Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Samsung Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

The Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera features a 2.7-inch LCD display for easy focusing and photo viewing. You can take detailed images and record HD videos with the 16MP sensor and 5x optical zoom. This LCD display digital camera has an Optical Image Stabilization feature that reduces blur caused by hand shake to deliver clear pictures. Create special effects with the HD video digital camera's Picture-in-Picture features like "Funny Face" and "Magic Frame."
Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation82%113 out of 138reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
77 Questions | 226 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great Camera With Extras!!!

10/11/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera the day before we left for Universal Studios when I realized my camera was not working. I immediately went to WalMart's website to look for a camera under $100 (including tax) and this was one of my three picks. I went to the store to actually hold them and check them out. In real life the camera is not as red as the pictures you see here online, it's more of a redish pink. That is the only thing I don't care for about the camera. If it was a richer red I would be 100% happy. Anyways the camera came with a 4 GB memory card, BONUS!!! And a rechargable battery that has a great battery life, another BONUS!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great Mini Camera Extra Features

11/05/2012
By ,
Southern,NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this camera for a few weeks now, and so far its done the job very impressed.
i have two kids and i am always taking pictures, my nikon broke a few months ago, i felt a piece of me was missing, i was so use to having my camera on hand. i so badly need this camera, i didnt want to miss out on precious moments.
the Color Red is ok, i wish i could have picked another color. 16 MP 5xzoomHD video ,this camera is little compared to other cameras i looked at and have had in the past, very light weight. Camera does have extra features not mention, of course panorama mode,picture in picture mode, 8 different magic frame mode(which i really liked a cool effect mode) and so forth. I love the fact that you can charge camera, i am not a fan of batteries too expensive you can charge from laptop or wall outlet. when take video you can zoom in and out while your still recording which was a plus too. you can change display on screen to suit your needs, has multiple delete to delete pictures.
things i don't like:
* camera uses MicroSD card
*camera doesn't have a record button on outside camera; you have to go to menu to find movie/record. i am so using to have a red record icon on my old cameras.
*Camera take a few seconds to take a picture on smart auto mode and take a few seconds to process picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Worst Camera I've Owned

01/30/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this cheap little camera for a trip to Vegas... it was such a piece of junk, I ended up taking pictures on my iPhone for the whole trip.
The picture quality was awful, even close up in daylight (SEE ATTACHED PICS TAKEN WITH THIS CAMERA) - if you try to zoom in or take pictures from a distance, the quality is even worse. Forget about taking night shots, even on the night setting - those were all blurry and dark.
I've owned a Samsung before - it wasn't great, but it got the job done... this camera, however, was a piece of junk. Don't buy it. Save yourself some time and go for a lower level Canon, which will still beat this one hands down.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

great little RED camera

01/02/2013
By ,
Darien,Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using my new camera for days now,everyday,and I find it very useful for anytime,anywhere shots.,it goes with me all over.,I love the wide angle shots,you just have to have those for the river, where I live.and to friends houses,I put a lot of them online and everyone just adores the new styles of pictures that i can take with it.I highly recommend this camera...go and get one now.,
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Darien,Georgia
update for my Camera
Posted 11/19/2013
it has been almost a year now,since i bought my little RED Camera,and it is still the best one I have ever owned.i have taken hundreds of pictures,deleted a lot and put a lot online,they just keep getting better,if you take a lot of pictures you will become somewhat of a photographer.this one camera is great for that.i highly recommend it for all to get,no money lost here...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

LOVE IT!

09/04/2012
By ,
Northwest, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a really expensive zoom lense camera which takes nice pictures, but it is a hassle sometimes to carry it around for every day outings because it is so big. I took a trip to Chicago with my family and wanted something easy to carry. I was looking at the more expensive point&shoot cameras, but they just weren't getting that good of reviews. So I looked hard and saw that this camera had one of the best ratings for cameras under $200. I am picky about wanting clear, crisp photos, so the reviews were an important factor in choosing one. Even though this camera was only $89, I decided to give it a try. I was very happy with the quality of the photos and the simplicity of using it. More expensive isn't always better. This is a perfect example of that theory. I love how petite it is too. It fits in my small purse and isn't bulky at all. I highly recommend this camera. Great quality, great photos, easy to use, compact and very affordable. I love it! I think you will too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great camera!

