Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%65 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ok could use a few more small features

01/06/2013
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top lets heat out in winter and not really any good place to hang a lantern. Otherwise seems to be a good product only more time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Good tent for groups

04/07/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You definitely need several people to put this tent up. Also, this tent can be used without stakes, but I highly recommend not leaving them out. It is much more secure and a moderate or strong wind will really move it around - not something you can sleep through.
We used this for Boy Scout trips and the boys like setting it up - though it does take a long time.
Comes down quickly and *barely* fits in the carrier.
Set up the fly every time - helps keep it stable....tent is a bit top-heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
05/27/2012
By ,
Charleston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I bought this tent because of the air conditioner port. We took it camping for the first time this weekend. The fabric could be thicker and stronger, but overall we loved it. Very spacious and easy to put together. We also loved the heavy duty bag to store the tent in, the plastic bottom and wheels are a big help to moving it around. The tent stakes that come with it are really cheap, so we bought heavier plastic ones. The air conditioner port was a life saver due to the heat. The air conditioner will cool all three rooms if needed, and is more than sufficient if doors are zipped up. Overall we're happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
The Keys
Air Conditioner
Posted 04/18/2013
Where Did You Buy The Air Conditioner?
0points
Customer Avatar
tyler tx
Air conditioner port
Posted 06/08/2012
What size air conditioner fits in the port?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 24 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great family tent

04/24/2013
By ,
hurlock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First let me start off by saying this thing is huge. We bought it online and had it shipped to store to save on the shipping. we picked it up today and me and the wife put it up in 1 hour. Im hoping we can cut that in half but we will see. I will say that i watched the video that is linked to the tent here on walmart.com and the way those two people put it up is not the way the instruction says to. I had done alot of research and had some what of an idea on how to put it up well so i thought. But all in all its not that hard it just takes time and two people who know what they are doing lol. I just bought the coleman seam sealer that other has said to in order to make sure of no leaks when it rains. I just hope it goes back in the bag some what like it came out. HAPPY CAMPING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Expensive but grandkids worth it

01/29/2013
By ,
miami, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
grandkids enjoyed their camping. relatively easy to put together, but needed more than the 2 people it said on video...more like 4 people.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Awesome tent!

06/08/2013
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent at great price. This tent is spacious, each room is about 8x8. Queen size mattress fits with plenty of room to walk and unpack your stuff. I am not an expert camping, the last time I camped was about 15 years ago, this tent took me - without a second person - about 15 minutes to put together, and about 10 minutes to pin it down. The instruction manual is not clear, but honestly, you don't need one. Just plug the color coded metal poles into whatever it matches and you will have a tent setup in minutes. A lot of windows and a nice canopy to shade the sun off while you're relaxing sipping your cup of coffee. Don't plan to take it out on a cold day, the heat will escape through the ceiling screen. The weather was perfect so I can not judge on how it will hold against the wind, but looks pretty sturdy to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

FAIR WEATHER TENT......

07/20/2013
By ,
PALM HARBOR,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent was nice, but the rain fly is not strong enough to handle any kind of wind. If you have a sunny day or light rain you will be fine, but this tent turns into a parachute in the wind, and should have a couple of blow out flaps for heavy wind to escape. The roof of the tent under the fly is mesh screen, which kind of defeats the purpose of having an air conditioning unit flap. Although my air conditioning unit did make a slight difference in temperature in the one area of the tent, it wasn't cool enough to warrant bringing the unit. I wish the tent was a bit more heavy duty...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is important to find natural protection at a campsite in case of severe weather BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees.
During the two months I camped last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, several severe storms with 40+ mph winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I heard a storm was on the way, I checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground. The frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what it was designed to do. Not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect either. Again, using common sense is a must and a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality, style or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a shady and protected campsite. A small 5,000 btu unit won’t work; at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit is necessary. Further, the mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air out through the mesh. My tent remained 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside air.
If you want a unit with “absolute” stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass, curved and flexible. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is imperative that you consider what natural protection a campsite can offer in case of severe weather and high winds BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees close by.
I camped for two months last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, starting the month of August. Several severe storms with 40 plus mile per hour winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I realized a storm was about to hit, I double checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground, then rode the storm out from inside the tent. Yes, obviously the frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what they are designed to do. The heavy rain drained easily off the roof of the tent -- not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect from the rainfly either. Again, using common sense and forethought will essentially divert a disaster, which is a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a campsite with adequate shade and protection from direct sunlight. Also, a small 5,000 btu unit is not adequate; therefore, I strongly recommend using at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit. Further, the fact that the tent has a mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air up and out through the mesh. The inside of my tent was approximately 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside, which made it quite comfortable to relax and watch television.
If you want a unit with almost absolute stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass and are quite flexible, rounded and curved, thereby offering greater stability. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 28 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
06/17/2012
By ,
lugoff sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the first time setting up the tent you might have to correct color codes. After all corrections are made it gets easier every time. For a tent its the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
06/18/2012
By ,
Lanesboro MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally love this tent. I finally upgraded to a much bigger tent after 6 yrs w/my previous tent. I was a bit nervous on set up when I opened bag to see all the parts. We followed directions & it does take 2 people, on first setup was easier than expected. It took us 30 mins due too one of the parts was missed marked its colors. But at the end was easy to fix. Highly recommed this tent and when you take down to get the colored masking tape to redo the dots they put on ware off easliy. used the tent 2 times since I got this. Love it and the room is great!! second time took us almost 20 mins to put up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

