Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Oster Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster TSSTTRDFL1 features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features on the Designed for Life Brushed Stainless 4-Slice Toaster include specific function settings for warming, toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to customize results. A toast lift is also included for safety and convenience. Extra-long slots on this Oster Toaster accommodate a variety of breads, while auto-adjusting bread guides adjust to bread thickness for even toasting. Convenient warm, cancel and anti-jam features on the Oster 4-Slice Toaster automatically shut the toaster off to make for safe and hassle-free operation. The Designed for Life Brushed Stainless 4-Slice Toaster is ideal for toasting a variety of items.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation67%72 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Good for longer bread

11/02/2012
By ,
Dublin, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The problem I had with my old toaster is that it only worked for traditional sized bread. I prefer larger breads, but to fit those in my toaster I would have to trim off an edge, which was a hassle.
This toaster solves that problem nicely, and if you're doing bagels or smaller break then you can make enough for two people at once - no waiting or taking turns. The only problem I has was with English muffins. They don't pop up far enough to pull them out. You can pull the lever up a little, and that helps, but I still burned my fingers reaching in to get them.
It does take up more counter space than other toasters, so this might not be good in a tiny kitchen. And it looks nice, but like most stainless steel appliances it, shows every little fingerprint and smudge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Love this Toaster!

11/25/2013
By ,
Hutto, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing I noticed about this toaster, besides the obvious gorgeous brushed stainless steel, is that it has just two slots, but fits four pieces of bread or four bagels. The neat thing about that is it fits larger pieces of bread like flatbreads and artisan breads. I've used it almost daily and have found it performs perfectly every time. If you prefer lighter toasted bread, I prefer to set it at 2. For darker toast, setting it at 3 appears to be the max. It's a great toaster!
Disclosure: I received this product at no charge in exchange for my honest review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Posted 06/11/2014
I would like to know how you become a product tester?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Great Looking Toaster! Multi-functional, too.

11/19/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited for my new toaster to arrive. The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster is beautiful. It looks great on my counter. I love the fact that I can toast four slices at once, and that it fits thick slices and bagels. Or even really oddly shaped bread. The toaster is lighter than it looks, and very easy to move, if you don’t want it on your counter all the time. This toaster comes in really handy when we have family in town, and everyone is eating breakfast at the same time.
I used it to defrost frozen bread, and it was amazing. It heats up so fast! I make homemade bread sometimes, and the slices are really thick. Thick slices work fine in this toaster. But, cut as straight as possible or your bread will be toasted REALLY unevenly. And watch the toaster. It’s so fast that I almost burned a few slices before I got used to the timing.
The only thing I really don't like about this toaster is that it doesn’t toast evenly, even with store bought professionally sliced bread. (Unless you turn the setting way down and rotate the bread, and then toast it again.) It toasts super-fast, but not perfectly even. So, if you like your toast perfectly even AND fast, this toaster is not for you. If you want an attractive toaster that makes lots of toast super-fast, and are not a perfectionist about your toast, then you might want to consider this toaster. It's good enough for me.
There are four modes on the toaster: Warm, toast, bagel, and frozen. I only use the toast button, and press the cancel button when I think it’s done. I don’t really need all these buttons! Maybe if I learned to use the buttons, I would have better success with the toaster. There is a dial that adjusts how toasted you want it. It works well. I use it a lot because my kids like their bread barely toasted.
NOTE: Toast nothing for a few times before you use it. The first time we used it, our bread tasted sort of plastic-like. It wasn’t very appetizing. After the first few times, it went away. Now it's perfectly normal.
Disclaimer: I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 4 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

I love Oster products!

