Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

For the outdoor photographer, the Nikon COOLPIX P510 16MP Digital Camera puts you where you need to be. Every image and Full HD (1080p) movie dazzles when produced by the advanced 16.1MP CMOS sensor. With a 42x optical zoom NIKKOR ED glass lens, an incredible world of optical power and versatility awaits you. Shoot from 24mm wide-angle then zoom to an amazing 1,000mm and capture distant images. The optical Vibration Reduction system minimizes the chance of blur while you take both photos and movies and the side zoom control provides easy access to the P510's powerful zoom capabilities. Switch on the built-in GPS feature and as you shoot, your files are geotagged and provide a visual travelogue that pinpoints latitude and longitude. Geotagged photo and movie files integrate with Nikon's my Picturetown photo sharing site, Google Earth and Nikon View NX2 software.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%31 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Beware of packaging

12/15/2012
By ,
Yukon, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I actually haven't tried the camera yet, but wanted to express my disappointment in the way it was packaged. The camera was in it's own box put into a bigger box with ONE piece of paper to cushion it. The camera obviously was shaken all over in that bigger box. Terrible way to pack a delicate item. I hope it works when I open it Christmas morning. Knowing how it was to be packed, I would not have bought it from this website. Probably won't ever again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 2 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Fabulous with reservation

07/06/2012
By ,
Chicago IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lugging around a DSLR with a long telephoto lens can be very tiring but I like to have a camera with me every time I go out. I bought one of these P510s a few weeks ago when they were first introduced. I didn't really know what to expect. It sounds great on paper but was the blurb too good to be true? I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. My first few shots of greenfinches at my back garden bird feeder were superb - and they were hand held. I couldn't hand-hold my DSLR with a 500mm lens like that. It needs a monopod or tripod. The P510 is very easy to use and has most of the features of my Nikon DSLRs. The only slight drawback is that the speed of focusing is slower than my DSLR and telephoto. Fine if the subject is sitting still but not so good if it is moving. It won't replace my DSLR completely but as a 'second camera' to have with me all the time, it is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Review 3 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

This camera exceeded my expectations

12/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is my first time owning a Nikon and I truly regret not having bought one before. It takes excellent pictures, even in low light. I just took my son to see Santa at Macy's in NYC where the whole set up is pretty dark. The quality of the pictures was amazing. It capture the lights, the dark areas and all the bright colors. I did not waste any pictures and shot all of them on Auto mode because I haven't had time to review the manual yet. The person in front of me asked me to take pics with her camera and she was having trouble getting a good picture. She returned the favor by taking a couple of pics of us with my camera and told me "wow, this camera is great" Also, my son loves to jump on the bed and on the couch. For the first time ever, I have been able to capture him on picture while he is in the air (again, only on the Auto mode) and the pictures are so good that it looks like he is frozen in the air, waiting for me to take a pic. Definitely a very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
01/03/2013
By ,
McDonough, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great camera if you want a point and shoot in the AF Mode that has a better zoom. Of course it has settings for special occasions also. For instance low light nightime shots where you want the whole scene in focus, you can use the nighttime landscape setting. I shot entertainers on stage where the lights were turned low and there were only colorful special lights around them with this setting and it came out great.
My only complaint is that although it will zoom far, when you depress the focus button it will not focus. You have to keep backing up the zoom and trying to focus until you find a spot that works. You will miss a lot of shots like that. Maybe after you have used it enough you can make a good guess at where that spot will be.
Love the way the screen tilts. When you are having to hold it over your head to be above other heads you can see the screne clearly to make sure it focuses and to see that you have all of the scene that you want in the shot and to check if your zoom is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Best all-around camera there is

08/12/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera has something for everybody. It allows an amateur to simply set it at automatic and let it take excellent photos, but it also provides a tremendous number of optional manual settings for the advanced amateur and professional. The menus are fairly simple and obvious, and if you aren't sure what is the best choice, you can let the camera decide. The camera allows various density settings, from VGA to 16 megapixels, and videos can be recorded in several different formats and definition. The zoom lens is terrific, but it does take a moment to autofocus at maximum zoom. On the other hand, if you are shooting at 42X, the subject is probably far enough away that you can set the focus manually at infinity and bypass the autofocus. The camera allows you to take various special effect photos, and add these and other effects to photos already taken while they are still in the camera. The instruction manual, available as an on-line download or using the CD-ROM included with the camera, is lengthy and complex, and is probably the only down-side to the camera. It doesn't make it immediately clear what processes are automatic, and how they interact, as opposed to the manual settings that only someone with a lot of background in old film SLRs would recognize. But if you study the manual and experiment with the camera, you'll soon learn what you need to know. I have two older, smaller Nikon Coolpix cameras, so the basic functions were familiar to me, but even for a novice all the buttons and dials are well marked and fairly intuitive. This is a really terrific camera, and frankly I can't see why anyone other than a full-time professional photographer would need anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 6 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

I love this Nikon COOLPIX P510

07/14/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited for this Camera for weeks. Nobody had the RED in stock. Then Walmart online did and the process went real fast. I never would of thought it would arrive at my door in 48 hours. Very Pleased and the Quality is AWESOME. I took a picture of the moon and this camera picks up the craters. LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Nikon COOLPIX P510

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic camera. The 42x zoom is awesome. Practically erases the need for a digital zoom, which destroys picture quality anyway. Has great scene modes and it's nice to be able to control the fstop and shutter speeds like an DSLR. This camera is worth every penny. Only con is the size, but it's not a deal breaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+16points
Review 8 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Camera with a lot of promise, but falls short.

