Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%65 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

FAIR WEATHER TENT......

07/20/2013
By ,
PALM HARBOR,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent was nice, but the rain fly is not strong enough to handle any kind of wind. If you have a sunny day or light rain you will be fine, but this tent turns into a parachute in the wind, and should have a couple of blow out flaps for heavy wind to escape. The roof of the tent under the fly is mesh screen, which kind of defeats the purpose of having an air conditioning unit flap. Although my air conditioning unit did make a slight difference in temperature in the one area of the tent, it wasn't cool enough to warrant bringing the unit. I wish the tent was a bit more heavy duty...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is important to find natural protection at a campsite in case of severe weather BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees.
During the two months I camped last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, several severe storms with 40+ mph winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I heard a storm was on the way, I checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground. The frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what it was designed to do. Not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect either. Again, using common sense is a must and a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality, style or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a shady and protected campsite. A small 5,000 btu unit won’t work; at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit is necessary. Further, the mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air out through the mesh. My tent remained 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside air.
If you want a unit with “absolute” stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass, curved and flexible. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is imperative that you consider what natural protection a campsite can offer in case of severe weather and high winds BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees close by.
I camped for two months last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, starting the month of August. Several severe storms with 40 plus mile per hour winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I realized a storm was about to hit, I double checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground, then rode the storm out from inside the tent. Yes, obviously the frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what they are designed to do. The heavy rain drained easily off the roof of the tent -- not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect from the rainfly either. Again, using common sense and forethought will essentially divert a disaster, which is a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a campsite with adequate shade and protection from direct sunlight. Also, a small 5,000 btu unit is not adequate; therefore, I strongly recommend using at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit. Further, the fact that the tent has a mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air up and out through the mesh. The inside of my tent was approximately 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside, which made it quite comfortable to relax and watch television.
If you want a unit with almost absolute stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass and are quite flexible, rounded and curved, thereby offering greater stability. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Awesome tent!

06/08/2013
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent at great price. This tent is spacious, each room is about 8x8. Queen size mattress fits with plenty of room to walk and unpack your stuff. I am not an expert camping, the last time I camped was about 15 years ago, this tent took me - without a second person - about 15 minutes to put together, and about 10 minutes to pin it down. The instruction manual is not clear, but honestly, you don't need one. Just plug the color coded metal poles into whatever it matches and you will have a tent setup in minutes. A lot of windows and a nice canopy to shade the sun off while you're relaxing sipping your cup of coffee. Don't plan to take it out on a cold day, the heat will escape through the ceiling screen. The weather was perfect so I can not judge on how it will hold against the wind, but looks pretty sturdy to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
05/27/2012
By ,
Charleston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I bought this tent because of the air conditioner port. We took it camping for the first time this weekend. The fabric could be thicker and stronger, but overall we loved it. Very spacious and easy to put together. We also loved the heavy duty bag to store the tent in, the plastic bottom and wheels are a big help to moving it around. The tent stakes that come with it are really cheap, so we bought heavier plastic ones. The air conditioner port was a life saver due to the heat. The air conditioner will cool all three rooms if needed, and is more than sufficient if doors are zipped up. Overall we're happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
The Keys
Air Conditioner
Posted 04/18/2013
Where Did You Buy The Air Conditioner?
0points
Customer Avatar
tyler tx
Air conditioner port
Posted 06/08/2012
What size air conditioner fits in the port?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 24 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

great tent in good weather

09/11/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have camped in this tent 4 weekends with my family now. This tent is huge...the kids love having their own room! Setup was really difficult the first time. I recommend setting up at home! The first time I set it up I drew myself a color coded diagram. Now it stays in the tent bag and makes setup so much easier...within 30min the kids (age 6&8) and I can have it set up. Fair weather weekends it is perfect. We love sleeping under the stars with the big mesh roof and no rainfly. Rainy weekend's are another story...this tent is not well designed for downpours! We didn't get much rain in the tent. A couple drops from the roof and some in the side seams (I did not use waterproofing seal). But the porch in the rain collected water! We had heavy downpours for about 20min and I had to go out and dump the roof every few min so the poles didn't snap. Eventually I took the roof down and folded it in triangular but because of how it's built it still collected water. Made for a long, rainy night. I suggest a tarp tied above the tent if its going to pour! Overall I'm still happy with my purchase, and its still the biggest, coolest, most talked about tent at every campground. I'll just go more prepared next time!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Good tent for groups

