Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

The Samsung HMX-F80 Flash Memory HD Camcorder features 1080i upscaling with HDMI output, allowing you to watch great homemade movies on your HDTV. It features 52x optical zoom and 65x Intelli-Zoom that brings distant objects closer for a perfect shot. Simply connect this 52x optical zoom camcorder by HDMI cable and you will see clear, life-like details. With its Record Pause Function, you can briefly pause while recording, yet still create one continuous file for easy uploading to social networking sites. This face detection camcorder features a 2.7-inch LCD that provides a clear picture of what you are shooting. This Samsung camcorder has a Smart BGM2 feature that allows you to add background music to your movies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%41 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Great Technology for the Price!

09/08/2012
By ,
Conifer, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an impulse buy. I was in Walmart to purchase more mini VHCs for the Canon Elura 70 I puchased for a trip to Walt Disney World in 2004. To my horror I later learned that the Canon only records photos onto the SDHC card and all videos record only onto cassettes. This was not a problem at the time but now it's a hassle to buy the cassettes and no non-commercial way to transfer each to a medium others can use. When I saw this camera in the store for $159 and found that it records right onto a media card, I was sold. I need the camera primarily to conduct interviews so I mostly use it mounted on a tripod. It takes patience to learn how to operate this camcorder and I agree with those that say the sound is on the weak side and the zoom is a bit fickle but still does the job. I'm still getting oriented but so far, I love the compactness and many useful features. I love being able to bring home the media card, insert it into my computer and make DVDs instantly! Great technology!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Nice camcorder for this price point

05/05/2012
By ,
Central NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't expecting broadcast quality video from a camcorder at this price. Meets my expectations and the video is quite good in good light. I don't shoot in poor light, so I don't know about the video there. The only thing I didn't like on the controls is that the backlight button is really easy to push by mistake due to it's location. Other than that, I am quite pleased with this camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Review 3 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

so far so good...

06/12/2012
By ,
Port Orchard 98367
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After many tape camcoders/combinations since 1983, this is my newest acquizition; Used to lug the bigger units around AND all of the big tapes too (missionary services to E Europe and Mexico); This promises to be the best yet--light, small HD, flash drive(4 gig now--6 later?) etc. Battery life for base battery seems good over 1hr plus. I use my units to capture church sermons and edit using Pinnacle/Avid 14 software, then launch to website! So far, so good!
Ray
...con: Tiny fonts for S/N and other graphics....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 4 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Inexpensive HD camera that gets most jobs done

05/22/2012
By ,
Woodbury Heights, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The short version of this: it's cheap, but does well. It's really just a nicer version of the HD video capability of your point and shoot camera or smart phone in a camcorder form factor. For more detail, read on:
I bought this camera a week ago in a pinch as I was asked to record the key moments of a wedding for my niece. I'm no videographer, but I did want something that shot in HD (although 1080p wasn't a requirement for me). I just wanted something that would shoot in HD and that would allow me to quickly allow me to get to the video files AND not set me back a car payment. This camera pretty much got the job done, even in very low light. Overall I'm pleased with the camera, here's a list of things that I liked: USB charging, shoots stills, face detection, stabilization, nice zoom, very light, clear LCD, simple USB-to-miniUSB cable and charger is easy/cheap to replace.
There are a few things you need to know, however. It has an extremely weak battery. I got about 45 minutes of battery life shooting with face detection and stabilization enabled. You can get bigger/better batteries as it shares the same battery type as the more expensive Samsung camcorders (IA-BP210E/EPP or IA-BP420E/EPP). Also, the autofocus struggles a bit in lower light. Face detection struggles with profiles, but excels with finding faces (portraits) in crowds. The LCD gets totally washed out in bright, direct sunlight; you'll have to trust your aim when the sun is over your shoulder.
Basically, this is a no frills type of camera. Really, it's about as good a camera as anything you already have in your point and shoot pocket camera. The benefit is the form factor of a camcorder and some extra features that you'd expect in a camcorder. It's 720p HD, so you'll get some very crisp video, especially in bright light situations. Here's an added side benefit of only being 720p: you can use a class 6 SDHC card and never worry about choppy video because of slow memory. 1080p cameras really need a class 10 card to shoot without any risk of choppy video, but at 720p speeds a class 6 card will do just fine (and are cheaper). Also, your video files won't be as big as a 1080p camera. Some video purists out there will probably argue the virtues of going 1080p, but if you're even considering this camera than you're probably not a videographer (or wannabe) and 720p is just fine. Don't confuse this with a pro quality camera or anything you might see in the $400+ range. But it really is the perfect balance of quality and value that you would want from a budget prices HD Flash memory camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 5 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection
04/20/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took this unit along with us on our 4 Wheeler ride this past weekend the video came out great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Review 6 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Very nice zoom in!

