Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equip Equip Travel Hammock

Equip Equip Travel Hammock

This Equip Travel Hammock means you will have a comfortable spot to relax in when you are on the go, camping, fishing or just in your own backyard. The Equip Travel Hammock goes conveniently into a bag for easy transportation and folds into a compact size. This lightweight sport hammock includes a hanging kit, which allows it to be set up in just minutes. The fabric is water-resistant to ensure that when you are relaxing, this hammock will keep you safe and dry. The portable fabric hammock has a 300-lb weight capacity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation85%17 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equip Travel Hammock
03/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this hammock after seeing it in the store 2 weeks ago. A nylon hammock in Walmart? Hmmm...Better try this out. If anything, it'll be a backup.
I have to say...after a week of testing, this hammock GREATLY exceeds the expectations I had when I purchased it.
First off...My primary hammock is an ENO Doublenest, so the standards to impress me are pretty high. Here's the observations that matter:
This is not the type if very fine, lightweight material most high end hammocks are made of...it's a sturdier, more water and tear resistant nylon. It IS slightly heavier and bigger when packed...but not by much. It is VERY well built. The website says it is rated to 400lbs, but the hammock says 300. I'd trust the hammock label over the website.
It's bigger than I expected. My first hammock was a Byers Mosquito Amazonian. This is bigger than that, but not QUITE as big as my ENO Doublenest. Its just about the perfect size.
The attatchment hardware is nothing to get excited about. Just a screw link and some rope. Best you pick up some climbing rated biners.
I stumbled upon a quick and easy way to set it up. I picked up some 12' (non ratchet# adjustable tie down straps. This allows me to hand the hammock in under 90 seconds. Wrap one end around the tree, hook to the hammock, use the adjusters to bring it to height. Super easy. The straps were rated to 1200lbs, so no worries there. You can buy the stansport hammock straps from walmart.com #and you should...for $12 they are a steal# but the tie down straps give you versatility when it comes to tree distance.
The hammock is super comfortable, and super strong. The only "brand name" hammock close to the price with brand recognition is the Grand Trunk Ultralight, and this hammock is sturdier with a higher weight rating than that.
In fact, this is the best hammock I have seen at this price. The SLIGHT extra weight when packedd is no big deal to me, for what you get.
This is by far the best item I have ever found in the WalMart camping section. Pick one up now...you wont be disappointed #unless you are one of those crazy hammock ninjas that HAVE to have a $200 hammock#.
BUY IT!!! I'm getting another one today, just to have.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equip Travel Hammock

Gorgeous Two tone Blue parachute fabric Hammock

02/25/2013
By ,
Middle Earth Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very large hammock, sewn panels of brightly colored cloth. Can't wait to hang it up and try it out. Comes with ample lengths of heavy black cordage on each end. The cords are attached via sewn and reinforced connections and use a metal threaded chain type link, very strong. This product is made in China, but appears to be good quality. It advises no smoking or open flames near the fabric, I agree. The pouch is sewn in the middle on one edge of the hammock and one could put cell phone, wallet, handgun, cash, or other items in it for a snooze, but with it attached it won't be lost! Good luck getting it back in the tiny bag, it's a tight fit, and the little spring loaded closure on the cord has a tough time keeping it all inside, but works. I think for the price it is a good value and I would say it has exceeded my expectations upon receipt. Don't know if I can do a follow up but will try, after actually using it. Thanks Walmart procurement, good job!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equip Travel Hammock

My best Walmart buy yet!

04/21/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband told me to see if WalMart had a hammock for our garden
. I was looking for the white net one with a bar, so imagine my surprise when I find a small (by small, I mean smaller than my purse! lol) and light (lighter than my wallet) bag that says it holds 300 lbs for $25! I was very uncertain, but figured I'll get it, and worse case, return it. ;#
My husband was as unsure as I was when I handded him this small, light package, but he put it up, and even laid in it #he's 6'4" and weighs 235 lbs# and, was pleasantly surprised that it held him comfortably!
I have since been in it several times, even napped & played on my laptop, and it is so comfy, without those uncomfortable string diamonds I was used to!
The polyester material is like what tents are made of, so it's got decent aeration and is comfortably cool, and it hold water after a rain! lol So now we know when we take it camping, we can roll it over & stay dry!
I'm going to buy HIM one later today #since I kinda stole this one from him! lol# and maybe even one for our kids to share ;) I definitely recommend this hammock, and strongly urge everyone to go buy one before they realize how awesome they are and increase the price! lol j/k ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equip Travel Hammock

Great hammock - Great price...

11/26/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hammock is great. I purchased it in store (in the sports & outdoors section) for $25. It is huge, comfortable, and super easy to setup. I did replace the included hanging rope for some longer rope (the rope included is only about 6-8 feet in length each) and switched out the little locking links with springs clips (which are also available at WalMart in the hardware section). I weigh around 300 pounds and am a little timid whenever I get into a hammock. This thing did make some scary popping noises the first few times I laid in it (cord stretching and tightening I guess) but now it is all tight and ready for my big butt. The material is smooth and feels good against the skin. It also packs pretty small and is fairly lightweight. I really don't have anything bad to say about it. Especially, since a comparable hammock from REI will run over twice the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equip Travel Hammock

BEST DEAL IN HAMMOCK

12/03/2012
By ,
Sneads
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked up at store, took it home, opened it up, used it and LOVED IT!!!! I am so glad I bought three of these hammock. This is the best little compact hammock you can find. I weight 260 lbs. and I am 5'8 and this hammock is so comfortable and wide enough that I could cover myself in it. Light weight easy to store come complete with all you need to set it up. However I order the heavy duty straps to be sure, but really don't need them. This hammock is a quick and easy set up and a quick and easy take down. Stores easy in the attached storage bag. Light enough to carry in my purse. Happy in Sneads!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equip Travel Hammock

Great hammock at a great price.

