Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Minn Kota Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Minn Kota Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

The Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center is ideal for small boats and transom applications on boats that do not have battery compartments. It features two manual-reset circuit breakers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%82 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

More Than Just a Battery Box

07/03/2013
By ,
Nickville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this Minn Kota Power Center. If you are looking for a simple "box" to place your battery in, there are much cheaper options available. However, this item provides the recommended circuit breakers and other options to complete your trolling motor (and other 12 volt needs) installation. Note that some jurisdictions require your battery to be mounted securely, this item provides the necessary mounts, with hardware, for easy install. Strap provided is sturdy as is the overall product. It's what one would expect from a company like Minn Kota. The thumbscrews for the positve & negative connections on the outside of the box are heavily coated and the exposed studs are gold plated. Cables are heavy as well...nothing flimsy about the package. The folding handle on the top lid is made heavy and I foresee no problem in this box handling the weight of a Group 29 or 31 battery. By the way, the description states for Group 24/27 batteries...a Group 31 will fit and that was a concern for my application. I opted to mount mine to the floor using the supplied hardware and if I wish to remove the entire box along with installed battery, there are 2 cupped handles on each end to lift it out. I wouldn't try to lift a heavy battery inside the box with the lid-mounted handle although if the strap was in position and cinched up tight, I would think it would stand up to the lifting.
I am using this on a 2-man Bass Raider-type boat and this Power Center box will keep the battery from moving around when moving and launching once mounted. I like it so well that I'm considering a second Center for another battery. It makes for a very clean install.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Lots of nice features

07/31/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order it through Walmart, but I was still working on the boat so it was OK, not like is was in a hurry. Checked it out when it came in, everything works, both breakers and the battery level LED,s. The one thing I didn't like (why I couldn't give it 5 stars), it has two accessory plugs, one on either end of the box. They are run through the 10 amp breaker so you can power a few accessories. I didn't feel comfortable bouncing down the lake with an auto type accessory plug powering my accessories, so I got a trolling motor plug and receptacle and replaced one of the accessory receptacles with it. It fit in the existing hole perfectly and all I really had to do was drill the holes to match the TM receptacle holes and pop rivet it back in and hook it up. But that's just me, I still would recommend this to anyone who needs a nice portable power supply for your boat or wherever large deep cycle/starter batteries are used. Strong handle, easy hookup, you just can't beat it for the Walmart price...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great lil box!!

06/09/2014
By ,
Front Royal Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok so the box comes with a 60 amp in line fuse with a 10 amp fuse for the 12v acceries plugs. It also has a battery tester on board so no guessing games on the status of your battery. You toss your battery in and put the boxes leads on the battery and close it up, then attach your trolling motor up to the outside connection and your ready to rock. I have used it 3 times and all 3 times the box got wet. First time was early morning dew, 2nd and 3rd times was water that got kicked up in the boat. Still works good. I wouldn't expect it to work if it got doused with water, but its held up so far for me. The box comes with a strap to hold the lid down and I have carried my battery around in it , handel is strong enough to hold up to the weight of a 29 dc marine battery. Its in all a tough lil box that is well wourth the money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Trolling Motor Power center

08/07/2014
By ,
Bedford TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plastic box with wiring/circuit breakers. Screw Posts are just a shade larger than 5/16". Tried to use a 5/16" lug fitting and had to grind them out slightly. It would be helpful to have the as wired, fuse amperage settings marked on the sockets and posts. Charge gauge lights up and shows the battery charge. Good but slightly expensive for a battery box. Does have charge and fuse/breaker features.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Awesome!

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this battery box to use for charging rc lipo batteries. It is high quality with great features. A 27 size deep cycle fits easily. You will not be disappointed with this battery box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Good little box

04/28/2014
By ,
Swartz Creek, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this primarily for the battery charge indicator. Not a bad little box, but I expected something a little beefier, though it does not feel cheap. Works well, and makes carrying the battery easier. It is also large enough to have a 27DC equivalent sized battery in it, and still have just enough room to store my 7ah back-up in there as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Works Great To Hold Trolling MotorBattery

06/19/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to hold my trolling motor battery in a small bass boat. In the past, I just put the battery in a plastic case. This power center holds the battery and the motor alligator clamps hook onto the power center. It has a great battery reading and you can charge other devices through the USB connector. For a big bass boat that has a main gas motor, this device may not be that useful, but for boats that only have a trolling motor, like mine, it’s great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Awesome!

