Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Don't judge by its size, because the Philips 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer packs a lot of punch. Designed with modern technology for simplicity, the Philips Soundbar gives off a clear, rich sound for watching TV and movies. The virtual Surround Sound and separate subwoofer adds a more realistic movie experience and added thrill to your entertainment system. The Philips 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer works with TVs, BD/DVD players, gaming consoles and MP3 players and has a low-profile design to easily fit in a variety of locations. The DoubleBass technology gives a fuller and deeper bass. The Philips Soundbar is a great addition to any at-home entertainment system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.724 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation75%100 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Good sound for the money

08/19/2012
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because we couldn't hear the sound adequately on our 46" Samsung LED TV when playing DVDs. Once it was set up, it solved the problem, although the sound is not what you would expect from a more expensive home theater system (which we did not need).
The directions are terrible but they do show you where to plug in different connections. They don't really tell you how to get it to function properly. I had to experiment around until I found that you had to set the sound output to "external speaker" inside the TV set-up program (easy to do once you know what is needed) and then use the product handset to control the sound level. It has bass and treble controls as well but I was not impressed with them.
The optical connection was not provided with the unit. I also had to buy a 3.5mm audio jack to go from my Sony Walkman to the speaker in order to use that sound source, but the sound turned out to be quite satisfactory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Decent Sound for the price!

09/22/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased online @ WalMart.com for $20 cheaper than Amazon. Picked up @ local store couple hours later. No optical cable or any cables included. Bought an optical cable, brought home and hooked it up. I have an older 42" Sony Plasma that is a monitor only (no tuner, no speakers) hooked up to my Comcast HD box with a video RCA to BNC connector on the TV. I installed the optical cable to the Comcast box and nothing! I don't have PCM or any audio adjustments on my TV menu. All I got was fuzzy noises from the speakers. Grabbed a RCA audio cord, plugged that in and it works fine! Sound was a bit tinny, but after looking at my Comcast on screen menu there are audio adjustments. Change the setting from "TV Speakers" to "Stereo". For $98 it sounds great! Bass is tight and dialog and music are good as well. All in a small package. Can't go wrong with this purchase for a small viewing room. Don't know why the Optical didn't work, returning that today for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Outstanding!!!

04/23/2012
By ,
Lake Elsinore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest this soundbar suprised the heck out of me. Had my eyes on the LG for $300 but I was on the fence about the high price. The box this comes in is small and light weight. Didn' give me a feeling of confidence# The store was closing so I had to make a descision quick# Figured Walmart is so awsome with returns that I would just return it if it didnt fit my needs#
Sound Quality=Wow factor, didnt expect the quality of sound at all# I have several drum instructional videos that I played and the sound is FULL# Deep bass drum kick, crack of the snare drum, and high crashes of the cymbals# Vocals are nice and clear# 100x better than built in speakers on tv# Volume is plenty for my master room# With volume set to high it is too loud# So plenty of volume# Use it at about half to 2/3 volume# Lower when its late#
Appearance= Nice all black front# No shiny labels to draw your eyes from the tv# The lights are on top of the unit so you cant see them while you are watching tv# Seems like quality material#
Works with Universal Remote=This was my biggest conscern. I hate having 3-4 remotes to do everything. TV should be simple. My logitech harmony 600 was able to get the codes for this from the logitech site so I have full control over the soundbar with one remote. 1 button turns on tv, soundbar and tv box. Thank you logitech!
I have a 5.1 full suround system in my living room and didn't want the trouble or complexity of that in my room. So this fit the bill perfect. I highly recomend this product if you are looking for something to improve the sound of your TV's built in speakers. You wont be dissapointed! P.S. Like the other review said, it is cheaper in the store than online. Got mine for $98.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Review 4 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Great product, and value for the price....

