Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Generic Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

More space for books is always a good idea. Whether you read novels, sci fi, political thrillers or you need more room for the kids books, this The Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase offers a space-saving tiered design that goes well in almost any decor style, from contemporary to traditional which makes it ideal in the bedroom, living room, home office or the kids room. The 5-shelf ladder bookcase leans against and secures to your wall with shallow shelves at the top and deeper shelves at the bottom. This Espresso-colored composite wood bookcase is ideal for storing books and collectibles no matter what room you keep it in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.693 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation76%134 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 112 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Assemble with care

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just What I Was Looking For

10/25/2013
By ,
Starkville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height
Posted 12/09/2013
Do you have the height of this bookshelf? Its not listed on the website. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Love my bookshelf

12/29/2013
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Hmmmmm!!!

05/26/2013
By ,
Dallas,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great for a great price!

06/21/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great and definitely not cheap

01/02/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly
Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground
Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it
so you don't scratch the shelves.
Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble
It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Just what I needed!

04/27/2014
By ,
Bronx New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these for living room organization. Perfect size and very stylish!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Looks great but a pain to put together.

04/06/2014
By ,
Evansville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Meets expectations

02/18/2014
By ,
Meriden, ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Exceptional for the price, easy assembly

01/19/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Total Waste of Money

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are considering purchasing this bookshelf, please do yourself a favor and save your money on something better. I purchased this bookshelf a week ago, and finally got around to putting it together today. The instructions are very poorly written, and some of the illustrations in the first couple of steps do not jive with the actual pieces that are supposed to go together. In the first step, you are supposed to connect four pieces of wood together, which make the sides of the bookshelf. The screws and nuts that are supposed to hold the pieces together did not tighten, no matter how much I tried. I put the rest of the bookshelf together anyway, and now I have a wobbly mess of a poorly made bookshelf that will not possibly support anything, let alone books. The shelves themselves are also wobbly, even though they are securely bolted on both ends of the sides of the bookshelf. Needless to say, this is the worst piece of furniture I have ever purchased, and this bookshelf will have to go straight into the dumpster tomorrow. Unfortunately, I no longer have the receipt and box, so I just lost around $52.00 for nothing. Take it from this reviewer: you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Worst instructions ever.

07/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm surprised to see so many positive reviews on this item! My boyfriend and I ordered two for our new apartment. After having such an easy and pleasant experience assembling many pieces of Ikea furniture, we found these assembly instructions to be a DISASTER. Typos everywhere, drawings that don't match the pieces, and instructions that were flat-out incorrect at times. Many of the screws didn't catch in their corresponding holes properly. Even though these were only $50 apiece, the quality was still shockingly low. If you only care about their finished appearance, I will say they look nice, but they don't feel durable at all. The pieces scratched very easily while we put them together. Bottom line, if you want to purchase these, definitely don't expect to have an easy time assembling them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Get what you pay for!

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an easy to assemble and decent shelving to showcase some of my accent decor and books. It does a great job really tying together my reading corner with the rest of my living room! I am happy with the color, but wish I would have held out for something a little taller (at no fault of the bookcase itself; my ceilings are a fairly high so it's difficult to find something to really fill up the wall). We did end up stripping a few of the screws while assembling since they were flimsy and the "wood" is as expected to be -- low quality and chips easily. It's exactly what I was expecting since I know it is <$50 whereas the rest of leaning ladder shelves on the market are $90-$300. I'm happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Good Bang for the Buck

01/20/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked up two of these using site-to-store a few weeks ago to go in my dining area (to hold pictures, trinkets and some house plants). Very easy to assemble and they're fairly true to color (In my experience, some "espresso" colors have been considerably lighter or darker than depicted). It does show some signs of being build it yourself furniture, where screw heads are visible (no sticker in packaging to cover them), seams where parts come together aren't very desirable, but as others have mentioned, it's a great deal for the price. If you choose to not mount it into your wall, and go with the "leaning" option for this bookcase I'd recommend picking up some rubber drawer stoppers for the top. Though the packaging does include some, they're thin and won't protect your walls very much; especially in a rental. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a good accent piece. I'd be hesitant using this as a full-functioning bookcase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Two pieces missing;TERRIBLE vendor for replacement

