Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

GE General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

This GE 5,000-BTU window air conditioner is suitable for cooling rooms that measure from 100 to 150 square feet. The General Electric window air conditioner is designed to fit traditional-style windows and comes with GE's EZ-mount installation kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation90%191 out of 212reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 181 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Works great

12/17/2012
By ,
New York, queens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this unit it cold up my studio apartment, I set it on hi, energy save. my apartment is a 3 rooms setup (queen size living room, eat in kitchen, small bathroom) i close the 3 windows it has, turn on the conditioner put a fan in the door of the bathroom and it cold all the apartment. The basement is hot is not cold I don't know why since basement and colder than 1 floor ect. The only problem it has is the thermostat don't read the temperature well but for me is not a big deal. I save a lot of energy I save $100 compare to the $300 i spend on light bills on the 2011 with my older conditioner. I love it so much that I'm going to buy another one. thanks to hurricane sandy that sank all my beautiful basement :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great window air conditioner.

09/19/2013
By ,
Titus, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We presently have 2 of these units in operation and they perform better than expected When the desired temperature is reached the compressor turns off . . . and a little later the fan turns off. One of these air conditioner does not turn on until the sun shines on that side of the building and turns off at night. All the functions can be controlled from a remote control and the digital read out is ideal for setting the temperature remotely. Units are really quiet
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great little unit

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this online and received in 3 days. Installed in my den and operating is very quiet and room becomes cool quickly making it very comfortable for watching TV. I will purchase another one for my bedroom to replace the one there that is very loud. Very impressed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Remarkably effective

06/14/2012
By ,
New York, N.Y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My expensive Fri*dr*ch air conditioner was damaged because of restoration work on the walls of my building. Since the work is going to continue for some time, I decided to buy an inexpensive replacement for my bedroom for the summer; and then to purchase a "better" model for permanent installation.
Imagine my surprise when this inexpensive model outperformed my former airconditioner, which cost three times the price. Within 10 minutes the GE reduced the termperature in my room by 7 degrees and reduced the humidity from 57 to 49. It performed well, despite the fact that my room is 12 x 15 with 11 foot ceilings.
Another thing I like is its weight; it's only about 40 lbs, so despite the fact that I'm an elderly lady, I was able to put it in the window myself.
I gave it four stars instead of 5 because it is a bit noisy. But this is a great value and a great little workhorse. I would have bought the larger model, but my window is only 17.5" wide. I highly recommend it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

nice unit for the money

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well made and sound level as low as you can get...most units sound like a buzz saw ...not this one seems all ge units are very low on noise level ... well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

NOT worth it!

08/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a terrible unit! I can't get it to drop below 79-80 in my little living room! I made a huge mistake buying this one and I am going to be returning it. I am going to purchase a bigger one which I hope will be better other wise will be returning it as well. I do not recommend this product at all. I live in a mobile home and even with tons of fans going in the house can't even get it to cool a little room. It has been running non stop day and night and still won't cool anything down at all. I won't ever make this mistake again, just glad I am able to return it for what I paid because it was like throwing money right out the window with it not cooling at all and not to mention the electricity I am wasting letting it run!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

shuts off when temperature is achieved

05/10/2014
By ,
cleveland ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
energy saver
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great AC for small room......office/bedroom.

03/18/2014
By ,
Polk City, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GE model is much nicer than the Maytag it replaced. I like the digital controls and included remote, especially since I put it in a bedroom.......you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. It's very quiet, most of the noise is from the fan hitting the water, but not very loud at all. I am planning on purchasing another one to put in another back room. I live in Florida, so use small AC's in back rooms and bedrooms so I don't have to turn the big AC on until the heat of summer kicks in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Fast delivery/incorrect dimensions

04/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delivery was very fast and product arrived in perfect condition.
The dimensions shown on line were different than the product. As a result, I had to modify the mounting hardware. Easy enough but I may have purchased another product had the Walmart on line information been correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great ac for a small room.

05/17/2012
By ,
Palmdale, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ac for a small room. It's quiet and effective. Comes with a remote control. The built in thermostat and digital display makes this exceptionally useful. This ac is installed in a 10' x 20' room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Petersburg, Florida
Great AC
Posted 03/21/2013
I live in Florida, bought this for a small bedroom. Works great and love the thermostat display. I would definitely recommend this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

