Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Minn Kota Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Minn Kota Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

The Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center is ideal for small boats and transom applications on boats that do not have battery compartments. It features two manual-reset circuit breakers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%69 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

More Than Just a Battery Box

07/03/2013
By ,
Nickville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this Minn Kota Power Center. If you are looking for a simple "box" to place your battery in, there are much cheaper options available. However, this item provides the recommended circuit breakers and other options to complete your trolling motor (and other 12 volt needs) installation. Note that some jurisdictions require your battery to be mounted securely, this item provides the necessary mounts, with hardware, for easy install. Strap provided is sturdy as is the overall product. It's what one would expect from a company like Minn Kota. The thumbscrews for the positve & negative connections on the outside of the box are heavily coated and the exposed studs are gold plated. Cables are heavy as well...nothing flimsy about the package. The folding handle on the top lid is made heavy and I foresee no problem in this box handling the weight of a Group 29 or 31 battery. By the way, the description states for Group 24/27 batteries...a Group 31 will fit and that was a concern for my application. I opted to mount mine to the floor using the supplied hardware and if I wish to remove the entire box along with installed battery, there are 2 cupped handles on each end to lift it out. I wouldn't try to lift a heavy battery inside the box with the lid-mounted handle although if the strap was in position and cinched up tight, I would think it would stand up to the lifting.
I am using this on a 2-man Bass Raider-type boat and this Power Center box will keep the battery from moving around when moving and launching once mounted. I like it so well that I'm considering a second Center for another battery. It makes for a very clean install.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Lots of nice features

07/31/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order it through Walmart, but I was still working on the boat so it was OK, not like is was in a hurry. Checked it out when it came in, everything works, both breakers and the battery level LED,s. The one thing I didn't like (why I couldn't give it 5 stars), it has two accessory plugs, one on either end of the box. They are run through the 10 amp breaker so you can power a few accessories. I didn't feel comfortable bouncing down the lake with an auto type accessory plug powering my accessories, so I got a trolling motor plug and receptacle and replaced one of the accessory receptacles with it. It fit in the existing hole perfectly and all I really had to do was drill the holes to match the TM receptacle holes and pop rivet it back in and hook it up. But that's just me, I still would recommend this to anyone who needs a nice portable power supply for your boat or wherever large deep cycle/starter batteries are used. Strong handle, easy hookup, you just can't beat it for the Walmart price...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great way to keep it clean.

11/29/2013
By ,
Sac, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This power center is large and will fit most batteries. You will nee to add padding to the inside to keep the battery tight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Good Home Product

12/02/2013
By ,
Syracuse NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using the power center in my Van to power a mobile amateur radio transceiver. Good features which allow test to determine when battery requires recharge. Accessory cigarette lighter plug in, 2 have 10 amp circuit breakers.. Main source which I use directly from the side clamps is protected by a 60 amp breaker.. Also good for use with an Inverter during power outages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great Backup Power

09/26/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have a boat. I use this for backup power when the lights go out. It is perfect for areas where the power goes out frequently. I put a large deep cycle marine battery from Walmart inside. I can run lights, charge phones, computers, etc. It has built in 10 and 60 amp breakers so you don't have to worry about fuses. The built-in cigarette lighter power connectors are great for charging portable devices. The large Positive and Negative posts are great for connecting a power inverter to generate 120V house voltage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Meets expectations.

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it once so far, but it performs as advertised. I expect it meet my needs quite nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Everything needed for serious boater and more.

10/26/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used various types of battery compartments in the past, but this one is the most complete, sturdy and convenient. The two circuit breakers save the need for wiring to comply with current law, and the insulated terminals are an excellent safety measure. The battery power gauge is a plus, as is the two accessory plug ins. I was so impressed with the one I bought, I ordered another one the day I received it. In the past I had built my own power centers that were not as complete, and cost me more to build.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

It does the trick.

