Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

With the LG 42" 1080p HDTV, everything looks crisper, more vibrant and more colorful. You'll see details and colors like never before on the LG 42" LCD TV. TruMotion 120Hz technology lets you see sports, video games and high-speed action with virtually no motion blur. Get easy self-calibration for the full-HD LG 42" LCD TV with on-screen reference points for key picture quality elements, such as black level, color, tint, sharpness and backlight levels. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 42" LCD TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%114 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

LG 42" LCD

10/29/2012
By ,
Salem, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this TV on Decide.com with comparable ratings. It was rated very highly and has 1080p with 120 mghertz refresh rate which is twice as high as most of the others. Can't believe the picture or sound quailty! Easy to set up. WalMart had the best prices by far when compared on the Decide site. Ordered online and WalMart did a GREAT job of getting it to us even before the due date. Easy to pick up, just walk in and show driver's license. One of the better experiences we have had with online ordering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 2 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

NICE TV

09/05/2012
By ,
GREENWOOD, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AT FIRST WE WERE WITH OUT CABLE. THE PICTURE WAS EXCELLENT. WITH CABLE IT WAS OUTSTANDING .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
10/07/2012
By ,
Brevard NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better than I expected!! I love everything about it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
11/29/2012
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have researched televisions for over a year for the best brand, features and price. LG and this particular model were rated very highly (4.5 to 5.0) by the individuals who responded to reviews on Wal-Mart, LG and various other websites. This is a new model, introduced in April 2012. For me, all of these considerations were major determining factor in making this purchase. My 19 inch Magnavox, that is approximately 20 years old, has been giving me some problems and the cost to fix it is probably about the cost of a new tv, provided parts are available. I purchased this t.v. for my husband and myself for Christmas, we just received it a little early for those end of the season football games and up coming bowl games that are just around the corner. The 42 inch screen is a welcomed addition that opens us up to a brand new world. I can now read the display of the program guide from across the room. This television was very easy to set-up (I did it myself in about 15 minutes) and the tech support at LG was very helpful in answering my questions and offering suggestions on how to get the most out of my televisions features. There are so many options on this t.v., that I am still trying to fine tune it to perfection. I would recommend this television to friends and family. The only real concern that I have is that since my husband is hard of hearing, I may have to invest in a sound bar to amplify the sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

I have 4 other LCD TV's and this one is the best.

10/30/2012
By ,
Austin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My older LG's are good, but this one happens to be superior! It is like you are there-really a different picture altogether than what I was use yo. Love it and have no trouble recommending this LG TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
11/04/2012
By ,
west columbia,sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's all we hoped this TV to be...Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
09/30/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound quality OK, not great, but the picture makes up for that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Overall good TV for the price

11/18/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased LG recently and the only cons I have is the sound is weak.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Good TV for an extra room

11/23/2012
By ,
So Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the picture, nice and clear! Only problem it needs to be brighter, picture is too dark and no controls to change it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Has all the features needed and easy to use

04/16/2013
By ,
Nashua, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to set up/adjust settings for picture quality needed in a particular room placement. Don't forget to check and adjust brightness as that, a couple of settings are at maximum (100%) and should be reduced considering your typical room lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Best tv anyone could ask for for the price.

04/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LG is a brand that I trust completely. This is our second flat screen from them and they're simply remarkable. The first one was purchased in late 2006/early 2007 at a premium price (around $1500# and it's still working like a charm. The picture quality is superb, the sound is crisp, and the color saturation is spot it. It EASILY rivals, and often beats, the newer tvs even though it's only 720P.
That being said, we gladly jumped on the sale that our local WalMart was having to clearance this LCD tv for $398! It's a lovely 1080p with a 120Hz refresh rate. I'll tell you what, a blueray movie on this screen #we first watched Avatar, again# is beyond expectations. We sat with our mouths agape nearly the entire time. It's well worth any price you'd pay, but surely worth the sale price!
We've seen LED tv's, and haven't been too fond of the how clearly you can tell the difference between a REAL background or when someone is just standing in front of a green screen. These effects were more easily masked in earlier television development for sheer lack of crisp picture. I find this nearly "perfect" picture to be distracting from the programming. Also LED tvs are either lit from the side or have local dimming backlights, whereas the LCD is just backlit, so the difference between whites #crisper on LED# and blacks #crisper on LCD) is something to take into consideration.
Other reviews said they had issues with this tv being quiet. We had it at level 32, which isn't even 1/3 of the maximum volume and were blown away! Maybe it had to do with positioning of the tv and acoustics of the room, but ours was fabulous!
Overall, it's a great tv, still extremely relevant for the times, and you can't be the price, hands down.
Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

good pic, so far, so good

12/01/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tv is easy to hook up, the pic quality is good, and the sound is decent, I think I like my Samsung 550 better for the same money, but, my folks are happy with this one and that's all that matters.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

huge beautiful tv

01/13/2013
By ,
san diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received it ahead of estimated time
as always from walmart a good price for a great value
the thing is huge and a perfect addition for my man's "toy"collection
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Good sound and picture without tech extras

11/16/2012
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased TV for bedroom, I own four other LG TV/Video Products. They have all perform as advertised over the last three years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

Great TV for a Great Price!

12/09/2012
By ,
Central Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Great Picture and sound. More than meets my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
12/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV looks awesome in my bedroom. Picture Quality Perfect!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570

The last of the true LCDs...

03/01/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Size (Great for a bedroom tv)
Price (got it for $499)
Rarity (last of the true LCDs... a dying breed)
Colors (surprisingly accurate!)
Blacks (FINALLY, a tv with real blacks & not bluish blacks)
Sound (surprisingly good sound with Clear Voice II!)
Cons:
Seems to have a little light bleed-through after you've run the tv for a couple of days... This washes the color out a bit, which makes you want to crank up the color saturation. Thank goodness for the color saturation option in the picture settings.
Other Comments:
This tv seems to be a little bit grainy on darker scenes (albeit MUCH less than the competitive brands, ie Samsung's bluish-black LED 6000 model & the very competitive Vizio M42SL#
Although this tv doesn't give the true 120hz feel like the Samsungs do, I feel that it also doesn't make me feel dizzy as the Samsungs do. And it doesn't give everything you watch that strong 'soap opera' feel like it's video taped, as the Samsungs do. The manufacturer's setting comes with Tru Motion set at 3, I suggest you keep it there instead of turning it up like I did. I turned mine back down to reduce the soap opera effect.
FINALLY I found a tv whose blacks are black & not blue/black, which is due to this being an LCD instead of an LED tv. I'm all for saving $80/year as much as the next guy, but not in sacrifice of a quality picture. This is the 7th television I've bought over the last 3 months #due to buying them, being disappointed & taking them back#, and I think this one is the keeper. The clarity, accurate colors, true blacks #LOVE that about lcds vs leds#, & brightness without washing the color out, makes this a winner for me. Heck, I would've even paid a bit more considering this is a dying breed...lol But thank goodness I didn't have to.
Out of the 7 tv's I've bought & returned, the two runner ups to this tv are the Vizio M42SL & Samsung's 6000 model both being LEDs and Samsung being in 3rd place. In this price range, there's nothing left to buy that's this size & of any quality. So if you're reading this, save yourself the time/trouble and just buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42CS570
Based on the average of (99) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Features
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5