Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%65 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Tent for Family Camping

05/01/2012
By ,
College Station, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to purchase this tent for a spur of the moment family camping trip after realizing that our family of 5 was not going to fit comfortably in our 6-person tent anymore.
We were amazed that a tent of this size was so reasonably priced, but worried that we would be sacrificing some quality because of it. That honestly was not the case! During our trip we had 90 degree weather, rain, wind gusts up to around 40+ mph, and even a couple of 40 degree nights. This tent held up to ALL of it and kept us warm when needed, cool when needed, and most importantly, DRY!
There are windows everywhere, a big screen door connected to one of the rooms, and a standard door attached to the other room, with dividers that could be used between all 3 rooms. There are also little corner shelves and wall pockets in each room for storing things. The top of this tent is entirely made of mesh, which definitely helped with circulation and keeping the tent fairly cool during the hot days. The roof covering went on fairly easily and held, even with the high winds we had. We were extremely grateful for that since we had a thunderstorm pop up in the middle of the night. We stayed completely dry, not a drop of water made it in anywhere. It was fairly noisy from the roof cover and walls flapping everywhere from the wind, but we survived and so did our tent!
As far as putting it together goes, we had 2 of these to put up for our trip; the 1st tent took longer than the first since we'd never done it before. About an hour + for 3 girls to set up the first one. The 2nd tent was put up by a group of about 6 or so people and only took around 20-30 minutes.
One thing to note is that this material is fairly thin. Make sure you pack a tarp to lay down first. We forgot ours and unfortunately 1 of the tents had a hole poked through the bottom from some big weed in the ground. The same tent also had one of the tie-downs for the roof covering tear, but I honestly think that was a combination of user error and trying to put up a tent in such high winds. The only other issue we had was with the zipper on the canvas door that covers the big screened area. I don't know if it was from overuse by kids or what, but the zipper separated and could not be re-threaded, so we can no longer zip that big door and have already talked to Walmart about exchanging our tent since we only got 1 weekend out of it.
Other than those couple of things, this tent is excellent and I would definitely recommend it to others who camp in groups or as a family, and want a large tent but not the large cost. We were able to fit a Queen size air mattress, a play pen, and 2 twin air mattresses, along with all of our belongings in this tent and still had room for more and to move around too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+276points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Thanks for picture
Posted 06/05/2012
Thank you for posting a picture with your review. Your setup looks great! It really puts it into perspective for me. I was wondering how tall it is. I'm 5'8" tall and would not like to hit the ceiling. Thanks again. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Riviera Beach, Fla
THIS TENT HAS SO MUCH ROOM
Posted 05/28/2012
This tent has so much room. We were on our 33rd year wedding anniversary. We wanted to do something fun and less costly and we wanted our son age 15, and our two grand daughters and our small two great granddaughters to come with us , because they never been camping before. The bigger children were so amazed how large the tent was and that they had their own room. The windows in the tent was great it was like looking out of our own windows at home. It did not take us long to put it up, we just had to study the directions. The air flow was wonderful. We brought with us some heavy stakes they were better than the ones that came with the tent. The older children close their room off for their privacy. I really recommend this tent. We looked so good at the campgrounds. We looked like the the Big House On The Hill.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Expensive but grandkids worth it

01/29/2013
By ,
miami, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
grandkids enjoyed their camping. relatively easy to put together, but needed more than the 2 people it said on video...more like 4 people.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

FAIR WEATHER TENT......

