Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olympus Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Olympus Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

The Olympus WS-801 voice recorder features two internal directional condenser microphones engineered to capture sound at a wide range of decibel levels. This digital voice recorder also features newly developed high-sensitivity, low-noise directional microphones by Olympus that achieve high-quality sound recording. This silver Olympus recorder has a direct USB connection calendar search functions. It has 2GB of internal memory and is micro SD compatible, making this the ultimate recording device. This high-quality digital voice recorder gives you professional sounding recordings with minimal background noise, which is ideal whether you use it to capture musical recordings or to just record ideas for your next business meeting. With over 500 hours of available recording time in either MP3 or WMA format and a large LCD display, this silver Olympus recorder delivers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Awesome Value

09/20/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olympus has a real winner here.
It uses only 1 AAA battery, has a built-in, pop-out USB connector for your computer (no cables), micro-SD slot (I plugged in an 8-gig SD stick to expand the total memory to 10 gigabytes), saves recordings to mp3 files, has a calendar format that lets you search files by any specific date, 3 microphone sensitivity settings, and a comprehensive menu system.
With the recording sensitivity set to “high”, I could record background voices many feet away. The device lets you switch back and forth between the micro-SD memory and the factory-set memory for managing how and where you want to save files. Maybe the best feature, it records in Stereo and plays music back in Stereo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+50points
Review 2 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Fabulous quality for such an inexpensive price

01/08/2013
By ,
Orrington, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using to record samples and general ambiance. I was surprised that the quality was so good, very clear and sensitive. Bought a 32 GB micro SD card (seen below) and have more space than I know what to do with!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+14points
Review 3 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver
11/24/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device is less confusing & easier to use than my previous Olympus digital recorder, plus it has much more memory, & more faithful recording of all sounds in the recording environment. I plan to do an oral history of my family's history via my mother's recollections.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Review 4 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Made for the technologically challenged among us

02/08/2013
By ,
Fly Over Country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed. I figured out how to work it without even reading the directions. I am *technologically challenged*. LOL!
With the extra GB's on the additional sound card, I have more than ample recording power, and this is lightweight, and easy to carry.
Great product for the money, and just so easy to use. I highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 5 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Excellent audio recordings

07/15/2012
By ,
Shreveort, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent audio recordings, very easy to operate, viewable screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 6 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Everything I expected

02/14/2013
By ,
New York State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theirs a whole lot of things his recorder can do and it's so clear, takes out background noice nice !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Records everything!

06/05/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so wonderful! I attended a very important assembly and convention and I didn't miss a beat with this recorder. I'm telling you, it picks up everything and its very clear and easy to use. It has great features; it records for hours; does good on battery life. Already telling my friends to invest in such a product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Derry, NH
KH
Posted 12/13/2013
Does it work well in the KH?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Fantastic recording device

04/16/2013
By ,
Northeast GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several digital recorders in the past and many were Olympus models. This one comes with more features than the others and it has a very good audio play back sound. I am very impressed with the quality of the sound for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver

Misrepresented on Walmart's website.

02/14/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good quality recorder. Bad quality description. Website advertises rechargeable battery. This model does not have one. Also advertises earbuds. Does not have those either. Again, it's a great recorder but it was a let down not to get what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Olympus WS-801 Voice Recorder, Silver
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5