Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

HP Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The simple style and essential features you expect from Compaq are more affordable than ever! The new Compaq Presario CQ57 enhances your life with full PC performance for projects and entertainment, with features you find in laptops costing much more like HD video support and Altec Lansing stereo speakers. Get integrated WiFi to connect anywhere a hotspot is available. A built-in setup manager walks you through this process, plus how to transfer files from your old PC, backup your data and much more. A large hard drive holds plenty of documents, homework, music, photos and videos. It's all yours now at a price so low, it's almost unbelievable. Why pay more for peace of mind? Get brand name quality, now at a price you can afford.
Average Customer Rating:
4.215 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(233 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
55
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation86%200 out of 233reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 149 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
55
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good value

09/29/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this computer today as a replacement for an earlier version of this same laptop that decided lately to keep crashing on me. I had my older one for 3 1\2 years and was comfortable using it so thought the transition would be easier buying the same brand. I paid exactly $100.00 less for this new one and it has more features! I like the black matte finish, webcam, media reader and I went from "Vista" to Windows 7 home premium. I was alittle worried about it being refurbished, but it looks brand new. The only thing I found "iffy"was the touch pad but that's minor. I checked into getting my other one repaired and it was going to cost about $200.00 so I shopped around and saw this one for $259.00 and decided it was a "no brainer". Of course this is pretty much for us who aren't really techno geeks but it is a nice basic computer for home use. I am pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Itss Awesome !

08/06/2012
By ,
Orange nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay so i just got my compaq presario an i think itss awesome.I play video games on it,and watch movies,ann youtube is excellent.The webcam is also good i can talk to friends and family with good resolution.Absolutely no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Yo quiero taco bell

09/13/2012
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop showcases an Intel Celeron dual core processor in 32 nm technology. Celeron processors run faster then Pentium dual cores because the pipeline is shorter. They may or may not have an execution disable bit for data integrity. The case shows as black plastic. The keyboard is generic laptop. The laptop boots into wireless mode automatically unless it is turned off. The 2 GB of memory adequately powers the laptop. I added 2 GB more and it performs well. The processor boots to login faster then a Pentium D 820 with equal RAM. The laptop runs for nearly four hours on battery mode with the standard battery. Application threads execute quickly and Word starts quickly too. For $268 dollars who can ask for more. The laptop is made for internet browsing and MicrosofT Office. If you want to game buy a desktop or Xbox 360. I use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
07/14/2012
By ,
Land O Lakes, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 14 year old's birthday present, as she would need a computer for her upcoming high school years. I was sceptical, as most computers with similar capabilities were running much higher in price. I was not disappointed. It was everything she needed for online access, file storage, and of course downloading of games and much, much more. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Wished I had read the specs thoroughly...

07/06/2012
By ,
Imperial Beach, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found the Compaq Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC to be an excellent unit for those who did not need it for complex tasks like detailed graphics, multimedia editing or heavy duty administrative tasks. If you wanted a computer laptop for the game player, the social network officianado or the person that is no longer a student. This unit is the unit for you at the right price.
It comes loaded with Windows 7 Home Premium, MS Office Starter Editions, A trial version of Norton Internet 360 and an HP Warranty which is only good for 90 days, as a matter of fact none of the trial software bundled with the unit last more than 60-90 days. With only a 340 Gig HD, a Celeron B800 Processor and only 2 Gigs of Usable Memory, I would have been satisfied with that but there is an already existing partition for backup which is only usable if you don't install anything else on the system. The HP components are a bit invasive just as Norton has always been. This is a perfect unit for the fledgling teenager who doesn't plan on doing anything major with this unit at the outset, perhaps it can be upgraded at a later time, but in order to have that done, you must (no doubt) extend your warranty within the 90 day grace period, at a cost of near $300 for a year's worth. I must remember it is a refurbished unit. Next time I will read the specs more carefully before committing to such a purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
06/30/2012
By ,
Moreno Valley Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a dad bundle and it was great. It met all my expectations.
My son works on computers and was impressed also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice basic laptop for discount price!

08/06/2012
By ,
Yellow Springs Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little nervous about buying a refurbished laptop ( or refurbished ANYTHING for that matter ), but the laptop I received is a gem. It comes with Windows 7.
I wiped the hard drive and installed UBUNTU, the FREE linux-based operating system, as I will never again pay royalties for problematic virus prone Windows garbage. This laptop SCREAMS for web surfing, streaming video, and Skype! I am not a gamer, but true gamers aren't going to be messing around with a laptop anyway. This laptop does everything I need a laptop to do, and with UBUNTU, I will never need to worry about Trojan horses, Malware, Anti-virus software, etc.
Very nice for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

DON'T DO IT! ITS JUNK

10/15/2012
By ,
Jax, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this lap top less than three weeks ago and my hard drive failed this past Friday! I am going to be returning it to wal-mart to get my money back! Yes, they give a 90 warranty and I bought the extra coverage from wal-mart, but if this piece of junk can't even work for 3 weeks before crashing, god only knows what kind of other problems it will have or if it will crash again. Not to mention I have to mail my lap top in every time it may crash in the future and risk losing everything on it! I just transferred all of my old data on to the new lap top and added some the past 3 weeks ( as a law student) and now it is gone! I didn't even have time to back up before it crashed! Don't waste your time or money! Pay the extra and get a good lap top and brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brevard
This Is A Great Buy
Posted 11/25/2012
I have read a bunch of the other comments and I agree with most of them. I don't agree thought with the comments about this laptop being bad. Maybe their computer did crash! But you know what I think, I think that they may have been putting a lot of downloaded stuff on their computers. But if they didn't that's fine, but my own thoughts on this computer are that it is amazing. I needed a laptop for school and my family was going to go to best buy but we went over to the computer aisle and we saw the presario CQ57. It was at a great price is what my father said. But we were deciding between a gateway and the compaq. When the store clerk came over he said it would be better to get the compaq because he said that he had a gateway and one day it just stopped working. I'm wasn't to surprised when I heard that because I also had a gateway also and it stopped working! Anyways I got this laptop for school and we use Google docs to type up papers. I don't know why some people think that this computer isn't any good. At school my computer works fast than a lot of the macs in the class. I watch movies, have music, play games, and with the built in camera I video chat with my friends. This is the best buy out there. I hope you take my advise, If you not an all around computer this is the one for you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This is a great Laptop

