Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for StarTech StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

StarTech StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Connect devices wirelessly with minimal power consumption with the StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter. This USB wireless network adapter allows you to add Bluetooth capabilities via an available USB port to a computer. The 2.1 Class 2 EDR Bluetooth network adapter makes it possible to connect devices wirelessly at ranges up to 20 meters and offers support for an enhanced data rate of up to 3 Mbps. USB wireless network adapter is backwards compatible with your older Bluetooth equipment and features an ultra compact form factor and a power/standby LED indicator.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation67%6 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Accomplishes the task!

09/08/2012
By ,
Macedon, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an old Palm Tungsten E2 PDA that I used to use with Windows XP for backing up the data on the Palm PDA by synchronizing with the PC. When I purchased a new Laptop with Windows 7, I tried to load the Palm software on the PC and synchronize without success. Then I found by searching online that I would have to synchronize using Bluetooth when using Windows 7. My laptop did not have Bluetooth, so I found the StarTec Mini USB was compatible with Windows 7. Once installed, it works like a charm. I am able to back up all of my data from the Palm to the Laptop. I am very pleased with this product and it was very easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

USB adapter

06/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item did not come with clear instructions and I can't get it to work
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Great for Hands Free computer work!!!

03/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this AND the Class 1 version. BOTH work very well for my needs. This one is my back up in case the Class 1 version does not work OR for my laptop. (The difference between a Class 1 and a Class 2 is the distance at which they will work. Class 2 [this one] is good for 10 meters/33 feet and the Class 1 [my primary] is 100 m/330 ft.)
I am using this BlueTooth wireless network adapter with the Blue Parrot Xpress headset to operate Nuance's Dragon Naturally Speaking Premium Edition Version 11.5 for computer operation and writing in MS Word. Setup was not without a minor hiccup. You MUST install the drivers for the adapter AND the headset. Once that is done, it works flawlessly! I am MOST happy! Setup for this adapter was easy. Download the drivers and "software" and install. It is ready for use after that.
This uses the exact same drivers as the Class 1 and can be found at the startech.com website under the support section.
I am using Win 7 Home Premium on an i3 "all in one" computer (not a desktop, but a screen with a CPU, MB, memory, DVD burner, & HDD all in one.)
I have no problems after having this for almost a week now.
It even came in a day early! I DO recommend this product!
Sidenote: The title IS misleading. This is NOT a wireless network adapter to use with the 801.11 a, b, g, or n for wireless internet access via a "network router". It IS a wireless "home" network adapter to use for file transferring between computers/smartphones, pictures or documents to be printed, and the like. In my case, I use it for a BT Headset connection for writing papers and letters.
Hope this helps!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

wifi usage with earphones

05/31/2012
By ,
Ridgecrest CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This produce worked great with windows 7 and I was able to listen to my wifi earphones in both audio and phone mode with no problems and has a 30 foot range.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Lame range and scratchy quality / regret purcahsin

07/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is really a poor blue tooth transceiver, the range is substandard and only seems to work across the room.
Won't transmit or receive if upstairs in a standard wood frame house and the keyboard / audio connection drops out frequqnelyt.
I have other USB adapters to compare it too like the Cirago and they don't cut out and can work on different floors when using blue tooth audio.
Ironically, this StarTech works on my husbands Mac but it still performs just as poorly and that is rare since Apple Mac has a narrow set of support for non Apple devices.
I regeret purchasing it but didn't return it since it technially worked so it wasn't WalMarts fault.
I hope you read my review before maqking your purchasing decision since I found much better BTdevices from Walmart for just seven dollars more but works 100 times better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Works great with Windows 7.

08/02/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it primarily to transfer songs and pictures back and forth to my Samsung cell phone. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Major software trouble

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get the software to load, major errors, directions did not match the attempted install notes on PC. Took it out threw it away and got the Edimax. Edimax wireless network adapter works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Works just fine

05/03/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy installation and works fine. I installed on a laptop and a desktop without any problems..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for StarTech Mini USB Bluetooth 2.1 Class 2 EDR Wireless Network Adapter

Works as expected, no problem.

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plugged it in, Windows did it's thing, done & operational!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.