Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Lay your eyes on the true beauty of full-HD clarity with the Sony 40" LCD TV. From football games to TV shows, everything will look its best. With four HD inputs, you can connect your cable box, PS3, Blu-ray disc player and more. There's also a USB port for enjoying your camera's photos on the Sony 40" television. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sony 40" LCD TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.449 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%70 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

AWESOME PICTURE & SOUND

12/20/2012
By ,
MODESTO, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS TV. WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE WHO WANTS SUPERIOR PICTURE & SOUND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

So far so good

09/11/2013
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a week since the TV arrived and was put in place, and so far the sound and picture quality have been great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Just about what I expected

04/10/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After some research and forcing myself to stay in budget I bought this set for my bedroom. 40 inch is a perfect size for a bedroom set at least for my room it is.
Pros- 1080P plus Sony know how =very good PQ, the sound while nothing to write home about is fine. Setup was a breeze the set found all my available OTA stations with no problem the rest was just plug and play. The weight is 29# my five year old 37 inch LCD is 46# so it's very easy to handle
Cons- Limited ports and having one HDMI in back and the other one on the side is a drag. The set has minimal features but I knew that going in the bezel is pretty thick so not that stylish but who cares. Remote is about as bare bones as it gets but once again for what I'm using it for who cares.
Bottom line this is a Sony entry level bare bones set and for what I paid for it I'm happy. I normally skip the extended warranty but after hearing one horror story after another about just out of factory warranty failures with LCD sets even brand name sets I thought I'd better get it.
PS Wal Marts 90 day return policy is also very nice Best is only 30 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Review 4 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Basic - Not Bad OR Boring!

12/19/2012
By ,
Accokeek, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV as a replacement for a failing 42" plasma (bedroom TV) - the TV is getting a steady diet of cable via ClearQAM for now. Just due to changes in display technology (the replaced plasma was purchased new in 2005), LED is decidedly better than plasma unless you are talking literally bottom-end (that is any of the major brands); this is entirely due to shared sources for most LED display panels and common technologies for the most part. In addition to the HD via cable, I also have a DVD/VCR combi-player connected via component (DVD section) - the TV is showing the limitations of the *player* (which is also of the 200x era), as it supports neither 1080p or HDMI. The TV has two HDMI inputs - the rear one will eventually be used for either an HD STB or Tivo Premiere, while the side input will get my desktop PC when it gets moved into the bedroom for Widescreen Windows. It's not fancy - but it's not supposed to be; as it is, it more than gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 5 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

THIS IS BEST T.V.

06/24/2012
By ,
High point, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE HAD THIS TV FOR 2 YEARS AND HAVE BEEN EXTRORDINARILY AMAZED AT THE PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND. AT FIRST, I BOUGHT A VIZIO TO SAVE MONEY--THAT WAS A MISTAKE--AND I RETURNED THE VIZIO. THE SOUND QUALITY IN VIZIO WAS TERRIBLE. SO TAKE MY ADVICE AND GO SONY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+54points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mandeville, LA
Vizio vs Sony
Posted 10/13/2012
I was told that Vizio is made by Sony.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450
05/14/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is magnificent. I LOVE the crisp picture. Set-up was automatic, simple, and includes features I'd not seen before. I'd always heard that Sonys are excellent televisions, but I wasn't sure about purchasing from WalMart. I'm so glad I came in and looked around. I have ZERO problems with this television and, frankly, I'm spending way too much time watching it! Need to get outside more! :) No hesitation-- I recommend this model-- and you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+50points
Review 7 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Worked for 12 hours

10/16/2013
By ,
Linden, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the product through Walmart.com and got it before I thought I would....GREAT!
I plugged it in and watched it for 12 hours of the course of 3 days. The next morning, I find that I have a pixel in the center of the screen that is red ALL THE TIME.
This was unacceptable to me, so I called SONY (I had already registered the machine) and described the problem. SONY informed me that this performance was acceptable and that they would not send me a new television. SONY says it's acceptable for a device to have more than one pixel fail on that screen and that I'd have to have nearly 10 pixels stop working before they'd consider the screen defective.
SONY used to have such good products!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Excellent picture for those looking for just that!

