Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Dyson Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Designed for pet owners, the Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum is engineered to capture more dirt than any other. Featuring Dyson's Radial Root Cyclone technology, reconfigured air channels reduce turbulence to extract more dirt, allergens and pet hair. Suitable for all floor types, this vacuum's Triggerhead tool is the only turbine head controlled at the handle, so you don't have to bend down to make adjustments. A fingertip control switches the brush bar off for delicate rugs and hard floors and switches it on for high pick-up on carpets. The included mini turbine head tool removes pet hair and dirt from tight spaces such as upholstery, stairs and the car. With Dyson Ball technology, this model turns on a dime to give you greater control and easily flows around obstacles. The clear bin allows you to see when it's full and can be emptied at the push of a button, minimizing contact with dirt and allergens.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(388 Reviews) 365
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
301
4 stars
58
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%363 out of 388reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
301
4 stars
58
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Sucks Great!

12/21/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using this light-weight vacuum takes a little getting used to but it sucks so great and you will be so amazed with the amount of suction power that you really don't notice the design change from traditional vacuums.
I have two cats and have tried almost every hair-removing device on the market. This vacuum really gets the hair out of the carpet and other household fabrics. Should have purchased this years ago.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

so far so good

09/11/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had the chance to use this a few times but I have been amazed with how much "stuff" it gets! I'm especially impressed by the tools. I have had an Oreck, that I really liked that I stupidly traded with my parents for their Hoover Windtunnel. What I loved about the Oreck was the lightness and the handheld canister. What I liked about the Windtunnel was the ability to suck it all up, but the tools were terrible! So far the Animal has been great! I can use it to get the ceilings, the baseboards and of course the floor! We do have a thick carpet in the basement and I can't say that I'm in love with the Animal's abilities with that but with rest of it, so far so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

How did I ever live without it?

08/05/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always owned a bulky upright, and now I have this incredible Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum that is the best cleaning product that I have ever bought in the fight against dust and pet hair. And now I wonder how did I ever live without it. The extensions that come with this product are better than any that I have ever used on another vacuum cleaner and they are specialized for specific tasks of vacuuming dust and animal hair and dander. I love the canister that opens up with a press of a button, and with the no loss suction, nothing gets away from this beautiful machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

This is the Apple of vaccum cleaners

05/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived quickly, got it out of the box and quickly sucked up plenty of dog hair. No bag changing and easy to empty. Relatively quiet. Does not leave the dirty bag smell other vacs have. This is the Apple of vacumm cleaners.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

excellent machine

12/09/2012
By ,
central florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have always used canister style vacuum cleaners, and have had a few over the years. When we recently deceided it was time for a new one, we shopped around and looked at everything available. Since we have dogs the DC39AN really interested us. When it arrived we vacuumed the house first with our old Kenmore, then again with the Dyson. WOW!!! This is a superb machine. It's much quieter than the old vac. And suction like you would not believe. I was amazed at how much dirt, dog hair and everything else this vac picked up after just going over the carpets with our old model. It's light weight and manuverable, and easy to clean (no bag). The price of vacuum cleaner bags adds up after a few years. I was not at all disappointed with this purchase and would by another in a heartbeat
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Well worth the money, you wont regret it!!!

04/18/2013
By ,
sth tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Dyson 39AN. After many years of struggling,sweating and wasting
so much time trying to vacuum my house, I finally purchased the Dyson. This machine
is not only incredible, its effortless. The vacuum actually vacuums horizontal.
Therefore it fits and cleans under the beds, bedside table and most importantly under the lounge.
No more having to move furniture around....I'm totally in love with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN
02/12/2013
By ,
Big Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job, much easier on my back than my previous canister vacuum. It is so easy to get into small spaces, as the attachments move in all directions. Great for picking up my cat's hair off furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Still on the bubble

