Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Turn on the Samsung 51" plasma TV, PN51E490 and step up to an incredible cinema experience, complete with two pairs of Samsung 3D Active Glasses. The Real Black Panel delivers sharp, crisp detail with deep black levels on a 51" screen. A slim bezel and slim depth design show off the sleek, modern look of this Samsung 51" television. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 3D Samsung 51" plasma TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%9 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Nice 3d tv for the price.

11/09/2012
By ,
Flippin, Ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I see wrong with this tv is that it doesnt have enough audio-video hookups. Had to buy a separate splitter to be able to hook up my satelite, xbox, and a dvd player. It has a great picture and sound, and the price was reasonable for a hd 3d television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Great TV for the money

08/06/2012
By ,
Apple Valley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV as a second TV in my home mainly for the kids. I thought a 3D TV would be a nice perk especially for the price. Even though this is only a 720p TV, the picture looks really good especially with Blu-Ray. I really liked the fact that it came with 3D glasses in the box. Additional glasses were only $20 so I can buy a couple more without breaking the bank and the family can enjoy a few 3D movies and shows! For the money this is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Poor Design

08/26/2012
By ,
Grand Prairie, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV December 2011, and It stopped working 5 months later so I called Samsung and they send an engineer, who told me there was a slight crack on the screen he called it a physical damage and claimed it was going to cost me over 750 dollars to fix which was even more than I paid for it.
Long story short most Plasma TVs have an outer protection screen to protect the inner plasma screen from physical damage, this one has none. Any crack or damage to the screen will render this TV un-usable, it won't even come on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Not what I expected.

07/20/2012
By ,
Boise, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I will be returning this TV today. Grainy, poor speaker quality, minimal options to fine tune picture. 3D is fair, remote is horrible. Looks nice though, that's about it.
Stay away! I will be purchasing the Panasonic TC-P50UT50!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

GOING TO RETURN IT

08/04/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Remote did not work straight out the box, am pretty sure its something wrong with the t.v because my other Samsung tv worked with the samsung blu ray remote. Now the HDMI ports stopped working.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Review 6 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490
02/19/2013
By ,
Monroe, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this TV. Especially the 600hz. One of the main reasons I wanted a Plasma and I think the Plasma has the best picture. This TV is even clear up front and for any angle. I did recomend it to a friend and now he too has one he is very pleased with. Bill
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Good value but not great product

08/02/2012
By ,
marietta
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Item had to be returned to store, it was INOP upon arrival. Replacement was OK but quality is indicative of price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490
01/06/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacement TV for kids, sound quality poor, remote is to small.
Lots of features.
Good to fair value B+
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

Great TV

03/03/2013
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely love our tv. Great quality and well worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

08/23/2012
By ,
BRADFORD, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV IS WONDERFUL. REPLACED A PROJECTION TV. FAMILY MEMBER WAS SO IMPRESSED THAT HE PURCHASED ONE. HE HAD A PERFECTLY FINE PANASONIC FLAT SCREEN. WALMART EMPLOYEES WERE GREAT. ORDERED ON LINE AND CAME IN TIME EXPECTED
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz 3D HDTV, PN51E490
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5