Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

The HP Officejet 4500 Inkjet All-in-one Printer creates professional-quality color for a low cost per page.  This ENERGY STAR certified color inkjet printer is compatible with most versions of Windows, Linux, Mac operating systems. It also works with a wide variety of print media types ranging from photo paper to transparencies for making printing faster, efficient and simpler. The HP Officejet multifunction inkjet printer can be connected directly to a computer using its built-in USB 2.0 port. You can easily capture documents and other materials and save them to a network, using impressive scanning features. Gain more efficiency using the 20-page automatic document feeder. The multifunction printer lets you quickly send and receive faxes, helping you stay productive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
122
3 stars
25
2 stars
9
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation84%404 out of 480reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
122
3 stars
25
2 stars
9
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Awesome printer!

12/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother recommended this printer to me and I am so glad he did! I have bought several different brands and this HP Printer is THE BEST by far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Great all in one unit

05/26/2012
By ,
North Adams MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item as a back-up for the unit I have (same product) I am so happy with this unit that I bought another so when this one needs to be replaced I have the same one on hand. It is easy to use and set up...copies and scans quickly; prints with a good ink usage ( I do buy the XL cartridges). I do paperwork at home every night for my job and print logs and sheets weekly so it is a must have for my needs. The only tempermental part of this unit is the document feeder. It can get jammed and if you are not careful you can damage the feeder so it will not work. I have used this model for 4 years now...I just replaced the original I bought and whe nI did I purchased the new one to have a backup for when this one is to be replaced. I run on windows Vista home premium--I can't say how this unit will work with other versions on Windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

STUPID MACHINE

07/24/2012
By ,
Wasilla, Alaska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 5 hours trying to set this machine up. It's not my first HP. I kept getting a installation fatal error box so uninstalled everything and tried again. Got the same error box but the "your G4500 installed correctly" box right after that – weird. I was able to align the cartridges with the printout for that, print a word doc and send a fax. Then the cartridge stuck with loud banging noises. I walked through the online guide and managed to pull it free, slicing my hand in the process. Now it won't print from my computer at all. I tried the copy function just to see if maybe I needed to install the software a THIRD time and it now paper jams with each try. I am trying to write this review without swear words and that is extremely difficult. I am going to toss it in the trash (wouldn't wish this machine on my worst enemy- kiss my $68.00 goodbye -get what you pay for doncha??) and go buy another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
HP Printer
Posted 10/27/2012
Why go through all that, just take it back to Walmart. They'll give you another or full refund if not past return date.
+1point
Customer Avatar
El Paso, TX
Computer System, Operating System?
Posted 07/25/2012
I found your comments very helpful & am reevaluating whether this printer is what I need. Sorry to hear that this is not working for you, but glad to know that you cared enough to alert others with your post.
Remember with technology posts, it's extremely helpful to the reader to know whether you are using an Apple or Windows computer based system & model, current operating system (Windows XP, Vista, 7, etc.) Wal-Mart does not give info on what OS & computers some of the products need. That means you'll need to look this up on the actual website before buying.
Your problem may be that it's not compatible or a newer version of driver is needed. If that does not solve the problems, then return it to the store with the receipt & ask to speak to the manager if told they will not give you a refund.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Great Buy

03/25/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a laptop computer. Set up for print, copy, scan and wireless were a breeze. There is an instruction book included. I initially used the printer, scanner and copy features using a USB cable to see if I liked the unit. I reinstalled the CD software to choose the settings for wireless. I had to buy an ethernet cord to connect router and printer. I've printed from various locations in the house. I have not tried the fax option yet so I can't comment on that feature. It is a bit loud when it starts up but it is becoming quieter as I use it more. I've used it for printing black and white and color photos and print. Quality is good. I compare it to my HP 970 Deskjet from 1999, still workig, and it is much faster. The print papers pop out before I know it. Ink consumsion is good so far. I've used about 1/4th of the cartridges and printed about 20 photos. ONE NEGATIVE-Box says usb cord is included and it was not, so I used an old printer USB cable. (4 stars for no USB cable & loud.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Beware of the Ink cartridges!!