12/15/2012
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After returning a $159 camcorder from online, I got my money and bought this one in the store.
I really fell in love wtih this camcorder!! Very easy to work with and beginner friendly to any camcorder! Everything focus very good and I get very very good zoom in and close shot of object in my aquariums. Great HD recorder and photo is alright!
I advise you use a tripod to get a better stabile recording.
I also love the built in video editor! Works very good and have alot of features!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 7 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Still learning

05/21/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this to be a very nice camera for the price. I am a beginner and so I am still getting use to it. I do find the beginner feature great since I am still learning all of the camera features. I was going to use it for my husband's graduation pictures, but battery needed charging. Overall, I love this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 8 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Samsung F80 is OK

05/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returned the product. It was OK but the image stabilization STUNK! It didn't matter how I held the camcorder (1 or 2 handed, elbows propped on hard surface, etc) when I played back the recording, it shook horribly. I know it's impossible to hold something completely still but if I was prone to motion sickness, watching the recorded video for 5 minutes would have made me sick. Personally, it doesn't matter what the other bells and wistles are if the video shakes so much you can't watch it. I absolutely love Samsung TVs but my 10 year old Sony Hi-8 camcorder provides superior video. Unfortunately, TV and Computer technology have advanced so much it makes my Sony impossible to view on TV or download video. Otherwise, I wouldn't be in the market for a new camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:45 - 54
-3points
Review 9 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection
07/04/2012
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast Delivery! These came in before my shoes. I also love how clear the picture is on such a tiny screen. Totally worth the price too :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 10 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection
12/21/2012
By ,
Sarasota, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the camera but cannot get the dvd with the directions on how to use the camera to work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 11 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

AWSOME CAMERA

08/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is awsome. i got it about 3 days ago and its fine!!!
Cool stuff about it: Night light, Focus, Face Detection, Awsome Zoom and flip screen
Bad about it: Shakes alot
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Don't expect too much

05/16/2012
By ,
Okc, Ok.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think I was expecting too much when buying "on-line". The camera is okay for what was spent but it is quite small, which adds to the "shakyness" of the picture. The CMOS sensor is great and it does turn cheap lens photography into at least balanced and generally focused clips. I think this camera will find it's way as a 'facebook" clip rig. Palm sized cameras are just not meant to use 52x optical focal length work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Good Product

07/19/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall it's a good product. A little tricky to use at first as there's a lot to it so you have to learn where everything is under th menus. The only thing I don't care for is the button, for cycling through the menu, can sometime be a little tricky to navigate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Light camera

12/19/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This camcorder is light and fairly easy to use. The battery doesn't last very long though. I had to finish recording my daughters wedding from my cell phone because the battery went dead. That is the only down side I have found on this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 15 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

ONE OF THE BEST CAMCORDERS I HAVE GOTTEN

02/06/2013
By ,
Plano,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it does the job battery has a good one hour and a half records hd and no problems simple to use connect it to your computer and downloads video quickly good zoom small has lens cover takes good pictures for a camcorder charger included quickly charges in about 1 or 2 hours and shows orange light when charging and green when done perfect if your not asking for much difficult things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Easy to use and it works excellent

10/21/2012
By ,
Guatemala City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I´m glad with my Samsung F80 Camcorder, it´s easy to use and it works excellent not only on video but also in photos. I recommend this camera for all your family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 17 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

I returned it after first use .

02/07/2013
By ,
mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture quality was awful. I returned it after first use. It felt cheap and it was cheap. I shouldve known.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Samsung video Cam

12/24/2012
By ,
Lochbuie Colo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apears to be ok. We have not used it yet but charged it up for Christmass. The price was right for what it is.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-4points
Review 19 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection

Nice camcorder

01/08/2013
By ,
vero beach, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little camcorder. Very clear picture . Bought for new baby . great buy. takes stills too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Samsung F80 Long Zoom High Def Flash Camcorder w/ 52x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, Face Detection
02/07/2013
By ,
Dallas ,TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture was just average. I returned this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next