Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 8,000-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 300 to 350 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit. Equipped with high-efficiency compressors, fan motors and heat transfer surfaces, GE window air conditioners can help reduce energy consumption to save you money on your utility bills.
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%112 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Best A/C I have ever owned!!!

06/11/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an old 5000 btu for over 15 years that made loud noise that was nice. The sound put me to sleep :-) I miss that now, as this one is as quiet as a fan!! The cooling system is awsome!. I held my remote/infared sensor up to the unit and it shoots out 22* Digrees!! Totally awsome and I also have central air in my 3rd floor apt. The sun shines all day long on my roof and walls and it never gets lower than 74* in here..:-( I love the cold!! This one is in my bedroom window and with the door shut it cooled down in bout less than a hour to 60* in the room. I have a cat, so at night I have to leave the door cracked open for him and the room still stays so cold that I have to sleep under my comforter >:) The remote is awsome too:-) I love toys and each time I walk into my bedroom I hit the power botton just to turn the unit on and then off again during the day :-) Love, Love, Love this A/C!! Just wish it made the same loud noise that my really old one did....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Shocked!

06/27/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this a/c in my living room window. I didn't think it was gonna do much because my living room, dining room and kitchen are separated by 4 columns and a door way. So its basically supposed to cool 3 rooms. That's a little over 500 square feet. So i thought i was settling for a 8k when i really needed a 10k. Well i'll be darned! When i first put it in the window, my thermostat read 79 degrees, after leaving it on high for about 3 hours, it came down to 71. The air flow is so powerful when its on high that i could feel it while standing in the back of my kitchen. The people who complained about it being too loud are right. When its on high, its loud. There's no denying that. Its actually louder outside tho. But once u get the temp down to a reasonable number, u can turn it down to low and still remain cool without the noise. Overall i am very happy with my purchase! Especially since i didn't have to shell out an additional 50 bucks for the 10k!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GREAT Air Conditioner

05/25/2012
By ,
Marion, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just bought this air conditioner on 5/23/12, and it is awesome! It has a built in thermometer that detects the temperature of the room, so when you turn the temperature down, it will automatically cool until it gets to your desired temperature. Once it gets to the desired temp, when your room starts to warm up, the air conditioner will automatically kick on to bring the temp back down to your desired level. It was VERY easy to install, has a nice little remote control (batteries included), not too loud when running (like a normal room air conditioner), and keeps our room very cool! In fact, the room we have this unit in is a large living room, about 20X40, and I am sitting here getting cold as I write this, and this room is facing the sunlight! I would go as far as to say that if you had a small home or a single wide mobile home, this would probably cool the entire living area and kitchen combined. Comes with a one year GE warranty, so you can try it risk free. A great price at around 200, and GE is a trusted name in electronics. I highly recommend buying this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

8000 BTU Exceeds Expectations

07/18/2012
By ,
Livingston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in the Houston area and hurricane planning is a way of life. I wanted a window unit that would cool our 380 SF bedroom and use minimal electricity, as I planned to use with a small generator if the power goes out in the summer. (In Houston that means all of hurricane season.) The little unit was a breeze to assemble, light in weight, and popped right into the window. I decided to give it a test run, so we turned off the central AC unit and ran the window unit for a day. It was perfectly sized for the room, if not a little over-capacity. Running with the fan on auto, it stays on the lower fan speed automatically. Don't you know, our large central AC went out and now we are using the little unit daily until repairs are made. It is in the mid nineties these days and the unit is keeping our bedroom at 70 degrees without a strain. It uses just a tad more energy than the 5000 BTU units. I love the large lighted temperature display and the remote control cleverly stores on the unit magnetically. This item is good enough to use every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE quieter ac than whirlpool

03/25/2014
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
have had a GE 8000 btu for 2 years and it cools my kitchen nicely. bought this one for the bedroom, had a whirlpool before but it was really loud, i know all window units are loud but this one is pretty quiet. time will tell about endurance
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great powerful AC

