Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Mainstays Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

The Mainstays Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed is a practical space saving solution for small bedrooms. Available in multiple finishes this solid wood bunk bed creates a warm and restful environment in your home. This Mainstays Bunk Bed has a sturdy frame with an integrated four step built-in ladder for safety. This bunk bed easily converts to twin beds and fits nicely in any room. This kids bunk bed can accommodate any standard twin sized coil spring mattress. The solid wood construction of this bed gives maximum support to any mattress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(2656 Reviews) 2415
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,730
4 stars
711
3 stars
126
2 stars
31
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation96%2,538 out of 2,655reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
287 Questions | 810 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,730
4 stars
711
3 stars
126
2 stars
31
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

awesome

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bunk beds.it looks soo cute in my daughters bedrooms. Great bed for the prize.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great value

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was easy to put together very sturdy we bought it for our grandchildren I was amazed at the cost versus the quality of the unit we looked around at many places and couldn't find the price we were looking at and the quality we were looking for
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Good for the money

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bunks are good for the money. They are a little high off the floor and not enough space between the bunks. I had to add 18 inch post extensions between the bed post so I wouldn't have to crawl into bed. There was no way to even sit on the bed for lack of space. Making the extensions was not a problem if you have the right tools which I did. I stained to match and now it is right. Since I was using the top bunk for extra storage the added height was not an issue. I didn't use the ladder either. And I still have plenty of room for storage up top and plenty below the bottom bunk for plastic bins for storage. It took 2 people about 30 minutes to put together. One MAJOR thing..Instructions were in a language that we didn't speak or read. No ENGLISH instructions were in the box so you have to go on pictures which most guys do anyway. Everything was labeled so the pictures were okay but readable instructions would have been nice. Some of the screws were confusing so you really have to pay attention to all connections.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Impressed for the price

07/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical because of the price but these seem like decent well made beds! My kids love them. Only thing I would change is the way the slats fit on the bottom, maybe a piece of plywood would remedy this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Outstanding Bunk Bed

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price I paid for this bunk bed, I am feeling like a genius right now. The quality (it's a solid, good weight item) is great, the finish is nice. It took an hour and a half for me to build, I had a little help towards the end when it came to holding a few pieces in place, so I am sure if you had a partner helping the entire time, it could be built much quicker. Now that it is up, the kids love this bed. It doesn't creak, squeak, or cause me any concerns. I had some at first buying it online, and having to put it together vs. buying from a furniture store and having them deliver and assemble. I am sure glad I went this route and saved a ton of money by doing so. It's an incredible value and honestly, there isn't one in it's category. I couldn't find one that was under 300 dollars that I would have compared it too, and since that is over 120 more than I paid for it, please see the first sentence of the review :). Glad we got it, my wife loves it, the kids are happy and have no issues sleeping in it (also purchased the mainstay 6" mattress at Walmart.com) they are great and fit perfectly in this bunkbed......so in all, happy wife, happy life, happy kids, well they are happy so that's nice.............
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

STURDY!

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is better than I expected. I got it for my two boys 5 and 7.
This is very sturdy. Good looking. It can be separated into two separate beds if we want.
It took about 2.5 to 3 hrs to put together, but it was very easy. Just a lot of pieces and a lot of usage with an Allen Wrench. After a while, my fingers were getting sore.
I would recommend this bed if you are considering bunk beds for your kids.
Weight limit 165 lbs.
Fits regular twin mattresses.
1 box. (heavy) 110 lbs
2 person job for some parts of assembly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great value, solid construction

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compact bunk bed! Can't beat the price, easy assembly. All the boards are labeled so that made assembly a breeze.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

great bunk bed for great value

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bunk bed! I bought the gray one & love the color. easy simple instructions. The bed is very well made. Very sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Sturdy & Looking good

06/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bunk bed set is very sturdy, and is pleasing to the eye. Very well designed, and does not require a "Bunkie" board or box spring. Easily worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Better than expected

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You definitely need two people to help you put this bunk bed together. It took my fiancé and I a little over an hour to assemble the beds and that's with a power drill. Try to get one that has an assortment of tips. The wood is a solid, beautiful rich walnut color and complements any room decor. However, I would strongly suggest going to Home Depot or Lowe's and buying a flat, sturdy plank board to rest on top of the slots because once you place the mattress on them, it creates dents in the mattress and the plank board will help ensure your child's mattress won't suffer any damages.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Twin Bunk Beds

06/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am happy with the look, stability and quality of the bed. We are using it for guest visits for the grand children so for that it works really well!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Beds

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my 5 & 7 year old grandsons we didn't stack them and the f course they were jumping on them so for my pice of mind added a sheet of plywood under mattresses for addition safety but they really love the beds
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great value!

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised at just how solid this bunk bed is. I wanted something that would withstand my son's rough housing for at least a few years, and I know I made the right choice (this time). This bed is very sturdy and will definitely last him for years!
Only downside is the bolts used to assemble it. They are hex head bolts, and the tiny little hex wrench they include makes it difficult and time consuming to put together. I was wishing I had a hex bit set for my drill cuz it took me over an hour to hand drive all the bolts into the bed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

it sleeps

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yep it's a good bed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Great price for a great bunk bed

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered a set for both our kids. They were easy to assemble. They do have 165lb max weight, won't be a problem for our kids since they are tiny for their age but we will have to be careful if company stays over.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Poor product quality control!

06/19/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The kids loved it when we saw it on the computer. We then ordered the white bed online after seeing the positive comments.
My daughters were excited when we received it this afternoon. I started to pull out the pieces and assemble right away. A few minutes after I started, I realized that some of the painted pieces have big dents (about 1/8" deep and 1/2"-1" wide). Those pieces were buried in the middle and that would eliminate the possibility of being damaged during shipping. In addition to that, one of the slats is extremely crooked...
I wonder whether they have any quality inspection/control process before packing the product. I tried to call the 800 number on the instructions to request for the replacement pieces, they were closed and won't be open till next Monday (2+ days later) -- They close at 3PM Eastern time on Fridays, and of course the weekends.
I will have to put the parts aside and wait for some days before I could request for the parts plus shipping time (who knows how long that will take) to have the bed assembled. It is a complete mess in the kids' room...... It would still be functional if I choose to assemble it as is, but the kids would not be happy and I can't imagine the pain to tear it apart and put the new parts on later.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Love them

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, great looking and good price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Outstanding bed, made out of Real Wood

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will not get disappointed if you buy this bunk bed, this is the real deal, it is made out REAL WOOD, not particle wood, not "engineered" wood, not laminated wood, or any other cheap material they dare to call wood. This bunk bed you could either use it as a single twin bed, stack up the second twin bed to make it a bunk bed or place them together to make a queen bed. I'd have never though this was going to be such an excellent purchase at the price paid for it. I am glad I was wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Love this bed.

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed is great for my grandson. He was so excited to receive it and he loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes

Good for the price

06/18/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The screws are a little short. Had to buy longer screws for the rails. Would be nice to have the slacks fitted in more securely. All and all it works out ok for the twins.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,416 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  121 Next