Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 5,000-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 100 to 150 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation91%147 out of 162reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 158 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Works great

12/17/2012
By ,
New York, queens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this unit it cold up my studio apartment, I set it on hi, energy save. my apartment is a 3 rooms setup (queen size living room, eat in kitchen, small bathroom) i close the 3 windows it has, turn on the conditioner put a fan in the door of the bathroom and it cold all the apartment. The basement is hot is not cold I don't know why since basement and colder than 1 floor ect. The only problem it has is the thermostat don't read the temperature well but for me is not a big deal. I save a lot of energy I save $100 compare to the $300 i spend on light bills on the 2011 with my older conditioner. I love it so much that I'm going to buy another one. thanks to hurricane sandy that sank all my beautiful basement :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great window air conditioner.

09/19/2013
By ,
Titus, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We presently have 2 of these units in operation and they perform better than expected When the desired temperature is reached the compressor turns off . . . and a little later the fan turns off. One of these air conditioner does not turn on until the sun shines on that side of the building and turns off at night. All the functions can be controlled from a remote control and the digital read out is ideal for setting the temperature remotely. Units are really quiet
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Remarkably effective

06/14/2012
By ,
New York, N.Y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My expensive Fri*dr*ch air conditioner was damaged because of restoration work on the walls of my building. Since the work is going to continue for some time, I decided to buy an inexpensive replacement for my bedroom for the summer; and then to purchase a "better" model for permanent installation.
Imagine my surprise when this inexpensive model outperformed my former airconditioner, which cost three times the price. Within 10 minutes the GE reduced the termperature in my room by 7 degrees and reduced the humidity from 57 to 49. It performed well, despite the fact that my room is 12 x 15 with 11 foot ceilings.
Another thing I like is its weight; it's only about 40 lbs, so despite the fact that I'm an elderly lady, I was able to put it in the window myself.
I gave it four stars instead of 5 because it is a bit noisy. But this is a great value and a great little workhorse. I would have bought the larger model, but my window is only 17.5" wide. I highly recommend it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great AC for small room......office/bedroom.

03/18/2014
By ,
Polk City, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GE model is much nicer than the Maytag it replaced. I like the digital controls and included remote, especially since I put it in a bedroom.......you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. It's very quiet, most of the noise is from the fan hitting the water, but not very loud at all. I am planning on purchasing another one to put in another back room. I live in Florida, so use small AC's in back rooms and bedrooms so I don't have to turn the big AC on until the heat of summer kicks in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Fast delivery/incorrect dimensions

04/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delivery was very fast and product arrived in perfect condition.
The dimensions shown on line were different than the product. As a result, I had to modify the mounting hardware. Easy enough but I may have purchased another product had the Walmart on line information been correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Worth every penny!

04/11/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although my AC came dented from your factory, we LOVE it. It cools a 300sq ft room in minutes, and is pretty quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great ac for a small room.

05/17/2012
By ,
Palmdale, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ac for a small room. It's quiet and effective. Comes with a remote control. The built in thermostat and digital display makes this exceptionally useful. This ac is installed in a 10' x 20' room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Petersburg, Florida
Great AC
Posted 03/21/2013
I live in Florida, bought this for a small bedroom. Works great and love the thermostat display. I would definitely recommend this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

quiet, cools fast, easy to install

05/12/2012
By ,
Arizona desert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this unit replaces a thru the wall unit that is quite old.. was looking for a unit much more efficient
than old one, this is quieter, and with thermostat control, will shut off when temp is at set number.
have used it only 3 times so far, but seems great This is a window unit, but it easily fit the old
thru the wall space.. this was only unit small enough to fit space allowable. This unit is used in a bedroom only. This unit will be used every day thru September.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Go For The 6000 BTU

04/29/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice enough unit and it works fine. But I also have the GE 6000 BTU unit and and I like it much better than the 5000. It seems to have twice the cooling power as the 5000. I'm sure that's not true but I'm just saying for the extra thirty bucks I wish I would have gotten another GE 6000 BTU unit.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New York
Don't go by "bigger is better" with A/C's
Posted 06/09/2012
Maybe your 5,000 BTU A/C is defective, or you didn't pay close enough attention when purchasing your unit to size it correcty for the room you're in (I noticed you didn't mention the room size). You can't just recommend to go go for the bigger A/C. Look at the sizing table on the energystar.gov web site or posted here throughout Walmart.com. The 5,000 BTU is good for up to 150 square feet. That's about a small 12x12 room. There are also other factors to consider - is this going to be in the desert battling 110 degree heat outside, or 90 degree heat. Also, how well insulated are your walls and windows? Do you have windows with open or non-reflective shades that the sun is going to be beating in through? Oversizing your A/C will cost you $$ in energy, as well as comfort, including but not limited from excess humidity, the room being too cold where the air is exiting the A/C, inaccurate room temperature readings in the system's thermostat, as well as the compressor kicking on and off frequently.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Did not really cool well
Posted 05/05/2012
LASt summer it did not really cool well. This summer it did not cool at all. Electrician said it had a leak. Will not buy a GE again
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Good product

07/12/2013
By ,
NY upstate in gods country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, easy to understand and use. All the information was a little hard to find before purchase, such as it has a remote, minimum temperature setting is 64 degrees.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great product and Price.