06/13/2014
By ,
North Easton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This addition to my kitchen is just great!
Be careful though, adjust the gage to between 4&5 for perfect toast.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Bad Product

12/12/2012
By ,
Bellevue, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My old Hamilton Beach cheapie toaster finally died after 4 years of continuous, daily use. I had wanted to upgrade to a 4 slice toaster anyway. I checked out another store for higher end toasters and I just wasn't ready to spend $70+ on a toaster...so back to Walmart I went. I loved the design of this toaster. I'm short on counter space and this one is narrow and long vs. wide. It also looks really nice with the brushed metal. I've had this toaster for 3 weeks now, hoping there's a learning curve to this thing...and unfortunately I think I just wasted $40. I cannot ever seem to get perfectly toasted toast to save my life. Just when I think I've got the right setting, I end up with either burnt toast or under-toasted toast. Also, the edges of the toast are always over-done. I can't win! This thing is going back to the store. The only reason I didn't give this a 1 start rating is because I really do like the design. To bad it doesn't work right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Oster Designed 4 Life 4-Slice Toaster is a winner

11/19/2013
By ,
mid-Atlantic
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster looks much more expensive than it is. It is constructed from brushed stainless steel which gives it a more upscale, modern look. This 4 slice toaster was easy to use with bagels, english muffins, frozen waffles and toast. The extra long slots really make a difference and let you toast anything thick or thin since it automatically adjusts. It toasted everything I tried from thick farm-style bread to giant bagels evenly and quickly. I like the multiple features which truly make it a great value. It has settings for warming, toasting, frozen and even a special one for bagels. You can even cancel the setting and change your mind then choose another one. There are also options for your toast so you can lightly toast or char it just how you like. Oster includes a little toast lift as a bonus...yay no more burnt fingers for me! I also love that it has an auto shut off feature which is invaluable for a busy mom like me. This one is a keeper. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Worst toaster ever.

12/25/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not matter what bagel or toast setting you use or how many times you use it, it will not make toast or a bagel the same way twice. Half the time it makes a vibrating type noise while you are using it. Two peices of regular bread is to much weight for the spring to pop up with. You have to lift the handle up to the top to grab the toast. If you put four halves of bagels in it, it will NOT pop up at all when it is done and burn them to a crisp. Actually the four settings; warm, toast, bagel and frozen are basically the same. The dial for toast level; anything over level 3 is burned. I felt stupid for spending so much on a toaster anyway. Looks great though. Now i feel like a idiot. I left out to sea for two weeks the day after i got it. The box and receipt were thrown away by the wife. Was planning on taking it back. Do not buy this toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 8 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

A Lean Mean Toasting Machine

05/09/2012
By ,
Mission, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an elegant and sleek toaster. The controls are easy and the design is very professional. In our house, we are constantly toasting bagels, muffins, and breads. The last model finally died earlier this week. This model is somewhat hard to find. We had to drive 20 miles one way to find it. Make sure to read the directions and turn it on and go throuh a couple of heating cycles to get rid of the new toaster smell and possible dust inside.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+51points
Review 9 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Thumbs Down

06/28/2012
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Toaster is a piece of junk. I am returning it ASAP. It burns the edges of bread black and leaves middle of bread untoasted. I tried to toast several different kinds of bread and tried putting the bread in different positions in the slots. Nothing worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Review 10 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Returned It!

09/27/2012
By ,
Greencastle, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this toaster but had the same problem as some of the other reviewers. For normal slices of bread, the crust burned before the bread toasted even experimenting with different darkness settings.
The slots are not only long but really wide and I think it would be good for reheating Belgian waffles, toasting bagels or thick slices of bread. For regular bread the slices slanted in the toaster and just did not work well. I am really pleased with Walmart's return policy and this is my first experience returning something that I had already used. In the meantime I'll just keep using my $7.92 Rival toaster.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 11 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Hot toast

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This the toaster we wanted and were unable to obtain from a Walmart competitor. I ordered it on line and received it in less than a week, delivered to our local store. All in all I am very pleased with this new option!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

terrible toaster

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't imagine a toaster being terrible, but this one is. Half the toast gets burnt and the other is lucky if its warm. No matter what the setting is.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Waste of money

07/19/2012
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this toaster and the element that pops the toast up broke after two uses that week. I returned it the following weekend for a replacement unit, brought it home and right out of the box, none of the buttons worked and it wouldn't heat up. I will be returning it again this weekend for my money back. When it worked the two times before it broke, it seemed to toast well and I liked the idea of the longer slots for odd sized bread slices but for the money, I expected better performance from a toaster that boasts "Built For Life".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 14 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

I got burned

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ticks me off-I buy a new toaster because the old one did not cook evenly on both sides, now I got a 'new' one, and still half burns one end of bread, muffin & bagel. NOT happy
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Piece of junk..

