Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hannspree HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Hannspree HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

The HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV features a brilliant full HD 1080p picture for your viewing pleasure. You may connect up to two HD devices via the included HDMI ports. Soccer fans will love the one-of-a-kind design of this HANNspree LCD TV. With 160-degree vertical and 170-degree horizontal angles, you can view a clear picture when you sit anywhere in the room. It features a 5ms response time for uninterrupted action. You can also watch digital programs with the built-in digital tuner HDTV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%103 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Feels just like a Real Basketball

04/16/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my son, who absolutely loves basketball. We are both in love with this TV! We both love the fact that it looks and feels like a real basketball. The value is excellent. The TV is actually bigger than it looks because it measures at 28" but that is not including the basketball frame. It was easily to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Excellent value, and it works very well.

06/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to do double-duty as an HDTV and as a hi-res (1920X1200) computer monitor. It does both, and I'm very happy with it.
My only complaint is that if you view from much off-axis, the larger angle parts of the image are brownish gray, but it's still acceptable for the price.
As others have noted, the sound quality is nothing to sing about, but it's adequate, and if you send the audio to a good sound system, it's fine.
The goofy "basketball" appearance isn't as bad as I expected, and, for me, it puts the screen at about the right height. In some ways, the appearance is kind of cool, in a geeky way. I have this unit facing a window, and the basketball part blocks the light, so I don't have to close the blinds.
Another oddity is that the stand (fits onto the back) is solid metal, not tubing, so it's very heavy, which surprised me. But it works.
So far, this unit has been terrific, and it has exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

EXcellent TV @ AWESOME PRiCe HANDS DOWN

05/03/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this tv and was blown away but to see it in person is a shocker. This picture doesn't do it any justice. The basketball surrounding the tv is well designed and like the reviews say it feels like a basketball. Love, love, love!!! I like the way the screen sits back into the basketball. It has nice big buttons and the remote stands up. All the jacks in the back have very easy access. Has decent contrast which make for a nice clear picture. The setup is so easy, the stand snaps into place. I was hesitant about purchasing this tv for one reason....my sons room is Disney cars theme but Im so excited I got it. He likes the tv as well . I gave it 4 stars only because the sound isn't that great but its nothing a speaker box can't fix. Of course a 3yr old isn't concerned with that anyhow ;-). The reason I know I got a great buy is once my daddy saw this Tv in person he went directly online and ordered it for his game room!!!! He says the football is next!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Great value at a great price.

05/09/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv far exceeded my expectations. For such a low price, I was expecting a bare bones, kid's version of an HD tv. It has a greater number of, and a more diverse array of input choices than a similar sized tv I bought for my daughter at a significantly higher price. The screen size is more than adequate for a child's room, and the picture is outstanding. The sound quality, while not suitable for a larger room, is more than acceptable for gaming and kids' enjoyment. The stand is beefy and sturdy, and the decorative surround looks and feels like a real basketball. Easy set up(no phone calls to make for activation)makes it a five minute affair to get from unpacking to viewing. For families on a slim budget, this is the choice they should make. While the jury is out on it's longevity, I own 2 Hannspree CPU monitors that have been trouble free for more than four years, so I expect no problems in that regard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

was a bit disappointed, but good for the price

07/25/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i purchased this television for my son's 5th birthday, and i was extra excited because of all of the good reviews, however when i opened it i was not totally impressed...it is a bit bulky. i still managed to sale myself on the t.v. so much that i threw the box away, because you can't beat the price. now about a month later i noticed one of the pixels is out...all i see now is a tiny red dot!!!!!!!!! ugh!!!!! my son barely use this t.v. only to play his wii and occasionally watch netflix on so how on earth did a pixel burn out already!!!....if i could i would honestly return this t.v., especially after reading the one review (after i already bought) of how it totally broke after a few months...i am hoping to at least get 5 years out of it before i upgrade for him, but in the mean time i will just hope that it doesn't break.<another thing...the volume is not that great,compared to my 42 vizio and it produces a little smell when you first put it on>
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

THIS TV IS THE BEST! I TRUELY LOVE IT!

