Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

The Proscan 50" LCD HDTV features a brilliant Full HD 1080p picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to three HD devices to your Proscan HDTV via the provided HDMI ports. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Proscan 50" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.568 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation76%28 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great Large Screen TV -Worth Much More

07/31/2012
By ,
Pompano FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this site-to-home last week, to replace an older Sony DLP. Excellent delivery from Seko. Actually came a few days ahead of time. Packing was very secure, and everything (screen and all) arrived in one piece. The stand was a bit problematic. It's a bit flimsy, for this size TV. But a friend helped me screw it down more firmly, and now it's fine. I love the remote. It's straight-forward and simple. As is the small user's manual. I have it set up to an older model Vizio sound bar, and after using the onscreen equalizer, the sound is just about where I want it to be. (I will pobably get a subwoofer of some kind later on just to boost the low notes when I watch action movies: I miss the rumble.# I've attached 2 HDMI devices to it: A Toshiba Blu-ray/Internet player; and an older Samsung DVR/VCR. The pictures are super-HD. I am using a Comcast digital box #without HDMI# and the cable TV picture is outstanding. Of course, I've tweaked it, so it's what I like. The black is VERY black; the white, likewise. I checked the price elsewhere, and it is much more than what I paid WalMart. The input array is very complete, with easy-to-get-to 3 HDMI inputs, as well as composite, component and VGA #computer# inputs and out. It is wall-mountable -by a professional. #This does come with a 1 year parts/labor warranty. But, I do think I will invest in the WalMart product security/replacement plan, for my own peace of mind.) To my mind, I got much more than I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 2 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A
09/06/2012
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv and home theater system for less than $600. It was very easy to install and the picture and sound were great for the price. It was a bargain compare to the more name brand, I am very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Fantastic Buy

08/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase. Like other reviewers, I found the picture quality excellent. For a 50" TV, this is a great buy. This is the second Proscan that I have owned and I have been very happy with both of them. The speakers are not great, although unlike other reviewers, I did not find them horrible. I just found them average or a step below average for internal tv speakers. I have resolved this by hooking them up to some computer speakers that I had with a powered subwoofer. It was just a matter of plugging them into the headphone jack and they work perfectly (increase and decrease the volume with the remote). I feel this was a better option than going with the bundle, where the receiver did not get good reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 4 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great TV for a great price!

08/18/2012
By ,
Orlando, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is all it was described. The picture is great and the size is what was described. I am fully satisfied with the TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

You can't get a better T.V. for the money

09/08/2012
By ,
Adams, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This T.V. has exceeded my expectations in every way. It's fantastic. Great picture, and the sound is fine once you play around with the settings. Don't be afraid, you'll like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great deal

08/03/2012
By ,
Surfside,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its great. Picture fabulous and sound is better than my surround system. Have in bedroom watcghing olympic volleybal and announcer sounds like hes in my hallway to the right and all aound. Connected computer to hdmi and screen flickered and thought it wouldnt work switched back to tv channel and when went back to pc everything was great. Have to do that whenever want to use pc but is ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great TV for value

08/26/2012
By ,
Attleboro Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you get the setup complete picture quality is great, definitely need to invest in a sound bar.
We are having problems with the remote sensor on the TV not receiving a signal and trying to find some customer care support or whatever is almost impossible. Still, we are going to give it a good chance.
Home delivery was not great, I live on a second floor and he wouldnt help me bring it up the stairs as he didnt get paid to do that all other home deliveries were more obliging and were dealing with heavier items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great TV for the price

09/03/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is a great value for the price. Easy to install and excellent picture quality. The volume is lower compared to other TVs but good enough for a 500 sqft living room and not a problem if you have a sound system. The pict quality is better than my Vizio TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Excellent choice!

08/29/2012
By ,
Memphis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is everything I thought it would be.
As some others have hinted, the sound is a little "hollow" and lacks bass.
However, the sound is not terrible.
The TV comes with the some of the main sound functions deactivated by default.
Therefore out of the box the sound is almost like a whisper even with the volume turned up 1/4 - 1/2 of the way.
Once those main sound parameters are turned on, everything is good!
Definitely RECOMMEND this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great TV for price.

07/23/2012
By ,
Payson AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is absolutely amazing for the price. Had a hard time initially making the decision to order one since there is a lack of info on the product on the web. Took a chance and am glad I did. The picture quality with cable TV is great. The picture quality with a laptop on the PC port is very clear and the ipad through one of the HDMIs is also awesome. Main downside is the speakers-they just do not put out a wide range of sound. TV sounds great through our home thatre system. Not in the description (also) is a PC audio input that comes in handy to hook up the laptop for Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Review 11 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great with Bundle; Not so much Alone

07/18/2012
By ,
Magnolia, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, let me complaint about the delivery service. Awful!!!!! Paid for delivery to home between 7/5 to 7/10, everything but the TV arrived during the dates. TV came in on the 12th. But that's has nothing to do with the product. As for as the product, TV picture, features, etc ---Awesome. BUT it's sound level for a 50"---HORRIBLE. Thank God, we decided to do the bundle with the surround sound. The surround sound is what saved the purchase. And it's not that I was looking for this huge audio from the TV, but we're talking a small average size room and both my husband and I looked at each other when I turned the TV to it's max and immediately was disappointed and went to hooking up the surround sound. Picture is of great quality!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+150points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark,NJ
Great For The Price.....
Posted 08/25/2012
I'm very satisfied with the tv. The only thing I had to do was a reset and everything works fine. The sound is good for my room, I will hook up a surround sound system later. So far so good.....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great Picture, not so good sound

08/22/2012
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As all the reviews say, you'd probably want to purchase this as a bundle with the surround sound, because the tv sound itself is very poor, but with the surround, it sounds great, picture is great, especially with HD programming, great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

This tv has a great picture!