04/07/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You definitely need several people to put this tent up. Also, this tent can be used without stakes, but I highly recommend not leaving them out. It is much more secure and a moderate or strong wind will really move it around - not something you can sleep through.
We used this for Boy Scout trips and the boys like setting it up - though it does take a long time.
Comes down quickly and *barely* fits in the carrier.
Set up the fly every time - helps keep it stable....tent is a bit top-heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great family tent

04/24/2013
By ,
hurlock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First let me start off by saying this thing is huge. We bought it online and had it shipped to store to save on the shipping. we picked it up today and me and the wife put it up in 1 hour. Im hoping we can cut that in half but we will see. I will say that i watched the video that is linked to the tent here on walmart.com and the way those two people put it up is not the way the instruction says to. I had done alot of research and had some what of an idea on how to put it up well so i thought. But all in all its not that hard it just takes time and two people who know what they are doing lol. I just bought the coleman seam sealer that other has said to in order to make sure of no leaks when it rains. I just hope it goes back in the bag some what like it came out. HAPPY CAMPING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Awesome tent

05/20/2013
By ,
melbourne,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews from others who had bought this great tent before I was a little worried it was going to be a pain to put together, but it was easy. The very first time we put it together it took 25 mins. After the 2nd time it took 15 mins. This is a awesome tent for the money. Could not be happier.
One thing and the only thing that I was not pleased with is that there are about 8 points on the tent where they did not add hooks to the string that ties to the roof poles!! We went to lowes and bought 8 hooks(2.00 a bag) and tied the strings to the hook and hooked them to the poles. Could of add the hooks it wouldn't of broke the bank for the tent maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

One person can put this up!

10/26/2013
By ,
Austell, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at the store last week and put it up (just) to see if I could do it on my own. My husband has to work and will be a day behind us on our next camping trip so, being able to put this up on my own was a necessity (we do have children, but they are very small so they cannot help with this task). Well...the tent is large however, I did it on my own no problem. The color coded system really helps. Took me about 40 minutes this first try; I'm guessing I'll have it up in 20 next time around.
Interior of the tent is nice. The ceilings are very high. The dividers to separate the areas are actual zip-up dividers so if you did want privacy, it is possible. Lots of little "pockets" to hold things (keys, cell phone, etc) inside the tent.
Only "downside" is that this tent is VERY heavy. We were going to strap it onto the top of our van however, I could not get this up by myself and I could not pull it off (alone) without damaging the car. Having said that, when I took the tent down and went to put it into it's original case, I could not fit the tent and the polls back in together (like with most tents, tough to fold as compact as it was before opened) so...I have the tent in the original bag and the polls in a separate case (this case is included with the tent). I think I'd be okay strapping the tent on the roof and storing the polls in the back of the van as the polls are the really heavy part.
We use to have a two room tent, but purchased something larger so that we could have a dressing room for now, and two separate areas so each of our kids could have their own "room" when they got older.
Looking forward to our first trip this Spring!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

EVERYONE loved our "mansion"

11/22/2012
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was easy to set up. There is a small bag with stakes wrapped in with tent. We missed it and had to buy stakes, found it when we took down tent. less than 30 min to put up and 15 min to take down. All the poles and brackets are color coded. THe brackets are attached to the tent so put down a tarp (we heard from everyone that is a good idea to keep you dry and prevent accidental tears.. and it's easier to clean tarp than tent) and then lay out the tent THEN it will be easy to see where to attach the bars. We bought extended replacement coverage, just in case. We had hard winds and some rain, did worry it would blow around, but didnt budge--- some tents in our cub scout camp were upside down in the morning! It did rain off and on, we were completely dry. The windows can be left as open screens or zipped closed as much as you'd like. There are tie backs to keep doors and window screens open. there is a covered porch area. Was me and 5 kids and we had PLENTY of room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great tent

