Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Sunpentown Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

This Sunpentown Induction Cooktop provides performance, safety and efficiency. Induction heats as electricity flows through a coil to produce a magnetic field under the ceramic plate. When ferromagnetic cookware is placed on the ceramic surface, currents are induced in the cookware and instant heat is generated due to the resistance of the pan. Heat is generated to the pan only, and no heat is lost. As there are no open flames, inductions are safer to use than conventional burners. Once cookware is removed, all molecular activity ceases and heating is stopped immediately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation81%26 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

I like this item!

12/01/2012
By ,
ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have not had it long enough to truly rate the durability, but the heat up time on my pot is fantastic! I can heat things faster than with my microwave!
Just be sure you know the symbol of the induction pans, and how to check for compatibility. Copper clad, ceramic covered will NOT work! Otherwise, a great item!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

I love it.

05/24/2014
By ,
El Paso Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the revievs of all the different models in order to get as much information as possible and I decided to buy the Sunpentown 1,300W in black. This is the first time to have I owned one and I was worrid I might have a difficult time learning how to use it. But it was so easy to start cooking, and to understand how it works and it heats so fast and the cooking time is so much faster. All of my steenless pots and Pans work great with it and I am really glad I purchaded this cooktop. I hope it will last me a long time. It also keeps your kitchen a lot cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Good Induction Cooktop

03/11/2014
By ,
Austin,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at several cooktops and their reviews, and liked this one the best. The induction on this one could have been higher to at least 1600 Watts,instead of 1300 Watts, and the fan is a little loud,but you get used to it in time.I have several cast iron cookware that I use. all of them work quite well,and several stainless steel pans. Remember if a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pan it's good to go.The timer works fine for warming up left overs as well.In all the cooktop is very good for the price of $59.40.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

LOOKS USED

07/15/2014
By ,
Outer Banks, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two of these and they both had many fine scratches all over the plastic part where you turn on and set the temp. One was clearly a return as the original sealed packaging was opened. That was the nicer one. The other one had more scratches and even had a greasy fingerprint on one of the push pad areas. Gross. I have not cooked with them yet but boiled water in both of them to see if they work and they do. I am not sure if I am going to return them. Disgusted in the obviously used condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

This cooktop is great, just unplug when not on.

09/26/2013
By ,
Plano Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this Sunpentown cooktop is great, it cooks fast the food taste better, its a power saver!! But when its fan turns off unplug it. It uses 2/3 of an amp when its off. I have mine plugged into a 15 amp power strip, works fine. I start in cook mode then change to temp mode. I looked a long time before I got this, I think its the best for the price range. (Get the black one)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Better than I expected

09/20/2013
By ,
everywhere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe how fast it cooks and boil over is stopped immediately when the stop button is pressed. Easy clean up. I am using it in my RV and it can be used outdoors for potlucks. Has a larger cook area than most I have seen. Made a large pot of chili with no problems. Love that it can be used as a slower cooker though I haven't tried it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

great value for the price

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use for home brewing and it work great. would have given a 5 if you had better control of temp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Good looking unit, perfect footprint size for our-

05/12/2014
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good looking unit, perfect footprint size for several of our kitchen counter work areas. Built-in legs assure safe distancing from laminated countertop while in use. During shipping / handling, someone dropped my package on a corner of the box, causing the Styrofoam shipping cassette supporting the unit to rupture at the control panel end of the unit. No visible damage to the unit, though. If it doesn't work correctly when I first use it I may have to file a claim with Wal-Mart or the warranty folks. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for 'smooth sailing' regarding this item's performance!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

the next step into the future

02/06/2013
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite impressed with this technology. I feel like I step into the future each time I use it.
I purchased it as a test to see if I'm ready for this technology in a new kitchen I'm planning. So far my test is going well and I'm glad I purchased it. I'm using it alongside my older cast-iron element electric range, and I find I gravitate to the Sunpentown instead. In summer I'm sure this will be very welcome since there is no heat leftover afterwards to overheat the kitchen.
Other reviewers have well discussed the type of cookware needed. Basically, if a magnet sticks to at least the bottom of the pot, you're good to go.
The power rating of 1300 watts is more than adequate for all my needs so far. It will sear scallops with very high heat, and then cool instantly to just barely warm if you choose which eliminates the need to move the cookware to a cooler spot. Heat responds instantly to temperature or power increases, and slows down just as fast. No need to bother thinking about residual cooking time when switched off as you do with older style resistance burners. I have some cast iron pieces which seem to work even faster than the induction-purposed cookware. Both types work fine. Surprisingly, the cast iron handle on my 10" frypan did not get more than touchably warm since the heat concentrates to the bottom of the cookware.
I think the cook levels which are based on wattage and the temperature selections which sample the actual heat in the pot are a useful design. I tested the temperature settings with an electronic thermometer and the readings were accurate within a degree or two. Others have mentioned hearing a very faint clicking sound when in temperature mode, but this is normal. Cooking by temperature demands a different kind of thinking, but then most of us adapted to the microwave oven after a little practice. A fan inside keeps the circuitry cool, which I think is quiet enough. I don't mind it, it's just different.
I gave only four stars for durability only because with less than two weeks of use I don't feel I can fully answer that yet, but will update in a few months. It seems well built for its purpose, the ceramic glass is beautifully made, the design is sleek and easy to clean, and is surprisingly lightweight but not too. The controls are logically positioned, easy to see and understand, and I like the overall design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Great value