09/04/2012
By ,
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great picture with good sound with soundbar attached. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great Buy!

08/11/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this TV 8-12 and I must say, it has a great picture. The sound quality was ok but nothing a surround sound couldn't fix. Very Happy with this buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Very good value

08/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value. Product arrived as expected and the picture quality is decent but bright out of the box (as is typical of manufacturer default settings). After calibration (using Digital Video Essentials), the picture quality is quite good, although Tint cannot be adjusted for some reason resulting in a slight color shift. Others have complained about the audio quality - that was not a factor in my purchase decision, but note that the default audio setting has artificially high treble...change to the "flat" eq setting and the sound gets a little better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Great TV

08/04/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this as part of the bundle with the RCA home theater system. Good thing since the sound on the TV isn't great (it's not terrible though either). TV was shipped site to store for free and arrived on the day it originally said (though I was informed it was delayed a day, it still arrived on time). TV is so far perfect. Great picture, easy to setup, works well with Xbox 360, TiVo, home theater, everything. Gave it 4 out of 5 stars only because the sound is wimpy compared to the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 17 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A
07/23/2012
By ,
MILWAUKEE WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I PURCHASED THIS TV GOING BY THE SPECS I READ ABOUT IT. NOTTTTTTTT TRUE IT IS NOT 50 INCHES IT IS 46 INCHES LONG AND 31 INCHES HIGH WITH STAND WAS JUST WONDERING DID I GET THE WRONG PRODUCT ????? FROM OTHER REVIEWS THEY SAY DIFFERENT HAS VERY POOR SOUND QUALITY NEED SURROUND SOUND WITH IT. OK FOR THE PRICE BUT A DEAL IS NOT ALWAYS A DEAL
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-76points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Lancaster,PA
measure it diagonally
Posted 08/20/2012
measurement of 50" is not width but diagonally across screen. this has been the way TV have been measured for over 45 years
0points
Customer Avatar
Sierra nevada foothills, California
Wrong way to measure
Posted 08/15/2012
The way these TV's are measured for screen size is diagonally. Try measuring it that way and I am sure you will find it is 50".
+1point
Customer Avatar
california
Wow.
Posted 08/03/2012
Seriously.... it says on the product description when you buy the product that it is 50" diagonal. What a terrible review! How embarrassing!
+6points
Customer Avatar
Peabody, MA
50"
Posted 07/27/2012
that means DIAG0NALLY
+6points
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX.
TV size
Posted 07/26/2012
TV's size is a measurement diagonally from corner to corner of the panel.... excluding the plastic frame/bezel. It's not a reflection of Width or Height of the TV. Btw, Monitors are measured the same.
+7points
Customer Avatar
Erie, PA
TV Measurements
Posted 07/26/2012
Tv's and monitors etc. are measured on a diagonal. When you purchase a TV the "50 Inches" is diagonal across the screen, corner to corner, not a horizontal or vertical measurement.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Measurements.
Posted 07/26/2012
If your measurements are correct, then you should have a 55 inch TV and you should not be complaining that they sent you the wrong product!
TV sizes are measured diagonally, not by length or height.
x^2 = (31)^2 + (46)^2
x = 55.4707 inches
I would be happy :P
+5points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/26/2012
TV measurements go by diagonal measurements, the 50 inches refers to the diagonal, not length or width, this is true for all TVs
+4points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 18 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Poor Sound

07/20/2012
By ,
ft wright, ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great picture, plenty of inputs, minimal adjustments, no enet connection, sound is terrible. Even after attempting to use equalizer, still extremely tinny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Review 19 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A

Spend a little more to get a better brand!

09/08/2012
By ,
Santa Clarita, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this t.v. with the RCA home theater system and got everything on time except the T.V. I was told 2 weeks after ordering, that the T.V. got "LOST" in transit. I had to wait another week to get it shipped to my house by a different company. Anyways, I got the tv and it did not look right after plugging it in. The picture quality on regular channels was pretty awful. I changes every display and screen setting through my cable box and tv and still had a poor picture. The picture on HD channels was great but, not all channels come HD. For the sound! OMG!! Horrible. Just as bad as everyone said. Very awful and high pitch. As for the RCA home theater system. That too was pretty bad! I've had a cd player with two speakers that sounded better then that. There are no options to adjust the levels other then the subwoofer which makes no difference. If you are used to good quality, this tv and home theater is not for you. For 4 dollars more, you can buy Walmart's Samsung 51" plasma that it 600hz compared to this tv which is only "60"! Hope this helps someone save time and money...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Proscan 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, PLCD5085A
07/29/2012
By ,
portage, mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered this online and had delivered to store. Took 8 days, picked it up, my husband spent the day hooking everything up, turned on tv, 2 very large lines going through screen. Unable to see the lines until tv turned on. We retruned the tv to Walmart, without any problems, and decided to spend a little more and buy from the store. No one has heard of this tv, and we did not want to waste another week re-ordering in case this is an ongoing problem with the quality of the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+31points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next