Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Mainstays Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

The Mainstays Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed is a practical space saving solution for small bedrooms. Available in multiple finishes this solid wood bunk bed creates a warm and restful environment in your home. This Mainstays Bunk Bed has a sturdy frame with an integrated four step built-in ladder for safety. This bunk bed easily converts to twin beds and fits nicely in any room. This kids bunk bed can accommodate any standard twin sized coil spring mattress. The solid wood construction of this bed gives maximum support to any mattress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(2329 Reviews) 2088
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,537
4 stars
625
3 stars
97
2 stars
24
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation96%2,233 out of 2,328reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 673 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,537
4 stars
625
3 stars
97
2 stars
24
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Solid bed

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We only set up the bottom half of the bunk bed since our girls sleep in separate rooms. The wood is very sturdy and we are very happy with our purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Very nice

10/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beds where worth the price and built very sturdy. Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Easy to put together. Great quality!

10/25/2014
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Great quality! It's even better than the picture. I am going to buy another one for my other kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Very Sturdy Bed! Beautiful Finish!

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Directions are easy to follow but, some pieces were not labeled and we ended up having to backtrack a couple of times and redo some steps. Overall I am very pleased with the bed and its construction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

do not stand or jump on this bed

10/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bed warns you not to stand or jump on it, and it is telling the truth. without extra reinforcement (in the form of bunkie bed slats or such), you do not want to stand on it -- so for rambunctious kids, i would look into extra support. else, they seem fine so far. if you do not have a power tool for the assembly, it will take you an entire day AND give you one-day carpal tunnel to assemble -- so you probably want to get the power tool if you do not already have one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Elated with the quality!

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these bunk beds for our girls and due to stock levels actually ended up waiting about a month to order the white ones. I have to say, I'm so glad I was patient during that time and didn't order a more expensive different set, because these beds are amazing quality! And you truly can't beat the price! And the fact that they can be separated and turned into regular twin beds if needed adds value and allows them to grow with your family. Best $200 I've ever spent. :)))))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great quality bed for a small price.

10/23/2014
By ,
Dale City, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many reviews on this bunk bed set and decided to give it a try. One thing that I will say is that even though most reviews claimed that the box was very heavy, it was not as heavy as they made it seem. The FedEx guy brought it up the steps of my home and I was able to carry it in and bring up stairs to my daughters room and I'm not a big guy (5ft 7in/170lbs).
The directions are very easy to follow but make sure you refrain from putting the slates on both bed frames that will be closest to where the latter needs to be installed. I recommend putting the top bedframe on the bottom, attaching the latter, and then installing the rest of the slates. I found out the hard way that if you install all of the slates, some of the holes you need to screw in the latter will be covered and you'll end up having to remove them.
The instructions don't tell you that.
The whole process took me about 2.5 hours, but once it was done it looked great. The wood is very good quality and very sturdy. The paint job was fantastic and my daughters (11 and 8) loved it. They were very excited once the job was complete and could not wait until bedtime (that's a first).
My son loved it so much he wants to get one for his room. I told him he did not need it because he's the only boy but he said his cousin comes to visit and he will need the extra bed, so I guess I will have to buy another one.
I have to say that the price is surprising given the great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great

10/23/2014
By ,
colorado springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bunk bed for my two boys and was very surprised at the sturdyness and quality of the product I looked at other places at bunk beds and this one was more sturdy then even american furniture warehouse beds and easy to put together
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great product for an even better price

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my girls aged 4.5 and 2.5 as we are expecting our third child and wanted to move the two oldest girls into a room together. Since they are so young we have this set up as two separate beds. This is actual wood! Probably not top notch wood, but wood nonetheless. Very happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great bunk beds for the price

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was somewhat hesitant about buying bunk beds online, but these ended up being great beds for the price. One upside of them is that they can turn into two twin beds if we ever decided to do that. They were pretty easy to put together, but they took a while- we had four people working on them, and it took maybe two hours. The slats that hold up the mattresses are both good and bad- good because there are a lot of them, so the mattress doesn't sink anywhere, but bad because they're just unfinished wood, giving the potential for splinters if one of the kids was messing around with the mattresses (because kids. Don't tell me they don't do that!) The ladder is a bit narrow for me to climb up and down to change the top bunk. I'm a small woman- 5'3 and 105 lbs., so that might pose an issue for older/bigger kids. But, we do like the bunk beds, and they are definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

great product at an affordable price

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is nice when something simple works out! It is not fancy and it doesn't have the bells and whistles...it is exactly what I needed for a small room. It is sturdy and my husband put it together with ease!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Perfectly happy

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put a 6yr old on the top and a 4 yr old on the lower mattress. I love that the top bunk isn't too high and has plenty of head room. As I love the space I have below the bunk too.
It was easy to assemble (save your wrists and fingers and invest in a Allen wrench bit for an electric drill - there are so many!)
It turned out sturdy and I have no worries about it's safety.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Looks nice but poor quality

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 6 months I noticed a few cracks in the wood. Nine months & the top bunk mattress support snapped & broke. Then I started noticing numerous cracks. Some cracks are in the wood knots & others are not. Dorel Asia says the knots are not part of the warranty. They will send me replacements parts for the other 10 pieces showing cracks. My labor of course is not covered in having to disassemble & rebuild the 2 sets of bunks I purchased. Not happy with beds or the customer service from Dorel Asia. I would rate the value higher if the beds met my expectations. I will stick to Stanley Young America for quality bunk beds.
I will have to dump these beds. I would not want anyone else sleeping in them.
I would not recommend these beds to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great for the price

10/18/2014
By ,
Greenup, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just needed two twin beds to go in two separate rooms but everything I found comparable in price was metal. I like these better because they're wood and come in a choice of finishes. My daughter picked the cherry finish.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Kids love it!

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took a few hours to put it together. It was pretty easy to do - just took a little time. The stickers were a little Antoine to get off too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Poor quality bunk bed

10/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bunk bed is cheap which is good. And it comes I descent colors, which is good. However the wood is very soft. The bed isn't very stable. The supports that support the mattress are not sufficient to sleep on. There needs to be more of them or a bunk bed box spring, piece of wood something. These beds aren't too bad separate. There is a lot of room for storage under the bed. They were pretty easy to put together. They were pretty easy to lift. My five year old and I lifted the top bunk up to set it up relatively easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

A well made bunk bed.

10/15/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product to any family in need of a sturdy, high quality bunk bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Impressed

10/15/2014
By ,
Newburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
they look great a little chip here and there but overall it was awesome love them!! Solid and Sturdy was having my doubts but I am impressed so was my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

just beautiful ;)

10/15/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price & the beds look amazing! My 5yr old & 2yr old daughters love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Bunk bed exceeds expectations.

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my new grandson on his visits. I can't wait til his visit. Not bad with assembly requirements, about an hour. Priced competitive bunks, but this bed supreme overall. Exceeded expectations with price &Walmart service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,089 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  105 Next