06/29/2012
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first day on vacation, our camera had a little spill onto the floor which broke the lens. We did a few minutes of research online, ran to Walmart early the next morning and grabbed the Samsung ST66. We crossed our fingers that it would be worth it. It was! We picked it up that morning and started snapping away! The pictures are actually superior to the camera that we broke (which was a more expensive one) and it is extremely user friendly.
On our previous camera, I took most of the pictures because it was a little difficult to navigate and my husband wasn't overly comfortable with it. The auto shoot on that camera was also horrible. However, we were passing the Samsung ST66 back and forth and taking pictures with no problems, and the auto shoot takes very nice pictures. I only had to do a few adjustments, and it was normally just to turn the flash off. At first I wasn't sure if you could shoot manually, but after a few minutes I figured out you could. But, I really haven't seen a huge reason to since the auto does such a good job.
This little camera is a great buy for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Excellent for the Price

05/20/2012
By ,
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for an inexpensive little camera for everyday use with 2 little children (who get their little hands on everything) for some time. I spent lot of time reading reviews for all cameras below $100. Most camera's had bad reviews and I've had cannon's in the past and with all of them I've had issues with them taking blurry pictures. I've also noticed that they were poorly made and fell apart easily. I didn't want to spend too much especially if the kids were taking pictures or playing around with the camera. So far this camera is lightweight and easy to use and takes nice pictures. I highly recommend this camera!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Samsung ST66

06/22/2012
By ,
Dwight, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good and easy to use camera. The battery life in this camera is beyond my expectation since I charged it once and after several days and several pictures it still shows the battery fully charged. It has several features not mentioned in description. The format of video is AVI which is very easy to work with. However, I think that in the description it mentioned that this camera needs an SD card for storage but that is wrong. This camera needs Micro SD instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great Camera!

11/09/2012
By ,
Flemington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent camera to have. Doesn't come with an SD (memory) card but just make sure to get a regular SD card and not a micro. I noticed someone else mentioned it requires a micro SD card but that's not the case.
The camera takes great quality pictures and video. For the price, it's a great deal! The shipping was so fast; wasn't expecting it to arrive to my house as quickly as it did.
For people that aren't tech savvy, don't worry-- this camera is easy to operate. All of the tools and options are straight forward. Out of all my past digital cameras that I've owned, this is my favorite by far. I suggest it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bentonville, AR
SD or Micro SD?
Posted 11/10/2012
Hello,
I bought this very same camera and it has a micro SD slot. I have it working with a micro SD card. How are you saying that you can use with a SD card?
It even mentions on the box that it requires a micro SD card. Thanks in advance!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Excellent Camera (TAKES MICRO SD MEMORY CARD)

12/07/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Sony 7.2 Mega Pixel Camera before this and had been looking around for a good camera. I bought this on Black Friday for an incredible deal but the full price is still an incredible price for this nice of a camera! The images are so super clear and it takes pictures very quickly. Even recording in HD is incredible! The "Smart Face Recognition" feature, when turned on, slows down the picture taking time (and that is my only negative comment about this camera.) I would definitely recommend this camera to any family looking to take tons of photos and little movies. It's been a really great camera for us and we just got it a couple weeks ago! This camera takes a MICRO SD MEMORY CARD!!! I'm not sure that is listed in its description and I made the mistake of buying a different memory card first and had to return it for a Micro SD card. I ended up purchasing a Sandisk 8GB Micro SD Memory Card for $12.88 at Walmart in exchange for what I first purchased and I can take up to 1,700 photos or 2 hours of video before I need to empty the camera! Excellent Value, Excellent Product, Excellent Price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great all around camera.