coolest tent in park

06/19/2013
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture this....Florida in June, 95 degrees in the shade, thunderstorms about 4 every afternoon, check in is at 3pm and our first opportunity to go camping with this tent. We did watch the set-up video before this first attempt. It took about 45 minutes to put it up including counting the poles then sorting them by color. Directions are sewn into the tent bag so they didn't blow away....good thing. Got the a/c in the hole, propped on an egg crate. Room for the 2 dogs and their beds (cat not allowed on camping trips after last time), 3 coolers, card table w/chairs, queen air bed and dvd player. Was very comfortable, dry and cool for the 12 hour storm that set in. The following morning when the sky cleared and everyone one emerged only from the rv's. We were the only tenters left! Everyone else had abandoned due to in-tent flooding. After that everyone who wandered by waved and commented...."great tent", "best tent in the park", "still best tent in the park", "can we see the inside", "where did you get it", etc. Excellent tent and a wonderful experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Just like a cabin!

07/16/2012
By ,
Alexandria, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent with hopes of being able to stand up and change inside comfortably, we absolutely can. This not only has more height but space as well. We have 3 children and they have their own room and we have our own room and we have room for playing games in without the bugs getting to us. So far it has held up in rain and wind. It was very easy to put together once we figured out the color coding scheme. We would recommend that this tent be put up with two adults that can work well together because it is a process but super simple. We absolutely are satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Well Worth It

07/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just returned from a camping trip and I love this tent, very spacious and comfortable. You will need at least two adults with patience to set this tent up but once you get it together it is very nice. It took us atleast and hour or so(first time set up). It rained friday night and not even a drop of rain entered the tent and we didn't even use tent sealer. Well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Tent

06/18/2012
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent today and set it up in the back yard to treat it with seam sealer and water proofing spray. At first we didn't try to study the diagram and tried to just connect same color ends together. Don't do that. Look at the diagram first. Don't attach the legs (they have white strips around their connection end) until it is over the tent and ready to raise. If you do construct the roof frame first it goes easily. When it says to connect the brass hooks, do not connect the black ones at the same time. We had one black hook for the wall connecting to the roof frame and tore it off when we raised it up. Don't do that either. Study the directions, they take a bit to get and it will go much smoother. It is certainly a 2+ person process and could take 20-30 minutes after you get the hang of it. We love how spacious this tent is and that my 6'2" husband can easily stand up in it, and not just in the center. The awning is perfect and will be used for a sun/rain cover with the double-zip window room for additional bad weather space. Our old tent tarp for the ground is not near big enough so we will be heading out to get a larger one. Thanks to the reviewers that said the stakes were cheap, they are and we got better ones before even trying to put it up. The ones in the box will work fine for the rain fly ropes and added stability in wind. Overall an excellent tent and I can't wait to camp in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

EVERYONE loved our "mansion"

11/22/2012
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was easy to set up. There is a small bag with stakes wrapped in with tent. We missed it and had to buy stakes, found it when we took down tent. less than 30 min to put up and 15 min to take down. All the poles and brackets are color coded. THe brackets are attached to the tent so put down a tarp (we heard from everyone that is a good idea to keep you dry and prevent accidental tears.. and it's easier to clean tarp than tent) and then lay out the tent THEN it will be easy to see where to attach the bars. We bought extended replacement coverage, just in case. We had hard winds and some rain, did worry it would blow around, but didnt budge--- some tents in our cub scout camp were upside down in the morning! It did rain off and on, we were completely dry. The windows can be left as open screens or zipped closed as much as you'd like. There are tie backs to keep doors and window screens open. there is a covered porch area. Was me and 5 kids and we had PLENTY of room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Family Tent! Easy Setup AND Take-down.