quiet, cools fast, easy to install

05/12/2012
By ,
Arizona desert
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this unit replaces a thru the wall unit that is quite old.. was looking for a unit much more efficient
than old one, this is quieter, and with thermostat control, will shut off when temp is at set number.
have used it only 3 times so far, but seems great This is a window unit, but it easily fit the old
thru the wall space.. this was only unit small enough to fit space allowable. This unit is used in a bedroom only. This unit will be used every day thru September.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
08/10/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I installed it in 1/2 hour and it pulled the room temp down to 64 degrees (the max) in around 25 min with a 91 degree outside in the shade air temp. This is the 2nd A/C I got from Walmart. The 1st was a Heier which vibrated so badly it broke the putty and shook the glass out of the window. I found the fan in the Heier had not had the molding flash trimmed off and was grossly out of balance. I took it back to the store. This was 3 years ago and I continued to use my old unit until it recently died. I considered another Heier but after the fiasco of the 1st one, I decided to spend a few bucks more and try the GE.
This GE unit is small, reasonably quiet and does the job for me in 150 Sq Ft 10x15 bedroom. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the fragile coils were exposed outside and subject to damage if you are not careful with the handling of the unit during install; a simple protective perforated cover would have been nice. I of course was careful! I did like the remote feature very much as you don't have to get out of bed to change something. For the money I don't think you can do better! Only time will tell if it passes the reliability test. Impressive little unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Go For The 6000 BTU

04/29/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice enough unit and it works fine. But I also have the GE 6000 BTU unit and and I like it much better than the 5000. It seems to have twice the cooling power as the 5000. I'm sure that's not true but I'm just saying for the extra thirty bucks I wish I would have gotten another GE 6000 BTU unit.
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New York
Don't go by "bigger is better" with A/C's
Posted 06/09/2012
Maybe your 5,000 BTU A/C is defective, or you didn't pay close enough attention when purchasing your unit to size it correcty for the room you're in (I noticed you didn't mention the room size). You can't just recommend to go go for the bigger A/C. Look at the sizing table on the energystar.gov web site or posted here throughout Walmart.com. The 5,000 BTU is good for up to 150 square feet. That's about a small 12x12 room. There are also other factors to consider - is this going to be in the desert battling 110 degree heat outside, or 90 degree heat. Also, how well insulated are your walls and windows? Do you have windows with open or non-reflective shades that the sun is going to be beating in through? Oversizing your A/C will cost you $$ in energy, as well as comfort, including but not limited from excess humidity, the room being too cold where the air is exiting the A/C, inaccurate room temperature readings in the system's thermostat, as well as the compressor kicking on and off frequently.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Did not really cool well
Posted 05/05/2012
LASt summer it did not really cool well. This summer it did not cool at all. Electrician said it had a leak. Will not buy a GE again
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
06/21/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent air conditioner for one room. I love the delay, you can set to go on before you get home, so when you do the room is cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Good product

07/12/2013
By ,
NY upstate in gods country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, easy to understand and use. All the information was a little hard to find before purchase, such as it has a remote, minimum temperature setting is 64 degrees.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great Value to Cool a Small Room

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and quiet operation. The thermostat and energy saver mode are an added bonus for a reasonable price. This runs in my 2 year olds room at night and he isn't bothered by the noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Great product and Price.

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and price. I bought this for our pop up camper and does a great job. if you are looking for a great air conditioner this is the one to get. I had it shipped free to my walmart and it came in on time. very satisfied with product and service.
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, TN
VERY high quality product at a great price!
Posted 07/15/2012
I researched about 10 different window air conditioners and decided on this one. The brand name of G.E., the remote control and the great price (I paid $135 before taxes) won me over. It took less than an hour from the box to its initial use. QUIET but gets my 10' x 16' room cool FAST! I LOVE being able to use the remote and not have to get up from my desk in my home office to change settings. The only thing that wasn't incredibly positive about this purchase was my bad luck of seeing the price drop by $13 less than 36 hours after I purchased it. I HIGHLY recommend this window air conditioner. It would be hard to beat.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner

Perfect little air conditoner

09/14/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air conditioner works great! It gets a room freezing cold in a matter of minutes. It is just what I needed in this heat wave we are having in San Diego! I think perhaps any less than stellar reviews are because people don't know how room air conditioners work. They are not meant to cool an entire house, or a kitchen (which gets too hot). They are for a bedroom, a den, or a small living room. You have to close all doors to the room at all times, and keep the cool inside the room. It also helps to leave it running all day, especially when it is really hot out, because it keeps things cool (this unit has an energy saver mode so that it will turn off when it reaches a certain temperature). It isn't meant to cool the whole house, so if you leave the door to the room open it tries to cool the whole house and nothing gets cool. So close the doors and enjoy the cold!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/22/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that I read the other reviews about this product. It keeps my bedroom that is upstairs really cool and the hall way. I love it. And it is not too loud either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Electric AEW05LQ 5,000-BTU Room Window Air Conditioner
07/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. Quiet and blows out nice cool air. Kept my kitchen and living room comfortable. Instillation kit looks neat in window. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next