Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

More space for books is always a good idea. Whether you read novels, sci fi, political thrillers or you need more room for the kids books, this The Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase offers a space-saving tiered design that goes well in almost any decor style, from contemporary to traditional which makes it ideal in the bedroom, living room, home office or the kids room. The 5-shelf ladder bookcase leans against and secures to your wall with shallow shelves at the top and deeper shelves at the bottom. This Espresso-colored composite wood bookcase is ideal for storing books and collectibles no matter what room you keep it in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.712 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
59
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation77%171 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 125 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
59
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just What I Was Looking For

10/25/2013
By ,
Starkville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height
Posted 12/09/2013
Do you have the height of this bookshelf? Its not listed on the website. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Assemble with care

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Decent

09/10/2014
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its exactly the way as shown in pic. Set up was complicated took me & my husband to do it just to figure out ... we finished this I think in 1 hour or so.. Quality is basic so be careful while setting up my husband used his man power and it got a crack after that I told him just do it gently..Yes like other reviewers it was chipped on one of the shelf ..check pic..Overall I am happy..It hold things what I originally planned however it's delicate and average quality so its good if you just keep it at 1 place I mean if you are moving I will just leave it instead of taking it part and putting it back again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great for a great price!

06/21/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Love my bookshelf

12/29/2013
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Hmmmmm!!!

05/26/2013
By ,
Dallas,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great and definitely not cheap

01/02/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly
Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground
Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it
so you don't scratch the shelves.
Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble
It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Meets expectations

02/18/2014
By ,
Meriden, ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great but a pain to put together.

04/06/2014
By ,
Evansville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just what I needed!

04/27/2014
By ,
Bronx New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these for living room organization. Perfect size and very stylish!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Exceptional for the price, easy assembly

01/19/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Good Bang for the Buck

01/20/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked up two of these using site-to-store a few weeks ago to go in my dining area (to hold pictures, trinkets and some house plants). Very easy to assemble and they're fairly true to color (In my experience, some "espresso" colors have been considerably lighter or darker than depicted). It does show some signs of being build it yourself furniture, where screw heads are visible (no sticker in packaging to cover them), seams where parts come together aren't very desirable, but as others have mentioned, it's a great deal for the price. If you choose to not mount it into your wall, and go with the "leaning" option for this bookcase I'd recommend picking up some rubber drawer stoppers for the top. Though the packaging does include some, they're thin and won't protect your walls very much; especially in a rental. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a good accent piece. I'd be hesitant using this as a full-functioning bookcase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Flimsy/Poor Quality

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This piece is very flimsy, after we put it together and then tried lifting it to lean against the wall it broke where the shelf meets the frame in a few areas. I bought two and it happend to both. i had to glue and use screws to try to keep it together until I buy a better quality one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

leaning ladder

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very cute addition to my living room
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

nice

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the unit very much. Bought for my bedroom and it fit right where I wanted it for. I am 63 and put it together by myself. For the price its a nice,sturdy bookshelve
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Ladder shelf

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They work really good. They look good and solved the storage problem I had with collectibles.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

leaning ladder bookshelf

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its good now. I had to take it apart once because I had the shelves on the wrong side.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Nice for the Price

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bookcase this week and it took me about 15 mins to assemble, all that is required is a screwdriver. After I completed putting together I realized that I needed the larger shelf toward the top so without disassembling the entire bookcase I just swapped the second and bottom shelves. It worked out great. The only thing with doing that is not all the shelves will touch the wall. But believe me it's not a big issue. The bookcase still leans up against the wall perfectly. Also if you want to secure it to the wall but do not want to put holes in your wall, I suggest using command tape. If I ever need another shelf I would definitely buy another one of these.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso
07/31/2012
By ,
Colonial Heights, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other reviews did not seem very appealing, but I still went ahead and bought one. Have not regretted buying it. It was easy to install and the nifty part about it is it did not take up so much space and yet functional. Very good for small living places. Big bang for your bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Very well made for price.

08/26/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always weary of reviews that trash self assembled furniture like this for being cheap. You are buying a 50 dollar shelf that at other big box stores would be 100 or more. At a furniture store it would be a few hundred(and you don't always get any better quality).
This shelf is made of wood that is heavier than I expected based on other reviews. This shelf is actually very good for 50 dollars. When assembling, be sure to align all pieces the exact same way as the instruction book, then everything will work perfectly as you assemble. Any questions? Just look back at the picture and make sure the piece is oriented exactly the same. It fits together with ease. The instructions claim you need a drill, but I think that is only if you mount it to the wall(into a stud), I did not need a drill to assemble the shelf. Just a phillips screw driver.
This is an easy shelf to put together. Keep in mind, for the shelves to all be flush with the wall and perfectly level, you will need to mount this to the wall so it does not tip over. If you don't want to mount it to the wall, just tilt it against the wall. The shelves will not be perfectly level, they will be slightly slanted up, which means nothing will fall off of them. This is how I use it, since I didn't want to screw into a rented wall. It seems to work perfectly fine like that, just make sure that you tilt it enough so there is no risk of it falling forward. If you are in doubt or have kids, you probably want to mount it to the wall.
For 50 bucks this shelf is pretty solid. The only problem I found is if you don't mount it to the wall, it can wobble a little left and right. Just enough to scratch your wall. If you are going to free stand this, get those little self adhesive rubber bumpers meant for cushioning cabinent doors. ("Bulldog Clear Rubber Bumpers" #001113557) A few of those on the very top and the thing won't scratch your wall. Place some on the side if you are putting this in a corner so it touches two walls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next