08/14/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint is when you use the handle do carry it, it comes apart and becomes misaligned.
The strap is plenty strong so I do not think it will come apart enough to be damaged.
It has 2 12v lighter type sockets which I used for my fish finder and a spotlight, which I liked very much.
I even used it one day to charge my phone and more than one occasion for an air pump.
You can not build something similar for the price you pay for this,(unless you already have the items laying around) I tried.
A nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

nice features

03/26/2014
By ,
Hopkinsville,ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the other type of battery case and for it's cost works great for storage, but for boat usage this case is very nice, coated terminals is a great safety feature (with the cheaper case, i would always take the top off to hook up trolling motor on jon boat) the cigarette plugs are great for charging phone or in my case pluging in my depth finder. it works great at a tailgate using a inverter dc to ac. The only negitive thing i can think of is the handle, it is very sturdy but i do not trust the straps buckle, so i use the molded hand holds on either side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

good

04/08/2014
By ,
escanab
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it for my rv light outdoor and my boat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

A Nice Addition To The Minn Kota Trolling Motors

07/10/2012
By ,
Johnstown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this box after I purchased the motor and realized that I needed a 60 amp fuse to properly use the motor. This box has the fuse built into it. Has a usefull gauge for battery life. The biggest downfall of the box is it is a bit flimsey with the weight of the battery and trying to carry it by the handle doesn't work well. We carry it by the sides because we don't want the handle to break or the lid to come off. Strap is good but tends to give with the weight of the battery. We use a WalMart 27 battery in it. Also wish it had come with some directions for those of us who are new to things like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Exactly what I expected

01/01/2014
By ,
West Allis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice PC of equipment for battery use and access for storage while using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Agood idea

03/29/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If I were to do this again I would buy a batt box and a 50 amp. in line breaker for about $15.00 and build my own, But if you're not able to do so yourself, this is an excellent product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

trolling motor power center

12/06/2013
By ,
new port richey fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is well constructed and will work well with the purchased trolling motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Power Center

03/16/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Box is well made and appears to have all the accessory ports one would need. Box is large enough for most trollling motor batteries. Like with most battery boxes, this one uses a nylon strap and tie-down bracket. This strap has a nylon snap buckle which makes access to the battery much easier.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Recommended

08/04/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this as a safe, effective and easy solution to use with a trolling motor. Once the battery is inside and connected, it can be used and charged without being removed. The circuit breaker has already saved me once when my motor got stuck trying to start in heavy weeds.
The strap could be sturdier since batteries are so heavy. I have added some nylon rope as to help support it, and have had no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Minn Kota Endura 40 Trolling Motor
4.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Unique item, it is what it appears to be!

10/11/2013
By ,
Temperance, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Will be using this to hold a deep cell trolling motor in a small 15 foot boat. It will not only keep the battery terminals covered (safe) when attached to the trolling motor, but also allow through the use of the cigarette lighter outlet other small or temporary electrical items to be attached (ex. Running lights; cell phone power cord; spot light; fish finder etc.)
As another mentioned, some improvement could be made in regards to the strap keeping the top and bottom of the box together.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great Battery Box

01/22/2014
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice package. Easy to install. I like the battery check that is built in and the 12V power outlets. The built in circuit breakers will protect your trolling motor from overload.
Overall, good solid unit that does what it's suppose to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

this will be great

01/14/2014
By ,
roswell, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i haven't used this product yet, but i can tell you that it is very heavy duty, and can just tell it will work great!! was surprised that it has two charging jacks for cell phones or what not...can't wait til this spring to get it on the lake and catch some walleye!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Makes the battery easy to deal with

06/11/2012
By ,
Western WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The case holds the battery, has the REQUIRED 60 Amp circuit breaker, and as an additional bonus has a battery charge meter on the outside of the case so that you know how much power is left in the battery. I read where it is very important for batery life to charge the battery immediately after use even if you only used a bit if you wish to extend the battery life as long as possible. While slightly more expensive than the battery and breaker with a battery box I feel it is worth it.
The only downside I found was that one must unscrew the wing nuts on the contacts in irder to charge the battery. This I suppose is unavoidable if we wish to protect the battery from being shorted out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next