08/20/2012
By ,
Largo Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom is 85 years young and just getting started with the computer world this is also her first Laptop and it was a great in store deal @ $248.00 + tax you can not go wrong with the price its great right out of the box internet ready all you have to do is load your info and update all the programs that you use and your off to play all the Bingo games and e-mail all your friends
Its not a super fast computer but it will do the job can handle Facebook and any program you may use this is a great for the new beginner to computers
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

EXCELLENT

10/20/2012
By ,
nashville,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont have any problems with this product it is excellent for a student in school or just everyday use. I use this laptop to do school work and also to play games and check Facebook, twitter etc. if you do buy this think about getting the Microsoft office product because this only has the starter even though im sure all computers are like that. It also comes with Norton security for 60 days. i love it because it looks and feel like a more expensive hp computer (because hp brought out Compaq) it basically has all the features my friends hp has. I love this i wouldn't think twice about getting another refurbished hp or Compaq computer they are the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Refurbished saves $$!

07/05/2012
By ,
Bentonville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome laptop for the price. To purchase new (not refurbished) I would've easily spent double, and it does everything I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great buy. Good low-end laptop/fantastic price

11/22/2012
By ,
Melbourne, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive 'starter' laptop for a friend. I bought this one refurbished from Walmart and the price was lower than any other laptop I've found with compatible specs online. It arrived a few days later (free shipping), and worked right out of the box. So far, have found no drawbacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great for my needs

08/26/2012
By ,
monticello, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just wanted a laptop to take away from home, to keep up with my business, and social connections, and for some gaming, and so far it's done all i ask.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Software issues, had to return to store

09/27/2012
By ,
Niceville, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The refurbished laptop would not boot up....called tech support (very nice) and they told me, after trying many procedures, to just return it to the store......very nice at store and refunded my money.....purchased the same computer at the store for about 10 bucks more (not refurbished) and it works fine.....great laptop for the money......recommend you buy a new one and not refurbished.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great budget laptop.

09/15/2012
By ,
South Bend, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer to replace an 8 year old Dell. I'm not a computer geek so I won't bother with the specifications, I know there are faster machines out there. That is one reason for the 4 stars. But as far as bargains go, this computer is everything we expected. It worked right out of the box. The other reason for a 4 star rating is with the touch pad. It is very sensitive to activating functions unintentionally. Luckily, I use this primarily at a desk with external keyboard and mouse. But at $258 for a full laptop, what a deal. Very happy.
Just to note, part of the back to school special was a free case with it. I picked the free one from the choices. It turned out to be a case for a tablet or small netbook. Why Walmart? A free case for an unrelated product?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great working computer

11/21/2012
By ,
FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Computer is WONDERFUL...Refurbished but not a mark on it...looks like brand new and has been a great computer for me. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a computer for games, emails and video chat..Its exactly what I wanted it for and for the price it is an EXCELLENT COMPUTER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A littleLite on memory

09/16/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cost 41 more to go from baby cub to big 8 gig bear, plug in modules, shame on manufacturer, there cost is less then 12 dollars, other than that has up grade for 15 for windows 8, clean vibrant screen, led, long battery, recommend twin fan cooler to prolong life.dvd is reader writer, can't beat the price. Refurb means a human checked it out and it went through checks most line products don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Broke after one week

07/11/2012
By ,
West New York NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this because I needed a laptop for school and all I needed was something to get on the internet and type some documents, nothing fancy and I was on a tight budget. I ordered from walmart and received the very next day. Firstly, it does NOT come with microsoft office. It comes with Microsoft Starter and a lot of advertisements to buy microsoft office. To make a new document, you have to open an old document and then choose from the file menu to open a blank document, what a pain.
It also takes as much time to boot up as my 8 year old mac desktop.
Lastly, after one week, I turned the thing on and was working on one of my projects for my thesis when it all of a sudden froze up and the screen went black. I had to hold down the power button to turn it off and then when I turned back on, it just had a blue screen with a cursor. No log in, no icons, nothing. Even the windows button didn't work. I called HP support (it's an HP product) and it turned out that the hard drive failed. After over an hour on the phone with them, they are finally sending me a new hard drive but get this.... HP charges you $1 until they get the damaged one back from you. Then they refund the $1. Why? Who knows, it should be completely free especially since I only used the thing a total of 6 times. I also had to listen to a lecture about backing up my files. I only had 2 documents on it but they were important and now they're lost because I didn't expect my brand new laptop's hard drive to die within the first week and so I didn't get around to backing them up yet. Now I know better. When dealing with a PC, anything can break. Next time I'll save for longer and get a mac.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

What a steal!

11/14/2012
By ,
upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had it for a few weeks but works great. Obviously not the top of the line, but suits my needs at a great price. Could not be easier set up. Refurbished but I strongly doubt anyone could tell it's not new. Also shipping to store is easy and convenient. Keep me as a customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Compaq Refurbished Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B800 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
11/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed this for work when I go out of town for the holidays. It's prefect does the job. It's pretty fast I upgraded the RAM that I got for about 20 bucks at best buy. It's a good pick if you want a decent size screen and something that has a cd drive. The Price is also really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next