Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

This Samsung 51" plasma TV features improved black levels for high picture quality at a reasonable price. 600Hz Subfield Motion performance provides an increased refresh rate for clear, crisp motion and improved black levels. You'll also like the slim cabinet of this attractive Samsung 51" television. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Samsung 51" plasma TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(265 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
55
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation94%241 out of 256reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
55
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

So far so good

08/29/2012
By ,
Athens, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far its a great TV. It's a typical plasma TV with the bright and clear picture. The first one we bought did not even have a TV in the box. See the attached photos. It was a frame of landscaping timbers in somewhat of the dimensions of the TV. WalMart obviously was willing to get me what I actually paid for. My thought is that this box came to WalMart from Samsung with no TV. I think someone from Samsung took the TV and then send this thing along on the assembly line. That box was factory sealed when we opened it. That's the only reasonable way it could have happened. Like I said, WalMart made it right.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Deal turned out better than expected

08/05/2012
By ,
Westlake OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this TV all weekend. Picture quality is excellent as expected. I did a ton of research both on-line and in stores talking to store employees and even a cable company technician. The top TV brands are Samsung, Sony and Panasonic. The reviews from most all other brands of TV's in this price range is sound quality stinks. That has been the biggest surprise about this TV, the sound quality is respectable. I don't think I will have to buy a sound bar or new receiver. Which is what I was afraid I would have to do with the RCA or Westinghouse brands that are on this website.
Also, I bought this with Ship To Store and when I went to pick it up, it turns out the store was selling this TV for $22 less so they automatically issued a refund for that amount since I paid the listed price at time of check-out. Thanks for being honest Wal-Mart.
Set-up was super easy with HDMI but make sure you get a cable for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 3 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Amazing plasma for the price!

08/16/2012
By ,
Windham, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV as an upgrade from an older Samsung 40" 1080p LCD that is almost 4 years old. I know that a much more expensive LED has just as good of a picture quality as this TV with more built in features but for the price you really can't go wrong. I know its 720p but you need to sit 2 feet away from the screen to see any blurryness and from a normal distance of 4 feet or more you can't tell the difference from any 1080p TV. This TV also accepts any 1080p signal such as from blu rays and PS3's and let me just say blu rays look simply beutiful with a truly cinema type feel while watching movies. The sound is only avarage and I would recomend getting a soundbar that accepts digital audio #there is no connection for older type component audio out# but if you can't afford one the TV speakers are adequet. The featers are limited with only 2 HDMI ports and one digital audio out port so you may need to buy an adapter if you have more than two items going into the TV. In closing if you have a limited budget but want a large TV for playing blu ray movies your not going to do much better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 4 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Everything you could want in a TV

09/18/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently bought another TV from Walmart (Sanyo LCD 50 1080p) and it was the absolute worst! The sound went in and out and the refresh rate was unbelievable, if you wanted to watch football you could forgot watching it on that thing! I took it back the next day and got this Samsung Plasma and its golden!
I don't think there is another TV that could beat it, not even the Smart TV. Sound quality perfect and it has a beautiful picture even in my living room and yes, it is a well lit room but I cant tell that it makes a difference. I know some people say you cant have a Plasma if you have a room that is well lit but it absolutely makes no difference. You can actually put this TV in auto mode and it will put the TV in standard mode when its evening hours and then can go to dynamic mode in the daytime hours.
This is a special TV and with 100,000 hours (which is equivalent to about 25 years of life if you run it at least 5 hrs a day) guaranteed you cant beat that plus the 3 year warranty. Simply the best thing going today! If you are considering buying another brand you're wasting your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Love, love, LOVE this TV!

12/03/2012
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby wanted to upgrade from our Samsung 42" plasma TV (which has a great picture) to a 50" or bigger TV. We compared the pictures at the store and the plasma seemed to be one of the best. We looked all over the place and couldn't find anything under $800 (and that was for the cheaper brands). So we decided to wait until Black Friday and see what happens.
So glad we did. We ordered this TV online the week of Thanksgiving. It took about a week to get here. So nice not to have to battle the crowds and transport it home. And for under $500 it was a steal of a deal. The picture is fantastic. The sound is great. And because it's a Samsung I know we are getting one of the best rated brands for HDTVs. Also we registered it at Samsung.com and got an addition 3 mos. factory warranty. Their service is awesome. Our 42" had a couple of pixels burn out (we bought it as a floor model), and we called Samsung. They had someone out that week with a brand new screen! No questions asked.
We couldn't be happier, and I highly recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Great TV

