Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Arctic Silver Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Arctic Silver Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound is a reliable choice for preventing the CPU in your computer from overheating. The enhanced ceramic particles in this high-density thermal compound help to conduct and draw heat away from the CPU, improving performance. Made with 99.9 percent pure silver, Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound uses triple-phase viscosity to ensure optimal physical contact between your heatsink and CPU. Designed for superior stability and performance, this Arctic Silver Thermal Compound will not separate or run during application but stay where it is placed. This 3.5 gram syringe contains enough high-density thermal compound to be used on several CPU cores. Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound is designed to be conductive only to heat rather than electricity and so is safer to use than electrically conductive materials.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%19 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

read my info

11/24/2013
By ,
North west
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this paste on my watercooled cpu, atleast 20% better than oem pastes.
A bit more pricey on wallymarty dot comy buuuut i had a gift card and got it here a day earlier than what the estimated arrival date was.
I will update load temps, variables, and system specs once the paste has gone through it's 200hr break in period.
Conclusion: Less is more when applying. If you don't know much about thermal compounds, and want a tried and tested favorite in the enthusiast community, pick some of this up! *cough* amazonian *cough*new *cough* egg
lol
The pictures attached are of the water block to my NZXT Kraken x60 The paste that was on there is the stock paste that came pre applied. I'm not even going to try that paste, Always use my As5 i delayed install for 2 days for it hah. (like I said I thought it was going to be three)
p.s. People, please look up the application intructions for your cpu, when i was a noob, the first time i applied this i used too much, not only did i get non-optimal temps but the Thermal Compound leaked into the socket. I had to clean my 8350 with a tooth brush and rubbing alchohol (works great btw)
Rub it on the heatsink with a credit card, wipe of excess, put a dot right in the middle, about the size of a grain of rice if it was round. About the size of an uncooked dried pea. (2-3mm)
Hope this helps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Arctic silver 5

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works wonders. I have also used arctic lumina and in comparison arctic silver 5 keeps my cpu 7 degrees Celsius cooler. Definitely worth the investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Does its job well...

03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those of you who are having issues with your PC shutting down randomly, and don't want to spend hundreds of dollars taking your computer to a shop: Purchase some of this, with some alcohol swabs.
Dust accumulates between your CPU and your Heatsink, which causes your thermal sensor to read too high. Removing the heatsink, and swabbing away the dust with an alcohol prep pad until you have an even, polished shine, and then applying some Arctic Silver 5 to about 75% of the (dry) heatsink (leaving some space around the edges), and then reattaching the heatsink to the CPU will fix the majority of overheating issues.
This is all much easier than it may sound, and I encourage you to use google/youtube for an easy guide on how to do this, with step by step visual instructions.
And it only costs you about $10, as opposed to a few hundred had you taken your PC to the shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Dop: First Aid Antiseptic Isopropyl Rubbing Alcohol, 16 Oz
 
 
 
Cotton Jumbo Size Balls 200 CT
4.6 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Quality Thermal Compound

08/25/2014
By ,
Fairfax, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to reinstall the heatsink fan on the CPU in my laptop and needed a quality thermal paste for a reliable installation. This product fills the need. Comes in a neat little syringe and I needed a couple of dabs. All very standard stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

thermal paste

03/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it did what it was suposed to do. ill get it again when i need it. used it to fix my ps3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

More than enough to completely cover 5 - 10 CPU's.

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Price for 3.5 gram syringe style tube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

PS3 Problems

07/08/2012
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My PS3 was not working, I has what they call the "yellow light of death". So I read a lot of this case and I learned how to fixed. Arctic silver thermal compound was the best recommended thermal paste and it worked with me pcerfectly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Top shelf compound

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed to clean and replace my fan in my laptop and of course there was need for thermal compound .... this is very good compound to replace the old. Works as I expected it to and my laptop if running cooler and quieter.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Just Thermal Paste!

06/03/2012
By ,
Ogden, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for being cheap it does it's job well. Nothing much to say here, it just does the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Good product but expensive for so little

06/16/2012
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this on our PS3 after it overheated and then developed the 'yellow light of death' (YLOD). The compound does what it is intended to do but the price was a little much for so little. I was expecting much more. (about the size of a pinky finger) Still, I would recommend this if you're having overheating issues.
Also, fyi - if your PS3 is a victim of the YLOD, your PS3 will need to be reballed professionally for a more permanent fix. Putting this compound on it will only make it last about another 4-6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Best Thermal Paste You can get on the cheap.

03/12/2013
By ,
Hartford, CT.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this Thermal Paste for years to use on out of the Box CPUs and to replace the terrible stuff on CPU from factory computers. It works awesome. For the factory computers it normal even helps reduce the amount of radiated heat from the chassis (important for laptop users) and helps the computer become stable if overheating was the issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Great Product, Great Service

04/02/2012
By ,
Midwest City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very satisfied with both the price and service provided for this product. The product itself is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

love it

06/22/2013
By ,
dewey, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could'nt find anywhere around here. Finally find it here at Walmart.com. As soon as it came in to the store I got a phone call. Love the product and the performance. I recommend it to anyone. Fixed my PS3.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Supposedly the paste to get.

05/12/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trying to refurb a nearly 5 year old acer laptop, after applying paste, (took me two times to do it correctly, not products fault) I've yet to notice if it runs much cooler, but according to product, takes time to "cure" so we shall see.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

fixed thermal problem in my PC

04/02/2013
By ,
rancho cordova, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My PC was having a thermal problem, fan would run very fast,sometimes power off.Replaced dried up thermal compound on processor and heat sink and no more problems.Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

thermal compound

02/11/2013
By ,
georga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best stuff i have ever used works great fan used to run all the time now it never comes on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound

Works

12/12/2012
By ,
cc tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed a good thermal compound for heavy gaming, cpu runs 5-10 degrees cooler than standard compound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5