04/12/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy in store, it's cheaper.... I paid $99.00!
I purchased the Philips sound bar system today, have tried a few different movies, and I have to say that i am really impressed! I bought this unit to replace my Vizio sound bar, and I think this unit sounds as good or better. The sound bar is about 28" in length and the subwoofer is small as well. the surround sound mode really pulls out different noises, but didn't give me a surround sound feel. Still, the sound is clear, dialogue is crisp and the remote control is easy to use. I highly recommend this unit, especially if you have a small apartment, dorm, or game room.
pros
-size
-price
-clear audio
cons
-really small remote
-doesn't support dolby digital encoding
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 5 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Excellent for Hard of Hearing Folks

04/27/2012
By ,
NE TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wears two hearing aids. The music that frequently plays in the background of
movies or TV shows completely shut down the dialogue for him. Also, even with the hearing aids on both of our LCD TV's, he keeps the volume above my preference. Installed the soundbar on the
bedroom Samsung a week ago and BINGO, problem solved! Headed out to buy the 2nd one for
the living room LG today. For myself, the change in the quality of sound is tremendous! I'm not a techie and installation took 15 minutes or less. We are on Direct TV and I haven't yet taken time
to figure out how to program the soundbar onto their remote. Volume is controlled by the Phillips remote presently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 6 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Good Sound for this Price Point

05/24/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this system connected to a 50" television in my greatroom. It really works well, and for a electronics beginner, this system is great at this price point. I dont expect to get $1000 quality sound for $100. It did however loose 1 star for the instruction insert. For all others who are considering this system, please refer to your tv's manual for connecting audio devices before you use the manual that comes with this system. It was basically not worth the paper wasted to print it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 7 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Good deal....

04/26/2012
By ,
Fort Walton Beach,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hour ago I brought it from Walmart. Yesterday I bought VISION High Definition SoundBar, VSB200, but I missed the subwoofer. Today I changed it. For the same price. Excellent for this price. I have made a good exchange. Heights and bass are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 8 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

great sound bar for the price

09/08/2012
By ,
bridgeport, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this surround bar today and I love it the sound is great just what I needed without spending alot of money i love it i would def recommend to others! don't be fooled that because of the price or the size its not good wrong its a great product and sounds really good im very happy wih product !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer
08/08/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Here are my observations regarding the Philips soundbar. I connected the sound bar to my Samsung TV and the sound quality was great when playing a Blue-Ray movie but the quality of sound of satellite TV programs was way below average. When connected to my I-Pod the sound quality was also inferior. However when I played the same songs via my lap top computer, the quality was much improved. Within two months of very limited use though the sound bar gave up. The lights were lit but it just quit producing any sort of sound. I talked to Philips customer service on the phone and after a few “live tests” she agreed to ship me a new bar at no charge. We will see how long the new one lasts. It’s not a bad deal for the given price but durability is a huge question!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Awesome Sound! Buttons would be nice though.

07/12/2012
By ,
Port st lucie Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this 2 days ago for my Visio 42 inch w/ the internet. At first I was concerned about that quality because of the low price and light weight of the unit. I'm a Bass head and love to feel the music. This product does a great job of providing clear sound with a nice about of bass to really feel the music. For $100 I am very satisfied with this soundbar. It was a great buy. The unit itself does not have any buttons with is the only downfall I see. The remote is very simple and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Amazing Sound

12/07/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this soundbar just to test it because I have Samsung Blue Ray Home theater and I didn’t expect it to have a better sound but I was wrong. The sound is much better than the Samsung thanks to the bass and treble buttons on the remote control and also the surround sound function, the bass is very deep. It has Optical input, AUX input and Digital coaxial input, the optical input did not work with my HD Cable box because the sound from it is 5.1 and the soudnbar is 2.1, but it worked fine with the AUX input . The biggest surprise came when I connected it to my computer which has optical output, I adjusted the software equalizer on the PC and the bass and treble from the remote and the sound was amazing, way much better than the sound from the cable box and this is with a Realtek Onboard sound card on the PC. Now I have the soundbar connected with an AUX cable to my second sound card on the PC which is Sound Blaster X-Fi Xterme Gamer and the sound is even better. The only problem with this soundbar is that it doesn’t have hardware buttons so it can only be controlled via the remote, there is not even a power button that you can push to turn it on, that’s why I gave it 4 stars. And the price is very good $88 in the store, I bought it on sale so I paid even less :) I use it on my computer now, but it is good with TV too. Doesn’t have HDMI but that’s no problem for me. There are better soundbars but not at this price, anything better starts at $250 and up. Buy it, try it and if you like it keep it, I did :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

A great little unit!

