Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Keystone Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Keystone Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

The Keystone 14,000-BTU portable air conditioner cools rooms that are up to 700 square feet in size. This Keystone portable air conditioner has electronic controls with an LED display and a temperature-sensing, full-function "Follow Me" LCD remote control that allows you to conveniently see, set and maintain the room temperature from across the room. The no-bucket design includes a flexible exhaust hose and caster wheels so this KSTAP12A portable air conditioner with remote control will keep you cool wherever you go in your home. Plus, Keystone 12,000-BTU portable air conditioner comes with a full one-year parts and labor warranty, as well as a limited 5-year sealed system warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%26 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

comfy living

06/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This will cool my living room great! It takes an hour or two to cool the living room with the bathroom & bedroom doors closed. I live in approximately 950sq ft. home and if I leave the bedroom doors open at night with a ceiling fan on in the kitchen (connected to the living room, there's no door to shut between the living room & kitchen) and 3 ceiling fans on in the 3 bedrooms. It will cool the entire home but it takes several hours to reach the bedrooms. After all it's only designed to cool 700sq ft. And once it's cool it really gets cool! Sometimes I have to turn up the temperature! So the fact that it can make the bedrooms comfortable enough at night is nice! In fact I usually end up waking up cold by morning/mid night! So it does eventually get cold in the rooms. The best part is the programmable timer! I set it to start 2 hours before I get home from work so it's cool when I walk in the door! Then I open the bedroom doors after I'm done cooking dinner so it's comfy enough to sleep! If you're going to use this unit in an area bigger than it's designed for, you have to have fans or you'll over work the unit and it won't cool and even worse it'll malfunction! For the price and size it's definitely worth a shot!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Just as expected

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is and performs exactly the way the manufacturer explains it to be. It cools down the square footage it is suppose to cool. As long as one's expectations are reasonable and one follows the manufacturer instructions you should be pleased with this purchase. The units noise level is one that I did expect considering the BTU's. I don't consider it to be that noisy whereas it is terribly distracting, however there is some noise as one would expect. If you intend to use it in your bedroom (as I do ) I suggest that you test it before installing to verify that you could tolerate the sound. The exhaust hose is a bit large and not that easy to work with but doable. And for that reason the 4 star rating. The unit arrived sooner than Walmart predicted and in good condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Just what we needed!

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 2 outdoor cats. We tried to get them used to a window a/c unit in one of our out-buildings during the really hot days in Texas, but they didn't like the noise. We tried putting them in our attached garage, but it was too hot and we were concerned for their health. After a bit of searching on- line we came across the Keystone Portable A/C. We are very pleased this product. It does a perfect job and is not at all noisy. Now our babies/pets can come in and out of the garage using a pet-door and we don't have to worry about them! Also, the unit was pretty easy to install. We highly recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

i would only recommend this to someone desparate

06/22/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I HATE this stupid AC! The hose is inflexible, so even once you have it in place, if it gets bumped, the stupid exhaust hose falls out of the window. If you have more than a LIGHT running on the same circuit, it will trip your breakers. It works for MAYBE a small kid's bedroom. But even though it's "rated" for 700sqft, it does not even cool down my entire living room after running for 3-4hrs.
Save your 400$. It's not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Great ac for the money

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quiet unit. Remote seems to work from far away. Very nice for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Love this Air Conditioner

06/17/2014
By ,
denver, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to cool the living room in my apartment and it works great. It is quiet and I love the follow me feature on the remote. The unit automatically adjusts fan speeds when the room temperature reaches the desired level so it's energy efficient. I don't know if it would keep my entire apartment cool because of the way its laid out but if you're looking for something to keep a large room cool buy it. I love it so much I'm thinking about naming it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Giod unit acceptable for one closed room

06/17/2014
By ,
Las Vegas NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 15x15 ft room, cools down fairly quickly Took me a bit to figure out how to install the hose which does not lock in place and easily falls off. have not tried all of the features on the remote but it does work for on off and changing temperature. I would recommend it as I installed it on a day when the temperature hit 105f and it worked fine cooling down the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Heaven sent

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this air conditioner it is by far the best I could of purchased. My apartment is usually hot with two previous window ones that I have they could not compare to this one. Now I dont use the two window ones I only use this and boy am I in heaven. Could not have invested in any thing different. I love love love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