09/07/2013
By ,
Rockland NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been hiking and camping for over 35 years I feel that I am more than qualified to deliver a proper review of the Equip Travel Hammock. I opted for pickup at my local FedEx store which was a breeze. The hammock was shipped in a cardboard box and arrived in perfect shape. I inspected the hammock and did not notice any issues. Set up was easy and instruction helpful. I have just returned from a hike and used this hammock for a rest. It worked as described and held up without any issues. I am 6'1" and 220lbs and this hammock is great. I recommend it. I plan on using it on my next overnight thanks to its packability and lightweight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equip Travel Hammock

Great product for the price!

05/07/2013
By ,
Minor Hill Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this hammock for my son,I bought one just like this one for myself over 3 years ago and have gotten at least $1,000,000.00 worth of pleasure out of it. I take it up into the woods and tie it between 2 tree's and just relax and listen to mother nature and all her sound's. I have also left it outside during storm's and it's still durable and i weigh about 185lbs. I am still comfortable about it holding me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equip Travel Hammock

Hammock

03/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice well built hammock. My intended use is for camping. It will be used instead of a tent and air mattress. The set up in my yard was quick and easy. It is wide enough to wrap around me completely. The only draw back is the bag that comes with it. Once the hammock is out of the bag it is hard to stuff it all back in. The bag needs to be a little bit bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fold it...
Posted 06/22/2013
fold in halfs to the center then flip it and it fits just fine...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Equip Travel Hammock

Cost effective Hammock for Camping.

04/08/2013
By ,
Western Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made and comes with everything you need to just take it out and use it. The price is fantastic. I've seen ready to go systems go for three times this cost. I'm ordering two more for my daughters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equip Travel Hammock
05/22/2013
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool hammock....Bought it for my son's scout trip....put it up to check it out before the trip...ordering me one now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equip Travel Hammock

terrible very unpleased

02/26/2014
By ,
perry ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this hammock is poorly made my friend was lying in it and he weighs 180 its rated for 300lbs I used it once and it broke !!!!! it ripped right down the seams and in the middle this is the worst hammock ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! how do I contact the company to complain for a refund or another one
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equip Travel Hammock

Multiple Purchase

04/22/2013
By ,
Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these and customized the suspension on it. I liked it so much I got two more for my daughters. These are well made and come in about 30% below the cost of other sources I've found. One would be hard pressed to just buy the DIY material this inexpensively. This is a great way to venture into the hammock camping arena.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equip Travel Hammock

Very Nice Travel Hammock

09/04/2013
By ,
Mid, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of good reviews on this hammock and watched some encouraging videos about it online, so I gave it a shot.... Its the best value I have seen for this style/type of hammock. I purchased 4 of these on www.walmart.com (on clearance) for about the same price as one of the leading manufacturer similar models (EN@) and it shipped to my house for free! My kids have used them several times and they work perfectly. I would probably replace the cords with "beefier" type if we start using them more regularly and replace the "S" hooks with carabiners. This is the only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Still, we are very happy these hammocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equip Travel Hammock

Good entry level hammock

11/22/2013
By ,
Ukiah, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first camping hammock. I didn't want to spend a lot and this hammock is a good choice for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equip Travel Hammock

Excellent for the price

08/29/2013
By ,
Dexter, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this online for $15.00 and it was a steal. The hanging straps are cheap and they use a screw link for a connecting device, but the hammock is a++. The hammock has triple sewn seams and is made of heavy material. It is not as light as a more expensive model but it is twice as sturdy.
It is also one of the most comfortable hammocks I have used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equip Travel Hammock

see larger review

09/08/2013
By ,
Sparta TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought two different types of hammcks one for relaxation the other "military" was horrible would not purchase again highly disappointed in Walmart too. After I took the other back, the other nearly doubled in price. So disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equip Travel Hammock

good for the price

10/13/2013
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lightweight and strong enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equip Travel Hammock

Something to be cautious of when buying!

08/12/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have only owned this for a few days and tried it once for about 15 minutes...but my back is still suffering the consequences(I'm an athletic 25 year old, never had back issues).
I'm going to give this product the benefit of the doubt, and say I may have just picked up a faulty one. If that's the case, I just have a tip for something you need to look out for. The center of the hammock, both from hang point to hang point(I'll call this length-wise) and from edge to edge(width-wise), is supposed to be the lowest point of the hang. In other words, especially as you sit in it, the edges of the hammock shouldn't be saggy or hanging at the same level as the center; they should be higher. As you turn at an angle to lay in the hammock diagonally, your head and feet should still be higher than your center.
My hammock didn't do this correctly. It was almost like there was a rope strung up beneath the hammock length wise, right down the center, so that the center couldn't properly sag. This resulted in no head/feet support proper when I tried to use it at a diagonal, and my center being sort of lifted up. It almost seemed comfortable enough, until 20 minutes later I realized I could barely move my back. If you were to take a width-wise cross sectional, it was almost like my hammock would be shaped like a "w," with the center coming up too high. I tried to adjust at the ropes, modify the hang, etc...but it remained like that.
I may try to exchange to see if a different model wouldn't be like this, but I'm a little nervous to give it another shot, and may just go with a quality model instead. Either way, please be aware of this!! I have watched a couple reviews where this was the case with the hammock...I'm assuming they only used their hammock minimally, certainly not on a diagonal, and so still gave a favorable review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equip Travel Hammock

Does What It Is Supposed To

06/15/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took on a Canoe Trip to sleep in for three nights. Worked great, very long. Possibly a little short on the sides but I'm six feet three inches tall and one-hundred-ninety-five pounds and supported and fit me just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Equip Travel Hammock
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5