Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

The RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU is all you need to enjoy Blu-ray discs, DVDs or online VUDU HD movies with an authentic home theater surround sound experience. It's also equipped with VUDU Apps and Pandora Internet Radio, so if you connect to the Internet via Ethernet you'll enjoy personalized online music streaming, stay connected with friends, get news, weather and much, much more. The system includes five speakers, subwoofer and full-function remote control. Its HDMI output provides a 1080p high-definition digital video signal to your TV while its AUX input can be used to connect AV equipment such as a cable or satellite box.
Average Customer Rating:
2.027 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation30%11 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Amazing sound and picture for bargain pricing!

02/27/2013
By ,
Sacto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a Friday night visit with some friends in which we watched a movie on their outdoor projector, my wife insisted that we get something like that. Our friends had gone first-class all the way with super high end equipment, but we weren't sure how it would work out for us or how we'd end up using it so we wanted to go cheap for starters, and then we figured we'd upgrade later if we got into it. After securing a used projector and a new screen from Amazon, I bought this RCA theater system from WalMart. I bought the cheapest blu-ray with amp and speakers I could find and the RTB10223 was the one.
I use the HDMI to connect the projector to the blu ray/amp, and wire up the speakers and subwoofer. We set everything up on our back patio deck, with the projector hanging from its mount on the pergola. I put screws in the supports to hang the surround speakers from. The sound quality was nothing short of amazing in less than ideal conditions. The picture quality is also astounding, but at 1080p, it should be.
We've used it many times since our initial purchase last September with zero complaints. If anything, it's too loud! I certainly don't see a reason to upgrade at this point, and for the value price, it has far exceeded my expectations. I consider it an excellent value for anyone who's looking for a cheap starter unit.
I haven't run a CAT-5/6 to it for network streaming, but I don't expect any issues based on it's DVD/blu ray performance so far. Also, we have only used it a few months outdoors only (we live in California), so I don't know how long it will hold up, but if it lasts a few years then I definitely will have gotten more than my money's worth out of it! Very pleased to say the least!
http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/178289_10152213468090451_194863665_o.jpg
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 2 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU
03/01/2012
By ,
illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a piece of junk....never had problems with rca products before but there is a first for everything i guess. ive had this for about 6 months and the tuner stopped working and when i called customer service about this...they treated me like i was an idiot asking me if the product was even plugged in. needless to say they wanted me to ship it to them so i did, and i payed for the shipping cause they wouldnt. i kept my shipping label and tracked it until it was delivered. i called the warehouse and they told me that the electronic piece that was inside was fried and they wanted 250 dollars to repair it...i said he** no. i asked them to send it back to me and they wanted me to pay for shipping once again. since then, i have replaced all rca products with phillips products and have had very pleasant customer service when i cant figure something out.......hope this is very useful to whom ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+57points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denison
This unit does not come with a tunner!
Posted 04/09/2012
You have to read the instructions to get the most from this unit however i am somewhat confused about the tunner problem mentioned since it's only just a blueray dvd player with speakers and the ability to stream content from the internet, what tunner?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Terrible, look for something else

08/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this home theater in Dec of 2013. From day one it makes an awful grinding sound whether it's loading a movie or not. As time has went it has now progressed to making constant buzzing sound from the player at all times. The way it mixes sound is awful. Once you have the thing loud enough to hear the actors voices, the sound effects will blow you out of the room. I don't mind a little extra volume in a good action movie but this gets a little old. The surround works fine and properly if you run your regular tv channels sound through it and if you fool with the sound adjustments it sounds really good but the buzzing is obviously indicative of some engineering problem. I've ignored my problems until lately, Aug of 14, but after searching several ways it's apparent this is a constant problem with this model from other similar reviews detailing some of the same issues. Keep shopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

SYSTEM FREEZES UP, NO UPDATE AVAILABLE!

04/23/2012
By ,
Sherman
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The system freezes up after scrolling thru menu items such as Netflix movies and other browsing I think if they had went a step further and added a memory card of some type they would have prevented this by giving it the space to store the extra information. It seemed as if it filled up the memory space it had by browsing then had to be turned off and on again in order to be able to add a movie to queue or to just continue looking. Other then this drawback it seemed to work fairly well for the money spent. There were no firmware or software updates to get for this unit so it's likely to never perform right without the ability to store memory or do a system upgrade and the remote was very weak as well. I would have to say it's a bad move by RCA and a dud unfortunately, I had very high hopes for this system and especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Stay away from this unit!