07/20/2013
By ,
PALM HARBOR,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent was nice, but the rain fly is not strong enough to handle any kind of wind. If you have a sunny day or light rain you will be fine, but this tent turns into a parachute in the wind, and should have a couple of blow out flaps for heavy wind to escape. The roof of the tent under the fly is mesh screen, which kind of defeats the purpose of having an air conditioning unit flap. Although my air conditioning unit did make a slight difference in temperature in the one area of the tent, it wasn't cool enough to warrant bringing the unit. I wish the tent was a bit more heavy duty...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is important to find natural protection at a campsite in case of severe weather BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees.
During the two months I camped last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, several severe storms with 40+ mph winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I heard a storm was on the way, I checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground. The frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what it was designed to do. Not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect either. Again, using common sense is a must and a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality, style or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a shady and protected campsite. A small 5,000 btu unit won’t work; at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit is necessary. Further, the mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air out through the mesh. My tent remained 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside air.
If you want a unit with “absolute” stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass, curved and flexible. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Seattle, Washington
Posted 07/21/2013
This is a high profile tent with a rigid, straight line frame. It is imperative that you consider what natural protection a campsite can offer in case of severe weather and high winds BEFORE erecting a tent. It is not fair to negatively assess the durability of a large cabin style tent like this (or of any other style, for that matter) if it was erected in an area with few or no trees close by.
I camped for two months last year in Rapid City, South Dakota, starting the month of August. Several severe storms with 40 plus mile per hour winds, hail and heavy rains rolled through the area. When I realized a storm was about to hit, I double checked all of the tie downs around the tent to ensure that they were still taut and secure. I removed the pole that suspended the rainfly over the porch area and staked the material directly to the ground, then rode the storm out from inside the tent. Yes, obviously the frame flexed and shook during high winds, but that is what they are designed to do. The heavy rain drained easily off the roof of the tent -- not one drop of water leaked inside! I did not experience any "parachute" effect from the rainfly either. Again, using common sense and forethought will essentially divert a disaster, which is a good rule of thumb with ANY tent, regardless of brand, price, quality or size.
As for the air conditioner, again, make sure you select a campsite with adequate shade and protection from direct sunlight. Also, a small 5,000 btu unit is not adequate; therefore, I strongly recommend using at least a 10,000 or 12,000 btu unit. Further, the fact that the tent has a mesh roof is inconsequential, since the heavy cold air from the air conditioner will "push" the hot air up and out through the mesh. The inside of my tent was approximately 15 to 20 degrees cooler than the outside, which made it quite comfortable to relax and watch television.
If you want a unit with almost absolute stability under windy conditions, then purchase a dome design. The poles are usually fiberglass and are quite flexible, rounded and curved, thereby offering greater stability. However, dome styles sacrifice ceiling height and storage space. It is up to the individual needs of the purchaser to decide what is more important to them.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 24 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Awesome tent!

06/08/2013
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent at great price. This tent is spacious, each room is about 8x8. Queen size mattress fits with plenty of room to walk and unpack your stuff. I am not an expert camping, the last time I camped was about 15 years ago, this tent took me - without a second person - about 15 minutes to put together, and about 10 minutes to pin it down. The instruction manual is not clear, but honestly, you don't need one. Just plug the color coded metal poles into whatever it matches and you will have a tent setup in minutes. A lot of windows and a nice canopy to shade the sun off while you're relaxing sipping your cup of coffee. Don't plan to take it out on a cold day, the heat will escape through the ceiling screen. The weather was perfect so I can not judge on how it will hold against the wind, but looks pretty sturdy to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

great tent in good weather

09/11/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have camped in this tent 4 weekends with my family now. This tent is huge...the kids love having their own room! Setup was really difficult the first time. I recommend setting up at home! The first time I set it up I drew myself a color coded diagram. Now it stays in the tent bag and makes setup so much easier...within 30min the kids (age 6&8) and I can have it set up. Fair weather weekends it is perfect. We love sleeping under the stars with the big mesh roof and no rainfly. Rainy weekend's are another story...this tent is not well designed for downpours! We didn't get much rain in the tent. A couple drops from the roof and some in the side seams (I did not use waterproofing seal). But the porch in the rain collected water! We had heavy downpours for about 20min and I had to go out and dump the roof every few min so the poles didn't snap. Eventually I took the roof down and folded it in triangular but because of how it's built it still collected water. Made for a long, rainy night. I suggest a tarp tied above the tent if its going to pour! Overall I'm still happy with my purchase, and its still the biggest, coolest, most talked about tent at every campground. I'll just go more prepared next time!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great family tent

04/24/2013
By ,
hurlock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First let me start off by saying this thing is huge. We bought it online and had it shipped to store to save on the shipping. we picked it up today and me and the wife put it up in 1 hour. Im hoping we can cut that in half but we will see. I will say that i watched the video that is linked to the tent here on walmart.com and the way those two people put it up is not the way the instruction says to. I had done alot of research and had some what of an idea on how to put it up well so i thought. But all in all its not that hard it just takes time and two people who know what they are doing lol. I just bought the coleman seam sealer that other has said to in order to make sure of no leaks when it rains. I just hope it goes back in the bag some what like it came out. HAPPY CAMPING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Awesome tent

05/20/2013
By ,
melbourne,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews from others who had bought this great tent before I was a little worried it was going to be a pain to put together, but it was easy. The very first time we put it together it took 25 mins. After the 2nd time it took 15 mins. This is a awesome tent for the money. Could not be happier.
One thing and the only thing that I was not pleased with is that there are about 8 points on the tent where they did not add hooks to the string that ties to the roof poles!! We went to lowes and bought 8 hooks(2.00 a bag) and tied the strings to the hook and hooked them to the poles. Could of add the hooks it wouldn't of broke the bank for the tent maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great tent