12/26/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking into induction cooktop advertised on tv. Was a lot of negatives in reviews, mostly about shipping. Found this unit with more functions like intermittent heat and near 1/2 the price of the basic unit on tv (before s/h!).
Received quickly, packed securely very good value.
Be sure to have an electrical circuit that can handle the wattage if you want to use on high power. 1300 watts can pop a breaker if too much else is on same circuit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Excellent Choice

01/17/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give it 5 Stars on all points is b/c I haven't had it long enough to know if it will be durable- Have used it several times in past couple of weeks- I learned how to adjust the temp, time, & wattage so I do it all quickly & easily now- Last nite I used my Stainless Pressure Cooker on this unit...having had it on 1100 at first, then down to 700 Watts...then down to 500 watts- Finally I decided to switch to exact very LOW temp & use the timer for the last 8 minutes after no more pressure cooking- I finished cooking the stew on VERY LOW temp..alternating between 180 & 210 F- IF it lasts a long time, then It IS a 5 Star product- So far I consider this cooktop an excellent choice-
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

this is a wonderful intro to induction cooking!

03/16/2013
By ,
cincinnati ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this thing. i got rid of my old gas range. i am now using this with a convection oven instead.
most of my cookware worked with it.(test bottom of pan with magnet) this thing can be controlled by temperature or watts. it has a timer. for the price there is no other choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Temp. settings are unreliable.

02/03/2013
By ,
Acworth, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sometimes water boils at a setting of 180 f, other times it appears to to heat to the desired
setting (within a twenty degree spread) so some foods get burned very quickly.
It even burned some of the non stick surface off a pan while scrambling eggs and melted
the high temp utensil I was using. I will return it.
If all you want to do is boil water, it will work OK.
Of course, you can a much cheaper electric boiler if that is all you need. But, if you need
controlled cooking temps, don't trust it.
It could be that I have a defective unit but, I will return it and try another.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Great Cooktop

03/27/2014
By ,
Centerville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw the commercials for the Nu Wave. Too expensive, but wanted to try it. Tried this one and it is great. Cooks faster then regular burner. Does not burn the food. Keeps it hot without burning it or having it stick to the pan. Really great cooktop. The pan gets hot but not the cooktop. Only thing I don't like is you have to use certain pans, but I had some so didn't really matter. The pan has to be able to have a magnet stick to it. But overall a great thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

great if you have a camper, a cabin or a kitchen.

02/02/2014
By ,
steubenville, oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it a great deal. that is why only 4 stars. the few times I have used it, it met expectations. it will take a while to get proficient with it. be prepared to purchase compatible cookware for it. also, it could use some kind of protective cover to keep it from getting scratched.
I can see where it can be real handy. so far no complaints and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

my Sunpentown Induction Cooktop is awesome.

03/03/2013
By ,
Jackson, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Sunpentown Induction Cooktop surpasses all of my expectations. it heats up rapidly and maintains set temp and if you turn the selector down, the temp drops at once. It works so well that I use it 2 or three times a day. I am really happy with my purchase and I'm considering buying another one next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black
03/16/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am learning each time I turn it on. A few suggested temps to use for different foods would have been nice for those of us new to induction cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black
08/30/2013
By ,
Gilbertsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it three times now for fried chicken, and the cook top works great.
Holds the temperature fairly steady, never burnt the oil, yet kept it just right
for properly deep fried chicken. So far seems accurate, looks good, cleans up easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

good value

02/01/2014
By ,
midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
product does as advertised with good value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown 1,300W Induction Cooktop, Black

Well worth the money!

11/02/2013
By ,
Casa Grande, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money! Just have to get use to cooking at much lower temperature settings. (No real instructions) Most meals cook at 160-180 deg., frying at 210 - 280 deg.. Use stainless, cast iron or induction rated aluminum only. If you don't have the right pan, the heater won't turn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next