08/24/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits a class 29 battery (barely) and having the option to plug into the cigarette lighter adapter is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great Backup Power

09/26/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have a boat. I use this for backup power when the lights go out. It is perfect for areas where the power goes out frequently. I put a large deep cycle marine battery from Walmart inside. I can run lights, charge phones, computers, etc. It has built in 10 and 60 amp breakers so you don't have to worry about fuses. The built-in cigarette lighter power connectors are great for charging portable devices. The large Positive and Negative posts are great for connecting a power inverter to generate 120V house voltage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

It does the trick.

08/14/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint is when you use the handle do carry it, it comes apart and becomes misaligned.
The strap is plenty strong so I do not think it will come apart enough to be damaged.
It has 2 12v lighter type sockets which I used for my fish finder and a spotlight, which I liked very much.
I even used it one day to charge my phone and more than one occasion for an air pump.
You can not build something similar for the price you pay for this,(unless you already have the items laying around) I tried.
A nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Misleading Product Name - Contains NO POWER at all

05/12/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I was buying a Battery, not a plastic case for a battery. At $65, I thought it was a good deal for a battery, but I still had to spend another $78 for the actual battery. This plastic case has some minor electronics built-in for testing the battery charge and a set of pass-through cables/terminals for connecting the battery to the terminals on the outside, but so does the $9 version. The only thing special is two 12 v cigarette style power outlets. I don't see how they can charge 7 times the price of the regular case for these two power outlets and an led charge meter. In my opinion, this is not worth the price. I was very disappointed in this purchase. Some people might see value in this, but just be aware that it is empty when you get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Front Royal Va.
One more thing
Posted 06/12/2014
You also forgot to mention that it carries a 60 amp fuse that is worth at least 35 bucks and a 10 amp fuse both that can be reset if tripped. The 60 amp fuse is a necessity for your trolling motor. In my opinion your comment should be stricken from the Walmart site due to lack of knowledge of the product.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

A Nice Addition To The Minn Kota Trolling Motors

07/10/2012
By ,
Johnstown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this box after I purchased the motor and realized that I needed a 60 amp fuse to properly use the motor. This box has the fuse built into it. Has a usefull gauge for battery life. The biggest downfall of the box is it is a bit flimsey with the weight of the battery and trying to carry it by the handle doesn't work well. We carry it by the sides because we don't want the handle to break or the lid to come off. Strap is good but tends to give with the weight of the battery. We use a WalMart 27 battery in it. Also wish it had come with some directions for those of us who are new to things like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Cant stand up to normal use

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This battery box would be great if it wasnt so cheaply made. I am on my second one in two months time. Both have broken in the same way. The positive battery post strips rendering this box useless. I will not be buying another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Great way to keep it clean.

11/29/2013
By ,
Sac, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This power center is large and will fit most batteries. You will nee to add padding to the inside to keep the battery tight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Everything needed for serious boater and more.

10/26/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used various types of battery compartments in the past, but this one is the most complete, sturdy and convenient. The two circuit breakers save the need for wiring to comply with current law, and the insulated terminals are an excellent safety measure. The battery power gauge is a plus, as is the two accessory plug ins. I was so impressed with the one I bought, I ordered another one the day I received it. In the past I had built my own power centers that were not as complete, and cost me more to build.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Good Home Product

12/02/2013
By ,
Syracuse NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using the power center in my Van to power a mobile amateur radio transceiver. Good features which allow test to determine when battery requires recharge. Accessory cigarette lighter plug in, 2 have 10 amp circuit breakers.. Main source which I use directly from the side clamps is protected by a 60 amp breaker.. Also good for use with an Inverter during power outages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Recommended

08/04/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this as a safe, effective and easy solution to use with a trolling motor. Once the battery is inside and connected, it can be used and charged without being removed. The circuit breaker has already saved me once when my motor got stuck trying to start in heavy weeds.
The strap could be sturdier since batteries are so heavy. I have added some nylon rope as to help support it, and have had no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Minn Kota Endura 40 Trolling Motor
4.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

Makes the battery easy to deal with

06/11/2012
By ,
Western WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The case holds the battery, has the REQUIRED 60 Amp circuit breaker, and as an additional bonus has a battery charge meter on the outside of the case so that you know how much power is left in the battery. I read where it is very important for batery life to charge the battery immediately after use even if you only used a bit if you wish to extend the battery life as long as possible. While slightly more expensive than the battery and breaker with a battery box I feel it is worth it.
The only downside I found was that one must unscrew the wing nuts on the contacts in irder to charge the battery. This I suppose is unavoidable if we wish to protect the battery from being shorted out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

An All in One battery box.

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't put into use yet, but the Power Center has all the features that one could want to power their small fishing boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center

good produt

07/06/2014
By ,
mpls mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nicely. packeged good buy yes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next