Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%65 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great family tent

04/24/2013
By ,
hurlock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First let me start off by saying this thing is huge. We bought it online and had it shipped to store to save on the shipping. we picked it up today and me and the wife put it up in 1 hour. Im hoping we can cut that in half but we will see. I will say that i watched the video that is linked to the tent here on walmart.com and the way those two people put it up is not the way the instruction says to. I had done alot of research and had some what of an idea on how to put it up well so i thought. But all in all its not that hard it just takes time and two people who know what they are doing lol. I just bought the coleman seam sealer that other has said to in order to make sure of no leaks when it rains. I just hope it goes back in the bag some what like it came out. HAPPY CAMPING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
05/21/2013
By ,
Saginaw, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An impressive tent. Have not weather tested it yet. Set it up in the backyard. Can be set with one person just go slow. Put the rain fly on the tent with the side poles standing on the first section. Then raise the poles connecting one section at a time to each pole. Outstanding room inside and love all the windows. Patio is a bonus. Plenty of height inside to stand. Useable space inside is 7 ft x 7 ft per each of the three sections.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

great tent in good weather

09/11/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have camped in this tent 4 weekends with my family now. This tent is huge...the kids love having their own room! Setup was really difficult the first time. I recommend setting up at home! The first time I set it up I drew myself a color coded diagram. Now it stays in the tent bag and makes setup so much easier...within 30min the kids (age 6&8) and I can have it set up. Fair weather weekends it is perfect. We love sleeping under the stars with the big mesh roof and no rainfly. Rainy weekend's are another story...this tent is not well designed for downpours! We didn't get much rain in the tent. A couple drops from the roof and some in the side seams (I did not use waterproofing seal). But the porch in the rain collected water! We had heavy downpours for about 20min and I had to go out and dump the roof every few min so the poles didn't snap. Eventually I took the roof down and folded it in triangular but because of how it's built it still collected water. Made for a long, rainy night. I suggest a tarp tied above the tent if its going to pour! Overall I'm still happy with my purchase, and its still the biggest, coolest, most talked about tent at every campground. I'll just go more prepared next time!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Good tent for groups

04/07/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You definitely need several people to put this tent up. Also, this tent can be used without stakes, but I highly recommend not leaving them out. It is much more secure and a moderate or strong wind will really move it around - not something you can sleep through.
We used this for Boy Scout trips and the boys like setting it up - though it does take a long time.
Comes down quickly and *barely* fits in the carrier.
Set up the fly every time - helps keep it stable....tent is a bit top-heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

I would buy again.. very nice tent for the money!!

06/04/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is very nice and extremely large. My daughter wanted to have a birthday party/camp trip with her friends so it was a good excuse for me to by a larger family tent to use in the future. I was amazed at its size and versatility.
ASSEMBLY – really is a 2 person job, but I did it myself in about an hour once I figured out the frame configuration. I would recommend getting three 8x10 5mil tarps to lay out underneath to prevent possible tears in floor or possible wet ground. I laid the tent out and then began assembling the roof frame. The poles are color coordinated dots to the connectors which make for easy assembly, once you figure out how it lays out. Once I had the frame assembled I began constructing the legs (partially)… very important not to extend the legs until you have the tent and roof connected to the frame. Once I had that assembled I attached the tent to the frame. The poles will be much more secure once you get the tent attached to it so don’t worry so much if they come a part a little during construction. I then applied the roof canopy… once that was completed I extended the legs and the tent was perfect.
Stakes – they are cheap so I purchased 3 packs of 8 heavy plastic… paid off in the end and only cost about $10. I used the stakes that came with the tent to hold down the roof canopy strings… made the tent much more stable since it is not really a dome tent. The extra 10-15 min to set up the extra stakes was well worth it as the tent was very sturdy
INSIDE – very roomy and had 3 shelf adders which made it nice. The room of the tent is mesh which keeps it well ventilated and the roof/rain cover keeps out the weather and sun.. plenty of large windows all throughout the tent. I heard some people complain there were latches to hold the doors open, but no latches to hold the windows… seemed like a silly complaint because you will notice the windows zip down and not up… they leave an extra pocket at the bottom so you can just roll the open window into the pocket to keep out of the way. Two large zip up doors also work great. We used the back room for girls to change in privacy. The walls are thin, but surprisingly keeps the tent warm at night.
OCCUPANCY - This tent says it sleeps 12 but it could easily hold more… my daughter and her friends (10 total) easily slept in two of the rooms and my wife had a Queen sized Cot/Mattress from Colman (very handy and nice to have) set up in the 3rd room…. Still had plenty of room left over. This could easily hold 12 full grown adults with no problem
AC – the tent does have an AC slot at the bottom in the back which is laughable since the roof is mesh, but I can see if it is really hot and you have small children you want some cool air blowing in… it is a nice feature to have. The mesh zips up so you can close it off when not using to keep critters out.
TEAR DOWN – much easier to tear down for sure, but make sure you keep track of the poles and connectors… there are a lot of them and it would be very easy to leave one behind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ok could use a few more small features