06/09/2012
By ,
Inglewood, California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Prices hp has even the performance of the product is good, but where they stick you is the refill ink cartridges, you can't manually refill the cartridges you have to purchase new refill 901 ink cartiridges everytime in order to get the best use out of hp products. I would not recommend this product for a business of any size, I use mine for regular use at my home, printing various documents needed, my son's school assignments, printing photo's etc. This product is convenient and wonderful to have at home but the price of the ink refill cartridges and how quick they must be replaced is not worth it in the long run. Pay a bit more for another product and get a longer ink life. Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+444points
Review 6 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Lousy product. Scanner not functional

08/21/2012
By ,
Spring, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this HP all-in-one 21 days ago. Very poor (or no) documentation. Would freeze during scan and lock-up computer. Spent 9 hours on phone with tech support (4 different sessions). They were unable to get it functioning at all. Promised twice to call me back...never did. All in all, a poor excuse for an all-in-one printer. No useful instructions on how to scan or use the machine.
Today, got frustrated and returned it to Wal-Mart, got full refund and turned right around and bought an Epson WorkfForce 545 all-in-one. It installed beautifully first try, prints, scans to a findable location on my computer, prints photos and documents; and faxes. No problems with it in the least. The Epson has all the features I wanted in the other (lousy) excuse for an all-in-one, and was only $20 more. I would have spent $50 more to have avoided all the hassle the HP printer caused me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

HP and Walmart Make Quality Affordable!

05/20/2012
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've ALWAYS preferred HP products; I've owned their desktops, monitors and printers. My previous printer was the HP PSC1315v. It performed well. Everything has an eventual breaking point and my printer's was yesterday. After determining it was a hardware issue and would need servicing, I decided to look at Walmart.com to compare new vs. servicing. I looked at several brands--Canon, Kodak, Epson, etc.--but for features, I kept coming back to the HP Officejet 4500 Print, Scan, Copy & Fax. The price was quite affordable too--$69.00--and had the dimensions required for my desk area. I made sure the ink cartridges were affordable and readily available online and in-store. Since I'm familiar with HP's installation procedure it was a breeze. In fact, I didn't even use the provided power/USB cables because my old printer's cables were hot-swappable. One drawback I noticed, was the folding, extendable paper tray...if one were to be reckless with it, the tray could possibly break. However, this is not a show-stopper for me. I simply made a mental note to be careful when sliding the tray back in! I did PLENTY of research and read MANY reviews from people like you so I've considered all reviews and opinions. Now, keep in mind I've only had this printer less than a week so if I have any issues, rest assured I'll be coming back to let you know. However, at this point, I'm completely satisfied with Hewlett-Packard for quality and Walmart for prices!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+125points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York State
Epson vs HP - The good and bad
Posted 03/16/2013
One of the bigger thing that wasn't mentioned in the reviews is that HP doesn't have that the ability to take and print from a flash drive. This ended up being a big deal in some cases for me. So if you wanted to scan things and put them on a flash drive or had trouble extracting scanned images there were more steps. Anyway, so far the HP seems less functional because it doesn't have a flash drive port. I was surprised to see that such a major issue never came out in reviews. Then, we couldn't get the HP running compared to the Epson but had traded in the Epson because of suspected spyware in their drivers and because the local store sold the printers but didn't stock the toner. Will probably be going back and trying the Epson again and dealing with having to order and wait for toner to arrive. Thing is, sometimes when you have an important project or a long weekend, that just isn't a good situation. In my opinion Epson is more user friendly as much as I hate the idea of loading their drivers. Hopefully the issues with the drives weren't the cause of some larger computer problems I started having right after loading the drivers. I had to go through and look at all programs that were running as something was consuming all my Ram and shutting things down. When loading drivers for Epson again, I will just add the bear minimum. Otherwise, your computer will have constant pop ups related to bying toner etc. They never really tell you what the true differencen is when adding and lead you to believe you need something you don't. Anyway, that is my two cents. Guessing I just got that one HP that wasn't functional as many other have had success here.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Okay printer with a few flaws.

