Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Meet the thin laptop that's big on performance. The Beats Special Edition dm4-3099SE HP Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor weighs just over four pounds, so it's ready to grab and go. Make video calls, watch full-screen HD movies and update your status on the move with extra security from a fingerprint reader. Listen to music or create playlists on a red, backlit keyboard. Specially designed around Beats Audio, it's a HP Refurbished Laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium like no other.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation82%31 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice!!

11/07/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice unit, the only draw back I have is the keyboard is kinda hard to read when you are in a darker room, but other than that this is a awesome computer!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

WOW!

08/13/2012
By ,
Germantown,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer while holding my breath because it was a referb. WOW was I wrong! This computer is one of the best I have ever bought. I have 5 laptops in my house right now. The only negative is the red letters are hard to read for these old eyes. That is if I get to use it! Seems my kids absolutely love the sound and movie experience. If you are looking for a moderate priced laptop that really has all the goods don't let the referb tag fool you. Buy this and save yourself $300 or $400 dollars. Just don't let your kids get a hold of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 3 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great results DJn with a Numark N4

11/01/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are unfamiliar with DJ equipment, I am using a piece of technology that will not give you a good sound quality if you are using laptops with older Intel or AMD processors. If you are are DJing with it, I will warn you that you may need to take it out of power saver mode to get the best sound quality. In HP recommended power mode I have not experienced any kind of distortion or clipping what so ever. I was a tad apprehensive about the hard drive (5200rpm), but I was surprised when the machine took 128 gigs of info from a 7200rpm external hard in about 80 minutes. (Took 3 hours on my HP g62-355dx) I do however plan to upgrade to Solid State Hard Drive in this machine. As far as general (non dj) use. I use the machine if in power saver mode, and it runs 6 hours playing music with the screen on. I did test it out with a huge flash game to see how it performed under heat stress and I have to say this machine stays near silent and runs very, very cool. Also, the red backlit keyboard is amazing in dark night clubs! I would recommend this computer to any DJ or friend of mine in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best priced backlit keyboard

09/15/2012
By ,
Fairfax VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The best function is the backlit keyboard. Enjoyed using that feature. Also, prefer the matte screen. Hard to find matte screen laoptop.
Pros
Backlit Keyboard
Rubberized Palm rests
Quiet
Matte screen
Returned mine, since at the bottom, one of the sections, which can be unscrewed was protruding out, from the time the laptop was received.
It's still a very good deal, if it wasn't for the flap protruding, would have kept it. Also, HP should really provide a 1 Year warranty instead of a 3 month warranty, since this is refurbished, meaning they have tested it, so, they should provide the same warranty as a new laptop. It's mainly the less 3 month warranty which is preventing me from keeping the laptop.
Costco provides a 1 year warranty with their refurbished laptops, so not sure, why Wal-mart cannot work with HP & other manufacturers to negotiate 1 year warranty on the refurbished laptops that Wal-mart sells. I am sure Wal-Mart enjoys more customers then Costco, since Costco is a membership retailer, whereas Wal-mart is not, and Wal-Mart has way more stores then Costco, so in fact logically, Wal-Mart would have more negotiating power then Costco.
In my opinion, Wal-mart should be able to negotiate a 1 year warranty on all the refurbished laptops they sell but keep the same low prices. If Costco can do it, so can Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 5 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

AMAZING!!!

10/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking to save around $200 from bying a brand new one, referb. is the way ot go! Its perfect in every way and completly exceeds my expectations. You would never know it was used. The sound is awesome and the red back-lit keybaord is an eye catcher to anyone around. I have had it for about two weeks and its just the PERFECT computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Outstanding little powerhouse!

10/09/2012
By ,
Auburn, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a lot of power in a small package, look no further. You get a better video ability with this computer that produces 1600x900 resolution, 6 gigs of memory, a 640 gig hard drive and a great "Beats" sound system. Long battery life, fast hard drive access and built very well. The snappy red on black "Beats" logo really makes this laptop stand out. I highly recommend this laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Excellent value

10/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not expecting this laptop to be this great of a purchase. Backlit keyboard, 1600X900 HD Matte screen, good speakers (for a laptop), durable feel, Intel Core i5, 6 gb, LOVE the HP simple pass all for mid-$500.. Need I say more?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 8 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Product at a good price

09/20/2012
By ,
Kernersville, Nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my daughter to last into her college years. So far she loves it. Its fast and for the size of the speakers, it sounds good. Its refurbished but it looks great, no blemishes. Runs great so I think I saved a couple hundred dollars! Got the extra 2 year service plan just in case, I am satisfied with my purchase,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Small and Powerful!

11/08/2012
By ,
Charleston, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definately met my expectations! First time ordering a computer online using cite-to-store option and would use it again in a heartbeat! Never owned a refurbished laptop but this one is like new. I can't imagine what was "refurbished". I also love how small it is. It's very easy to take places b/c of its size but it's also big enough to handle the work. I don't feel like i've lost anything by going down to a 14" screen from a 17" screen. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Not per manufacturers specs

09/07/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No backlit keyboard. Old battery. Still had UK settings installed. -- Took a while to get rid of the add-ons, but after that this works well when used in full light and not on battery. I bought this for travel for my job- not what I expected.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is amazing and super fast!
Pros:
-backlit keyboard
-matte screen
-beats audio
-fingerprint scanner
-soft touch material and mousepad
and these are only a few!
Only one negative i can think of:
-fingerprints pick up easily, but they're not hard to get off
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great refurbished computer---

09/29/2012
By ,
vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sound is great cool look...a great computer for the money.. the red letters are hard to read even when the key board lights up... but that is the only drawback..great deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT

08/20/2012
By ,
Greer, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS COMPUTER IS EVERYTHING THAT I COULD EVER WANT. I LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 14 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Junk

10/21/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it and took it home and started it. Booted up fne. Let it charge up. Turned it off. Came back and turned it on......did not boot up....took it back and got my money. No problem on the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 15 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Received unit w/ optical DVD drive dead on arrival

09/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
That says it all. A refurbished unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 16 for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Acceptable!

10/25/2012
By ,
Hanford , CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Laptop came in acceptable condition, However , it didnt came in original box and instruction manual did not came in with the laptop. I got what I payed for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Refurbished Black 14" Beats Special Edition Laptop PC, dm4-3099SE, with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5