06/22/2012
By ,
Southern Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Intuitive controls. Picture quality is comparable to high end cameras. Has fast recovery time between pictures for a point-and-shoot camera. You can take 95% of all your pictures in the auto mode. It is a great camera to throw in your purse or bag and have handy at all times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Excellent cam for the price! Grab one right away!

11/10/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just picked up this camera as a backup camera to use when I don't feel like lugging around my D-SLR. I am amazed by its performance. For such small size, it delivers tremendously.
Pros:
- I picked up the red one. I like that it comes in different colors.
- It is so small and compact that it can fit comfortably and snugly even in the smallest of pockets. I can take it to any place where I want to hang out and cannot carry my D-SLR. It is just like a cellphone.
- Amazing and crisp 16MP picture quality. Smart mode works pretty well recognizing scenes. More so, the numerous scene modes work beautifully. It also has excellent wide angle coverage for landscapes. I am not much of a 'zoom' or 'crop' person, so 5X zoom is pretty neat for me.
- 720p video shoots some very nice quality videos.
- Lot of fun effects in both camera and video modes that you can explore and enjoy.
- Love the panorama mode.
- Battery lasts long enough for an occasion or a day out. I have not counted the shots on a single charge, however I have never run out of battery before I returned home.
- makes an excellent camera for beginners. Very intuitive and has help messages to work your way around different functions.
Cons:
- None so far. I am loving it.
This is an amazing performer and a beautiful looking camera and it is hard to find a camera with similar specs around the same price point. I would suggest to grab one while the deal lasts. Happy Holidays!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great Camera for the Price

07/28/2012
By ,
Oneonta NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a few digital cameras before. I like to upgrade to higher megapixels with new technology and that is why I made this purchase. A terrific value for the price. More than I expected. Also works with a Micro card and picture quality is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

SAMSUNG DG CAMERA

05/29/2012
By ,
Honolulu
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product...needed to replace lost camera and this is perfect!!! Only problem for me
is the added features just makes it more complicated for older users..ha, ha.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Insructions for use

08/24/2012
By ,
tijeras, nm
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am disappointed that this product did not come with instructions for such things as, filming, and working the camera. It came with mediocre instructions.
Anyhow, it's not wal-marts problem. They did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition
05/31/2012
By ,
Springfield,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome, works perfect meets all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Christmas Gift!

12/02/2012
By ,
Cape Girardeau, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did open this and check to make sure it was working properly for my daughter.There is nothing worse than a gift that doesn't work Christmas morning. My husband and I thought it was a great value. We did purchase the protection on it. Don't know if it's going to be a hit or not. Don't know if the coverage for breakage is good. Hopefully, we won't need it!
I can say that the camera looks user friendly. It's very slim, compact. The price was great. You DO NOT get the micro card w/ this , which I think, for <$7.00, the manufacturer is cheating us by not throwing this in. The box doesn't tell you what is included, another manufacturer defect.. If I were not vigilant about checking items before giving, this could be a disappointment. It WAS one of the only cameras to come w/ cords for charging and downloading to computer and batteries.
The case I bought seperate for a couple of bucks and its really nice. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Wonderful First Camera

06/24/2012
By ,
Red Lion,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It defintly went past my expectations.Great for anytime picture taking.Ecspecially night time photo's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

Great camera at a great price

10/29/2012
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The resolution is perfect. Very detailed and the 720p HD resolution for video is great. You will need a very fast card to make this happen. Wal Mart does carry the San Disk Ultra cards but that is the one I would recommend because they are realiable. I still have some I bought from San Disk 10 years ago that still work. The 32g cards run about $30.00. You can't get these capabilities out of the camera unless you purchase a high capacity memory card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung ST66 16MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom Lens, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Smart Face Recognition

description says SD card Slot not Micro Sd

10/20/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this camera to replace my old camera that broke. Description said that camera has an SD Card Slot, which is what my old camera had. In reality it has a Micro Sd card slot. I thought I would be able to use my old sd cards with this camera but was not able to. It was a nice camera but the description was misleading so I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next