Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 5,050-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 100 to 150 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(821 Reviews) 597
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
502
4 stars
217
3 stars
43
2 stars
23
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation91%745 out of 821reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
130 Questions | 698 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
502
4 stars
217
3 stars
43
2 stars
23
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Now that I have owned this unit for 2 years

08/18/2012
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this unit for 2 years. 2010 - 2012 "Flawless". I can now write a honest review on it. I bought it to put in our tent when we go camping. IT WORKS TOO WELL in the TENT! Well the whole unit can't be in the tent. I install it like a window unit should be installed. It gets pretty cold in our TENT in July. Take extra covers! :) Our Home A/C went out in August of 2012. I took this little unit and put it in our bedroom window, shutting the rest of the house off. 16 x 18 x 9 plus a bathroom. Again... It kept our Bedroom very, very cool to cold! Good Sleeping weather! If you don't have a "Standby A/C", or need a little 110v A/C, for the Money this is the one to have! The little hummm of the A/C and the "COLD AIR" it puts out, makes for a good nights sleep where ever you use it! North Texas
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
06/12/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air conditioner is VERY quiet (from the perspective of having had more than a few window air conditioners - window air conditioners are never quiet in the sense of not making a lot of noise, but throwing headphones on to listen to music or my computer all but blocks out the sound of this air conditioner which is about 5 feet away).
It does a very good job of cooling my room. It didn't get a great seal in the window, but it does come with plenty of foam that I used to improve the seal. It seems to have worked pretty well. My room cools down quickly and stays cool, even with a very hot computer and three monitors running.
I would definitely recommend this air conditioner and wouldn't hesitate to buy one again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

real, cool, man.

07/02/2013
By ,
planet earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
using it on low-fan/hi-fan blows 'cool' air around. this action, with another fan, makes the 'hot' in an rv bearable. then about 8pm, after a cool rinse n douche, clicking it to low or hi cool, will enhance the sleep-mode. in short: it's a fine machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Way beter than I expected. It's cooling 237 sq ft

07/18/2013
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's way better than I Expected. It's cooling 237 sq ft of a bedroom and a bath. Daytime shade temps. here are 95- 101. The rooms stay 72 - 74. Had it 3 weeks now and it's been on 24/7. No problems. Turn it down in the nights and it has gotten almost too cool. Got down to 68 when outside was 80 and had to turn it down again. The price from Walmart was $30 - $40 less for the exact same item than from Amazon and others. Walmart shipping was 97 cents. Some of Amazon was free but total price from Walmart was of course still less. Arrived from No. Calif. to Reno 4 days from placing order and that included 4th July holiday. Makes less noise than the fan that I had in the window. Made a little platform of a plywood square and a piece of 2 x 6 and surrounded it in the window opening with some ridged foam insulation. Was able to do the entire installation, including lifting unit into place, all by my self, no problem. (I'm 84 years old) So far no problems and I am very satisfied in every respect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Better Than Anticipated...

06/13/2013
By ,
Carbondale, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read alot of reviews about this unit on here, and after seeing so many negative reviews I was skeptical of buying this product, but I figured I could always return it if it didn't work out.
My new home has no central air and gets to over 100 degrees on 90 degree days. I have a 9x13ft room that's even warmer than the rest of the house and has been completely unbearable as the summer progresses.
Well, I set this bad boy up (with a little help from a friend, it's heavy!) and let it run on high while I went on a 15 minute errand. When I came back my room was not only cool, but chilly! I can't speak for the lower settings or longevity of this unit yet, but I can say so far I am extremely pleased and would definitely recommend it for someone with a smaller room like me.
P.S. The installation kit is very simple and easy to set up, and adjusts well to fit the size of your window. You may need to buy some extra foam because depending on the window sill, you might end up with a very small gap underneath the window, but it's a very easy fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

It's cool!

07/03/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for use in a ~120 sq. ft. bedroom. This unit was selected based on size, cost, and it's advertised specifications.
Installation was easy. The supplied instructions were satisfactory. The manual states that modifications may be required based on the way the window is designed. I found this to be true as I had to make a few minor modifications. I downloaded a copy of the manual before purchasing this ac to make sure it would install safely and correctly in the window.
The power cord length is ample, and the controls are user intuitive. It performs well in cooling the room facilitating blissful slumber in the hot Texas summer. When the temperature, humidity, and dew point are high, I also use a fan while running this window unit to create a wind chill and have found this to be quite effective. The filter is easy to remove and clean making this basic maintenance chore easy to perform. This unit also runs much more quietly than anticipated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

