Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Velocity Micro Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Velocity Micro Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

The Velocity Micro Cruz T301 -2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS is a super affordable tablet with a large screen. It is a good choice for general Web and e-mail tasks. This Wi-Fi internet tablet has 2GB of internal memory and a 4GB SD card. It has a responsive touchscreen for easy navigation. The Velocity Micro Cruz Android tablet has a dual core processor and comes pre-installed with an Android 2.2 operating system. It has a generous seven-inch touchscreen with an 800 x 600 resolution. This Wi-Fi Internet tablet has a built-in rechargeable battery for up to six hours of uninterrupted use, making it a welcome addition to your mobile lifestyle.
Average Customer Rating:
2.709 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
35
3 stars
20
2 stars
32
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation44%101 out of 227reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
35
3 stars
20
2 stars
32
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

A great value for a tablet!

03/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet is excellent and a bargain, provided you realize it's not an ipad or a high end tablet, and if you upgrade it to Android 2.2 with a free download on its web site.
The Velocity Micro Cruz Tablet has many good points, such as:
Excellent touch screen response
A clear and easy to read screen (except in direct sunlight, and nearly all tablets are hard to read in direct sunlight)
Good battery life
A wide variety of applications can be installed - many for free - from sites like the Cruz Market and freewarelovers.com
It is great for use as an ereader; the Moon Reader and Ireader Android apps work great, as well as Kindle and you can download Kobo, too;
You can use a variety of web browsers for going on the internet;
Very good customer service to help you use the tablet's many applications;
Pretty good sound from the bottom firing speakers (even better with the headphone jack)
Overall a very good value for a tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+629points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Slidell La
Posted 05/08/2012
This tablet was the worse purchase Ive ever made. Its extremely slow and it will freeze up everytime it gets a chance. The manufacturer customer service is horrible.Their advice was to reset the tablet every time it freeze up. DO NOT BUY!!!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS
03/15/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've rated this product 5 stars, because that's a high as it goes. My son-in-law has an IPad that (like most Apple products) is WAY overpriced when compared to this little gem. I wouldn't trade tablets straight up. Much easier to live with and more versatile once you learn its features and limitations. Yes it has limitations, but it's $89.00!!!!
I would recommend using a stylus... it seems to give you more control and doesn't leave fingerprints all over the case.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 3 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

great tablet

03/17/2012
By ,
jax fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had a few tablets this one is better than some of the higher priced ones very happy with this tablet
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 4 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Be careful of MIPS-based Android products

04/07/2012
By ,
us
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This reader, like many low-cost models uses a MIPS-based platform. As such, you cannot expect the same Android experience as you have on an ARM-based cell phone. Sadly, this is one of the compatibility issue that plagues Android - where they attempt to address every platform made.
Look for ARM Cortex-A8, A9, A5, etc ... on the box. This CPU family was introduced in 2004, and are in 99% of all smartphones. Mainstream SW from Google (Android) is distributed for just two hardware platforms: Intel and ARM Cortex-A.
Note that Apple, Asus, Lenovo, Samsung, Toshiba and other manufacturers use Cortex CPU platforms. If the description does not mention the CPU type - it is usually a MIPS-powered device. ARM Cortex-based tablets are also available from Panadigital and Velocity - you just have to look for them.
Note that older ARM devices (such as ARM11, etc.) dating from pre-2003, are sometimes also used. These older platforms also lack the necessary hardware for ongoing Android Market support. The reason for old ARM and any MIPS architecture being used is unclear, as it will not be a full-featured product, unless the manufacturer provides ongoing Android Market support - out of their pocket, which is not cheap - if done at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Review 5 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

OK, but not very good, depending on what you need

03/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before buying, check what apps you want to run (www.cruztablet.com). This unit will not run a lot of popular apps (AngryBirds, Netflix, Skype, and countless others). I have Android on my phone, so I know it very well. This, however, feels like Android's poor stepbrother.
Most apps want to be installed on the SD card, so you must have that in.
Wi-Fi reception is OK, bur rather weak.
Touchsceen response is a bit sporadic.
Also, (a big disappointement) - the sceen ratio is 4:3, not widescreen. Really!? I did not know they did that anymore...
Returned.
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Review 6 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

great for the price

03/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just got it in today and it is a very great tablet for the low low price. was able to hook up to my wifi right away and start browsing the internet. very great for what i need it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+243points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Question:
Posted 09/26/2012
would you be able to hook up a keypad on this? so i would be able to type on it?
also is it possible to hook up to a printer?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

I choose this over the iPad

03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a lovely android tablet. I love the design, and performance. I seriously don't find anything wrong with this. It is as good as the iPad, even better, the price you can buy this it is unbelievable. This is a wonderful tablet, and I 100% recommend it to anyone who wants a quality tablet that you can almost do anything with. I am proud of myself for buying this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+255points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/22/2012
does it have a camera like the ipad
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS
03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Velocity Tablet is awesome. Why would someone get the ipad when this is out there? Great quality, great response. I don't have any complaints about it. Very cool gadget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Review 9 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Honest review.