04/02/2012
By ,
WINSTON-SALEM, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS TV AND THE FACT THAT IT IS ACTUALLY MADE FROM THE MATERIAL THAT BASKETBALLS ARE MADE FROM. THE WHOLE THING IS A LOT BIGGER THAN I EXPECTED. THIS TV IS GREAT FOR A SPORTS THEMED ROOM. THE PRICE WAS GREATLY DISCOUNTED. THIS IS A MUST HAVE. BOTH SOUND AND PICTURE ARE GREAT TOO. NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT FROM ME!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB
03/30/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this T.V. for my 7 yr. old and he loves it. The picture, sound, and features are better than expected. It was bigger than I thought it would be. Highly recommend this television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Porterville, CA
GREAT BUY
Posted 04/03/2012
I was surprised about how big it actually is...approx. 31 1/2 wide and 31 1/2 tall....great pictures.....i'm having trouble finding a wall mount that fits....even though the book says purchase VESA 100 X 200, 6 holes, m4, 14 mm, 20 kg. I can't find any wall mounts that reflect all those specifications.....if anyone finds a compatable wall mount please post which one you found....Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

something to talk about

03/27/2012
By ,
Auxier, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tv because of its unusuall shape. that being a tv inside a giant basketball. however, i was pleasantly surprised to find a very good picture. colors were rich and pure. the audio quality not so good but for the price you can't beat this for a tv for your recreation room, or family room as a conversation piece that you can watch and enjoy. This was the 12th tv i've bought from wal-mart since august--and i have them all!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harper Woods, MI
Good T.V. for U of M room
Posted 08/01/2012
My son's has a U of M bedroom ,eventhough he wanted the football tv that hannspree has as well, I, brought the basketball tv, 4 inches wider plus plus, 80 dollars cheaper than the football tv. They still enjoy watching the t.v. plus everyone go crazy over their Michigan room now with the basketball t.v. their room is really the talk of the town what a great look hannspree so very creative.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Great Tv for boys room!

05/28/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv for my boys room 7 & 9, they loved it, its so different, wasnt sure about hannspree brand, so i did a little research and they are reputable, and i read alot of reviews, but when i actually picked the tv up i fell in love with it, it really is bigger than you think it will be, and when i got it home and plugged it up it was such a rich and beautiful picture thats the 1080 pixs ya know, the functions are great, the sound is great, you can mount it or just let it sit on the stand its a great television, and the price when i got it was $169, worth every penny, you cant find a reg 1080 pix, 28in tv 4 that price!!! MOTHER TO PARENT GET THIS 4 UR BOYS OR EVEN A MAN WIT A THEMED ENTERTAINMENT AREA THEY'LL LOVE IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Awesome

04/08/2012
By ,
Bakersfiel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my boys as a birthday gift. They loved it. It was bigger then I expected. The tv actually feels like a basketball! Great picture and sound also. Even better the price was great. Now I see it's lower then when I purchased it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB
04/04/2012
By ,
Burlington , VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hate sports but the basketball surround on this V doesn't bother me because when I'm watching it all I see is that great TV screen. ONe minor problem has arrisen, and it's more and inconveniece than a real problem. The TV does not respond to universal remotes. So I have to use the supplied remote to turnit on and off, and then the cable box universal remote for changing chanels. Still if that is all that is wrong I can live with it considering the price I paid and the quality of the picture,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB
06/27/2012
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Tv was decent for the price but then the Tv broke down 92 days after I bought so I cant return it now but have to go through the warranty deal which is a hassle,and make sure you keep the box for 90 days or you cant return it...I say go a different way as far as a TV goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

An 28" HDTV 1080p for this price... outstanding!