05/08/2012
By ,
McGehee, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second printer that I bought, the first one in less than 10 days had a malfunction. it sounded like a machine gun when it tried to print. Something inside must have broken. The second printer is good so far. It makes a lot of noise when printer and sometime the printer doesn't grab the paper to print on. Otherwise I really enjoy this printer very simple to use and set up. Seems to be a good printer after the first problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 9 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Worth The Money!

04/25/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't expecting this machine to be so cooperative, but it was. I got it (including wireless connection) hooked up in less than 15 minutes. The only negative that I can say right now, is that it has no monitor on it and you can't preview any of your pages. Other than that, it is quiet, fairly quick, and easy to operate, much better than that HP Photosmart C6510 that cost a lot more. I only gave it 4 stars because there's always room for improvement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+165points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
HP4500 FAX PRINTER ===GOOD PURCHASE. PAPER JAM?
Posted 03/24/2013
i AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE. wORKS GREAT.....EXCEPT MY UNIT IS NOW OUT OF COMMISSION BECAUSE I CAN'T UNJAM A BAD PAPER JAM. THE UNIT SAYS "HIT CLEAR AND THEN YES" --- BUT WHERE IS "CLEAR" BUTTON?? ANYBODY KNOW. EMAIL ME ON THE DOUBLE!! THAT SAID, I AM EXTREMELY PLEASED WITH THE UNIT. uSE IT DAILY. i AM VISION CHALLENGED; OTHERWISE i MAY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CLEAR THE JAM. DON'T BE AFRAID TO PURCHASE THIS ITEM. YOU WON'T BE SORRY.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Poorest HP product I have ever purchased

07/28/2012
By ,
Inverness, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has to be the worst printer ever. My last printer I used for 10 years, it also was an HP. I purchased this one after I set it up I proceeded to print test page half way thru it stopped and says the print cartridage is incompatible. After going thru all of the help procedures, I returned it to Walmart and they replaced it with another Printer. I have had this one for 30 days and I never know if it will print or not. I have yet to be able to print a legal size document. When trying to print it will ask for a fax number or will print letter sized even though it is loaded with legal paper. When trying to print from my PC, I usually have to unplug the power from the printer and pug it in again.
That usually works as long as you only make 1 copy. If your in a hurry forget it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Awesome printer

04/11/2012
By ,
Chicopee, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great, I bought it yesterday 4/10/12 and the set up was easy. I was able to fax a document right away and the recipient received it right away. Prints came out clear and clean and it works really fast. But most importantly it was at a great low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+360points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Higgins,Texas
Question
Posted 06/13/2012
Are you able to scan multiple sheets at a time and save them in 1 file?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Nice product for such a low price

04/09/2012
By ,
Baltimore,md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
surprised it's not more reviews,but this works fine only problem I had was installing the ink cartridges because the tray wouldn't slide over but after that everything was a breeze,up and running just fine, only reason a person wouldn't buy this should be because it doesn't have wireless but that wasn't a deal breaker for me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+143points
Review 13 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

