Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

The MBP5320/F7 Magnavox Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player will enhance your movie-watching experience. Special Blu-ray discs can be played with this Magnavox Blu-ray Player. The imaging for your movies and other DVDs will be crisper and clearer. This device will also play back BD-ROM discs, as well as CDs. As this Wi-Fi HD Player can be connected to Wi-Fi networks, you can easily stream Netflix, Vudu or YouTube straight through your TV. Watch your movies and other shows in HD and 1080p resolution. This MBP5320/F7 Magnavox Wi-Fi Blu-ray Player will make a nice gift for virtually anyone who loves the cinematic experience. It is an excellent addition to virtually any home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
1.875 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation25%8 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Buy Something Else!

08/16/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We went down to our local Wal-mart and bought this DVD player last month. We've had good luck with Magnavox electronics in the past, but this new blue ray player has made me reevaluate my brand loyalty. I purchased it mostly for streaming Netflix, which it will no longer do. My wireless network is fine and it will connect to Vudu and Youtube well enough,but no Netflix! Also, imagine sitting down to watch a DVD and the minute you turn it on it requires a twenty minute software update. I can understand this once in a while, but twice in a month? On top of that it is extremely slow doing any function. The player must have the slowest processor known to man, I swear! If you press a button on the remote it takes a couple minutes for the DVD player to think about it and respond. That alone can be extremely aggravating and will lead me to put this Magnavox where it belongs, in the trash! If I were you I would save my money on this and buy another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SW Missouri
Not worth the effort!
Posted 11/03/2012
Bought this unit, set it up on wireless, then waited for updates since can't use until they are complete. It would update for about 15 minutes then stop saying that it failed. So I tried the USB stick as it suggested, found files then placed stick into unit. Still no complete update!
Drug a fifty Ethernet cable across rooms to hook up directly for updates, still fail! Nothing but FAIL FAIL. After five hours of trying to get this player to work, I packed back into box. RETURN!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi
06/25/2012
By ,
Apache Junction, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed an upgrade from out old vhs/dvd player and bought this maganavox-built in wi-fi with netflix/vuduu. This meets our expectations alright. It works great, the only thing that sucks, is when on netflix, there is a 1-2sec delay after pushing the arrow buttons to search or select the movie/show. But that's something we can live with and adapt to. We're staisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Just a player

09/13/2012
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Magnavox MBP5320/F7
Never could get the product to update software. Tried wireless and USB. Still nothing. so no streaming.
Player worked well enough. Although without the update it fought me getting the disc out. I unplugged, counted to ten, powered up, and hit eject. It came out the second time.
Took the player back to store and got refund. I am from Tennessee where the Magnavox/Phillips plant USED to be. The empty building is still there but manufacturing is where everything else is today...China. My third try with Magnavox/Phillips. My suggestion, just avoid ALL Magnavox/Phillips products these days. Too bad. Used to be great products years ago...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 4 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Not Bad

09/21/2012
By ,
SE Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this player to replace and older model because we wanted the WI-FI connection to stream Netflix. It's a pretty nice gadget for the price. No problems with it so far. I haven't had any of the problems with audio out of sync or excessive pauses between commands. I recommend it for those on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Good Blu Ray Player

07/29/2012
By ,
Edwardsville,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I start this review by saying this blu ray player is good but it is not the best. One there aren't any digital optical output for the true hd sound second the picture quality of great Blu Rays like Batman Dark Knight, Casino Royale or Up and Happy Feet doesn't show too great and without the Digital Optical the sound is not so great but if you are looking for a blu ray player to just watch your movies give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Not worth the money!!!