04/02/2012
By ,
Arvada, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a TV I would put in my living room unless back in my college "daze", but a bedroom, rec area. GREAT! Sound is great for the size of this set is great. There is an eq to adjust on the tv iteslf, along with a 1/8in headphone jack to use with a powered speaker out. I have not tried this, but all and all, this is a great TV for the buck... if you can get over the fact that it is shaped like a basketball. I love it so far. ;0)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ky
Best all around deal
Posted 09/18/2012
I bought this several months ago from the wal mart web site and i must say i am very happy with my purchase.Great color and clairity 1920x1200 works great with my pc and cable box.Some have said they can't get full use of their screen with this set but i have had no troubles with the tv or computer set up.I use hdmi cords for both the tv and as a computer monitor. If you shop around for a monitor this size and resolution you can't find a better price than this. It has a fast responce time, no ghosting.
I must warn you though, the whole piece, or set ,is huge if your going to use the stand make sure you have alot of room. The stand is rock solid and heavy and there is no worries about it falling over, AT ALL. I used a wall mount with mine and it works and looks great. Cable management is not the greatest but not many are .Controls buttons on the front are large and easy to use as is the remote.I did use a rca code on the remote i think to get it to work my set top box. The speakers are the best i've heard out of a flat panel tv, even though i'm hard of hearing i have no problem hearing anything with this set.It has 3 or 4 aspect ratios you can use including one for close caption scrolling on the bottom of the screen , so it does'nt scrunch the picture when you use close caption.the remote is feels solid like it might last a long time like it should, and is easy to use. If there is a con about the remote is some of the buttons are tiny, not all, but there are just a few of them small so you an remeber with out looking to know what they do.
If you can get over the basket ball theme, which I have, this is a great tv and pc monitor for the price.....And remember I warned you the thing is BIG!!LOL About 33 inches in diameter..Btw The screen is matt so it does'nt have a light glare problem..FYI
I had this set shipped to my home and delivery was quick and the product was well packed with no damage.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

My son is enjoying the televison so far.

04/07/2012
By ,
Memphis,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television is amazing it more than meets my expectations. I just hate when you're close to the tv it sounds weird. But I love to watch the tv myself when my son is at school. Great screen quality, pretty clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Fantastic as Monitor or TV

04/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, these thigs are great! I bought 2 to complete an AMD Eyefinity triple monitor setup.What most people dont know, is HaNNSpree manufactures great monitors and that is the reason i gave these a shot.I already had a 28 inch monitor from them and when i seen these for 169 a piece i decided to get them since i paid almost 300 for my Hannspree monitor. These are actaually 1920 X 1200 (like my original monitor) and not just 1080p(1920 x1080) and i can assure you they are every bit as good as my dedicated monitor. I also hooked my cable up to this and i have no complaints about the picture.Not sure if i can get them out of the basketballs, but havent tried yet.Anyways, as far as value and quality, these cant be beat.
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Looks and works great!

05/27/2012
By ,
Burlington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 and 3 yo LOVE this TV. I won't pretend to be any expert on HDTVs or electronics, but the set up and initial performance of the TV was worth the money. It looks super cool too. We may be looking to get another one for when the kids visit their grandparents. We bought the flat mount ($10) through site-to-store as well but so far have not mounted it. The stand is more sturdy than I expected looking at the photos. Still for safety, we will be mounting ours. Our purchase price was $169 but it's inched up since to I think $188 now.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB
05/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome deal for the money. Sound is great, it is larger than I thought it would be, but not a problem. Very cool, an eye catcher. Happy with my purchase.
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Great tv for kids room

05/18/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my sons bedroom and it has been a big hit. It was much nicer than I expected and larger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Good Basic Flat Panel LCD TV

05/13/2012
By ,
Daly City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good basic 1080p LCD TV, the price was great. The build quality of the exterior was very solid and high quality. The reception using a HDTV antenna I was able to surprisingly get over 50 stations through the airwaves, beats out my other two flat panel TVs, a Sharp Aquos and Samsung. The picture and sound quality is average, but at the price was a great value as long as you don't mind having huge basketball on your wall. Great for den's and garages or your man cave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HANNspree 28" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ST285MUB

Great

04/15/2012
By ,
Buffalo NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is so awesome in my sons basketball themed room. Everyone that sees it loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next