06/11/2012
By ,
Sacramento Ca,
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this toaster a little over two months when the center element burnt out, then a week later the catch broke and will not hold the plunger down, we have to hold it down then flip the toast and do the other side.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Moab, Utah
Worst ever!
Posted 09/11/2012
This toaster is the biggest piece of junk I've ever spent 40 bucks on. Buns the edges of the toast but the middle isn't toasted at all, unless you keep the dial on 1 or 2 it will burn within seconds, the metal part that the bread sits on only goes down with the button on one side so the tops of the bread don't even go into the toaster, when you push the lever up to help remove the toast it only raises one side making the toast or bagel roll down to the part that stays down...you end up digging it out with a knife...real safe, NOT. I would return it but I live 2 hours away from any Walmart making it very hard to return. Yeah it's only toast but a toaster should toast! DO NOT BUY THIS! JUNK, JUNK, JUNK!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Brockton
One problem i've had
Posted 08/23/2012
When halving an English muffin, the top and bottom are different widths. The smaller half slips through the toaster and it's very hard to get out. Apparently things have to be the same size
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Nicest Toaster I have ever owned

11/21/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster and am quite pleased. It is the most attractive toaster I have ever owned - the brushed stainless steel looks fantastic in the kitchen! I tend to use breads that are long, and I really like that there is definitely room for them to fit. I had to experiment with the settings a bit, but ultimately figured out what worked for the light toasting I prefer. The slide out crumb tray is a nice feature which should definitely help with keeping things tidy. I am so glad I got the opportunity to receive this product as a sample to review. I typically haven't toasted bagels at home since they were too wide for the old toaster, but I am looking forward to giving that a try since there is definitely room with this model to accommodate them. I always appreciate manufacturers that stand behind their products, and am happy to see this has a long warranty - 5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Not Recommended

03/24/2013
By ,
Midland, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Finally bought a 4-slot toaster. Like the rectangular design and stainless steel exterior. But.....the burners do not all work after less than one year. Quite often the edges of the bread burn. Pop-tart (toaster pastries) fall through to the bottom and have to be fished out (unplug the toaster first). Very disappointed in this Oster product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Doesn't do tall bread

12/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though it does long bread, a slice of my bread made in my breadmaker still has to be cut since it is too tall. Generally toasts evenly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Nice looking but only warms bread

01/01/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son heats up at least 3 bagels a day between himself and his brothers. We also like frozen waffles. I got a 4 slice toaster because for the 5 of us it took forever to make breakfast. With this toaster I have to re-toast everything 2-3 x's, no exageration! I have a $5-10 toaster that has been in use for over 15 years that works perfectly. I don't want to spend $100 on a Cuisinart but every toaster under $70 has awful reviews. Too bad I really liked the long sleek design.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Oster Designed for Life 4-Slice Toaster, Brushed Stainless TSSTTRDFL1

Great for Artisan breads

11/19/2013
By ,
North Swanzey,NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This really is hard to give a review in such a short time. I haven't even been able to accurately calibrate the settings yet, out of the seven toast settings. This product is unique by its extra long length to be able to toast any kind of bread you can think of, bagels without getting stuck, artisan breads that couldn't fit before, have no problem now. You do have to make room because the size is approximately 16 1/2 inches by 7. Its sleek and beautiful design of brushed stainless steel is pleasant to look at. There are setting for warming, toast, bagels and frozen food. I hope the husband doesn't see that and tries to toast his chicken patty. The cancel and anti-jam feature is nice. There is a toast lift for safety. There is a 5 year satisfaction guarantee from the manufacturer. It's a nice toaster. I'm going to go play with it and customize my settings. I received this free to be able to evaluate the product. Thank you for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next