07/30/2012
By ,
Janesville, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I decided to purchase my second Blu-Ray player when I looked at this item. This was the first one that I purchased with built-in WiFi. I have Netflix for my PlayStation 3 so I thought this would be just as awesome...I was wrong. The set up was easy to connect to my home's internet but the sound and video did not match up. The audio was delayed about a second making watching anything on Netflix annoying. The Blu-Ray player did work fine but that was not the only reason why I purchased this item. I took it back the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tomah, WI
This Blu-Ray player is Actually really good.
Posted 10/12/2012
It was just mad in Aug 2012.
I am sure they are working on software updates.
you should try updateing your blu-ray player.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Not worth it

08/13/2012
By ,
Lakewood, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my bedroom to use for Netflix and Blu-ray. This product has issues connecting to the internet all the time. I have it for a week and it takes me 15 minutes each time to connect to Netflix. Then to pick a show on Netflix is extremely slow also. A lot of times the sound doesn't match screen. The Blu-ray is fine. But I am returning this due to the issues with Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
macon ga
magnavox blueay player
Posted 09/03/2012
I have tried two of these both were not working. I spent many hours on the phone with Magnavox to no avail. Their representatives are not trained to help and wouldn't help even if they were because the products are not any good. Neither of the ones I got were working when I received them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Mistaken Value

08/18/2012
By ,
royston, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was our first Blu-ray player we have bought. We bought it for 2 reasons other than value: WI-FI and Netflix. We wanted this player for our bedroom so we could watch netflix as we were dropping our Satellite provider to save money. Netflix was an absolute must, so the set up was pretty easy, had a great signal from the wi-fi, YouTube worked great, but neither the Netflix nor Vudu worked. I called both customer service at Magnavox and Netflix, Netflix did all they could to help, but it was not a problem on their end. Magnavox pushed it off on Netflix and never came up with a viable solution. After 4 hours of trying to resolve the issue, we are finished with this player and will be returning our player for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

LAN or wireless, up to you.

03/03/2013
By ,
Belmont, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my living room, the kids already had a roku box in their bedroom and I wanted to be able to watch Netflix without having to move the xbox every time I wanted to watch a movie.
First of all, if you are buying this for Netflix then there are better players out there. Buy the roku xs, it connects directly to your internet and is kid friendly ( they cant buy stuff on vudu, etc unless its unlocked). Netflix runs pretty slow on this device, it takes a minute or 2 to load Netflix, you hit the buttons and it takes time to scroll through and a lot of the time it will load the wrong movie because it is slow to catch up. If you expect it to be fast like a xbox 360, keep looking. if you are purchasing this as a first time on Netflix, it may be a good fit for you as your not expecting it to be fast.
The bluray works great however. BUT there are just a good ones for cheaper and they have buttons on the front in case you lose the remote. This one does not. all you have is a power button, a open/close and a usb port on the front.
Installing this was very simple, you don't need a computer to set it up like the roku box. It automatically found my connection (LAN# and I had no problems at all. I did not try wireless as we bought it to connect to our router to "throw the signal" to the rest of the house.
Big selling point: you can use this directly to your router #LAN port on back), or you can use this wireless. Its up to you. If you don't have a computer, this is easy to setup witho03ut one and is still a pretty good value for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

easy set-up with no problems so far

12/27/2012
By ,
lonoke,Ar.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was afraid i may have some problems with this unit after seeing these ratings but took a chance on it as it was on sale for $54 as opposed to $75 for a Roku hd without the blu-ray player.So far both the blu-ray player and wi-fi performed better than expected and it was very easy set up instructions on screen...This was the best deal I found for a 1080p streaming blu ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Does NOT support Netflix.

10/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this player for the sole purpose of streaming Netflix to my tv, was highly disappointed to find out that it does not support netflix. Even though the remote itself has a button on it dedicated to the netflix app. The company should not say that an item is compatible with netflix when it is not. I will be taking it back to Wal-Mart first thing in the morning. Please don't waste your time on this product and its false advertising.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 12 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Good Player

09/16/2012
By ,
Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted a compact player for the bedroom, Easy setup, for the price works good no problems.
wifi works great. Does what its supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi
12/29/2012
By ,
Fenton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for Christmas and works great. Good price and easy setup,
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Don't waste your time or money.