06/04/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't camped in years and the last time I did it rained. We were soaked and so was everything in our tent. The tent was untimately ruined by the storm and we
Had to purchase a new one to camp this time. My first purchase right after was camp dry and
Seam sealer. I was not taking any chances. My fiancé decided that because it said waterproof in the box that it was unnecessary to take it out, set it up and prepare it for our trip. I believe some laziness was involved in that decision but I thought hey he can learn the hard way! We went camping and had torential storms two nights in a row ( I think they follow me). Each morning I expected
To wake up to several inches of water and was amazed to find only a tsp Amt in two corners of the tent. Needless to say my fiancé got the last laugh. Only partially negative thing about this tent was set up. A little hard first time up but a cake walk after you figure it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Just like a cabin!

07/16/2012
By ,
Alexandria, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent with hopes of being able to stand up and change inside comfortably, we absolutely can. This not only has more height but space as well. We have 3 children and they have their own room and we have our own room and we have room for playing games in without the bugs getting to us. So far it has held up in rain and wind. It was very easy to put together once we figured out the color coding scheme. We would recommend that this tent be put up with two adults that can work well together because it is a process but super simple. We absolutely are satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Well Worth It

07/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just returned from a camping trip and I love this tent, very spacious and comfortable. You will need at least two adults with patience to set this tent up but once you get it together it is very nice. It took us atleast and hour or so(first time set up). It rained friday night and not even a drop of rain entered the tent and we didn't even use tent sealer. Well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

EVERYONE loved our "mansion"

11/22/2012
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was easy to set up. There is a small bag with stakes wrapped in with tent. We missed it and had to buy stakes, found it when we took down tent. less than 30 min to put up and 15 min to take down. All the poles and brackets are color coded. THe brackets are attached to the tent so put down a tarp (we heard from everyone that is a good idea to keep you dry and prevent accidental tears.. and it's easier to clean tarp than tent) and then lay out the tent THEN it will be easy to see where to attach the bars. We bought extended replacement coverage, just in case. We had hard winds and some rain, did worry it would blow around, but didnt budge--- some tents in our cub scout camp were upside down in the morning! It did rain off and on, we were completely dry. The windows can be left as open screens or zipped closed as much as you'd like. There are tie backs to keep doors and window screens open. there is a covered porch area. Was me and 5 kids and we had PLENTY of room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Big Bertha excellent tent

05/24/2013
By ,
york sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in love with this tent 100%! It took my husband and I maybe 15 minutes to assemble, completely doable with only one person it may take 20-30 minutes. Tent is huge! storage racks are wonderful and ac hole is great as well. the only thing that I have to say is that I was a little mislead by the measurements on the web, but thinking about it it makes sense. I didn't realize the 16 x 16 measurement included the poarch area. thats the only thing and it was my own fault. We sealed the tent but haven't slept in it yet we are going camping at the beach in a few weeks and I will let you know then. Also you know how its almost impossible to get a tent back in the bag.... they made the bag to expand by about three inches to account for that we had no problem getting it back in. Love this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

I love the room it has and the air flow!

03/24/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two boys love that they have their own "rooms". I love the space. My sister-in-law has camped with us in it. one room had two twin beds the other rooms had queen beds. still room to walk from room to room. I am 5'10 and can stand up in the tent with room above my head.The top cover is actually about 6-8 inches above the top of the tent (completely mesh) so there's even more airflow then you get with the big windows. GREAT for the Oklahoma humidity, and when it rains we have plenty of space out of the rain. A/c vent is a joke (fyi) but our kids think it's a cool escape hatch. Who wants to hear a noisy air conditioner? We put our ice Chest in the v between the two doors, loved it! Had constant shade. We had people from other camps wanting to come up and check out our tent. Not for cold weather camping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

love it

06/26/2012
By ,
delafield,wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first when we opened up the tent bag I was worried but once we started to put up the tent we realized how nice it is,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