11/25/2013
By ,
Streetsboro, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in early October 2013. It is now late November, and it's still sitting in pieces on my living room floor. After opening the box, I quickly realized that two pieces were missing from the box. The following Monday, I called the vendor, EZ Home Funishings, to get two replacement parts. The representative stated that it would be 7-10 business days for the parts. After three weeks, the parts had still not arrived. I called the vendor back in which they stated that I had never called regarding the parts. The representative informed me that it would be 3 day shipping since all of the mistakes. It's been 8 days now with no sight of the parts being delivered. I cannot find EZ Home Funishings on the web or I would be writing this review on their website. Considering they are a vendor for Walmart, they should be MUCH better with handling customers. It's very frustrating as my living room has books all over the place because of their mistake. Walmart should reconsider this vendor as this has been a terrible experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

HIGH QUALITY!!

12/16/2012
By ,
Texas City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit that I was kind of worried to purchase the product after reading some of the reviews. I liked how it looked in the picture though, and I did need the product at a great value. I decided to risk it, and I love it!! It looks amazing in my living room. The quality is even greater than some products at Pottery Barn. It is the perfect shade of deep chocolate brown and super sturdy. It holds all of my photos and decorations with ease. Please try it. Walmart is amazing about returns if you decide it is not for you. I have been wanting a ladder shelf for five years now, and it was totally worth the wait. LOVE IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Exceeded my expectations.

12/29/2012
By ,
Olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying shelves from Walmart due to quality concerns, however, these shelves were the exact size, color, and price I needed. The instructions were clear and easy to follow taking about 30 min to put together. I was so impressed by how sturdy and nice it was, I bought two more! The color is a very dark espresso, it looks almost black with a brown tone. I especially like the top connecting piece for structural support. I removed the very top shelf to fit a small TV on the second shelf, the connecting piece kept the bookcase strong. I highly recommend this ladder bookcase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso
07/31/2012
By ,
Colonial Heights, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other reviews did not seem very appealing, but I still went ahead and bought one. Have not regretted buying it. It was easy to install and the nifty part about it is it did not take up so much space and yet functional. Very good for small living places. Big bang for your bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

Still in pieces in the corner of the room

05/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to love this bookcase. We're in the process of changing everything in the living room over to the espresso color on a budget and this just looked neat.
Unfortunately, when I finally got around to unpacking the product, we were missing the big bottom shelf, and several of the other shelves had nicks. The instruction booklet had contact info for the manufacturer, and since we had a hard time finding this in stock, I emailed the company for a replacement. They have business hours which match up perfectly with my own, so calling wasn't really an option. So yes, I sent my email over a weekend, figuring I should have some type of a response within two business days to let me know how I could get my missing piece. I waited a week with not even an auto-reply that my message had been received. I forwarded the initial message again with an added requested for an update. This time I got a response "Please follow up with Clay". No email or phone number for Clay. No, we apologize for a delay in response. Unless the missing part shows up on my doorstep in the next day or say, I am sad to say that this bookshelf will be returned. It is a shame.
IF you do decide to purchase this, please check the contents ASAP and if something is missing, just return the item to the store. Obviously, the manufacturer isn't equipped to handle customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Leaning Ladder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Espresso

GOOD BOOKCASE FOR THE PRICE

12/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bookcase came well packaged. All the parts were marked and it was basically easy to put together. Except when it came to putting in the last shelf (8). That is the area where the top and bottom portions of the shelves come together. Make sure you have these laying down on the floor when you are performing this step. If you have it standing up, it can start to sway and (for me) it pulled a screw (and some wood!) out before I could get both sides done. Thank goodness I did not inflict any major damage. I do think that there could be more support in that area and I am going to drill two holes (one on each side) where an additional screw can be added for greater support. As far as the anchoring it to the wall directions, I decided to bypass that altogether. It did not appear that it would hold very well. Instead, I used a thin drill bit and drilled a hole in the middle of the third shelf. Then I drilled in a screw. You can barely notice it is there (I used a black screw) and the bookcase is now firmly anchored to my wall. Once up and dusted of all dust and residue particles from the box, it looks really nice and will provide a lot of additional storage space for a small guestroom. The shelves are very sturdy and will hold a lot more than just books.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next