More than meets expectations

09/07/2013
By ,
White Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this unit December 2010 for a 12 x 16 foot cabin in North Florida.
It runs day and night from April to November and whenever we get a disgusting day any other time. We have just replaced it, 6 September, 2013 because it started freezing up on us and wasn't quite keeping up anymore. It is a fantastic little unit, well worth the price and has been a little workhorse on horridly hot days.
We have a similar unit in our 12 x 26 foot cabin which, after nearly three years is still working well.
We will replace it with the same unit and hope the manufacturer has kept up the high quality standard. Although this unit is only rated as cooling up to 150 sq feet, I keep it on low cool unless the day is very hot and the sun moves around to heat the steel roof - about two hours a day. Only then do I need to put it on high cool for the bigger cabin.
We love them and will buy again, again and again.
Thanks GE, for manufacturing a great little product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Little Room Cooler

04/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought it at my local store for $107 (cheaper then online) because at my apartments it has a VERY old swamp cooler that hardly cools off the back part of the apartment. &when i pulled it out of the box i was worried it may be too small to cool off my master bedroom since it says to cool a small room only. but too my surprise, it cools off the room VERY well! i have a fan that blows toward my door which helps it cool off the back part of the hall & small bathroom. i plan on buyin a second one for my sons room since it gets so hot in his room as well. totally worth buying! would definetly recomend it for any room, :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+454points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MS
Smal unit but do the job!
Posted 05/11/2013
This is my second time that i am buying this unit. I have a central unit, but I need it in my bedroom when it gets over 90 during the Summer. It easy to clean the dust for an old men.
The price went up; I paid $90 three years ago.
0points
Customer Avatar
Richmond, VA, USA
Where do you live?
Posted 07/05/2012
Posting this in April and you've had it a few months - where are you? Curious where it's dry and hot that time of year...thanks!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

very cold air

04/16/2014
By ,
kellyville, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several brands of air conditioners and this brand puts out colder air than the other brands the same size. This is the second one I have purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

good

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only problem i have is with the delivery i wasn't able to track the package i didn't receive an email until the day of delivery please be more informative with the tracking
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

not hot enough to use yet

02/10/2014
By ,
nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i sure hope it does a great job i bought 2 for my mom in ok for when im out there then when i get back home i hope the one i bought for my self will be great ive bought these before and they were great other than buliding up wit moister that didnt have a drain
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

very poor quality

04/06/2014
By ,
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I was buying a new ac, after reviewing the manufacturing date on the side of unit, it was manufactured back in 2012, and I buy it 4-1-2014. the compresser would not engage. i got refunded for the unit, but the inconvience i went thru is uncalled for. this is the 2nd item in about 2 to 3 weeks i have had to return that i bought online from walmart. very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Very Good Deal!

06/11/2012
By ,
Suwannee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far me and my husband have been very pleased with our purchase. When we got the a/c home and out of the box my husband was skeptical about how well it would work because of it's small appearance. But after the first night, he changed his mind! It was very cool and comfortable in our room. (room size about 10X15) Installation says that it is easy, but for us it was a task in itself; I would definitely recommend having at least two people install this unit. Overall we are very pleased with our purchase, and would recommend this a/c to others looking to buy an inexpensive but efficient machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Cools a bigger space than it advertises....

06/16/2012
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so easy to install, it took only about 15 minutes. And it really cooled down the room, and very quickly! Within about 10 minutes my room was already feeling cooler, and it's now comfortably 10 degrees cooler! My room is about 23ft x 12ft, plus the 10x10 room next to it is also cooler, and the 10x10 room on the other side of the door is also noticeably cooler. This has worked out great so far!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Allentown, PA.
Posted 09/02/2012
is it a quiet running device? I would use this in a bedroom... thanks..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great, Quiet, Cheap Little A/C

