster on 7 (the highest setting) and it burned my muffins. Finally!!! a toaster that can cook my English muffins in one set. By the way a setting of 5 makes a perfect brown muffin for me. A setting of 3 is great for lightly toasting bread for sandwiches. This toaster is long rather than wide. I have a little more room on the counter when I push the side of the toaster up against the backsplash.
The cord is only 2 feet (about 61cm) long. Most counter top appliances are like this now. The instructions say you can use a properly rated extension cord if you must. The US model is rated 120v 60hz and 1350 watts. The sides of the toaster are cool when in use but get warmer the closer you get to the top. Product is made in China.
Alan
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next