Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 8,000-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 300 to 350 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit. Equipped with high-efficiency compressors, fan motors and heat transfer surfaces, GE window air conditioners can help reduce energy consumption to save you money on your utility bills.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%181 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Fit the bill and fit right in the wall slot

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and great product. Easy set up and easy to program. The economy setting is great in keeping the utility bill low. Store pickup and online ordering made, easy! Store employees are friendly and eager to assist in completing the pickup transaction. All done, under 15min. Another satisfied customer...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Good Value

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good value and excellent for a moderate size room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

The air conditioner

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a little louder than I expected and the outer frame was bent a little in shipping !! It cools great and I love the energy saving mode on it !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

does what it's supposed to do

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quiet and efficient
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

great unit and energy saver

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hoping for a unit that shuts off upon reaching the temperature set....it does so and puts out lots of air
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

best price

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good price and performance
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Works great, and at a great price too

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not even a week since installed. Works as exspected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

This is the second replacement unit.

09/11/2014
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the fourth one of these I've had and is the best one of all the units so far. It takes two for my garage, the first two worked great the first summer then when I started them the next summer one failed to cool. They were 1 month out of warranty. We contacted GE and was able to come to a settlement of $100.00 towards a new unit. During this summer the other original and the new replacement unit started to freeze up becoming inefficient. I Struggled to keep them working by placing the temperature sensor on the coil where ice would start to form and adjusting the set point to make the unit cycle. I then contacted GE again. I returned the unit under factory warranty and received a refurbished unit in return. In the meantime I purchased this unit and installed it while waiting for the warranty unit to return from GE. When it returned it was a refurbished unit stating it had a 30 day warranty. Waiting on an email asking about what happened to the other 7 months of my factory warranty. Now I also have to check on my extended warranty to see if it is valid with the refurbished unit because it has a different serial number. Look for my remarks on this review for any updates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Great Price Drop

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this window unit online at a fantastic price and decided to buy. Great sale price and shipped and arrived way ahead of schedule. excellent deal and would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Limits

09/08/2014
By ,
White Hall, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a nice, compact, light AC unit. The problem is it is only 5,000 BTU. So it is struggling to keep a large room cool. I bet it would keep a 9 x 9 room cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Wonderful!

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sure does cool the place down. I love the delay start feature. It is noisy but that is the nature of the beast. It is a lot quieter than A/C's of yesteryear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

AC

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

cools home just fine.

09/05/2014
By ,
Savannah Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only noise I hear is cool air. Very pleasant sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Love this AC

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing is the AC work well with a very reasonable price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Really Cools Down A Room Quick!!

09/03/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second GE 8000BTU purchase. The other unit is over 5 years old and still chilling!! Love it!
Installation is quick and easy. Cools a room in no time! (After installing this one, I actually saw the temp in the room drop from 88* to 84* in 15 mins. Down to 77* within 40 mins. Humidity level was at 68% and dropped to 51% within an hour which is much better than my central AC could have ever done running 24/7.)
It does, however, run a little louder than the older unit. (Recommend a window that is not near a couch or a bed if you plan on watching TV!! Had to turn the volume up much higher than usual.) The fan mode blows very loud but seems to get some distance. I like the capability to adjust the vent upward to cool the room effectively.
The "Energy Saver" Mode is just that. It will actually just kick on for literally a minute just to maintain the temp and shut itself down, which is great. However, the unit's themostat seems a bit off in the reading as it read's 70*-72* and the physical room temp is 77*. (Have found this on both 8000BTU units, but not on the GE 5600BTU which has a bit more accuracy in reading.)
Overall, it's a bargain!! I don't think I will replace the central air at all since the difference saved on my utility bill paid for both units in just over a month. (2 units purchased @<$350 TOTAL cost VS gross savings on utility bill with central AC peak summer in FL @>$285 in the first month and the house temp is maintaining 10* cooler than central AC could EVER achieve.) These 2 units are currently cooling approx. 1600 sq. feet. of living space and capable of maintaining 77* throughout.
My other GE that was in my bedroom (5600BTU) worked fine for 6 years, but after a nearby lightning strike that caused my power to "flicker" for only a second, left it incapable of turning off.
I bought this one on "Rollback" for less than I paid for the 5600BTU 6 years ago! Got to love that!!
Note: Although the box arrived with a taped corner, the unit only had minor physical damage on arrival with a dent in the back corner. (I would have returned it, but it was sold out online and living in the Florida heat, I was not going to wait any longer since my central air is no longer functional! It appears to be working well so far. Looked to be cosmetic damage only.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

It does the Job

07/19/2014
By ,
Bay City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a bit noisy when it comes on but it keep my living room nice and cool. I don't know how big of a room it can cover, but I have a nice size living room and it keeps it cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 17 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

So far, so good

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We'll see how long it lasts, but so far this has been a good unit at a good value. It seems solid and was pretty easy to install. I like the energy saving option and it automatically shuts off when it reaches a certain temp; my old unit was ancient and either off/on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Pretty loud, but works fine

09/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Even when on the lowest fan speed, it is way too loud to put in a bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Great buy

09/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit is quite, and will run you out of the room, I got the area down to 64 degF this week-end
I'm thinking of buying another unit for my camper
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Exactly what I was looking for!

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this A/C unit with the site to store option.... Received it and installed it into my remodeling project- I'm remodeling my garage so that my wife can use her half for her projects. It works better than expected. Cools quickly, not very loud, and will make my wife happy for sure! Glad I purchased it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next