07/04/2012
By ,
Dalton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a 10,000 BTU being used in a smallish, attic room. I went to WalMart looking for a Frigidaire with a remote, but all they had were this one and a few other ones. The one I replaced, which was only 3 years old, but in all fairness, a stupid bird had built a nest on one side of it, so it was sucking in that trash, so it probably only needs a good cleaning, was a GE and never really cooled that well anyway, so I was nervous about getting another one. I am glad I got this one.
This one gets a little cool at night so I sometimes have to adjust it, but that's a good thing. It's whisper quiet, and to me, that's not really a good thing because I like white noise anyway. Sure it's cheaply built and only has a one-way air flow adjustment, but heck, it's less than $100 and the one-way adjustment hasn't proven to be a problem.
If you're looking for something cheap and quick, and something that actually cools, get this. One thing though...the backing that goes underneath the top rail is wafer thin and when I was taking the backing off, it stuck to the top of the A/C and there's black junk where I had to tear it off. Be careful when applying it to the rail. The screws in the rail didn't want to seat very good, but I will get a #3 phillips to screw it in the rest of the way.
Also, even though it's small, it ain't light! I had no problem with it, but a woman or weaker man might want to get some help lugging it up stairs, and if you have a high window, lifting it in. I'm a big feller that works out (I'm handsome too, just to complete the picture in your mind), and I thought it would be lighter because I had one-arm carried my daughter's 5,000 BTU Frigidaire from the car to her room without breaking a sweat.
I hope the review serves you well. I don't know what the complaint about them being loud is all about, as mine is quiet as a church mouse. You're welcome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+246points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Fort Madison
funny
Posted 08/24/2013
I was glad you did such a detailed comment. Also the big feller and handsome part was too funny! Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Western NY
dude
Posted 07/20/2013
now we can play in the attic..handsome
0points
Customer Avatar
shamokin Pa
air conditioner problems
Posted 06/29/2013
I bought 2 of these last year used 1 and had to take 1 back was defective and the other 1 I didn't use last year I opened this year and it was also all bent on top and since bought last year,, cant take it back
+1point
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, FL
great review
Posted 06/29/2013
Like the comment on handsome and big should have attached a pic as many of us our pretty and petite..HA! :)
+7points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 16 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Price and Performance

05/27/2012
By ,
Ocala FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In store for under $100.00 and does a great job for the size! Would I buy it again? You bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+255points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Over rated I think

06/13/2012
By ,
texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit is suppossed to cool 150 sq ft. I have a room that is pretty well insulated so purchased it as the unit would be on the shady side of the house.
First the tape that sticks to the bottom of the top lip is really thin and will tear apart very easily
If it sticks to your fingers it will rip
I have the unit installed and the outside temp is roughly 90 degrees the room is at 76 degrees
I have had it running full blast for over 6 hours and it has only cooled 4 degrees
I do not think it would even be noticed when the outside temps get to a 100 or it is a hot sunny day
If it will only cool down this much then I do not think you could turn it off and let a room get into the 80's and be able to cool it down at all
The unit shows to be a 5050 BTU and everything you read says 5000 should handle 100 to 150 sq ft. I guess it is an opinion since there is nothing that says it will cool from this temp to this temp
It only says will cool 100 to 150 so if it cools 1 degree it is doing what is stated
I will be returning it and get something bigger
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Awesome little AC for a one room

05/07/2012
By ,
North Bergen, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have central air, but needed something for when I'm the only one who's hot. I was a little worried because my room was on the tail end of the space recommendation. But it's great. It really chills my room. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+209points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Allentown, PA.
Posted 09/02/2012
is it quiet as in a bedroom if you want to sleep??
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Sometimes Low-Tech is BEST!

07/03/2013
By ,
Gloucester, MA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this A/C because a number of you had some solid reviews. I like the size & weight (not getting any younger) I wanted an analog A/C unit (didn't need a remote# that has a small footprint, as we use this in our guest bedroom like 7-8 times a year. Works like a charm! I paid $99.84, plus $9.00 for an additional year of warranty#2-year total) Shipped to my store in NH @ no tax! Cons? Low EER rating @ 9.7 No biggie for us as we don't use it often. For those of you that use it all of the time, I would recommend an A/C unit with @ least 10.7 EER. Dollars will add-up over time if you run this 24/7 It's a budget A/C unit that cools extremely well & is "somewhat" quiet. The condenser you will hear when it kicks-in. Upside? Easy to install! Fits my windows perfectly! I must recommend this to the user that is using it intermittently, other wise look for something that was a higher EER rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AET05LQ 5,050-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Does not cool as well as expected.

12/05/2012
By ,
East Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very easy installation. Fairly quiet, lightweight, and simple to use. We should have considered more than just square footage when we were sizing our unit. We purchased 2 units and installed one in each of two adjourning 118 square foot well insulated rooms where there was previously 1 large unit with a fan between the rooms. The one we installed in an office containing 1 desk computer seems like it will work well even when the summer heat comes. For the other equally sized room, we should have purchased a higher btu. It has a desk computer and some other electronic equipment which is likely emitting some heat and the room door is opened more often. The room also has 3 windows where the other has only 1. In this room the air conditioner is running at full power 24 hours per day even in 72 degree F weather. We don't know yet, but expect it may not be able to handle the summer heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 598 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next