Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fujifilm Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Fujifilm Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

The Fujifilm FinePix XP55 14MP Digital Camera features a rugged design for outdoor fun. Built to withstand whatever you throw at it, the XP55 is waterproof to 5m, shockproof to 1.5m, sealed against dust and sand and even works in temperatures down to -10 degrees Celsius. The bright, clear 2.7" LCD features an anti-reflective coating for excellent visibility, even in full sunlight or when shooting underwater scenes. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.515 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation67%22 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Performed under tough condition

08/12/2012
By ,
Phila., PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera to take pics during a whitewater rafting trip down a class 4 river. The camera performed flawlessly. The photos taken were clear and well defined. The camera met every extreme I threw at it, to include jumping into the rapids to take pics from that point of view.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Great For the Price and Simple Shots :)

07/28/2012
By ,
Vriginia Beach, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, they say waterproof and they mean it! I have used it several times to take photos and video underwater and its still working like I just took it out the box! :) This camera is great for what it is made to do, which is to take great shots for its capabilities and be used around water. I definitely recommend it for the avid beach goer or swimmer. It's also a great camera for younger childer due to its rugged design. It takes good quality images for what it is, a cheaper point and shoot. You can't expect professional DSLR like images from a point and shoot but you can get very crisp and clean shots. I recommend it highly to customers and many happily purchase it, whom come back a few days later to print out photos they are happy with. The only down fall I have noticed is the video quality is not what I expected. I am not sure if it is my computer or the camera but its very laggy when played back. Otherwise I'd go with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
INFO ON THE LAG
Posted 08/28/2012
the lag while playing back mentioned in a post is because of a problem with the computer, not the camera. I dont own this product but I was doing research on certain cameras and their drawbacks and it seems with HD cameras, especially 1080p, certain older computers lack the ability to process a video with such High Definition so try lowering the video quality or using another program to playback the video, hope this helps!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

NOT really waterproof apparently...

07/07/2013
By ,
NY / Disney
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After much research I purchased this camera as a Christmas gift for my wife and daughter to take on their first ever trip to Disney which was their birthday present (while I was having surgery).
Day 4 I get a phone call from two very upset girls at Typhoon Lagoon telling me that the 'waterproof' camera has somehow leaked and now won't read the card and 3 1/2 days worth of Disney memories are probably lost!! I should have listened to the reviews that had a similar issue but at the time I thought the good reviews far outnumbered the bad ones...
And the icing on the cake was the weeks I spent trying to get a spare battery or two for this camera... Our Walmart doesn't even carry the battery and three different vendors sent batteries and none would work with the charger that came with the camera - I ended up buying another charger too!!
Bottom line, this is the type of thing that just furthers Walmart's and Fuji's reputations for dealing in junk. Spend the extra money and get a REAL camera from a REAL store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

LOVE IT!!!!!

06/12/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not sure why other people are having problems with this camera! We love it! It took amazing pics indoors, outside and underwater on our recent trip to Mexico. If you mess around with the camera settings a little you can tweak it how you want! Definitely worth the money! I have other huge bulky Nikon and Canon cameras that I also love, but this is perfect for travel and beach or outdoor vacations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Camera settings
Posted 07/23/2012
This is so true, sometimes people just assume that the camera is going to do all the work, well you have to make sure you use the correct settings if you want good exposure.
Thanks for the review. I have an older version of this camera and never had any problems, just looking for a newer version.
Roxy
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Great Family Camera

07/28/2012
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Fuji FinePix Camera after owning the XP10 (which I lost). Being a family of 7 we take a LOT of pictures. What I love about this camera is the fact that I'm never excluded from participating in family events because I'm left holding the camera. As a result I am able to take some really great pictures. Being waterproof, I am able to take pictures that others simply can't. Be it the pool or the beach, I can get right up on the action and take great pictures.
Now I want to address some of the negative comments regarding this camera. I've had a lot of cameras and to be honest all of them have their sweet spots and others require you to play around with settings before you are able to a great shot. This is true from the cheapest to the most expensive camera. That being said, most of my day shots come off without a hitch, night shots usually require me to switch to the mode settings. It took a little getting used to, but now I'm to envy of all my friends on Facebook.
The continuous mode is AWESOME, especially because it allows me to capture so much action in my pictures and then select the best one after the fact. Kids jumping off diving boards and splashing in the pool happens in less than 2-3 seconds, but the ability to capture 6-8 pictures in that time frame is amazing.
I take this camera everywhere, it's always in my backpack and it's rugged handle my lifestyle. I purchased a 16GB memory card (high speed a must) and I manage all my pictures using the free software Picasa from Google and I'm as happy as a clam.
I recommend this as the ultimate family camera and if I lost it today would by another as soon as I could.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Great for the Sophmores of Camera Technology