08/05/2012
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our one bedroom apt was averaging 88 degrees, so we finally gave into buying an AC. Our cats weren't doing so good because of the heat, and we weren't either. We decided to get one that was from a local store..... Worst idea. It was a 5500 BTU, but it was bad. It didn't blow anything really. We took it back and started looking at Walmart's ACs online. We found this one and one that was $20 cheaper, but we ended up going with this one based off the reviews. THIS IS AN AWESOME AC!! It not only cools our dinning room where it sits in the window, but also our kitchen and huge living room. Our living room sits at about 75 degrees now :) this is a very powerful AC unit and we are so glad we went with this one! Still wish it was a little cheaper, but it is worth the cost! :) It doesn't reach our bedroom, but that's because it is the farthest room from it around a corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Fast Cooling. Great Features

07/18/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own 2 of these. Just bought a 3rd for a spare. So far no problems. The bedroom unit is about 4 years old. The living room unit is about 2 years old. Puts out icy cold air. Right now we're going thru a record breaking heat wave. These units put out about the same noise as other a/c's in this price and BTU range. I like that I can set a delay turn on for the bedroom. When we're ready for bed, the room is nice and cool.
We live in the northeast, so our cooling season is only about 4 months a year. Make sure the unit is tilted out the window a bit. If it's not tilted properly, water may run in side your home. Overall it seems well made. I wish they would put the rear coil protector back on. Almost all air conditioners have eliminated that. You have to be careful not to bend the rear fins. If too many get bent, the air won't flow thru properly, and the unit will have to work much harder. The remote works great. For the price, you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Loud compared to replaced samsung, cheaply built

05/19/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We replaced a six year old samsung 8000 btu with this unit. GE cools faster and appears to be more efficent, room size 425 sf master with a bathroom, it cools space to 66 degrees from 82 in about 35 minutes. This is the loudest window unit I have ever been around inside the room, outside the house it is the quietest I have ever been around. If you live in the south you better drill two 3/4 inch holes on the bottom part of the frame-i.e. below the coil on each side because it needs to drain water- if not it will begin to drain water inside your house. All window units that I have been around in Alabama do this do to the humidity in the air. Its a quick fix and it keeps the coil from rusting out as quickly as it is not sitting in water 24/7. When drilling the holes I also noticed the air handler on this unit is styrofoam- and I think it should be plastic, GE was trying to be cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Does more than anticipated

07/23/2012
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ac was recommended for room size of about 400 sq. ft. but it has cooled down the entire 1000 sq. footage in the house. Absolutely pleased with the performance of this ac. I really debated back and forth on an 8,000 or 10,000 BTU and am glad I saved a little with the 8,000 being able to do much more than I expected. Was hesitant but also familiar from past experience with some working and performing well above what they are recommended for in room size. Great price for the performance it puts out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Excellent value for the size unit.

05/14/2012
By ,
Ft Gibson, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small easy to install unit that puts out nice cold air and has a lot of great features for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Purchased One and Ordered Another

05/27/2012
By ,
Emporia, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this air conditioner online and we received it at our home two days later. We utilized the $0.97 shipping promotion and it was via FedEx. The air conditioner is relatively small but it's definitely powerful and I've actually had to turn it down because, at 70 degrees, the small guest room it's in become a little too chilly! The unit is generally lightweight. The installation instructions were adequate and it was relatively easy to install. We ordered this unit for our guest bedroom and have ordered another for the master.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great and powerful

