Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 8,000-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 300 to 350 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit. Equipped with high-efficiency compressors, fan motors and heat transfer surfaces, GE window air conditioners can help reduce energy consumption to save you money on your utility bills.
Average Customer Rating:
4.285 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
42
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation88%144 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 113 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
42
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

It does the Job

07/19/2014
By ,
Bay City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a bit noisy when it comes on but it keep my living room nice and cool. I don't know how big of a room it can cover, but I have a nice size living room and it keeps it cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Worked great for 3 months

06/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quit cooling after only 3 months. I'll update if I can get a response from GE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Louder than a jet engine

06/28/2014
By ,
north of Boston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first turned it on last summer (when we purchased this) it was so loud I thought a jet was landing in my backyard. But we kept it as we were desperate for a cool room. Now that we're into our second summer, we're still trying to adjust to the noise level. The fan speeds are basically loud and really loud. This unit does, however, cool our 30x16 room very quickly. Oddly enough, there were a few nights last summer when ice crystals started shooting out of the vents. Seriously, I'm not kidding. The unit began to freeze up and shoot out ice crystals. We had to shut it down. I wish these kinds of window air conditioners came with a decibel loudness rating... oh well, time to buy ear muffs...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Better design than other brands.....

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to put in my bedroom, to replace my GE 10,000 btu unit (1 yr old, same model, but larger), so that I could move my 10,000 btu unit to my kitchen where it was desperately needed.
I like this particular model (in both sizes) because of the way you can easily open the front panel to remove the filter, instead of sliding the filter out of a narrow slot like other brands have. The other brands of air conditioners kept mangling the filters every time I had to remove them to clean them. I like to clean them every week, so that is a lot of wear and tear.
I wondered if 8000 btu would be enough for my south and west facing bedroom with 4 windows, and so far it cools just fine. Late June in South Texas can get pretty warm, so I think we will be ok all summer after we tint our bedroom windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Great A/C Unit

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a terrific unit. I bought it to put in our office which contains more square footage than this unit is supposed to cool. It has been able to handle all three rooms in our office, keeping us all comfortable. I love that it shuts off instead of having the fan run all the time. This is a great unit - I wish I had bought one of these for my home instead of another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Seems to work

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just recently installed this unit in a 29 ft, permanently parked older travel trailer. It replaced a 5,000 BTU GE window unit that was not getting the job done. After a couple mildly warm days, the trailer did feel quite a bit cooler than before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

parts missing

07/23/2014
By ,
Puyallup WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screws were missing and I am unable to find anyone to send them to me. I have to get to Home Depot and hopefully get the right size.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great AC

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good AC; reasonably priced for the quality. Does a good job of cooling a large room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Cools more than rated

07/22/2014
By ,
Laurel,MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps about 1300sq feet comfortably cool in Montana summers. 60deg nights 90 to 100deg days. We are very pleased with this unit. Our old A/C gave out when temps were 90+. I had planned on buying something with more BTUs for the size of our house but everyone elses A/C must have quit the same day as they were sold out. I settled for this unit thinking maybe we could cool one room with it. To our surprise it has and still does a great job. I would recommend this unit to any one looking for a efficient quiet running A/C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Does a good job cooling a good size room down.

07/22/2014
By ,
Saint Helens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit does a great job however upon opening the box after it was delivered the unit looks like it was dropped on the back corner. It is quite bashed in and distorted. I plugged it in to see if it worked and it ran just fine. Rather then hassle with trying to send it back and waiting another week to get a new one I decided to keep it as is. I do think someone from the company should look at it and offer some compinsation for the damages as I hate to pay full price for damaged goods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Cool once more!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 8K. BTU by GE is MUCH more efficient that what I had. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Yoiu Can't Go Wrong With a GE Product!!

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these, one for me and one for my niece and her family. We are both very happy with the performance of the a/c's, with one exception: the units are much louder than expected, even when on low/energy save/fan mode. My fifteen year old a/c can barely be heard, whereas with the new one I have to turn the volume on on the television in order to hear.
No complaint about the unit, just the noise!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This is a replacement

06/03/2014
By ,
MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got two for the garage (earlier units not this specific model) and one wouldn't cool when I turned it on the next cooling season, 13 months. That means that the warranty had expired. I contacted GE and I was told that there wasn't a GE certified repair in our area, so good luck. My wife, not to give up that easy then emailed GE and got a response, short story, we got $100 towards the new unit. GE also told us that they didn't make parts for the original unit any more so it couldn't be repaired any way, that's great I still have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Gets The Job Done

07/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Of course it cools wonderfully---but man is this thing LOUD!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Cools nicely, good price

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought two of these. So far so good. They cool off the house nicely. Wish they could be a little quieter. But overall we are satisfied so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Money well spent

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as advertised.....works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

***

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this air conditioning unit.This product just gets the job done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

excellent cooling for the price

07/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very reasonably priced product that cools a large room efficiently
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Great air conditioner with less price.

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful ac for my living room. My 250 sqt living room gets cool in just 15 min when outside temp is 90 F. It also cover my small bed room at the same time when I put a stand fan in the door between two rooms to pass the air to my bed room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW08LQ High Efficiency 8,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
This review is fromGeneral Electric 8,000-BTU Window Air Conditioner, White.

Nice product

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hgvj
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next