08/12/2012
By ,
Post Falls, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been putting off purchasing a new camera for years. I have a perfectly great camera, but it is so big and awkward I just can't take it everywhere with me. I needed a smaller compact camera with features I use all the time and some I wish I had. (Like the panorama view, being able to handle some water, though in this case it can handle a lot, natural light photos without flash so doesn't white out a portion of the photo, moving photos, still, and video and a few more) Just haven't wanted to spend the money. I knew what I was looking for in a camera and what features were of most priority. This camera works great, it takes good close up with flash and without flash (just have to use the right settings; it can be a simple point and shoot but if your looking for some of those perfect clarity and flash not in the way, you do need to fiddle with the scenes and settings a bit) I would not recommend this camera to a beginner, you need to know a little of what you are doing. I almost didn't buy this camera because of the reviews, but there was one review that mentions playing with the settings and figuring it out, that review sold me, and hey, if I couldn't figure it out I could exchange and go to a different camera. I am very satisfied with my purchase and cannot wait for those Kodak moments to capture now that I can easily slip this camera in my purse and take it everywhere with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Good Camera

12/04/2012
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this specifically for a cruise and the snorkling/snuba excursions. I couldn't be happier. The videos look great and land and water snapshots are good. Took it as low as 20ft (without realizing it) and didn't have any issues. Night time shots look great and I was able to take a couple very cool pictures of the ship at night.
Couple downsides: the exposure speed seems pretty low, maybe there's a setting I could play with. But if there's much movement of the camera or subject, pictures get blurry quickly. Conversely video does really well so you can always shoot video and extract stills.
Another downside, the default setting has a super-annoying beep EVERY TIME YOU PRESS A BUTTON. You turn it to silent mode, and suddenly you can't use the flash at all. Lame.
As much crud as I give this camera, I really do like it. I'd totally buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Love it!!!

04/26/2012
By ,
Cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must say I Love This Camera. Shoots Beautiful Underwater Photos As Well as Out of water Photos.
Love The HD Recording. Just love everything about this Camera So Glad I Bought It!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Not a Good Camera!

05/25/2012
By ,
Milton, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this camera so I could take pictures for a blog I wanted to start, and since someone dropped the last camera I had I thought that I'd purchase a camera that was heavy duty. The problem is the camera takes awful pictures whenever you are indoors. If you take an inside picture with the flash on the pictures are white and unnatural or if you turn the flash off then they are blurry. Outdoors and underwater this camera works great so if that's all you want it for then I might consider it, but it didn't meet my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Doesn't take great pictures!

05/15/2012
By ,
Scranton, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this camera because of the really good reviews on here and i needed a camera that took good pictures and was waterproof. Well I've had this camera for two days and I've tested it out like crazy. For starters almost all my pictures came out blurry and grainy. I had a few that came out alright looking. It also keeps freezing on me and when it does the screen turns purple and blue and makes a loud noise and the only way of fixing it is to take the battery out and put it back in. (I had a similar problem with a different Fujifilm i bought in the past you would think I would have learned lol) I took this camera to my nephew's birthday party and everyone i took a picture of came out really white, glaring, and pale looking while using Auto. (it seems like the flash is way to bright or something and makes all pics look really white) Then when it was darker when he went to blow his candles out i put it on a mode that is suppose to be for indoor photos with low light and the picture came out almost completely black. You could make some of it out but it looked like a blurry painting. Today i went to take a picture of my dog who was just laying sleeping on Auto mode and the pic came out glaring white and blurry and she wasn't even moving ! I must say the only pictures that came out looking pretty clear was when i put it on water mode and tested it by taking pictures in my fish tank. I'm still undecided if i will return it or not because i mainly needed an alright camera to take photos in water and it seems to be ok with that, but if your buying it for any other reason DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Marietta, GA
Change Settings...
Posted 07/28/2012
The camera has two settings standard and fine. Switch to fine mode and the pictures should look much better. I also crank up the resolution to 14MP because I like the additional detail when I edit photos. Also,make sure you are using the correct frame mode. I use choose to use the Auto rather than the Scene Recognition Mode and my pictures come out beautifully.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Aurora,Mo.
Awsome Camera
Posted 07/06/2012
I love this camera. I think if we read the instructions and a little practice we all can enjoy this camera. If it continues to take poor pictures than return it for a new one because you have a defected camera.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Purchased this for My 11 year old