03/25/2012
By ,
Sumter, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a mom who knows a little something about computers...you want to save your money, trust me. I bought two for my girls and its one issue after another. First, its slow. I mean REALLY slow. I bought SD cards for them immediately knowing i would have to and it requires an arm, a leg, a wrist, toes, and ears to get the cards to work. I read a review that finally clued me in on the problem but it does not help. One of them freezes all the time and actually wont even let me turn it off for at least half a day. Too much hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Review 10 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Excellent Tablet

03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to let you guys know that I bought this, and It is lovely. It is light, TONS of features, and love the quality and vibrance of the screen. The touch feature works excellent. You should give this a try, it is crazy inexpensive and as GREAT as expensive tablets that are EXACTLY the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+182points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Portland, Oregon
CRUZ is junk with no customer service
Posted 09/20/2012
I ordered a Velocity T301 , it did not have android, I could order it but no easy explanation on how to order in user book, then I had to buy a SD card and it still did not work, it would not play any video and kept dropping google, do not buy CRUZ products I have never had trouble with the other tablets I have bought. I tried calling Cruz customer service and could not get through I ended up throwing this piece of garbage in the trash
0points
Customer Avatar
IL
Terrible Experience!
Posted 07/26/2012
I finally received this item and was looking forward to using it. Had MANY problems from the beginning.....slow ship for one, bought a sd card because it only has 256 MB memory, I had a 16 GB card that was NOT recognized so not only did everything I try to download show insert SD card which was already inserted, I also encountered certificate errors of which I tried to fix then the tablet would not stay on and when it did I got all this other hoopla..
THEN to make matters worse, there is NO tech support and nothing in the online book that shows anything about not reading the card. No phone number no nothing. I called my local Walmart store which they have been great....I am taking this back TOMORROW! you only have 15 days.....just glad it happened now instead of after the time limit. I would NOT recommend this product to ANYONE!
Lookjing for online numbers I found No 800 number and NOTHING online and the reps at the store couldnt find anything either..for those of you that are brave enough to purchase this I say GOOD LUCK!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
JUNK
Posted 05/22/2012
I purchased this and it keeps freesing up date and time keeps changing will not fully charge. Now apps will not work. Returned it for refund!!!
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Very Exceptional For The Price

03/29/2012
By ,
Ridgely,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice tablet for the price. To start off with my review i would like to share what I was able to put on this tablet so far (I haven't tried every application out there yet).
Here is what i was able to put on my tablet:
Act 1 Video Player
Advanced Task Killer Free
Mobo Task Killer Pro
MP3 Download Lite
MP3 Fast Searcher And Downloader
Music Search And Download
AndExplorer
Linda Manager
YouTube
Dolphin Browser
Miren Browser
Here is what I wasn't able to put on it:
Spotify
Android Market (I could find most of the applications I wanted on line anyways)
The tablet wasn't very nice at all until I updated it for free from the manufactures website. The update fixed a lot of my issues. The only issue I've had so far with this tablet is that if you browse on the web a lot, then it will sometimes freeze, but I fixed this by sticking a needle in the reset hole and pressing the volume button repeatedly. This isn't a very good choice if you like games, but I'm sure there are games out there somewhere that will work on this tablet. This is probably not an excellent choice for a web browser either. This is a very good choice for the people who just want a tablet to read books on, listen to music, watch videos, and download videos and music. I did find a YouTube application that works excellent on this tablet too. It is very nice after you upgrade your operating system. The E books also look very excellent on this tablet. I've had this tablet for a while now, and I'm very happy with it. I love downloading music, downloading videos, watching YouTube videos, reading ebooks, and playing solitaire on my tablet. I've always been able to fix any issues with this tablet so far. It seems to me like a lot of these reviewers didn't even look on line for a solution. Every time my tablet messes up and freezes, I just put a needle in the reset hole and keep pressing the volume button (sometimes you have to hold the volume button down instead of repeatedly pushing it). I am very happy with this tablet overall. It has a fair amount of applications you can install on it, and it works very well. I also doubt you will be able to find anything better for the price either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Review 12 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Takes too much work to get it going

03/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This package does not include the necessary 4GB SD card. If you turn it on out of the box, it won't work at all. If you go to the support page, you will learn you have to purchase an SD card, download a firmware update from your PC, then install it on the device. After completing that step, my file manager still won't work. I also discovered this device will not play Angry Birds or Netflix. It also won't connect to hotmail accounts easily. You have to go to their webpage and read their badly-written instructions on how to manually configure the settings to get it to work. Don't even think about buying this unit for a kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 13 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Terrible product.

04/14/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet is NOT a 2.2 as it states on the Wal-Mart website. It is a 2.0 upgradable to a 2.2, if you have the wits and know-how to do it. Moreover, it will NOT run anything related to Google, so no g-mail, no Google maps, no Google anything. So even though this tablet is an android, it simply could not do anything useful for me. I found another tablet elsewhere that has made me very happy. Yes, that one cost $200, but it was worth every penny. It's an android set up for Google Play, so it worked right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Review 14 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Do not waist your hard earned dollars.