OMG this product is amazing

05/05/2012
By ,
Charlotte NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Lexmark X4270 and the ink cartridges are the worst so I purchased this from Walmart.com and picked it up at my local store. It was so easy to install and I use it daily. This by far exceeded my expectations and the ink replacements are so reasonable. I would recommend this because its a great working product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+106points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo, NY
HP Officejet 4500 Printer.
Posted 08/25/2012
I was able to use the USB cable from my worn out HP printer,set up was fairly easy.
Only problem -not enough information in booklet on how to use it. You have to use the included softwear, other than that it is a good printer for the price.
I was able to scan and email pictures to my daughter, prints and copies clear.
I am happy with it, would buy again.
0points
Customer Avatar
raleigh, nc
HP OfficeJet 4500 Printer
Posted 08/12/2012
I bought this printer online @the Walmart website. It was at a great price, multifunction and i thought would satisfy all my home office needs, but i soon discovered that the scanner would not scan properly work, because of limited software that came with the cd.
I had to go onto the HP desk resource website to download the extensive software & drivers for the scanner and it still does not work properly.
Also, the printer feeder does not proper accomodate 81/2 x 11 paper it always seem to get jammed. I am very disappointed with this product and is seriously thinking about returning it.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Waste of money

06/03/2012
By ,
Reno
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a nightmare. Doesn't help my opinion a bit that it is now showing here $20 cheaper than what I paid back in March. I have had this thing for three months and have had nothing but problems with it. EVERY time I try to print something there's a PAPER JAM. EVERY SINGLE TIME!! I have read some of the other reviews of people who love it and can't believe they bought the same product. I would like to drop this thing off a tall building and watch it explode in a million pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ocala, FL
Posted 11/20/2012
That's probably still cheaper than therapy! :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Yulee, Fl.
WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME
Posted 06/25/2012
I bought this same printer from the HP online store. I could not get past the set up once the ink cartridges were installed, it kept saying "close the ink cartridge door"! I contacted the so-called "help desk" out of the Phillipines???....(more outsourcing). They could not get it to work. HP had me send it back and they sent me another one...same problem!!!!! I had to return that one also...I told them I am through with HP!!!! They did NOTHING to rectify the aggravation, frustration, time, money, and ignorance I had to endure. I will NOT purchase anything from HP in the future. At one time HP was a reliable, dependable product, NOT ANY MORE!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Great features but this one is piece of garbage

08/07/2012
By ,
Franklin, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never could get this printer to work, and I consider myself excellent at fixing office equipment. There's a glitch in the sensor on the cartridge door, so the machine refuses to work until I close the door to it's satisfaction - which isn't happening. Then the brand-new ink cartridges randomly generate "ink cartridge malfunction" error messages. It's going back as soon as I can get to WalMart and I'll probably look for another model rather than buy another one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 16 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine
11/12/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is an updated version of the old one I had. My previous HP J4540 (3 yrs) began doing that bang-bang sound when starting; that one did what I needed just noisey, so I purchased this one on-line. It came to the store earlier than I expected. I am delighted with it, does all a small home office may need and can connect to other computers in our house. I would suggest it to others. The ink is not expensive if you buy from an ink cartridge shop compared to some places. I still use the older one in another room, since it still works well and I don't have to walk so far to get the docs. Have had it 2-weeks now. No complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 17 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

this printer exceeds the last one I purchased.

06/30/2012
By ,
Sarasota,florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The printer,fax,copier,does it all,I used it almost immediatly after arriving home with it. Very easy to set up and I used in at least 15 minutes of arriving home.Great price as well,for the product like I said at the beginning,exceeds the last one and easier to use. Thanks Walmart,my last one bit the dust half an hour to me purchasing this one,and your Walmart is just around the corner,so it all worked out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 18 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Good printer for a GREAT price!

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints on this printer. It was pretty easy to set up and start using.
+10points
Review 19 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

Avoid HP 4500

08/22/2012
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned HP printers in past, work great last long time. Purchased HP 4500, nothing but wireless communication probs. received another HP 4500 with warranty, the rplacement had cartridge carriage problems, replaced with different model. HP customer care was great, although I spent hours on the telehone with tech support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 20 for HP Officejet 4500 inkjet Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner/Fax Machine

small issue

05/25/2012
By ,
connecticut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Followed directions out of box,my windows 7 did not reconize untit,was so busy that before I had a chance of looking for website help an update came from HP that seems to have corrected all the issues
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
1-20 of 341 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next