06/04/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't camped in years and the last time I did it rained. We were soaked and so was everything in our tent. The tent was untimately ruined by the storm and we
Had to purchase a new one to camp this time. My first purchase right after was camp dry and
Seam sealer. I was not taking any chances. My fiancé decided that because it said waterproof in the box that it was unnecessary to take it out, set it up and prepare it for our trip. I believe some laziness was involved in that decision but I thought hey he can learn the hard way! We went camping and had torential storms two nights in a row ( I think they follow me). Each morning I expected
To wake up to several inches of water and was amazed to find only a tsp Amt in two corners of the tent. Needless to say my fiancé got the last laugh. Only partially negative thing about this tent was set up. A little hard first time up but a cake walk after you figure it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Best tent i have ever owned

05/31/2013
By ,
boyne ciry, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is very easy to set up and has a ton of room!!! There are three of us and in one room we had a blow up couch and two blow up chairs and could easily relax in the screened in porch in the other room we had our queen air mattress and in the other room we had our son and still had a ton more room!!!! And the patio like I call it is a super plus!!! The first time putting it up only took about twenty minutes, it was the talk of the camp site!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Family Tent! Plenty of Room & Privacy!

07/31/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is amazing! We decided to purchase this tent for several reasons. First, we were looking for a replacement for our old tent. Second, we wanted more space- headroom, sleeping areas, storage areas, a canopy, divided areas, etc. Third, we wanted total enclosure and rain protection. Fourth, the reviews were decent.
Despite some of the reviews which said it took forever to set up with experienced campers, we purchased it anyways! We are very pleased with our purchase! We did a trial set up at home first. It was simple. The directions are clear! Follow them. It makes things much easier. Unroll the tent and lay it out where you'd like it first. I'd recommend laying a tarp down under the tent for added protection from sticks, rocks, roots, branches, grass, etc. We used a 10 x 20 and an 8 x 10. We didn't put one under the awning area becuase it really isn't necessary. Then, set out all the color coded poles in groups. The poles are connected by metal, not cloth bungee material. Great feature!! They assemble quickly and simply. Next, connect the poles to the connectors on the tent. These too are color coded. Tip: Before raising the corner poles, put the rainfly on. It makes it much simpler to put on. The entire tent was up in less than 30 minutes for first time set-up with two people. We staked the tent to the ground, but did not use the strings attached to the rainfly to secure it. We didn't sleep in it during trial set-up in our backyard. Another tip: Waterproof your rainfly before you use it! It took 3 cans to generously spray the rainfly. Walmart sells them in shoe section for $6.75. It was well worth it. It rained lightly after setup but before putting the silicone spray on. The tent stayed dry. The water just beaded on the rainfly and ran off. But, experience has proven that waterproofing tents is always good! Take down of the tent is simple. Remember how you opened it! Fold the three 8 x 8 sections of the tent so it makes one. Then fold that into thirds and roll. It took about 15 minutes to tear down.
So, how did it do camping? Great! The second time, it went up in about 15-20 minutes. This time we even tied out the strings attached to the rainfly for security. Do the same for the awning. This secures it in rain or wind. Another tip: If windy or rainy, tilt the pole that holds up the awning towards the tent so the awning tilts/leans/angles towards the ground. Then stake it tightly. This prevents rain build-up, wind from getting under the awning and raising it like a parachute, and from strain on the seams. Using the tent was amazing!! It has tons of space. 