06/16/2012
By ,
Pauma Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv because my current LCD went out and I did not have a lot of cash in reserve to buy a new one. The price was right so I thought I would give plasma a try and I am glad I did!! First of all the picture is awesome and its refresh rate is 600 hz which blows away any LCD and is a must for sports watchers. Second of all this tv IS compatible with 1080 for some reason even thought it is not advertised. I have DIrecTv for service and it always gives me the best available picture and on some channels 1080P comes in. Also on my PS3 when I play blu rays and video games it also shows that it is playing in 1080p so I am extremely happy with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+157points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
R.I.
1080P
Posted 04/12/2013
The tv accepts 1080P signals, but down converts them to 720P. The tv programs are in 720P and 1060i. Onc again the tv down convets these formats. But 720P onan tv , plasma or lcd is still very pleasent. Good luck on your tv . You made a great buy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450
07/08/2012
By ,
Rocky River, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV strictly for the price and size. My family loves it, the picture and sound are great. The unit itself is relatively light and we had it mounted over the fireplace in about 20 minutes... You cannot beat this deal at Walmart...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 8 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Best TV at any price

10/18/2012
By ,
Tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a TV can get pretty complicated, so some people just buy the most expensive one they can find (LED with 240hz refresh), but let me invite you to the little club of people that know whats up. Plasma picture quality is superior and no one does it better than Samsung.
I work in a FIOS retail store, we have 8 or 10 top of the line Sharp TV's in the store. People comment all day long about how good the picture looks on the TV's, some people even accuse Verizon of giving better picture quality in store than they do in customer's homes. These people own LCD or LED sets with 120hz or gasp 60hz.
Then there are the few customers that ask why the Sharps look so lousy, and I ask them..."What size plasma do you have?"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Superb value

07/22/2012
By ,
Albany, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: The picture looks astounding. The colors are bright, vibrant, and accurate. There is no blur (like you see with some comparably priced LCD TV's). The TV was easy to setup and the remote and menus are simple to navigate.
Cons: Only 2 HDMI inputs (which could be an issue for some, but can be overcome if you purchase an HDMI hub). The screen is glossy, so you might have glare issues if placed in a bright room. There is no analogue audio output, only SPDIF. Only 720p capable, but this is only a problem if you have Bluray, Xbox 360, or PS3 input sources as HD broadcasts are currently only 720p.
Overall: Very good value for the size and picture quality. If I had the extra money, I would have gone with the PN51E550 just so I would have the 1080p capability for the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Needs plug options in back

05/15/2012
By ,
Saginaw MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the TV because the one that we really wanted they were out of and live a ways away from the store. We liked the picture and sound but when we went to set up we only had enough ports in the back for the satellite connection. Did not have enough ports so I could not hook up the Wi or my DVD player. Otherwise it would be great for a rec room where it would be used for one thing and one thing only.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+104points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sauk rapids mn
Posted 07/08/2012
if you need more hdmi ports they make hdmi switches to convert three devices into one port you can get them on ebay
+7points
Customer Avatar
usa
Get an hdmi switch for $15
Posted 06/08/2012
All you need is an hdmi switch. You can get ones that automatically detect which line is receiving a signal so you don't even have to touch the thing. Just mount it to the back of your tv with double-sided tape and add 2-3 ports for next to nothing. You can get them cheap at www.meritline.com or ebay, etc.
+11points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

I love this TV!

06/18/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv is slim and sleek and was easy to set up. I love it.
My 1st tv was damaged by the delivery courier, who dropped it on it's side (per my neighbors).
Luckily, I was able to find another matching tv (at an even lower price) at a nearby WalMart store. I was too impatient to wait for a 2nd tv to be delivered to me, so I exchanged the tv in person. Even though it was a physically demanding return process, I won't let that influence my satisfaction with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 12 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Great value plasma TV

12/09/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this plasma TV as a Christmas gift for my husband. It is an upgrade from the 27" tube TV that we had for years, and definitely worth the investment. This TV does require you to upgrade your cable service to HD quality, connect to the box using an HDMI cord and adjust the settings on the cable box to 720i. We have Cablevision HD and the cable box is defaulted to 1080i, so the images were getting downsampled to 720 are looked very low quality. As soon as we adjusted the cable box to 720i, the images were crisp and clear. Setup was remarkably easy, and was plug & play. When you first turn the TV on, you are guided through a series of prompts to get everything set up. This TV has 2 HDMI connections, so if you plan on connecting several devices, you should consider investing in a good HDMI splitter. The sound quality on the built-in speakers is decent, but not "surround sound" or home theater quality. Overall, this TV is a great value for what you get and I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

TV is wonderful....great picture!

