Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%69 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 87 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
05/17/2012
By ,
Woburn, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get alot for your money with this one!! I shopped around before buying this air conditioner. I wanted to make sure that I got the most for my $$, and this was it, with 24,000 BTU's! I bought 2 of these air conditioners-one for my downstairs (12oo sq ft) & one for my upstairs (900 sq ft), and my whole house is cool. It literally takes less than 5 minutes of turning them on to cool down the house on a hot day. I haven't used the setting above Medium because there is no need...as a matter of fact, it would probably be like the tundra of I set them on high!
You can't even tell that they are on because they literally make no noise. This is probably how all the air conditioners are these days, but the last air conditioner I had was 20 years old & I had to turn the TV on full blast to hear it because the air conditioner was so LOUD, so the fact that this one made no noise made me happy =))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

cools quickly

04/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once you get through the setting up part (which takes a little patience)and making sure you have correct outlet plug, it works great, operates quietly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Shipping Damage

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would have liked to at least have given this a try. But, as per another reviewer, I had them open the box on site as the box was damaged. The Unit had several dents and dings and in one place the entire section of vent fins had been bent so badly they were no longer attached to the housing. I refused it.
Wal-Mart really needs to step up their game in the shipping department. Were I work a box with that much damage would not have been accepted in receiving.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

BEST BUY

04/28/2014
By ,
Inland Emire, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this last year in August when it was on clearance for less than $350...SCORE!!! Even if I paid regular price it is well worth it. We have an old 800 sq ft home and let me say, after 30 minutes or less of this unit on we have to shut it off! It freezes us out; this even happened during the summer of last year too. We have finally found a good temp (76) setting were we can be cool and save energy too. DOWN FALL: I didn't realize it required a 220 amp, and being we have an old home which do not have 220 amp we need to have it installed. That took the money I saved off the unit...still worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

High powered high value

05/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I repair and install Heating and AC systems. GE is a great brand. The unit lives up to it's advertising. Best used for through the wall install. You may also window install, but be careful(150lbs)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Deal!!

06/15/2012
By ,
western NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My home is approx. 1300 square feet and this A/C cools the entire house. I paid $469.00 and its worth every penny. It is very large as A/Cs of this cooling capacity are so be sure to have a window large enough and have help moving it. Very heavy! The 220 electric is great. I haven't really noticed much difference in my electric bill since I have been running it. I highly recommend this A/C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great air conditioner for the money!

05/15/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped forever for the best deal on a window air conditioner. This one was perfect for price and getting the job done! It's actually a little smaller then the previous one, but cools and blows so much better. I'm through with Kenmore products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/28/2012
By ,
Sheridan, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air conditioner is an excellent option for cooling a large space. I was hoping it would cool large rooms (about 1600 sf) with elevated ceilings. It has done that very nicely and was much cheaper than the other options (central air, mini split). We put this unit through the wall instead of in a window. We did need to install a 220 plug. We are very happy with this product and would highly recommend it to others. It is easy to install as well, but is quite heavy, so will need a couple people. It has not, however, needed extra support or bracing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

great a/c

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

great product

05/27/2014
By ,
Lexington, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I installed this my house was very hot...86. Within an hour it was 72. It works great, easy to install and use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/06/2012
By ,
Hart Co, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a great air conditioner for the money. It works great!! It does require a special outlet, but it is worth the extra effort. We have a 16x80, 20 year old mobile home. I was worried that this might not do the job. It easily does. Our temps have been in the 100's like the rest of the country, but we stay a very cool 72. Thank you GE and Walmart for a product and price to keep our cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great AC unit!!

06/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GE 24,000 BTU window AC unit is one heck of a cold wind blowing machine! On the Hi Cool setting this baby blows a chilly 41 deg. with the temp taken at the vents! And that was on a 97 deg. day..What more can you ask for out of a under $500.00 very BIG & HEAVY window AC unit??!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great quiet and efficient air conditioner!

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this air conditioner! We ordered it from Wal Mart and had it shipped to the store. It arrived earlier than expected and my husband and I installed the unit ourselves. It is quieter than the one we had before(different brand) and it cools really well. We live in a small house and it cools the entire house easily. We run it on the Energy Saver mode and we are comfortable! We are extremely pleased with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

measurements are wrong

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit is NOT 25.9 inches wide as listed in the specs. It is 26.5 inches wide. Big difference when you only have an opening that is 26 inches wide. Unit is being returned. Very unhappy.
I have no idea how it would have cooled, as it does not fit.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Good Air Conditioner for the money

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a good job cooling. A bit noisey.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great air conditioner for the money

06/02/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit was installed through the wall and was easy to install after wall opening was cut. It was necessary to install a new 220 line and wall outlet.
Installed in a 1500 sq.ft. home and it easily keeps the house cooled to 78 degrees with temperatures outside exceeding 100 degrees.
There was minor concealed damage to the unit when it was delivered. Four or five louvers on the outside case were bent and one was broken. There was no apparent damage to the shipping carton.
Overall I'm very pleased with the unit and Walmart has a good system in place for tracking the status of the shipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Son and I had a little trouble taking the unit out of its shell to remove the packaging inside, but once we got it going, it was great. Our house has never had air conditioning, its 2,400 sq. ft. I have raised my son on my own in this house, he's 13 now. This unit is a godsend. With the help of our fans, it cooled the whole house! We got the temp. down from 95 to 76 quickly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

very cold air

06/14/2014
By ,
ChattanoogaTennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real easy to install.But also very heavy.Had to get help from my brother to install it.And within 45 to 50 mins.My home was very cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

was all ok except for end of driveway delivery

06/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was all ok but delivery stinks. I was not told it would be the end of the driveway delivery.Will probably not buy heavy item from walmart again. VERy POOR
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW24DQ High Efficiency 24,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Product

05/18/2012
By ,
Goose Creek, South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and really nice that it has a remote control!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next