02/07/2013
By ,
Randolph, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this unit and a new 50" smart LED TV and excitedly went home to set everything up. Within the first few minutes after set up as I was playing around with everything I realized the quality was horrible. The player makes a long "loading type of noise" every time you put a disc in. It is so slow, it freezes, you have to push the buttons on the remote several times before it does what you want. The remote stops working randomly and you have to restart the whole player do get it working again. When you shut the unit off, the picture stays on the screen even after it says its off/goodbye. I put a action movie in and the bullets and loud action parts sounded decent with the system up loud but the characters voices were cracking, so I couldn't watch the movie at high volume. I didn't check to see if I could adjust the sound levels but didn't bother because the remote is too frustrating. Had this unit for two days and will be returning it ASAP for a Samsung. Stay away!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

throwing it in the trash

03/25/2014
By ,
West Pittston, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this unit for about a month. it takes about 5 minutes to turn the unit on. It takes about a minute to switch sources. you have to hit "Open" several times to get the dvd door to open and a couple more times to get it to close. the rear speakers are way too loud and there is no way to adjust it. It only recognizes about half the blu ray movies I try to put in it. Of those it will only play about half of them the whole way through without locking up or skipping scenes. The built in apps have a horrible picture. it's very grainy and some of the movies only take up about half the screen because the resolution is so low. I have tried connecting directly to my network instead of wireless with the same results. I will be throwing this in the trash and going out tonight to buy a Sony or Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Features are useless when the system doesn't work!

03/13/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this theater system at a local Walmart. I was hooking up the speakers and noticed a rattling noise when I took the final speaker out of the box. I turned on the speakers and the one which had a loose part on the inside did not work. This Blu Ray player looked very promising in stores. I was hoping to enjoy the Blu Ray, Netflix, Vudu, internet, dvd, and radio. The Netflix ran so slow through this Blu Ray player that I turned it off and watched Nexflix on my Xbox. This will be returned tomorrow. I don't recommend wasting time and money purchasing this system. I suggest going to an actual electronics dealer and getting better quality merchandise. This is the last time I will buy major electronics from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bensalem PA
RTD 10223 Remote
Posted 10/22/2012
I purchased the Home Theater system on Sunday and on Tuesday had to replace the remote because it did not communicate with the receiver. Second remote was no better as it also failed to communicate with the receiver. After a week of frustration returned the entire system to store.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

No good!

04/21/2014
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this at local store about 2 months ago, it has been terrible since the beginning... First RCA cheaped out and didn't put pads on the bottom of the unit so it scratched our new solid wood entertainment center when we slid the player into the slot. It is so slow to do anything, 5 min start up to turn on, to switch functions, to load a Bluray, netflix etc.... Now it says that there is no internet connection available for netflix, when we have a connection that works for YouTube and pandora on this very device... Tried factory reset, checked all cords rebooted etc to no avail! Do not waste your money on this terrible product... Wish we would have gone with our gut and just bit the bullet for a pricier system!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+2points
Review 9 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Do not buy this system

04/19/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this system yesterday and I guess it's right that you get what you pay for. As soon as I got home, I was so excited to be able to watch movies on Netflix and listen to Pandora, but it took me forever to try and figure out how to even access these programs. I will try one more time tonight, but I think I'm going to just box it up and take it right back for a better one. There's also a loud noise coming from the box and it will not go away for anything. The only way you can tune the noise out is to turn the volume up loud enough so that you can't hear it. Setting up was quite simple, but the set up for netflix, pandora, etc. was horrible. The remote didn't even seem to work. The whole system runs slow. Save your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 10 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Not a good deal!

03/07/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this a year ago - nothing but problems. Slow to turn on, now it really won't turn on at all, sound is horrible quality! I am thanful I spent the $20.00 for the 2 yr service plan and all BUT I wish I would just have gone awhole different direction on this purchase - do NOT recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Review 11 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