01/06/2013
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top lets heat out in winter and not really any good place to hang a lantern. Otherwise seems to be a good product only more time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Tent for Family Camping

05/01/2012
By ,
College Station, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to purchase this tent for a spur of the moment family camping trip after realizing that our family of 5 was not going to fit comfortably in our 6-person tent anymore.
We were amazed that a tent of this size was so reasonably priced, but worried that we would be sacrificing some quality because of it. That honestly was not the case! During our trip we had 90 degree weather, rain, wind gusts up to around 40+ mph, and even a couple of 40 degree nights. This tent held up to ALL of it and kept us warm when needed, cool when needed, and most importantly, DRY!
There are windows everywhere, a big screen door connected to one of the rooms, and a standard door attached to the other room, with dividers that could be used between all 3 rooms. There are also little corner shelves and wall pockets in each room for storing things. The top of this tent is entirely made of mesh, which definitely helped with circulation and keeping the tent fairly cool during the hot days. The roof covering went on fairly easily and held, even with the high winds we had. We were extremely grateful for that since we had a thunderstorm pop up in the middle of the night. We stayed completely dry, not a drop of water made it in anywhere. It was fairly noisy from the roof cover and walls flapping everywhere from the wind, but we survived and so did our tent!
As far as putting it together goes, we had 2 of these to put up for our trip; the 1st tent took longer than the first since we'd never done it before. About an hour + for 3 girls to set up the first one. The 2nd tent was put up by a group of about 6 or so people and only took around 20-30 minutes.
One thing to note is that this material is fairly thin. Make sure you pack a tarp to lay down first. We forgot ours and unfortunately 1 of the tents had a hole poked through the bottom from some big weed in the ground. The same tent also had one of the tie-downs for the roof covering tear, but I honestly think that was a combination of user error and trying to put up a tent in such high winds. The only other issue we had was with the zipper on the canvas door that covers the big screened area. I don't know if it was from overuse by kids or what, but the zipper separated and could not be re-threaded, so we can no longer zip that big door and have already talked to Walmart about exchanging our tent since we only got 1 weekend out of it.
Other than those couple of things, this tent is excellent and I would definitely recommend it to others who camp in groups or as a family, and want a large tent but not the large cost. We were able to fit a Queen size air mattress, a play pen, and 2 twin air mattresses, along with all of our belongings in this tent and still had room for more and to move around too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+276points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Thanks for picture
Posted 06/05/2012
Thank you for posting a picture with your review. Your setup looks great! It really puts it into perspective for me. I was wondering how tall it is. I'm 5'8" tall and would not like to hit the ceiling. Thanks again. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Riviera Beach, Fla
THIS TENT HAS SO MUCH ROOM
Posted 05/28/2012
This tent has so much room. We were on our 33rd year wedding anniversary. We wanted to do something fun and less costly and we wanted our son age 15, and our two grand daughters and our small two great granddaughters to come with us , because they never been camping before. The bigger children were so amazed how large the tent was and that they had their own room. The windows in the tent was great it was like looking out of our own windows at home. It did not take us long to put it up, we just had to study the directions. The air flow was wonderful. We brought with us some heavy stakes they were better than the ones that came with the tent. The older children close their room off for their privacy. I really recommend this tent. We looked so good at the campgrounds. We looked like the the Big House On The Hill.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 28 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Value for a Great Tent

08/10/2013
By ,
Rowlett, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unless the people who gave this thing bad reviews were missing or received broken pieces initially, I think they didn't know what they were doing b/c this tent is great.
Everything was labeled correctly. Used the tent twice and put it up myself once in 35 minutes. With the familys help - 15 minutes.
Since the tent had a A/C port and we were camping in 100+day/78night temps we purchased a 5k BTU window A/C for it. Soooo glad we did. Kept us cool at night so we slept like babies. Just for kicks I tried it during the day (we were always out and about so it didn't really matter#, it kept it cooler, but not real comfortable.
I can't comment on how it does w/ wind and rain b/c we didn't have any, but after reading all the other reviews I think it would perform very well.
Packing the tent back in its container #which I'm impressed with as well#. My kids don't take the time to get everything as flat as possible #all the air pockets out of material) as they should. That being said, it still fit back into the rolling container.
Very happy customer. I had to travel 100 miles to pick this up at the only Walmart I could find that had it. I would do it again in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love This Tent!!

06/27/2013
By ,
Batesburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely love this tent. The space for the air conditioner is very nice and definitely an added feature. The quality is very good and it's not that bad to set up. However you do need at least 2 people to set it up. We also love the three rooms. We had 4 adults and 3 children sleeping in this tent and still had plenty of room. My husband and I are in our 40's and I swore I would never sleep in a tent but I don't regret this at all. We believe that it's perfect for a family. It is perfect for a family of 4. Parents in one room, kids in another, then the third room is good for a table. Perfect place to hang out if it's raining during your camping trip. I would definitely recommend this tent to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Just like a cabin!