2 zippered entrances- 1 D-door into main room, another T-style door into canopy area. The T-style door entry to the canopy area has a full outside covering with another completely separate T-style zippered mesh lining underneath. This allows for ventilation and light while still being screened in. Once inside, ther are 3 fully separate rooms- each separated by zippered D-doors. This allows for absolute privacy- exclusive of noise, of course. Each room has a hanging corner shelf with 3 shelves each. Each room has two windows that zip down with mesh outside linings. They even appear to have cross bars like real windows. The ceiling is completely mesh, which allows for ventilation, air flow, and breathability. But don't worry, the rainfly completely covers it. You'll stay warm and dry! There are hooks which attach to the roof poles that keep the mesh lining at least 6 inches from the rainfly over the entire tent. Really Nice!! Most rainflys touch the mesh which eventually leads to leakage in those areas. The entire floor, even in the canopy area, has a bathtub style tarp bottom which is connected to the tent. It comes up about 6 inches. This will keep the whole tent dry! Unlike other tents which have a canopy area, this one is actually completely enclosed. The bottom and the sides are attached to the tent. It can be used as a sitting room, a dining area, a sleeping area, a storage area, a pet area, an entrance area so as not to get the rest of the tent dirty.
How did it hold up? Well, one of the nights it got down to the low 40's. We all stayed warm. Another night it rained ALL night. We all stayed dry. Completely dry! Not one drip, not one leak. Every seam is taped. The mesh roof and the rainfly resembles a pitched roof! The water simply ran off the tent. I'm sure the waterproofing spray helped too. Another tip: Keep all bags, clothes, air mattresses, etc. away from the tent walls. This will help keep the tent dry and those areas eventually leaking water. It was also windy the same rainy evening. The straps secured the tent. It didn't waver. The awning stayed up. We did angle it downwards towards the ground for better wind and rain resistance. Headroom was great. I have tall boys- 6'2". They could stand with plenty of space. Even getting in and out of the tent was a breeze. You don't really have to bend. We did put our heavy duty tarps under the tent. Campsites always have debris on the ground or hidden surprises. Not a hole in the floor at all. Each room could comfortably fit a queen size air mattress in it along with luggage. We only used one queen in one room, a twin in another- which left tons of room, and we used the canopy area as an entry way, place for our stuff, a bucket for a toilet, misc. We camped with several families so our coolers, chairs, and table were elsewhere. If wanted, the canopy room has plenty of room for a card table, 4 chairs, coolers, bags, shoes, etc. The options with this tent are limitless!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Big Bertha excellent tent

05/24/2013
By ,
york sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in love with this tent 100%! It took my husband and I maybe 15 minutes to assemble, completely doable with only one person it may take 20-30 minutes. Tent is huge! storage racks are wonderful and ac hole is great as well. the only thing that I have to say is that I was a little mislead by the measurements on the web, but thinking about it it makes sense. I didn't realize the 16 x 16 measurement included the poarch area. thats the only thing and it was my own fault. We sealed the tent but haven't slept in it yet we are going camping at the beach in a few weeks and I will let you know then. Also you know how its almost impossible to get a tent back in the bag.... they made the bag to expand by about three inches to account for that we had no problem getting it back in. Love this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Well Worth It

07/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just returned from a camping trip and I love this tent, very spacious and comfortable. You will need at least two adults with patience to set this tent up but once you get it together it is very nice. It took us atleast and hour or so(first time set up). It rained friday night and not even a drop of rain entered the tent and we didn't even use tent sealer. Well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love it

03/28/2013
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it, already put it up in the backyard for my girls and took it camping this past weekend. Really easy to set up after waching the video and very cool. Definitely set it up at home before camping just to get the procedure, not hard but become familiar with it.My two small girls loved it. Cant wait to use it some more. I hope it lasts a very long time, I can see our family enjoying this tent for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