06/17/2012
By ,
Glendale, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this TV...I wanted a larger TV & this did not disappoint....I would recommend to anyone....just can't stay away from it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 14 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450
10/14/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best t.v. for the price! We got a sound bar and it was the best decision we could have made. Please get a sound bar to go with this amazing t.v. the sound quality is its ONLY flaw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Good buy for the price

08/08/2012
By ,
Princeton, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this TV on a BLACK FRIDAY event. I paid less than $500.00 for it. It is an excellent buy for the money. TV has great picture and sound. Easy to program and set up. Lightweight for a 51" TV. The only drawback is I wished I had spent a little more and gotten a 1080p instead of the 720p. It is a good buy though and I recommend it to someone who wants a larger TV but doesn't have the money to get the more expensive ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 16 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

SAMSUNG - BUYER BEWARE

11/19/2012
By ,
WEATHERFORD, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Be careful buying a Samsung product. I got burned by Samsung on a Plasma TV. Only 11 months old the TV started showing a red shadow over 1/4 of the screen. I contacted Samsung who told me to download patch/update on a USB memory stick and upload it into the TV. After several attempts, and several more phone calls, my TV was now 12 months and 1 day old. Guess what, it's out of warranty and they wouldn't do anything to repair or replace it at this point. I'll never own another Samsung Product as long as I live.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 17 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Worth the MONEY

08/20/2012
By ,
LITTLE ROCK, AR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS TV IN LATE jULY 2012. I HAVE LIVED WITH IT FOR ABOUT A MONTH. iT IS AN EXCELLENT TV FOR THE MONEY. tHE PICTURE IS SHARP AND CLEAR. tHE SOND QUALITY IS VERY GOOD. sETUP WAS FAST AND EASY. i HAVE BEEN VERY PLEASED WITH THE PROFORMANCE.
IF YOU WANT A BIG TV AT A REALLY GOOD PRICE THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

GREAT value, GREAT picture

07/14/2012
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As others have said, it should have a few more A/V inputs. The picture quality is very good and I don't have high-def. The sound is fine in my living room and I'm very happy with this purchase. I got the 2 yr. warranty for peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 19 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

GREAT PURCHASE

12/09/2012
By ,
Oceanside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV a week before all the Black Friday deals started. The price was great and free shipping was provided. The picture is great, sound is good, and overall I am very happy. Prior to this, I have a 40" LCD HDTV. I never would have realized a Plasma tv was this good. Clear picture and is excellent for gaming and blu rays.
Dislikes: only as 2 hdmi inputs. I wish it had 3 for my cable box, blu ray player, and xbox 360. But you can always buy a splitter or if you a PS3, you can combine your blu ray. Also, the glare. It's not too bad in our place because it's dark but I could see it being an issue if you're in a very bright room.
Likes: great picture, clear and very vivid. Great sound. The speakers are underneath the tv so it looks really nice. It's wall mountable. perfect plasma
I did a lot of research regarding the HZ. My previous tv was a 1080p 60 hz lcd. The picture on this samsung is 720p 600hz and looks much much better. It really depends what you plan on using the tv as..It's perfect for gaming & watching movies. It's not bad for regular use such as your cable as long as you have HD channels and use an HDMI cable. So far Sunday Football games have been awesome to watch.
I recommend purchasing the extended warranty. Even though I have had no issues, it's always nice to have a back up plan.
Overall, I am very happy with this purchase. Can't beat the price for a 51" name brand.
thanks for looking and good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Samsung 51" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, PN51E450

Great TV for the price!

08/25/2012
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this a few months ago. Can't say enough good things about it. Never had plasma before, but I must say, I like it better than LCD. Plan on purchasing another one for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next