04/29/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First a little background. We are a family of four. My wife and I and two kids ages 9/5. We do not consider ourselves seasoned campers by any means. We've maybe camped six times over the past four years.
First, let's talk about the package. The tent arrives in a nice roll-around bag, neatly packed with all support bars. We were surprised at how much room was in the bag since most tents NEVER go back in their original bag! But be aware this tent/bag is heavy. You won't want to roll this far to get to a campsite.
When we unpacked everything, we were a little concerned about the lack of instructions. But we figured since everything is color-coded, we would just start connecting rods together. This was a mistake. We quickly realized that we were "missing" parts. So we quickly scanned the three step diagram inside the bag and noticed it said to lay out the tent first. oops. So we laid out the tent and found the missing pieces attached to the tent itself. Ok, now we're rolling. Don't forget to lay down the largest tarp you can find. Our is roughly 19 x 17.
After laying out the tent, we inserted all the color-coded bars and up it went. Once it was erect, we staked each corner and threw on the rain fly.
Complete setup took us 25 minutes but that included the misstep of not reading the diagram first. We've seen comments about watching an online video. We think it's unnecessary. This tent is VERY SIMPLE to set up. Now if you've never set up a tent, it may be foreign at first, but for anyone who has set up tents in the past, you will not have a problem. Don't let the size scare you.
Once set up, we installed our air mattresses. We decided that we would sleep on the far right room and the kids would be tucked into the corner room. That leaves the far left room open for an all-purpose room. I think this is the best layout you could have. The all purpose room has a screen that you can leave open. Throw a king size comforter down and you have a nice cool place for the kids to lay down and relax if they get tired, keeping them from laying in their bed and getting sand and dirt in it. We also stored all our dry food in this room. At night, just close the screen and you are animal proof.
We were pleasantly surprised after setting up our queen air mattresses how much room was left over. You could walk around the mattress in both room. We upgraded from an Embark 10 person tent (the one with the front porch) and had no room whatever so ever to walk around inside. I am 6'4 and could stand anywhere in the tent. The height is about 6'10.
The single most exciting feature to me was the covered "lanai". I bought one of those zero gravity chairs at sports authority and set it on the lanai. Plugged in a fan and had the best seat in the house. I would have slept out there had the wife let me!
At night, the air flow is great. The rain fly is designed to allow air flow through the top of the tent. And the windows are huge! It's like being in a real cabin.
There is an a/c hole in the the corner room. We may explore purchasing the portable a/c because we would like to try camping in the summer.
As far as any complaints go, we only have one. The zippers that open the door to each bedroom get stuck easily on the surrounding fabric. Have to go slow and be patient. Jammed them a few times, but learned how to work them eventually.
When it was time to get down, we just reversed the setup procedure. Took all the vertical bars out so the tent dropped straight down. Then removed all the roof bars. Packed all the bars in the bottom of the bag. Fold room three over on top of room two so you have a rectangle. Then fold length wise in half. Then roll it up, keeping in mind the width it needs to be to fit back in bag. We got ours folded on the first try and got it back in the bag no problem.
Oh few other things to mention, the hanging shelves in each room are great! We stored sunglasses, ipods, car keys, etc. Very good way to keep the small things organized.
And we had one brief period of rain, maybe 10 minutes worth. Not really worth noting, but the tent stayed completely dry - no leak issues.
I would highly recommend this tent to any families with kids. You could also fit another couple in the third room if needed. And heck, you could put a couple in sleeping bags on the lanai if you really need to!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great tent

06/04/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't camped in years and the last time I did it rained. We were soaked and so was everything in our tent. The tent was untimately ruined by the storm and we
Had to purchase a new one to camp this time. My first purchase right after was camp dry and
Seam sealer. I was not taking any chances. My fiancé decided that because it said waterproof in the box that it was unnecessary to take it out, set it up and prepare it for our trip. I believe some laziness was involved in that decision but I thought hey he can learn the hard way! We went camping and had torential storms two nights in a row ( I think they follow me). Each morning I expected
To wake up to several inches of water and was amazed to find only a tsp Amt in two corners of the tent. Needless to say my fiancé got the last laugh. Only partially negative thing about this tent was set up. A little hard first time up but a cake walk after you figure it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Most bang for your buck

05/19/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After all of the ribbing about bringing a house with us on our camping trip, most of my friends could not hid how envious they were! It was very easy and fast to set-up, especially with three or four people (I set it up by myself in less than 30 minutes). Had a pretty good storm come through the next day and we stayed high and dry! It was also very airy and we stayed very comfortable even during 80+ degree temps.
I do recommend you purchase a ground tarp large enough to cover the whole footprint (20x20) to prevent a possible puncture from a stick and so that you can better utilize the front "patio" area (which you can store in the same bag as the tent). Also, while the stakes they provide are OK, get the good 10" Coleman (or comparable) stakes for extra security.
I have not only recommended this tent to others, I helped a friend pick theirs up the next weekend after they camped with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love it!