05/17/2013
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had tried my SIL's upright, but being a canister fan, wasn't impressed at all. I'm still not sure about this vacuum. Since I have mostly hardwood floors, I've recently ordered the floor tool. One would think at this price and current decorating trends, that attachment would be included.
The suction adjustment for thicker rugs is not at all friendly to use. I was able to get it to lock into place once (an accident?) but not since and the instructions lack detail. I'm also having trouble adjusting to it's light weight, seems toy-like and not sturdy.
On a positive note, I have 2 cats, 1 with medium length fur. The furniture/step attachment is great; much easier and more efficient than my beloved Kenmore. At this point, this is the only reason I would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Gets the job done

12/10/2012
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum for my wooded floors, stairs and baseboards. We do not have any pets, but after reading the reviews on the other vacuums I decided to go with the Animal. I already have the Dyson Animal Upright (we had a dog 4 years ago) and it does a great job on the carpets. The attachments on this vacuum are very easy to change, the suction is great, it moves around very easily, is not heavy and it is easy to change the floor to capret setting. The down side is that the power cord and the hose are a little short. The bottom line is that I am very happy with this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

so far so good

02/14/2013
By ,
littleton, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this for a few weeks, but so far it is working great. I have a really thick cut berber carper (the "shag" type). Vacuum was so light when I took it out of the box that I thought "no way is this going to work". What a nice surprise to find that even though it was light and easy to maneuver it was a powerhouse on the carpet. I could not believe how much dirt it collected the first time I used it. Obviously my old vacuum was not doing the job. I hope it lasts, as this thick carpet of mine has a way with burning up vacuum motors, but as I said, so far so good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Almost unbelievable

05/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally bought a Dyson after having gone through two others (Bissell and LG) over the last few years. This vacuum is almost unbelievable. The suction is very powerful -- the first thing we vacuumed was an area rug in our living room and after using the Dyson, the rug hadn't looked that clean since it was new. The canister is light and very maneuverable and controls for the very maneuverable floor unit are at the top (on/off and suction release).
We should have bought a Dyson two vacuums ago.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Great for homes with pets.

03/17/2013
By ,
Federal Way, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 big dogs and a cat so there is a lot of shedding going on at my house. I was shocked at all the stuff it picked up. My old vacuum was obviously not doing the job. It would be nice to have a power switch on the handle but that's no big deal. It doesn't use bags so you do have to empty it frequently but it is easy to do. Expensive but you definitely get your money's worth.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Great Vacuum cleaner

02/19/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be prepared to be amazed at how much dirt and dust this little vacuum picks up. I replaced an upright with a hepa filter that really cleaned well. I needed a canister because it was getting hard to push my old vacuum. This little workhorse is amazing and easy to care for. Its also easy to attach and detach the main canister and accessories. Love it and won't be missing my upright.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN
10/30/2012
By ,
West Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned the Dyson and ended up going back to Sears for another Kenmore. I have heard very few negative comments about the Dyson, but I think the differnece is I bought the canister. Everyone that I know that has an upright loves it. I suppose if I wanted an upright, I would go with a Dyson, however, I prefer the canister. I would recommend the upright, not the canister.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Another awesome Dyson!

01/23/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Dyson upright years ago that was the best vacuum I've ever owned... Until this one. The DC39 Animal is every bit as wonderful and my original Dyson upright. The DC39 has incredible suction and is well engineered. The hoses and accessories are made of quality materials, and look like they will last a very long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

A Good Replacement

12/04/2012
By ,
Monroe, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old Electrolux died the day after my dog died. I ordered a Dyson to be delivered in two days, so when it arrived we really needed to use it. I thought that my dog was being cloned in the cannister! The machine is easy to use and very powerful which we need as we have another dog plus a cat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

excellent

09/17/2012
By ,
hilton ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my fantom canister vac wore out after 18 years so I liked the looks of the dyson and got the canister ,its great ,light weight with much more power than my fantom that i loved ,hope it lasts as long .....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN

Awesome machine

10/08/2012
By ,
sarnia, On
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as good as everyone describes a Dyson would work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum, DC39AN
Based on the average of (370) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5