12/17/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I'm satisfied with this purchase. The picture is amazing as well as the sound and quality of this sony tv. Bought it for my wife 2 weeks ago and she loved it! I thought the price was just a bit high but I didnt feel like going thru the hassel of taking it back and finding another one. I would of been happier with spending $375-$400 but it is what it is and I like it! One down fall tho is that its a little bit thicker than what I wanted since I was going to hang it from the wall but nonetheless once it was up, it looked pretty good :) I'd give it a 8.2 out of 10!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Great TV

07/27/2012
By ,
Fall River Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my TV for a few weeks and so far I haven't had 1 problem. This is my first flat screen TV . I went from an 80's floor model to this SONY, so it's hard to compare. I just wish I went a little bigger. Oh yes the sound. I always have to adjust the sound for one reason or another, other than that, I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

sony bravia" best buy"

05/16/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if your looking for a reliable TV,great picture with good sound,this is the best comparable around.This is our second set .the first is in the bedroom,and this one in our family room.If you want decent sound ,play around with the settings,that what there for.to many people expect to just turn on the set and give no thought to setting the controls.Believe me I am not high tech,but I found the panel to be user friendly.The picture is so crisp,and we don't have Hd.I watched a blade of grass waving on the ground and started laughing ,it was just like the commercial.all in all this is a great tv.For the price the quality is excellent and Walmart makes that happen.Good Job Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450
01/07/2013
By ,
Baker City Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a Sony! What more is there to say? Had a little trouble figuring out the closed captioning because I was trying to do it with the TV remote and the Direct TV tech had programed it to operate only with DTV remote. If you're thinking about HD don't settle for second best. Get a Sony!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450
02/06/2013
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although my TV was destroyed when I received it (and I had to buy another one from a competetor) the tv itself is what you would expect from Sony. The (HD or digital) quality is good, but I hate that they put the speakers in the back instead of in the front like my other 42"in Sony bought 4 yrs ago. You have to turn the sound way up and it sounds muffled. Compared to other TVs (Vizio, Samsung, LG) the picture quality is much better and the price is awesome for what you're getting. I only buy Sony products as it seems they last forever. Despite cons, would recommend this product and the price is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+3points
Review 13 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Great tv

03/15/2013
By ,
Leesville la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality is great vary sharp and clear. The only bad thing I found so far is the sound from the speakers. They are on the bottom and u can hear it vary good had to hook it up to a home theater for good sound .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Bought a Sony Bravia KDL- 40S 2 years ago

06/28/2012
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV has just started giving trouble the picture goes into like a Negative black & white
I googled the problem and found a lot of people getting the same thing
First of all Sony warranty is out nothing we can do
Second cost of repair is more than a new TV now this thing cost over $1000 two years ago
I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SONY PRODUCT AGAIN
Recommend you stay well clear of these TV's Go buy a Panasonic or a Samsung
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450
06/22/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressive!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 16 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Pleasant surprise

02/26/2013
By ,
Niceville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my new SONY BRAVIA 42" TV ! I was pleasantly surprised to receive my order a week earlier than the projected delivery date.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

I bought this model 4 + years ago and I love it!!

04/29/2013
By ,
Baltimore MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony has great quality and it's worth paying for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450
02/11/2013
By ,
Houlton, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with timely and secure delivery service. Excellent picture, sound could be louder, but is correctible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Excellent Product

08/26/2012
By ,
Buena Park Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried other makes, and they didn't compare with Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 20 for Sony 40" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, KDL-40BX450

Would not recommend

08/10/2012
By ,
Joppa, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this TV for about 6 weeks. It has a constant humming sound. Very annoying. I can not enjoy watching TV with a constant high pitch hum.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next