ONE OF THE BEST TENTS I HAVE EVER OWNED

01/14/2013
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single 51-year-old woman who loves to travel and camp. This past summer I stayed by myself in a nicer quality campground in Rapid City, South Dakota for the Sturgis Bike Rally. After carefully selecting a campsite large enough for this unit, I laid down heavy duty tarps in order to create a footprint. I then read the instructions and was able to set it up (all by myself) for the first time in a little less than 45 minutes. The key is to put together just the roof frame, attach the tent with the provided hooks to the appropriate locations, install and attach the rainfly, and THEN insert the frame legs to raise it. I learned from past experience to use heavy duty stakes with every tent, as they do provide more stability than the ones that usually are included with a tent. I made sure that each and every stake was pounded into the ground as far as they could go before attaching the tiedown cords for the tent and rainfly.
Inside, I used five sets of plastic collapsible shelves (about $13.00 a set at Walmart) for storing everything from clothes to kitchen items. My site included electrical outlets, so I conveniently ran long outdoor extension cords through the tent to power all appliances and equipment.
There were two folding lounge chairs in the front room (complete with detachable footrests), two sets of shelves, a floor lamp and the television. In the corner room, I slept on a very comfortable double height queen size air mattress with a collapsible queen size frame underneath, and set up a set of the shelves in the corner. The room was so large that I was still able to walk around the bed. My 10,000 btu air conditioner with remote fit quite nicely in the floor level vent on the side of the tent, and kept me quite comfortable even during the hottest time of the day. The third room was equipped with a 4.2 cf mini refrigerator and microwave set atop two sets of shelves, and a folding table and four small folding chairs. Even with all the equipment inside the tent, I still had more than enough room to move around. In fact, I stayed in it over a month after the Rally ended because I had so much fun. Yes, folks, I really "roughed" it!!
As always happens at the Sturgis Bike Rally, several severe storms with high winds, hail and pounding rain passed over the camp. NOT ONE DROP OF WATER came inside the tent, and the frame stood miraculously unfazed, even in 40 mph+ winds. Nothing ripped, tore or otherwise failed to meet my expectations. I was even able to use the "porch awning" as a mini carport by parking my full size SUV under it!!
When camping with any tent, care must be used to pick out a site that will provide some stabiity and protection against the elements. After all, they are NOT RVs and therefore do not offer the same comforts of such. Common sense dictates that a big unit like this one cannot be set up out in the middle of a field with no trees to shield it during a storm. It is also important that ALL of the tiedowns are tightly secured to the stakes, which are to be firmly pounded into the ground several inches. Without these precautions, many of the problems outlined in other reviews will occur. The larger the tent, the more care should be taken to ensure that it will remain safely intact.
In summary, I HIGHLY recomment this tent, especially for families. It is a tremendous value for such a roomy, quality item and, if properly cared for as outlined above, should provide many years of fun and excitement.
Thank you for reading my review!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent
01/15/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

excellent family camping tent

04/25/2013
By ,
dunkirk,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my family loves this tent,takes 2 -4 people to put it together the 1st time,after that it takes only 2..lots and lots of room,the quality of this 3 room cabin tent is excellent,very well made,must make sure your camping spot is big enough to fit this tent due to its size,it survived a severe thunderstorm w/ high winds and downpours,stayed put,NO LEAKS inside @ all,I would recommend this tent to anyone...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

1st Time Campers with Four Children

10/22/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing was awesome. Yes it was diffifult putting it together but once we figured it out, it was the talk of the camp yard. I would suggest you watch the video and set up the tent before your trip. We didnt and it cost us 5 hours in the dark of frustration. But with the fear of no shelter we kept at it until the peices made sense. The directions are straight foward, but like anything new and with lack of sun light we had issues. However once errected, it was spacious, felt like a little cabin. Plenty of air windows, yet once zipped plently of privacy from outsiders and the children if you get my drift. The handly hanging pockets for hats, socks, hicking boots was helpful. WE even had a portable toilet in there for those night time moments. We so enjoyed the porch, gazing on the warm days. Had no tears, no ground issues and we were on gravel with no extra tarp on the floor only blankets (but plan on getting a tarp for the additional moisture block next time. Nothing ripped and we had a 10, 8, and two 5 year olds. Plus another campers kid playing in the tent. Had Queen mattress in each room and 32quart tub with clothes in our room. Loved this tent, cant wait to use it again. We have a bet to see how fast we can get the tent up now since we know what were doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Great Family Tent! Plenty of Room & Privacy!