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and price. I bought this for our pop up camper and does a great job. if you are looking for a great air conditioner this is the one to get. I had it shipped free to my walmart and it came in on time. very satisfied with product and service.
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, TN
VERY high quality product at a great price!
Posted 07/15/2012
I researched about 10 different window air conditioners and decided on this one. The brand name of G.E., the remote control and the great price (I paid $135 before taxes) won me over. It took less than an hour from the box to its initial use. QUIET but gets my 10' x 16' room cool FAST! I LOVE being able to use the remote and not have to get up from my desk in my home office to change settings. The only thing that wasn't incredibly positive about this purchase was my bad luck of seeing the price drop by $13 less than 36 hours after I purchased it. I HIGHLY recommend this window air conditioner. It would be hard to beat.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
08/10/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I installed it in 1/2 hour and it pulled the room temp down to 64 degrees (the max) in around 25 min with a 91 degree outside in the shade air temp. This is the 2nd A/C I got from Walmart. The 1st was a Heier which vibrated so badly it broke the putty and shook the glass out of the window. I found the fan in the Heier had not had the molding flash trimmed off and was grossly out of balance. I took it back to the store. This was 3 years ago and I continued to use my old unit until it recently died. I considered another Heier but after the fiasco of the 1st one, I decided to spend a few bucks more and try the GE.
This GE unit is small, reasonably quiet and does the job for me in 150 Sq Ft 10x15 bedroom. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the fragile coils were exposed outside and subject to damage if you are not careful with the handling of the unit during install; a simple protective perforated cover would have been nice. I of course was careful! I did like the remote feature very much as you don't have to get out of bed to change something. For the money I don't think you can do better! Only time will tell if it passes the reliability test. Impressive little unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Good value

05/21/2012
By ,
Traverse City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install and works well. I use in my bedroom and really like the remote and automatic settings. I don't like having it run all the time, so the temp control is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/22/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that I read the other reviews about this product. It keeps my bedroom that is upstairs really cool and the hall way. I love it. And it is not too loud either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. Quiet and blows out nice cool air. Kept my kitchen and living room comfortable. Instillation kit looks neat in window. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
06/21/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent air conditioner for one room. I love the delay, you can set to go on before you get home, so when you do the room is cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Excellent AC for my needs

06/13/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased as a helper to central AC in bedroom and bath. Excluding two large closets, square footage is approximately 285, 8 1/2 foot ceiling, two windows (29x64) that receive heavy sun during the late afternoon, and one skylight that receives sun all day. Forty-inch flat screen TV and computer with 22 inch flat screen monitor. One 100 watt incandescent light after dark that throws a lot of heat.
Bedroom a good distance from central AC and receiving slight to moderate air. Room temperature over 80 degrees when TV and computer on even when it's only 80 degrees outside and central AC running. The small GE AC works wonderful for my needs.
Very powerful for its size. Colder air than the central AC. Can get the room to 68 with no problem at 91 degrees outside with central AC running. Family likes central AC temperature at 75 degrees so when it turns off in the early evening, the bedroom with the TV and computer on becomes much too hot and temperature continues to rise. The small window AC takes care of that very easily.
A few cons.
If you want the room temperature to be 72, the AC needs to be set lower, say 68. The lowest setting is 64.
Another problem I noticed is with the energy saver controls. If the temperature falls into the 60’s at night, the temperature on the AC registers the outside temperature and doesn’t turn off and on. It stays off. So, if it is 77 in the room, for example, the temperature on the AC might show 64 if it is 64 outside so it won’t turn on. Not sure why that happens. I change it to ‘cool’ and it turns on. If you live somewhere where the temperature stays warm at night, it probably will work fine.
Despite those problems, it works very well. If the temperature problems trouble you, don’t buy it, but it doesn’t bother me, because I only have it on energy saver at night when I want it to turn off; however, the energy saver off and on works great when it’s warm outside.
The AC is very small and easy to install. I didn’t attach it to the window frame with enclosed screws because it will be removed for the winter. The remote is excellent. Don’t have to point it directly to the AC for it to work. The compressor is very quiet. Barely noticeable when it comes on and goes off. The fan is also much quieter than others I have had. For the price, I can’t complain. If you want an AC with a very accurate temperature gauge, it will probably cost much more.
Have had both Carrier and GE 5000 BTU window AC’s in the past. Temperature controls of both worked much better than this one but were not accurate either. They also were much larger in size and cost close to $300.
I paid 97 cents shipping and it arrived in two days. Can’t beat that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Beware of shipping damage!