07/16/2012
By ,
Alexandria, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent with hopes of being able to stand up and change inside comfortably, we absolutely can. This not only has more height but space as well. We have 3 children and they have their own room and we have our own room and we have room for playing games in without the bugs getting to us. So far it has held up in rain and wind. It was very easy to put together once we figured out the color coding scheme. We would recommend that this tent be put up with two adults that can work well together because it is a process but super simple. We absolutely are satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love it

03/28/2013
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it, already put it up in the backyard for my girls and took it camping this past weekend. Really easy to set up after waching the video and very cool. Definitely set it up at home before camping just to get the procedure, not hard but become familiar with it.My two small girls loved it. Cant wait to use it some more. I hope it lasts a very long time, I can see our family enjoying this tent for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Most bang for your buck

05/19/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After all of the ribbing about bringing a house with us on our camping trip, most of my friends could not hid how envious they were! It was very easy and fast to set-up, especially with three or four people (I set it up by myself in less than 30 minutes). Had a pretty good storm come through the next day and we stayed high and dry! It was also very airy and we stayed very comfortable even during 80+ degree temps.
I do recommend you purchase a ground tarp large enough to cover the whole footprint (20x20) to prevent a possible puncture from a stick and so that you can better utilize the front "patio" area (which you can store in the same bag as the tent). Also, while the stakes they provide are OK, get the good 10" Coleman (or comparable) stakes for extra security.
I have not only recommended this tent to others, I helped a friend pick theirs up the next weekend after they camped with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great for family camping!

05/29/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family of 6 (3 generations) went camping for the first time over the Memorial day weekend. The tent was great. We had a little rain and the tent was big enough for some of us to sleep while others read or played cards. We stayed dry and the tent didn't move in the wind. Easy to set-up and take down. Can't wait for our next trip in 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Family Camping Tent

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tent! It was a quick set up with 2 people. We had 6 people and slept comfortably with one room just for storage. The front canopy gave great shade in the daytime and we stayed dry through a rain storm. The zippers are durable, and the instructions were easy to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love this tent!

05/08/2013
By ,
Springville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this tent. We took it camping at Stone Mountain a couple of weekends ago. My husband and I put it together when we first got it to make sure we understood how to do it. It has gotten easier and quicker each time we put it together. With 2 people doing it, it takes maybe 15 min. I like that it has 3 separate rooms. We have had a large tent before that had hanging "dividers" that made it into a 3 room tent. But this tent truly has 3 separate rooms. We have a 14 year old boy and a 3 year old girl so each has different needs. We put our 3 year old in the inner corner room as it did not have a door and she didn't need one. Our son had his own door in and out as did we. It has a "power pocket" which we didn't find until we took it down and a little zippered area to put an a/c if you were so inclined. Our 3 year old thought it was her "escape" door just for her! We had heavy rains our 2nd night there so it weathered through with no leaks. I can't find anything to complain about with this tent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
05/29/2013
By ,
Xenia, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family which consists of two boys, my husband, and I, absolutely loved camping in what we called our camping condo. There is really nothing to complain about. Great space and set up. The set up is easy once you get going with it. My husband was able to set it up by himself in 20 minutes after a few times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

VERY impressive!

06/02/2013
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I drove over 100 mi. round trip to find this tent. We have been searching for a new tent to do our camping in and stumbled onto it. I myslef fell in love with it. I searched everywhere for this and it was nowhere to be found. Out of stock on line, no stores had it on their shelves except one. We called them and by some miracle they had the only one left in our region. Long story short... we bought it and I drove as fast as I could to get it home and set it up. It was all and more I expected it to be. With a few simple modifications to the frame assembly it will be the envy of Assateauge Island State Park this summer. If you are looking for a large tent for the family, this is the one. You will be glad you bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Color to Color

11/22/2013
By ,
lake butler, florida 32054
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The easiest way to set it up is to watch the video and just match the colors up. They start you out and you can pretty much handle the rest. Very durable, through a wind storm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love it!

03/07/2013
By ,
West Palm beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is quick and easy to put up with two people. It is an amazing tent! So much space! I always had dome tents and I love that you can stand up in this tent. We were the hit of the campground. We had to give a couple of tours of the tent. Buy this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

excellent family camping tent

04/25/2013
By ,
dunkirk,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my family loves this tent,takes 2 -4 people to put it together the 1st time,after that it takes only 2..lots and lots of room,the quality of this 3 room cabin tent is excellent,very well made,must make sure your camping spot is big enough to fit this tent due to its size,it survived a severe thunderstorm w/ high winds and downpours,stayed put,NO LEAKS inside @ all,I would recommend this tent to anyone...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 67 total reviews