RCA website access link

12/01/2012
By ,
Johnson City , NY USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RTB10223
http://1800customersupport.com/Products.aspx?p=114&view=704&sc=55
copy and paste the link above for RCA manuals and fixes online
I bought this item on dec/29/2012 and was careful to inspect the box for damage and to see that it was sealed closed. I unpacked everything and inspected it, then hooked it up on a table to check it out. The (5)speakers came with attached (tinned) wires more than long enough. It had a (wire)video cable included but I used an optical cable I bought to hook up the input of the blueray audio to the output of the TV audio. I bought a good HDMI cable to hook up the output of the Blu-ray palyer to the TV.
After everything was hooked up I turned on the TV than after 2 min. I turned on the Blu-ray player and waited another 2 min. I put the included batteries into the remote control and started using it. I had to set the TV up for digital sound (do not use auto as it causes problems) and set the picture to 1080p . I had to set the blu-ray up to match TV and used the quick guide .
The sound from the TV (5.1) going thru the RCA unit is really good compared to the TV sound alone and I only use about vol 30 on the blu-ray volume. The mute on the blu-ray works (when the TV speakers are turned off).
When playing a blu-ray disk the picture is excellent.
The remote for the blu-ray is slow, it takes about a 1 sec. to 2 sec. press of a button to get an action.
REMOTE is SLOW and is not user friendly !!!!!!!!
When powering up the blu-ray player it takes several seconds but you can read the display and see what is going on. After viewing menu items like netflix or vodo it takes a while to go thru power up again and then to go thru disk access.
I will return and write more on this review after I have had it for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Unit is Great!!!

05/28/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no idea what people are doing with these players but the unit I have works without a problem. I have a much nicer system downstairs in my home that has taken me years to build and hands-down it blows this away. However, at 180x the cost it should.
I placed this unit in my third bedroom which is used as a second den/Media room/Man Cave. The sound output is fantastic. I was worried that the small cube speakers would not sound good but for a room roughly 12x14 the sound is great. Video Playback from the BluRay or DVD portion works as expected. While there is a slight lag when navigating the menu it isn't major.
In all bang for the Buck you can't really go wrong..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

rca blu-ray home theater rtb 10223

09/01/2012
By ,
Stigler Ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this player for 8 months. Around the 5 month mark it started not wanting to play dvd's, now after 8 months you have to fight with it to get it to play blu-ray's. I am planing on returning this if I can.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 14 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU
09/23/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this in-store without doing any research. What a mistake!
If you want this system for playing dvd's with Dolby sound, the one I bought will do that just fine. I have no idea about blu-ray since I don't do that.
If you want this system for internet streaming, particularly Netflix, DO NOT BUY IT! Nothing but problems. I have had this system about a year and I have been on the phone with my ISP at least fifteen times a month for the whole period. Netflix freezes up all the time. I thought it was my ISP. I even called Netflix a couple of times because I thought it was them. Turns out it was this system the whole time. I know that because I bought a Roku streaming player and it is fantastic. Not one problem to speak of so far and it is lightning fast. A night-and-day difference from this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

TERRIBLE! DO NOT BUY!!!!

07/14/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not even sure how well this this works because it is SO user UNfriendly. The instructions are horrible and vague, there is no number to call. There is a web address in the manual that is supposed to give further help, but it only repeats what the manual says. I would give anything to take this back.
Also, although it advertises that it hooks up to netflix, vudoo, and youtube, keep in mind you have to use a cable to hook your player to your computer. It is not wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Review 16 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

I love it.

05/22/2012
By ,
Sedona, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think they have corrected the problems.
The first one I bought back in February 2012, I had to return because of problems starting DVD's, but after I returned it in March, the new one works great.
Every feature works. I really enjoy watching Netflix online movies using it in addition to DVDs.
The only distraction is the fan noise when it speeds up to cool it down after watching a movie for over an hour. It only lasts for about a minute
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 17 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

Dont waste your time or money

08/08/2012
By ,
Midwest USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RCA has really slid down the pipe.
This unit has a very loud cooling fan, specially noticeable in a bedroom setting.
Getting the unit to read blurays is an adventure all unto itself.
Save your time and money for a more quality unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

You get what you pay for, right?

04/07/2012
By ,
Denison
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In my opinion it's ok for the price if your on a budget as i was of course i would like more quality for the money but for that you have to pay the bucks to get it. It serves my purpose for now untill i can spend around a $1000.00 dollars then it will be obsolete! All in all for the money spent and going from nothing to this it's a good starter system for someone on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

This is JUNK

06/28/2012
By ,
mims, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this system for less than a year now and have had nothing but problems with it, I could not use any of the internet features it told me it was not hooked up to the internet but alas i was able to use netflix and pandora. it freezes up and locks out to the point where i have to shut it down just to unfreeze it and sometimes that will not work i have had to actually unplug it from the wall. half the time the open/close will not work. the netflix options were hard to manuver but we can do itjust fine on our xbox. So to put it bluntly DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and VUDU

I am so glad I bought this

06/13/2012
By ,
dallas texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Money well spent. I didnt know there was such a big difference in regular and blue ray, what a great picture and now i have sound that is surround, movies I cud not hear before , now its like im in a theater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next