05/12/2012
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a purchase for my mother in-law for mother's day. I am a pretty tech savvy person and this unit is by far one of the worst electronic devices I have ever laid my hands on. Most of the apps I tried to install on the T301 would not work. Another problem is the browser. Every time I entered a web address it took me back to the home screen. I tried to search for a site on google, found the site, clicked on the link and back to google search I go. This thing is worthless. I was not expecting an Ipad. I was expecting a tablet that would at least be comparable to a decent android based cell phone with out the phone capabilities. What good is it if you can't even use the features that are pre-installed? When I attempted to call tech support I was put on hold for 30 min then someone answered only to hang up without saying a word. Another 30 on hold and I was done. I attempted to go to there web site for support but it was down. Back to Wally World this brick goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 15 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

This tablet is awesome.

03/18/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my kids as a Christmas gift. They love it and it seems that I am always going to my daughter to use hers. I plan to buy one for myself in the next month. It has amazed me how much functionality you get for the price. Try it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Excellent table - Highly recommend it!
Posted 03/19/2012
I got this for my 13 year old daughter for Christmas. I am absolutely impressed with all it can do and its performance. After helping her with it and seeing how much fun she is having with it, I want one for myself! The best features:
-EXCELLENT quality on pictures. She can pull the memory card out of her camera and show pictures on the tablet - exceptional quality and so easy! And it can also play movies if formatted correctly!
-E-Reader - the connection with the Amazon App Store, and Kindle e-reader library is outstanding. She uses it as an e-reader more than anything else and loves it. So many titles for a teenager that are out there for free - all the classics. I'm amazed at how much she loves reading so many books that she downloads all by herself.
- Internet - she is loving it for her facebook as well.
- Apps - great app selection. The Cruz app store is very poor, but with access to the Amazon store, she's found all kinds of great apps that run very well on the tablet. Not as good as selection as I-tunes or Google Apps, but sill very good.
- Comparing to IPad or IPod - In my opinion, it is not as good as the Apple products. But that said, for $100 vs. $400, it is a supreme value.
- Fun folder - Because it is an "off brand" there are not many protective folders for these. We made our own out of a book cover. We found a hardback journal book at Walmart (with an embroidered owl on the cover - check the office supply section) that is exactly the right size. We cut the pages out of the journal book, and attach the tablet inside the book cover with sticky-back velcro (Walmart sewing section) and have a custom made cover for about $9. And she loves it!
-Recommendation - The best tablet value out there. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable e-reader/internet/media devise. Exceptional.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Awful heavy slow

03/27/2012
By ,
little Rock,Ar
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the full screen and the vibrant colors but it would not download Pandora,Flickr,Youtube some games will not load do to no flash player. Just not good for what I needed it to do. It would be a nice ereader but thats. it.Will be taking this back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 17 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Info not listed in specs

03/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm pretty happy with this tablet because I bought it for a full color touch screen ereader. As a reader I give it a 5. Now it comes loaded with Android OS yes, but you will not have access to Android Market/Google Play Store. I assumed because it was Driod it would have it but instead it has a Cruz Market with limited apps.
Also this tablet does not support Abobe Flash. That means no Angry Birds, Draw Something etc. If you're just looking for an awesome ereader with some down time web browsing and basic games then this is a good tablet for you. If you're looking for a mini-PC then you will be dissapointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS
05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS TABLET!! the price is perfect, the apps are plentiful and the processing speed is lightning fast. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for an inexpensive tablet that can is up to par with all the big boys out there. GREAT BUY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 19 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

I have already returned it

04/05/2012
By ,
Little Compton, RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This android tablet seems like a nice enough product for the price but many of the popular apps are not supported and cannot be used with this product. (angry birds for instance) I purchased this for my son.....who loved all the app games after his Colby tablet was stolen. I ended up getting the kindle fire. It was about 100 dollars more but I have to admit I am very happy I did it. The graphics and access to things are way better than even the colby was.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 20 for Velocity Micro Cruz T301 T301-2G 7" 2GB Android 2.2 OS

Not a very good tablet at all.

05/07/2012
By ,
United States
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Velocity Micro Cruz Tablet in order to do simple tasks such as check my e-mail, check facebook, and even to read a couple of books. When I received the tablet it worked okay (not bad but also not good), and I was able to get online with it as it immediately recognized my Wifi signal an connected easily. As soon as I pulled up the browser it started encountering MANY problems such as:
Connecting Slow
Was hard to control
Froze up
Crashed my network
The eBuddy app quit working
I set it down to charge one day (FIRST time it charged since I got it the day before) and when I tried to turn it back on it became unresponsive. I tried resetting it but that didn't work. I waited a couple of hours in case it was because the battery was dead, but that didn't fix it. I returned the product as soon as I could. This product has NOT met my expectations and I would NOT recommend buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+1point
1-20 of 203 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next