06/07/2012
By ,
Washington,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife had purchased this model last summer at our local Walmart to spot cool our bedroom. We have been pleased with its performance. I purchased the same unit online (our local store stocked w/ Haier). I should have unboxed it as soon as it arrived, but I wasn't finished w/ my building. I unboxed it yesterday and the metal housing @ the coils was damaged. I removed the housing to inspect the damage and there was none to the coils. I straightened the housing, sanded the damaged area and repainted it. I would have sent it back, but a month had passed since it arrived. I thought about contacting Walmart for a replacement, but decided it might be damaged in shipping too. The boxes have very little foam padding.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

I regret buying this unit

12/18/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not have bought this unit if I knew then what I know now . 1) Energy Saver does not work as it should. Once it reaches the desired temp and shuts off, the temp reading on the display falls by about 10 degrees. It takes a LONG time before it kicks back on again and by that time the room is really hot. 2) Customer service was slow and not helpful. Their reply: "Energy Savor is for use when there in no one in the room". 3) Loud. 4) poorly designed remote. The temp control buttons are tiny and are sandwiched between the fan control buttons. Whereas the "delay" buttons (which I never use) are in the middle of the remote, all by themselves, and easy to use. I have other issues with this unit, but you get the idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Makes Irritating Noises, Temperature Not Accurate

05/25/2012
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently picked one of these up at my local Walmart to cover my small 10x11 bedroom. I was debating on getting this one or the next size up - 6,400btu. I didn't want to get something oversized. I made that mistake previously and the unit was constantly cycling and the room was very uncomfortable, not to mention the excess energy it was consuming. The larger GE A/C unit at Walmart looked like it had better air flow control, which was the only reason I was considering it. This one just has disc inside of it to control the air flow, not vents which can be directed up and down and side to side. They should have the top of the unit angled up, along with the vents, like other a/c units I've seen. That way the cold air blows up in the room and sinks down, and also gets it further away from the system's thermostat for more accurate temperature readings. Nevertheless I decided on this since I really didn't want to oversize the unit, and my options were limited locally.
After using it for a while, here's what I found. It makes these horrible metal and pinging tapping sounds. If you're the type who has trouble tuning out irritating sounds when sleeping or otherwise, this might not be the one for you. The fan is quiet, and having three fan speeds plus the ability to have it automatically control the fan speed is nice. In auto fan mode, the fan speed cycles down to low when the compressor is not running.
My second gripe with this, as with lots of former window a/c units, is that the thermostat is drastically off. I have two differet thermometers withing 5 feet of the unit. When the A/C says 68, both my other thermometers in the room show 74-75! They must've located the internal thermister was to close to the vents. What they should do is to have a plug in the side for an external thermostat so that you can place it near where you are in the room, so it's not measuring the temperature right next to where the vents on the system are, which of course, is going to be much colder than where you sit. They should just have an RF remote with a thermostat built into it so it will measure the temperature where the remote is!
I think perhaps I will try the alternative Frigidair 5,000 btu A/C that Walmart online seems to have online now and order it in. There were some complaints about noise with that in the reviews, but that may be subjective and they werent't very descriptive as to whether it was fan noise or otherwise. The Frigidaire comes with a much better remote that displays the temperature on the remote, so if you are near sighted and need to change the temperature at night, it's right there on the remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
East Texas
Looks to be good purchase
Posted 05/26/2013
Bought this unit today to support central a/c in large living room, within an hour, temp was a minimum of 10 degrees cooler in 700+ sq. foot room. Summers in East Texas are brutal with the heat and humidity. This unit is keeping room cool even when central air unit turns off. Very happy with purchase at this point.
0points
Customer Avatar
New York
Update - Go for the Keystone A/C instead!!
Posted 06/05/2012
I ordered the 6,000 BTU A/C model KSTAW06A from walmart.com and returned this to the store. Keystone also has a 5,000 BTU model, KSTAW05A. These are incredibly awesome A/C's!! They actually do have temperature sensing in the remote so you can keep the remote next to you and it will get the temperature perfect exactly where you are sitting or in bed, along with a temperature in the remote's display. Not only are the buttons and the display back-lit on the remote when you hit a button, but they're also glow in the dark so you can find it at night! Read my review on the KSTAW06A. Walmart must have made some sort of arrangement with GE to only sell their A/C's in the store this year, but do yourself a favor, be patient and wait a few days, and get the Keystone A/C's with the "follow me" remotes. It took just 3 days for mine to be at my doorstep from FedEx. Thanks Walmart!
Unfortunately, I see it's now gone down in price by $30 just a week and a half after receiving mine. However, that's all the more reason for anyone reading this to get the Keystone A/C. It's worth every penny of the $15-20 extra for them! I'm probably going to order another for my other room as soon as it gets hot enough again so I know if I overdid it with the 6,000 BTU and need a 5,000 BTU.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next