11/27/2012
By ,
North Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not connect to Netflix or Vudu, wireless or wired. YouTube is the only network ap that works and the interface for that is pretty bad. This P0S will be returned at the earliest opportunity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 15 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

why didn't I check the reviews first!!!!!!

07/26/2013
By ,
okc, ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It should come at no surprise to see a below average rating on this product. I've had too many issues to list here but let me give you the highlights:
1-Netflix won't work at all. I can even get to the activation as it requires the activation code. I've tried everything including consulting with the ISP and Netflix support.
2- Now that netflix is not working, I thought I should try Blue-ray by renting a couple DVDs from Redbox. Initially, the player couldn't play the format which was addressed by restarting the player. In the middle of the movie, it will wither skip or revert to the main menu. It did this for about 3 times after which I made up my mind- I will return it to walmart and will let others know that this product is trash and not worth $5. I'll return it tomorrow and will buy a Panasonic DMP-BDT220 from best buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Lacks Playback Versatility

08/19/2013
By ,
Buford, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, the player wouldn't connect with my new wireless router using the 'push button' connect method. It did connect using the manual SSID-Password method. But I was very disappointed that the player would not play #or even load# my personal DVDs. It played commercial DVDs and Blu ray fine #although the player made loud noises getting a disc loaded and displaying menus#, but I make my own videos into DVD disks #complete with menus, etc# that play in my PS3 and every PC in the house but they wouldn't even load on this Magnavox. This player was returned three hours after I bought it and I picked up a LG 530 which played my DVDs, and everything else, just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

This is a very slow player

08/13/2013
By ,
Perry, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player in May 2013 from the walmart store. All of the program features are very slow. When you press play, pause or stop, or the directional buttons on the remote control, its about a 5-10 second delay before the player does whatever you pressed. It's very annoying. I am on a budget which is why I purchased this particular one. When I save a little more money I'm getting rid of this and purchasing a Vizio blu ray player like another one that I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

I wouldn't buy it.

02/18/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it today 2/18/2013 and was not able to get it to start the setup. I returned it thinking it was defective. The second one does the same thing. It will not start setup. I called Magnavox, they said it was either my new tv or the new hdmi cable. I hooked the bluray player to my other tv and it had the same result, would not start the setup. I don't know what to do but return it and get one that works. I don't think it is the hdmi cable because it would show "please wait" as stated in the setup instructions then the screen would go blank except for hdmi1 in the top right. Thinking it is the bluray player still so I don't recommend buying one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Customer service unable to resolve problems.

09/21/2012
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this player over a month ago and it wouldn't play DVD's received from Netflix, and froze up completely and wouldn't even eject the disc till we unplugged it and restarted it. We tried ordering replacement Netflix DVD's, all of which worked fine when played on our laptops. First customer service told us we needed a software upgrade. Had to order the upgrade from a different customer service line where they told me it would be shipped in 7 days, and would take approx. 6 business days to receive. The upgrade came faster than expected, but it turned out it wasn't even needed, once installed the player showed it already had the current version.
Player still doesn't play Netflix DVDs, and when I called customer service again today, after being transfered and placed on hold for 1 hour and 20 minutes I was told by customer service rep Brittany that the player doesn't play 'modified' DVD's, and that any discs played from Netflix or Redbox or any similar company won't work. I was also told that it could just be a problem with the lense reading the discs. I was told that there was nothing they could do about the problem, they could not replace the player or offer any upgrades. Luckily Walmart is amazing and I was able to return player and exchange it for something I'll be able to use.
Other than not being able to use the product for our main intention, they player worked fine on regualr DVD's and streaming wasn't too fast, but it played smoothly. Just not work the $ if you don't have cable and rely mostly on Netflix home delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Buy another

10/20/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot connect wifi, that was the point of purchasing this trash. Tried all options and had to call Magnavox, who spoke to me like I was a child, such poor customer service and the issue was never resolved. Returning it tomorrow for a Sony product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next