Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

More space for books is always a good idea. Whether you read novels, sci fi, political thrillers or you need more room for the kids books, this The Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase offers a space-saving tiered design that goes well in almost any decor style, from contemporary to traditional which makes it ideal in the bedroom, living room, home office or the kids room. The 5-shelf ladder bookcase leans against and secures to your wall with shallow shelves at the top and deeper shelves at the bottom. This Espresso-colored composite wood bookcase is ideal for storing books and collectibles no matter what room you keep it in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
59
3 stars
20
2 stars
19
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation76%154 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
59
3 stars
20
2 stars
19
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Assemble with care

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Decent

09/10/2014
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its exactly the way as shown in pic. Set up was complicated took me & my husband to do it just to figure out ... we finished this I think in 1 hour or so.. Quality is basic so be careful while setting up my husband used his man power and it got a crack after that I told him just do it gently..Yes like other reviewers it was chipped on one of the shelf ..check pic..Overall I am happy..It hold things what I originally planned however it's delicate and average quality so its good if you just keep it at 1 place I mean if you are moving I will just leave it instead of taking it part and putting it back again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just What I Was Looking For

10/25/2013
By ,
Starkville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height
Posted 12/09/2013
Do you have the height of this bookshelf? Its not listed on the website. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great for a great price!

06/21/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Love my bookshelf

12/29/2013
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Hmmmmm!!!

05/26/2013
By ,
Dallas,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great and definitely not cheap

01/02/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly
Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground
Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it
so you don't scratch the shelves.
Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble
It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Meets expectations

02/18/2014
By ,
Meriden, ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great but a pain to put together.

04/06/2014
By ,
Evansville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just what I needed!

04/27/2014
By ,
Bronx New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these for living room organization. Perfect size and very stylish!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Exceptional for the price, easy assembly

01/19/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Good Bang for the Buck

01/20/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked up two of these using site-to-store a few weeks ago to go in my dining area (to hold pictures, trinkets and some house plants). Very easy to assemble and they're fairly true to color (In my experience, some "espresso" colors have been considerably lighter or darker than depicted). It does show some signs of being build it yourself furniture, where screw heads are visible (no sticker in packaging to cover them), seams where parts come together aren't very desirable, but as others have mentioned, it's a great deal for the price. If you choose to not mount it into your wall, and go with the "leaning" option for this bookcase I'd recommend picking up some rubber drawer stoppers for the top. Though the packaging does include some, they're thin and won't protect your walls very much; especially in a rental. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a good accent piece. I'd be hesitant using this as a full-functioning bookcase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

nice

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks very good, but shelves are not straight, slightly slanted forward. OK for non-heavy objects, but I decided not to use for big picture frames - afraid of them sliding off the shelf. Overall: look is good, quality not so much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Damaged Packaging

01/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the product. However, we had to return two of them to the store and get a third due to damage. Shelves were completely shattered and paint scratched up. Also, the directions were only in Spanish and one of the steps was incorrect so the items would not go together until we reversed directions.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Broken

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this online and had it sent to my son for a Christmas present in Portland, OR. When he opened the box, the bottom shelf broke in half before he even attempted to assemble it. Because there are no Walmarts in that area, I am left with needing to purchase another shelf.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

leaning shelf book

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is what I expected you get what you pay for. Went together easy. Did bolt it to the wall have a cat and yes she does climb it. But it is nice
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Great Bookcase !

01/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a space saving bookcase. This is a great solution. It is easy to put together and look modern. For the price you could not find better deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Finally found a decent bookshelf!

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little hesitant at first, but the bookshelf is absolutely beautiful! It's pretty sturdy and holds up wonderfully. It was kind of hard to build just by myself, but with a little help it went by fast! I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a cute bookshelf.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Great looking shelves

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a room 11x12 and wanted to make it a guest/game room, these shelves worked out great. We bought two of them along with the carson tv stand and it matched perfectly. We also bought the convertible sofa from Walmart. I just got done purchasing the Carson Fordge Dining set and now my house is finally complete. Thanks Walmart for having quality furniture and a reasonable price!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Exceeded my expectations.

12/29/2012
By ,
Olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying shelves from Walmart due to quality concerns, however, these shelves were the exact size, color, and price I needed. The instructions were clear and easy to follow taking about 30 min to put together. I was so impressed by how sturdy and nice it was, I bought two more! The color is a very dark espresso, it looks almost black with a brown tone. I especially like the top connecting piece for structural support. I removed the very top shelf to fit a small TV on the second shelf, the connecting piece kept the bookcase strong. I highly recommend this ladder bookcase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next