03/07/2013
By ,
West Palm beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is quick and easy to put up with two people. It is an amazing tent! So much space! I always had dome tents and I love that you can stand up in this tent. We were the hit of the campground. We had to give a couple of tours of the tent. Buy this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

VERY impressive!

06/02/2013
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I drove over 100 mi. round trip to find this tent. We have been searching for a new tent to do our camping in and stumbled onto it. I myslef fell in love with it. I searched everywhere for this and it was nowhere to be found. Out of stock on line, no stores had it on their shelves except one. We called them and by some miracle they had the only one left in our region. Long story short... we bought it and I drove as fast as I could to get it home and set it up. It was all and more I expected it to be. With a few simple modifications to the frame assembly it will be the envy of Assateauge Island State Park this summer. If you are looking for a large tent for the family, this is the one. You will be glad you bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Ozark Trail 10' x 10' Instant Straight Leg Canopy / Gazebo
4.3 out of 5(248)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

ONE OF THE BEST TENTS I HAVE EVER OWNED

01/14/2013
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single 51-year-old woman who loves to travel and camp. This past summer I stayed by myself in a nicer quality campground in Rapid City, South Dakota for the Sturgis Bike Rally. After carefully selecting a campsite large enough for this unit, I laid down heavy duty tarps in order to create a footprint. I then read the instructions and was able to set it up (all by myself) for the first time in a little less than 45 minutes. The key is to put together just the roof frame, attach the tent with the provided hooks to the appropriate locations, install and attach the rainfly, and THEN insert the frame legs to raise it. I learned from past experience to use heavy duty stakes with every tent, as they do provide more stability than the ones that usually are included with a tent. I made sure that each and every stake was pounded into the ground as far as they could go before attaching the tiedown cords for the tent and rainfly.
Inside, I used five sets of plastic collapsible shelves (about $13.00 a set at Walmart) for storing everything from clothes to kitchen items. My site included electrical outlets, so I conveniently ran long outdoor extension cords through the tent to power all appliances and equipment.
There were two folding lounge chairs in the front room (complete with detachable footrests), two sets of shelves, a floor lamp and the television. In the corner room, I slept on a very comfortable double height queen size air mattress with a collapsible queen size frame underneath, and set up a set of the shelves in the corner. The room was so large that I was still able to walk around the bed. My 10,000 btu air conditioner with remote fit quite nicely in the floor level vent on the side of the tent, and kept me quite comfortable even during the hottest time of the day. The third room was equipped with a 4.2 cf mini refrigerator and microwave set atop two sets of shelves, and a folding table and four small folding chairs. Even with all the equipment inside the tent, I still had more than enough room to move around. In fact, I stayed in it over a month after the Rally ended because I had so much fun. Yes, folks, I really "roughed" it!!
As always happens at the Sturgis Bike Rally, several severe storms with high winds, hail and pounding rain passed over the camp. NOT ONE DROP OF WATER came inside the tent, and the frame stood miraculously unfazed, even in 40 mph+ winds. Nothing ripped, tore or otherwise failed to meet my expectations. I was even able to use the "porch awning" as a mini carport by parking my full size SUV under it!!
When camping with any tent, care must be used to pick out a site that will provide some stabiity and protection against the elements. After all, they are NOT RVs and therefore do not offer the same comforts of such. Common sense dictates that a big unit like this one cannot be set up out in the middle of a field with no trees to shield it during a storm. It is also important that ALL of the tiedowns are tightly secured to the stakes, which are to be firmly pounded into the ground several inches. Without these precautions, many of the problems outlined in other reviews will occur. The larger the tent, the more care should be taken to ensure that it will remain safely intact.
In summary, I HIGHLY recomment this tent, especially for families. It is a tremendous value for such a roomy, quality item and, if properly cared for as outlined above, should provide many years of fun and excitement.
Thank you for reading my review!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 67 total reviews