05/03/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great A/C i got it when it was on sale and couldn't believe how well it works.I replaced an older model 6000btu and this one blows that other away.It is nice and quiet digital and energy efficient which was what i was looking for to try and save some $$$.i have this in our bedroom and and it keeps it nice and frosty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baltimore
EXCELLENT!!!!!!
Posted 05/04/2012
This air conditioner exceeded my expectations and more. If you look at the star rating quality you usually get a good product, especially if it's a 5 star item. About a month ago my husband and i purchased a Frigidaire 6,000 btu. and it covered 217 sq. feet and we are very pleased with it. But we put it in a large area and it didn't cover as much area as we thought it would. It would be better suited to cover a small bedroom. So what we did was got another one with more btu's and covered more feet. So we bought the GE 8,ooo btu. at a good price of 207.00 after taxes and shipping it came to $222.00 and this one was only $30.00 more than the other one we purchased. We received it in only 2 days. Very minimal assembly, and easy to install. Once we put it in the window and turned it on, we were literally blown AWAY! at how well it worked. It's not just cold air that pumps out. It's freezing frosty air. And for the hot summer ahead it's perfect. also i couldn't believe at how low the shipping cost was only $0.97 what a steal. We have bought alot of window units over the years but by far this is the best one yet. On the internet the info said 300-350sq. ft. but when we got the info. said 300-400sq. ft. and hey i'm not going to complain about an extra 50sq. ft. This unit is perfect for a large room or large living area.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Clean, efficient units.

03/21/2014
By ,
New Orleans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install, easy to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

A Very Nice Air Conditioner, I recomend it

07/07/2012
By ,
Oskaloosa, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for a 10 ft x 28 ft uninsulated enclosed porch with lots of windows.
It was ordered 7/6/2012 and it was delivered via Fed Ex the morning of 7/7/2012
It took less than 1/2 hour to install. This afternoon it is 101 degrees and is keeping the porch at 80 degrees.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Choice!

06/13/2012
By ,
Colonie, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I have an older GE AC thats only 5000 btu's and i needed to replace it and something a little stronger so I got this. It works amazing, def what i needed cools down my livingroom and hall in no time! And its not too loud!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

verry quite

03/14/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great deal works great and all you hear is the fan so i sleep well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Excellent product

08/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this air conditioner to try to take our 90 degree upper floor bedrooms down to a reasonable sleeping temperature while holding off the central air purchase for a year. We put it into the hall window, and with the use of a few fans to distribute the cooler air, the 4 large bedrooms are all pretty comfortable. In addition, our a section of living space on our main floor (down an open stairway at the opposite end of the hall from the air conditioner) has seen a drop in temperature of 5-9 degrees since installing this product. We're very happy to have our bedrooms back into use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Awesome Deal.

03/06/2014
By ,
Lugoff SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad I looked at Walmartbefore making a very expensive mistake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great unit for the price

08/23/2012
By ,
Newport Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and the smaller 5,000 btu units for my childrens' room during the last heat wave. This one is louder than the smaller unit, but cools the room fantastically well. It has all of the energy saver features and lets you set a delayed start time, so I can set it to start before bed time. The room is cooled for when the kid goes to sleep so it does not have to be on most of the night. Then I just set it to the energy saver so that it only turns on if the room gets too warm. The noise doesn't seem to bother the child anyway. The termperature detector is about 2-4 degrees off, but that is easy to compensate for. It has a 2 degree +/- window before turning on and off in the energy saver mode (i.e. if set to 70, it turns on at 72 and turns off at 68.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

So far so good.

08/03/2012
By ,
Saddle Brook, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Other reviews are right on the noise level. It is loud when the fan is on high and medium. Both are louder than my old Samsung 8000 btu AC which just broke after less than 4 summers. When the fan is on low, the noise level is acceptable in my living room. In my opinion, even when the fan is on low, it blows enough of cool air to cool down my living room. AC is light weight compare to other 8000 btu units. I still have an GE through the wall unit, has been working since 1980s I think (from the previous owner of the house). I hope this one will last longer than the Samsung. In short, this is good for a living room or a dining room, but too noisy for a bedroom, however, for an average sized bedroom, you only need a 5000 btu AC which is always very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tampa fl
nice and cool in florida
Posted 08/01/2013
this ac unit is as good as any I have had it keeps my bedroom very cool and well worth the money getting ready to buy a 12000 btu for living room ge did there homework here.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next