07/31/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is amazing! We decided to purchase this tent for several reasons. First, we were looking for a replacement for our old tent. Second, we wanted more space- headroom, sleeping areas, storage areas, a canopy, divided areas, etc. Third, we wanted total enclosure and rain protection. Fourth, the reviews were decent.
Despite some of the reviews which said it took forever to set up with experienced campers, we purchased it anyways! We are very pleased with our purchase! We did a trial set up at home first. It was simple. The directions are clear! Follow them. It makes things much easier. Unroll the tent and lay it out where you'd like it first. I'd recommend laying a tarp down under the tent for added protection from sticks, rocks, roots, branches, grass, etc. We used a 10 x 20 and an 8 x 10. We didn't put one under the awning area becuase it really isn't necessary. Then, set out all the color coded poles in groups. The poles are connected by metal, not cloth bungee material. Great feature!! They assemble quickly and simply. Next, connect the poles to the connectors on the tent. These too are color coded. Tip: Before raising the corner poles, put the rainfly on. It makes it much simpler to put on. The entire tent was up in less than 30 minutes for first time set-up with two people. We staked the tent to the ground, but did not use the strings attached to the rainfly to secure it. We didn't sleep in it during trial set-up in our backyard. Another tip: Waterproof your rainfly before you use it! It took 3 cans to generously spray the rainfly. Walmart sells them in shoe section for $6.75. It was well worth it. It rained lightly after setup but before putting the silicone spray on. The tent stayed dry. The water just beaded on the rainfly and ran off. But, experience has proven that waterproofing tents is always good! Take down of the tent is simple. Remember how you opened it! Fold the three 8 x 8 sections of the tent so it makes one. Then fold that into thirds and roll. It took about 15 minutes to tear down.
So, how did it do camping? Great! The second time, it went up in about 15-20 minutes. This time we even tied out the strings attached to the rainfly for security. Do the same for the awning. This secures it in rain or wind. Another tip: If windy or rainy, tilt the pole that holds up the awning towards the tent so the awning tilts/leans/angles towards the ground. Then stake it tightly. This prevents rain build-up, wind from getting under the awning and raising it like a parachute, and from strain on the seams. Using the tent was amazing!! It has tons of space. 2 zippered entrances- 1 D-door into main room, another T-style door into canopy area. The T-style door entry to the canopy area has a full outside covering with another completely separate T-style zippered mesh lining underneath. This allows for ventilation and light while still being screened in. Once inside, ther are 3 fully separate rooms- each separated by zippered D-doors. This allows for absolute privacy- exclusive of noise, of course. Each room has a hanging corner shelf with 3 shelves each. Each room has two windows that zip down with mesh outside linings. They even appear to have cross bars like real windows. The ceiling is completely mesh, which allows for ventilation, air flow, and breathability. But don't worry, the rainfly completely covers it. You'll stay warm and dry! There are hooks which attach to the roof poles that keep the mesh lining at least 6 inches from the rainfly over the entire tent. Really Nice!! Most rainflys touch the mesh which eventually leads to leakage in those areas. The entire floor, even in the canopy area, has a bathtub style tarp bottom which is connected to the tent. It comes up about 6 inches. This will keep the whole tent dry! Unlike other tents which have a canopy area, this one is actually completely enclosed. The bottom and the sides are attached to the tent. It can be used as a sitting room, a dining area, a sleeping area, a storage area, a pet area, an entrance area so as not to get the rest of the tent dirty.
How did it hold up? Well, one of the nights it got down to the low 40's. We all stayed warm. Another night it rained ALL night. We all stayed dry. Completely dry! Not one drip, not one leak. Every seam is taped. The mesh roof and the rainfly resembles a pitched roof! The water simply ran off the tent. I'm sure the waterproofing spray helped too. Another tip: Keep all bags, clothes, air mattresses, etc. away from the tent walls. This will help keep the tent dry and those areas eventually leaking water. It was also windy the same rainy evening. The straps secured the tent. It didn't waver. The awning stayed up. We did angle it downwards towards the ground for better wind and rain resistance. Headroom was great. I have tall boys- 6'2". They could stand with plenty of space. Even getting in and out of the tent was a breeze. You don't really have to bend. We did put our heavy duty tarps under the tent. Campsites always have debris on the ground or hidden surprises. Not a hole in the floor at all. Each room could comfortably fit a queen size air mattress in it along with luggage. We only used one queen in one room, a twin in another- which left tons of room, and we used the canopy area as an entry way, place for our stuff, a bucket for a toilet, misc. We camped with several families so our coolers, chairs, and table were elsewhere. If wanted, the canopy room has plenty of room for a card table, 4 chairs, coolers, bags, shoes, etc. The options with this tent are limitless!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room Cabin Tent

Love this tent.

07/13/2013
By ,
Waterford, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this tent for a one week camping trip for our family of 4. It was very spacious and extremely easy to set up. Myself and my 8 yr old daughter put it up for the first time in about 40 mins. The second time myself and my husband put it up in about 20 mins. We did spray the tent with waterproof spray just to be safe. We had 36 hrs of heavy rain and wind and not a single leak. I would recommend this tent to any family who wants some extra room while camping. Can't wait to go camping in it again :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 67 total reviews