01/26/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Purchased this camera for my 11 Year old son for Christmas. We went on a cruise Christmas Week. It did an excellent job taking pictures and video. He took it in the pool and in the ocean in Cozumel. It preforms great and he still uses it he has discovered the panoramic feature. Good Buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

super outdoor camera

08/29/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera to take on vacation to hawaii with my wife. I wanted a camera that took great pictures but would stand up to the elements. This is that camera !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Good camera for deployment

01/13/2013
By ,
Afghanistan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fujifilm FinPix XP55 was very solid buy. I've enjoy the ease of use and the consistently good pictures this champ puts out. It has performed well in the desert environment and I regularly take pictures while holding it outside the aircraft. I've dropped it a few times from ~3 feet without a problem as well. I haven't taken underwater shots but have got it wet without a problem. The only time it takes poor pictures is when I'm moving the hand too fast while shooting. If you know about simple light angles and can be a little steady, you will have no problem achieving very good & memorable results with the XP55. I bought it at $170 three months ago...it's now $140 with case and 8GB SD...what a deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization
06/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera looked and felt nice. Pics & movies were a different story. Night pics with flash were below my standard. Movies had a red tint. I wanted a camera that does well in auto mode and this didn't. I'm sick of higher megapixels every year and poorer quality pics. My old 7 megapixel camera took way better pictures & movies. This went back to Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Not Worth It

10/13/2012
By ,
beaufort, sc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This camera has not given me any problems but it does not take good pictures in or out of water. I have tried a many of times and this camera is not worth it. It does not flash when i have it on flash and the modes do not seems to help at all. Even in a pool my pictures turned out horrible. The camera also sometimes glitches. The picture quality is horrible. If i could return it i would.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Great little camera

12/14/2012
By ,
Sharonville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter didn't want a "big, bulky" camera like Dad's. This camera is perfect. It is pocket sized, but has many automated features that set this camera apart from the basic point and click models. The waterproof and shock-proof construction doesn't hurt either. I shopped extensively, and Wal-Mart had the best price at the time. This camera ROCKS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Check This One Out

11/14/2012
By ,
CT Shore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as an emgagement present.. ..the picture quality is great. I love the easy of use and value..I purchased one for myself.I don't worry about getting caught in the rain..waterproof..my grandson dropping it..shockproof...i leave it in the car 24/7 365 days a year.always ready to go Batteries are long lasting..Good Luck All.. ..check this one out.!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Mine quite working just like my last Fujifilm cam

08/03/2012
By ,
Melbourne, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know what it is, but Fujifilm cameras tend to break often. I will never buy another. My friend's and family's Fujis have completely stopped working as well.
If you use this or any other Underwater camera under water, be sure to take your time towel drying and air drying the camera before you open the seal to get the memory card out. Be patient. Most underwater cameras are fried after moisture enters, even after appearing dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Has faults

08/31/2012
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The battery does not stay charged very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fujifilm FinePix XP55 Blue 14MP Digital Camera w/ 5x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD Display, HD Video, Image Stabilization

Low Performance

08/06/2012
By ,
mobile, al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most pictures are blurry and over exposed in all settings. Indoor pictures are low quality. performes like a $40 Camera. I sent this camera back a month after i bought it. which i had to pay the shipping $12 and they sent it back to me saying it was to factory specs. I am very diappointed in what i got for $170.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next