Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Black & Decker Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

This Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker lets you cook enough rice for your entire family. A "keep warm cycle" on this Black & Decker Rice Cooker automatically switches the rice cooker to a lower heat once the rice or food is cooked. This Black & Decker Cooker also features cook and warm indicator lights, cool-touch handles and non-stick cooking bowl. You'll make perfect rice every time with this Black & Decker Rice Cooker, which also features a steamer basket, tempered glass lid, and rice measuring and serving scoop. Cook up fantastic rice to go with fish, poultry, beef and vegetables with this Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker.
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation76%19 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Great rice cooker

06/04/2012
By ,
McIntosh, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this rice cooker has exceeded all of my expectations. I generally cook two cups of rice at a time, and have not had any problems with liquid sputtering out of the steam vent as others have described. In cook mode it seems to be on a 1 hour timer, then it kicks into warm mode. 1 hour may not be enough for some brown rices, but its easy enough to work around. I just unplug it, add a bit more liquid, and plug it back in. You will be on your own with timing at that point, but it's still easier then tending a boiling pot, at least in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Good

04/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Switch failure is the bad part of Black & Decker. I really wondered how Black & Decker produces products with bad switches. I replaced my 2month old cooker with a new one because of switch failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

MESSY!

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what amount of rice I use, this rice cooker spews foamy, starchy goop everywhere. Not only does it come out of the vent hole, but also bubbles out around the lid. I've tried rinsing the rice to wash away some of the starch, that just made the rice more pasty-very unhappy!!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/21/2014
Hi Hoosit, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40909713 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Stop working quickly

05/20/2014
By ,
Macon, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one two weeks ago. At first it works as expected. I have a small Aroma Rice cooker but I wanted a bigger one for family & friends get together dinner. So I bought this 14-cup two weeks ago. I used almost everyday to cook rice and it works fine. Then yesterday, I notice the lights were not on and no longer cooking. So I bought another one, because I really needed a bigger rice cooker. The first time I turned it on, it smelled like plastic was burning, so I ignored that and continue to cook my rice, it heated up and then it stop working, no light on, it didn't even bring my rice to boil. Tried unpluging it on and off, but no luck. It will not come back on. I don't know if anyybody else is having the same issue. But I'm returning it and getting another brand. I'm sticking to my Aroma.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/21/2014
Hi LadyZamzuu, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40925930 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Not Great

05/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first rice cooker and sad to say it didn't work out. The no matter how much rice I cooked it boiled over. Maybe mine is malfunctioning, but it got so hot the rice browned and stuck to the bottom every time. Back to the store! I am going to try an Aroma cooker next. Wish me luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/20/2014
Hi willowwisp, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40925469 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

a middle size rice cooker

05/20/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cooker looks okay. It cooks quite fast and cooked rice is more or less fine. The problem is that it always comes out some liquid when it is cooking. I have to clean up the area near by after every usage. I do not cook too much, just about 3 cups rice. BTW, the cup comes with the cooker is smaller than usual, and bad in shape. Their 3 cups is like 2 standard cups.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Awesome rice cooker @ affordable price

09/26/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read reviews & wasn't sure what to expect, but I am VERY happy I decided to take a chance. Makes enough rice for our family of 3 to be able to have left overs for a couple days. Haven't had any problems with water mess as some other customers have mentioned. 100% satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Happy I bought this one

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after trying to figure out if a 3 cup is a 3 cup or a 6 cup ,I just spent a few more bucks and got this one , Ive only cooked 2 cups each time so far but cooks fast and comes out perfect, but is good to know if I need too cook 8 cups or whatever I can and its not that much bigger than the small units but not as bulky as the bigger ones
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
10/22/2012
By ,
Palm Coast, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this product twice. Its excellect for a party. It comes with a small measuring cup thats why its a 14 cup rice cooker. I'm enjoying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

AWESOME!!!! A MUST BUY!!

07/24/2013
By ,
Tucson,Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this rice cooker mainly because of price, but it was worth it!!! I use it to cook 6 cups of rice pretty much everyday! We have a dog that needs a special diet and I tried once to make it by hand and boy is that a pain!! So now we give rice to all our dogs everyday and meal. Not ever having used one before, this completely surprised me. I am still surprised that in about 20 minutes it is done. add a little water and it wont stick to itself. I am currently trying to find another bowl for it or buy another one of this one. The price is awesome for this wonderful rice cooker!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

great cooker

12/19/2013
By ,
rockport, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked well for the size and price. not complicated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
03/26/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
makes perfect rice, although i wouldnt leave it on the warmer setting. I left it for the 10 minutes it said after it was done cooking and the whole bottom was like glue, i just scraped the top layer off. Next time i will set the time for about 15 minutes and keep and eye on it so when it changes from cook to warm i can remove the rice so it doesnt cook anymore. Also the directions on how much water isnt very clear. I pretty much guessed at what they were saying about the different lines for different types of rice, they dont show what is what in the manual and it turned out fine except the bottom was way over cooked from the warmer setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Rice taste better.

06/12/2013
By ,
Lehigh Acres, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rice taste so much better. It is soft and I can cook more with less rice. When I save the left over in the fridge the next day I warm it up in the microwave and it taste like I just made it and still very soft. Love it! The only regrest I have if that I didn't buy it a long time a go. It would of made as happy as I am now in the kitchen. Price is good so, I would say try it. It is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Works Great!

04/01/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Black & Decker 14 -Cup Rice Cooker works great! It's not too small and not too large for us. I've been practicing cooking Spanish rice recipes, and the rice turns out so fluffy. Very nice! The trick is not to stir the rice, and to let it rest after cooking for at least 10 minutes. The steamer basket could be improved by putting handles on it. I steamed some baby carrots and they turned out fine, but removing the hot steamer basket is awkward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

great rice pot great

07/26/2013
By ,
kissimmee, fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy with my item, glad I order 2 1 for me and 1 for my daughter.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Boilng water and rice slime everywhere!

02/11/2014
By ,
Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a smaller version of this Rice Cooker and it did spew steam out of the vent hole in the lid, but I was able to cover it with a small paper towel to limit the output.
This larger version is worse by far. When I tried to slow the steam with a small paper towel, it began spewing from the lid and covered my counter as well as the lid. What a big mess!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/18/2014
Hi NCPDOUG, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40871410 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

It's a great product

07/25/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great product for everyday usage and its very quick. Rice will not stick to bottom. I really love this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker

Very bad product.

04/19/2013
By ,
west DesMoines
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When i bought online. I went and pick the cooker in store. the same day i was using it.its not at all working and the light is not blowing also.Please put the products away from the store which doesn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Black & Decker 14-Cup Rice Cooker
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5