ONE OF THE BEST TENTS I HAVE EVER OWNED

01/14/2013
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single 51-year-old woman who loves to travel and camp. This past summer I stayed by myself in a nicer quality campground in Rapid City, South Dakota for the Sturgis Bike Rally. After carefully selecting a campsite large enough for this unit, I laid down heavy duty tarps in order to create a footprint. I then read the instructions and was able to set it up (all by myself) for the first time in a little less than 45 minutes. The key is to put together just the roof frame, attach the tent with the provided hooks to the appropriate locations, install and attach the rainfly, and THEN insert the frame legs to raise it. I learned from past experience to use heavy duty stakes with every tent, as they do provide more stability than the ones that usually are included with a tent. I made sure that each and every stake was pounded into the ground as far as they could go before attaching the tiedown cords for the tent and rainfly.
Inside, I used five sets of plastic collapsible shelves (about $13.00 a set at Walmart) for storing everything from clothes to kitchen items. My site included electrical outlets, so I conveniently ran long outdoor extension cords through the tent to power all appliances and equipment.
There were two folding lounge chairs in the front room (complete with detachable footrests), two sets of shelves, a floor lamp and the television. In the corner room, I slept on a very comfortable double height queen size air mattress with a collapsible queen size frame underneath, and set up a set of the shelves in the corner. The room was so large that I was still able to walk around the bed. My 10,000 btu air conditioner with remote fit quite nicely in the floor level vent on the side of the tent, and kept me quite comfortable even during the hottest time of the day. The third room was equipped with a 4.2 cf mini refrigerator and microwave set atop two sets of shelves, and a folding table and four small folding chairs. Even with all the equipment inside the tent, I still had more than enough room to move around. In fact, I stayed in it over a month after the Rally ended because I had so much fun. Yes, folks, I really "roughed" it!!
As always happens at the Sturgis Bike Rally, several severe storms with high winds, hail and pounding rain passed over the camp. NOT ONE DROP OF WATER came inside the tent, and the frame stood miraculously unfazed, even in 40 mph+ winds. Nothing ripped, tore or otherwise failed to meet my expectations. I was even able to use the "porch awning" as a mini carport by parking my full size SUV under it!!
When camping with any tent, care must be used to pick out a site that will provide some stabiity and protection against the elements. After all, they are NOT RVs and therefore do not offer the same comforts of such. Common sense dictates that a big unit like this one cannot be set up out in the middle of a field with no trees to shield it during a storm. It is also important that ALL of the tiedowns are tightly secured to the stakes, which are to be firmly pounded into the ground several inches. Without these precautions, many of the problems outlined in other reviews will occur. The larger the tent, the more care should be taken to ensure that it will remain safely intact.
In summary, I HIGHLY recomment this tent, especially for families. It is a tremendous value for such a roomy, quality item and, if properly cared for as outlined above, should provide many years of fun and excitement.
Thank you for reading my review!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great tent for family with 2-3 kids

07/21/2013
By ,
Howell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is very spacious, two of my children (2 & 4 years old) had each separate room, it's easy to set up, my husband did it without any help, we got noticed on a campground from each person passing by, the tent looks like a house and you can walk inside without bending. We had rain for few days and it protected us really well. We also like that it has an opening for small air conditioner. We are very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Plenty of space to spare...

01/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the tent last week and took it camping this weekend, so not enough time has passed to comment on durability yet. But so far, we're very happy with the size and features of the tent. It was easy to put up and we really liked the size of all the rooms plus having the covered outdoor entry area.
One of the small plastic fasteners was broken, but it was not too much trouble to attach with a zip tie. Overall, we're very pleased and can't wait to take it camping again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great tent best tent weve ever had

07/20/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this tent so much! This is our fourth tet weve brought over the years and i must say i wish we had this one from the get go. Its spacious with the queen size beds in it and a 35in tv, we havent had to deal with strong winds but weve dealt with rain and not a problem. The only problem weve ha is the sun shining through lol but we used an extra tarp to deal with that. We have used our tent 4 times since we brought it in January no rips or tears. Setup was har at first but we realized the instructions were inside the tent bag. I would recommend this tent to anyone with a big or small tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
01/15/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 67 total reviews