06/23/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Camera has a dazzling zoom and features, but image quality is poor and not much better than my old Kodak point-and-shoot. Specifically, every pic no matter the parameters came out 'soft' , which is a nice way to say they were not sharp; softness is an attempt to mask imperfections. However, with the included ViewNX software, sharpness could be adjusted to acceptable levels, so the camera is capable of taking sharp pics, but it is designed not to. So why doesn't it? I contacted Nikon Customer Service #which was excellent, by the way#, but the bottom line was that sharpness "is a matter of perspective." Part of the problem is that it has a small sensor.
GPS almost totally worthless, even in clear weather and with no obstructions. Maybe tagged the pic one out of 40 times.
I ended up returning the camera. Walmart made the return easy, so thumbs up to them.
This camera is FUN to use for sure, and may be worth it to some (young people and beginners) and I hated to give up on it, but the dull pics drove me crazy. Zoom even at max level, on the other hand, actually was fairly good -- image stabilization worked well.
I'm now looking to get a Sony Nex5N.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Love it!

07/02/2012
By ,
Paso Robles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. It is really sharp looking. Faster than I thought it would be, and the pictures come out great. Battery life wasn't that great, I will have an extra battery on hand next time. However, it is rechargeable. The zoom is fantastic! Would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

I found the zoom to be amazing.

12/08/2012
By ,
Sedona, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought both the Nikon COOLPIX P510 and the Canon T3 with a 18-55 and 75-300 zoom lens so I could compare both before buying one. The Canon is just like the film Canon Rebel I owned 10 years ago, so I kind of knew my way around it. The Nikon was all new to me however I found the controls to be right where I felt they should be, very intuitive. The Nikon is light and easily manageable, even with the zoom fully extended. No need for a tripod, no extra lens to carry around. Even shooting rock formations a mile away I was able to get clear beautiful photos with awesome detail. The Canon has all the features you could want (except a huge 16.1 megapixel CMOS), but I don't need or want that much camera and 2 lenses to lug around when everything I need is built into the Nikon COOLPIX P510.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
08/14/2012
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions could be a little more informative. The sport setting blurs the picture some times, like not fast enough shutter speed. Does'nt shoot in RAW
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

GOOD BRIDGE CAMERA

09/12/2012
By ,
Houston Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good "bridge" camera, a step up from a little pocket digital, but not quite a full SLR. Optical Zoom Lens is outstanding. Easy to understand camera settings after playing with the camera a couple of times. In video mode, picks up some motor noise from the camera.
Only could be better if it accepted a remote shutter release.
In the red it is a beautiful camera and I have received many comments from people about how attractive it is. For my needs it is close to perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 13 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
07/08/2012
By ,
Flatwoods, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is awesome. Just got back from Outer Banks and I have amazing pictures. Beautiful sunset pics, full moon glistening off the ocean, firework pictures and just general pics of my boyfriend and I. Love it! Glad I chose this camera. Far exceeded my expectations. Zoom is incredible!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

awesome camera

08/14/2012
By ,
blue ridge mtns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this camera...there's still alot to learn, just getting used to it, but even if you are a beginner, or have been taking pictures for over 30 years with a 'non digital' camera!(like i have1), you should have no problem with this. i took some cool pics of a walkingstick `(an insect`) which , if you actually know what that is, .....anyway i love this camera and am very satisfied with the purchase...was shipped to home quickly, free shipping.....also took an awesome photo of the full moon in july, i can zoom it in enough to actually see the craters on the moon...anyway, for the money, this camera is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Amazing!!!!

08/20/2012
By ,
Russellville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most amazing camera I have ever used. We tried several Walmart stores looking for it, but every one of them was out of the camera. The department managers told us that it had been a HUGE seller and they couldn't keep them. I also got it WAY sooner than was estimated, but it seems that anything I order from Walmart is this way. Thanks for being so efficient!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 16 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Great Camera

01/03/2013
By ,
Massena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this camera as a Christmas gift. When it arrived in the mail, I had to open it and take a peek & see what it looked liked before it got wrapped! We had to make sure it was up to our expectations! Let me tell you, it's a beautiful camera. I wanted to keep it for myself. I usually buy Sony cyber shot, not anymore! This camera is not only stylish but so simple to use. The zoom is amazing! My next camera for myself will be a canon cool pix! Extremely pleased with this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 17 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Excellent camera/great feel/red color is awesome

10/25/2012
By ,
Canandaigua, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent camera for bridging from simple point/shoot towards full DSLR. The zoom is powerful. Saw this model in both black and red online. Only black in the store, so I ordered from walmart.com. I love the color. Design feels good in my hands for holding to take photos. Still learning the options and functions, but was quickly able to start shooting pics the afternoon I received in the mail (less than 5 days from ordering).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

I have not used it much, but seems to be good.

12/06/2012
By ,
Whitewater, wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really like the cameras zoom,and still takes good close up pictures. The battery life is not what was claimed to be. Seems to be getting less and less use before we have to recharge it. This is my only issue right now. I have not used is much though. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

great camera

11/28/2012
By ,
Cleveland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera takes beautiful sharp pictures. Only had a couple of weeks and still learning all the bells and whistles but I think Im really going to enjoy it. Only thing I dont like about it is the battery doesnt last long enough
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Red 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Great Camera!!

02/03/2013
By ,
Cape Coral
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value no need for different lenses and very compact awesome photos!!
And It's A Nikon!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next