10/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is fantastic value for the money. Better than the new 32" Vizio that does not have digital inputs anymore or simulated surround. Also the Vizio now has two full range drivers per channel, where the Philips has a dedicated tweeter and driver. Vizio really went backwards with their new 32" VSB211 or 207 models. The simulated surround actually works well and does not wash out the center image like most. There is another version that includes a Dolby Digital decoder if you need it. Two typos in the brochure, the subwoofer is not 6.5" (it's 5 1/4") and there is no night mode (only the Dolby version has it). Lights are on top of the soundbar so no annoying LEDs from the front view when installed. My Logitech remote had no trouble being programmed for the remote (it's under Amplifier when programming). Bass when set properly is not boomy and ads to the presentation. No soundbar gives you a true subwoofer, they are just woofer boxes that help fill in the low end. The cable for the subwoofer in my dedicated home theater costs more than this entire unit. For less money than the competition you get a better sounding unit, more features, and solid build quality. Not to mention the Philips brand has much higher reliability/quality control than any Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Works For Me!

08/11/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't think the soundbar itself was going to be that small but it sure meets my expectations. The volume and bass are really good. I live in a small apartment and this Soundbar works perfect for my 32 inch tv in my apartment (I don't think it'd work as great in a big living room with a lot of space to fill#.
I watch everything from my PS3, so I connected the sounbar directly to my gaming console with an optical cable and the sound is terrific. I don't think this soundbar is compatible with digital surround sound #had to switch my sound output to PCM# like the description says but I love the surround effect the Virtual Surround Sound feature gives to movies and games #thanks to the 2 speakers and 2 tweeters built into the soundbar). I am very content.
This is perfect for a small budget and a small living room. You can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

So Far So Good

06/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sub woofer actually vibrates - even when there isn't audio that benefits from a deep base sound.
However, if it doesn't vibrate itself into oblivion - it seems like it's well worth the price - they reduced it by $20.00.
The Optical Audio connector is a real plus. If you have a TV that does not have a Dolby Decoder - this enhances the PCM very nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 15 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Good and bad soundbar

01/05/2013
By ,
SW Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The soundbar is a good value and is great for DVD/Home Theater type of applications. However, it does not accept Dolby directly from the TV. You must change your settings on the TV audio menu to "standard" or "PCM" if your TV has the capability. It is smaller than most soundbar's (36") but it was what I needed to put into my TV bookcase.
It has three audio inputs; Digital audio coax, optical audio and standard analog RCA. The sub woofer has a Phillips specific connection to the bar.
The unit comes with a small remote, and indicator LED lights are on the top of the bar. It is difficult to see these if your bar is mounted high.
Set up is easy, and the only drawback on positioning is the sub woofer cable. As it does not have a standard connection the length of the cable can not be changed, so if you want to position the sub woofer further away than the cables length you can not do so.
Sound is quite good on DVD/Blu-ray, rich sounds and it fills the room. It is not SURROUND SOUND but does a good job of separation.
All in all a good quality inexpensive system with a few drawbacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Sounds good.

08/28/2012
By ,
Lindenhurst, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set up, looks and sounds great, but there are no buttons on the speaker so the only way you can adjust the volume is with the worlds smallest remote control which is easily lost. Actually, I think I will tape it to the back of my TV remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer
10/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only bad part is 1 more controller. If we can figure out how to connect it to the universal remote, I'll change it to 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Good product at great price

11/23/2012
By ,
West Hills, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As other reviews have stated, the lack of an on-screen or on-product level meter is a little odd at first but you get used to it quickly. Works very well for me with strong, double-sided tape underneath a wall-mounted TV. Make sure you get the correct connection cables so you don't have to run out again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

If you like deep bass

07/31/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the product for you. Makes the TV sound like a movie theater. Great price, not bulky. Great sound. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Philips CSS2123/F7 2.1 Soundbar with Subwoofer

Over-rated

12/05/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First of all - to justify the two stars I gave this product - this soundbar & sub combo puts out a pretty good level of volume. It should fill most rooms with all the volume you would need. However, beyond that I cannot recommend this soundbar package even at the relatively low price. The mid-range is not all that great and there's virtually NO stereo separation or depth to the sound like you would have with a 5.1 system. If you're not someone who's critical of their audio, or just want this for louder, bassier sound for a bedroom system, it's probably fine - it just wasn't what I thought it would be after reading the positive reviews so I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next