As good as I expected

07/13/2014
By ,
Merrimack, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews for this model and went with Walmart because of the best price. It cools my 600 sq ft living room without having to remain on high fan for a long time. And it sits close to my TV but doesn't hamper the sound very much. I just slightly turn up the volume of my surround system only when it's on high cool. Set up just took 15 minutes even with my needing to saw the window exhaust slider for the narrow window I decided to use. I get comments that it looks like a nice appliance fitting in with my decor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

works great

07/13/2014
By ,
central Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quieter than a window unit but if you're a light sleeper the fan noise will bother you. Powerful and effective. Same design flaw as all other brands: vent hose doesn't stay in at either end without duct tape. I have another portable a/c for 10 years; different brand but same problem with hose. Use white duct tape to hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Great air conditioner if you have the room

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only con: My setup is in the vertical position and required me to fabricate a spacer so the Air Discharger could be connected to the Window Sealing Board without interference from the window frame.
Pros: I live in a two story house (1560 sq ft) and put the unit in an empty bed room on the second floor. I was hoping this unit would make the upstairs (~600 sq ft) livable for sleeping <74 degrees. With the help of a vertical oscillating fan at the doorway of the empty bed room not only was the upstairs livable but when I checked the temperature downstairs the next morning it was 69 degrees. We left the unit running and the warmest it got downstairs was 75 degrees when it was 89 degrees outside. This air conditioner has exceeded our expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Got a Lemon

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It never worked from the get-go. It was on "cool" but was running as a dehumidifier which always caused the P1 code to keep coming up. As a result, I had to either drain the bottom tray or keep the hose on and have a tray (an external pan) to catch the water.
I called the company directly, they said it must be faulty within the internal workings of the AC. I bought the 14,000 btu unit and it didn't even cool me sitting right next to it on the couch.
So I got a lemon but maybe a working unit really works. I don't know. I returned it and am not getting another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Good for the price

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install, quiet,performs as advertised.
When operated in the dry mode, collecting the water is a problem. The drain port is too close to the floor making it difficult to collect the water except a very shallow pan. I am working on drilling a small hole in the floor and running a hose to the basement to collect the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

very nice

08/18/2014
By ,
ontario ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great for the area it is in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

works great

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have a small apartment with side sliding Windows. It cools the place down great. It's not any more noisy than any other indoor a.c. unit. We are very happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Works well and is quiet.

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having trouble finding a free-standing AC that had enough power to cool my 700-square-foot apartment. This product has plenty of power: it does the job well, appears to be well-engineered, and is quiet. The output louvers open automatically when you turn the unit on, and the fan speed adjusts automatically also. The window-outlet components fit the window opening nicely (much better than the previous product I tried), so there are no gaps to let in warm air or insects. The remote can be programmed to sense the temperature in whatever part of the space you are in and the unit will respond accordingly. I am happy with this product and recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Works well for a 700 sq ft foot manufactured home

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit for a 700 sq ft manufactured home in Largo, Florida. I have only had the unit for one week, so I can not speak about the product's longevity.
As far as cooling, the unit does an adequate job. The manufactured home is a sinfle wide and has two bedrooms (one at each end) and a large combination living room and kitchen/dining area.
I have placed the unit in the dining area between the kitchen and the living area. I use fans to circulate the air to both bedrooms.
With the thermostadt set at a temp of 80, the unit works very well in keeping the house cool and the humidity low. No complaint in the cooling. Note: I do not like frigid/meat locker cooling....I just want a dry cool---if you are a person who loves it being so cold that you have to wear a sweater, this unit may or may not work for you. I had no desire to set the thermostadt low to test how much cold air it could actually produce.
The unit is a bit noisey....just like most window units are noisey. I do not believe they can make a quiet indoor a/c unit.
The unit requires no assembly except for the exhaust hose and window panel for the hose. This was very easy to do. As other reviews have stated, there is no locking mechanism on the exhaust hose, and it can disconnect easily. You will need to use duct tape.
As of today, I am happy with the purchase.....it has been high humidity and and 91 to 96 degrees outside every day. The unit cools the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Great air-conditioner

08/06/2014
By ,
New Orleans, La.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great A\C. My central unit needed working on and I needed something fast so I bougth this Portable Air Conditioner. It blows cold air and cool the whole house. I live in New Orleans and it gets 90 plus degrees everyday in the summer. I had a problem putting the vent in the window because I have different kinds of windows, (but nothing hard to do). a little noisy but It blows cold air.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

portable ac

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product...I would buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Really Big

06/29/2014
By ,
Bronx,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took some time to install needed a saw to cut the window seal down to fit standard window. I have a large studio apartment and it been on 15 minutes and already started to cool down room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Louisiana
Portable
Posted 07/02/2014
Really Big ? You do understand this is a PORTABLE UNIT? Meaning that not really made to place in window. If that was what you were looking for, you would have been better to purchase a window unit. This unit is made to sit on floor and have hoses only go out window.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next