Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Sony Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Turn up the volume and treat your family and friends to high-quality audio with the Sony STRDH130 2 Channel Stereo Receiver. It's truly like being at a concert in your living room as 270W of pristine audio dazzle your eardrums. The headphone output lets you enjoy your music without disturbing others. Listen to your favorite radio stations on this Sony stereo receiver. You can preset your favorite 30 AM FM stations. The auto standby feature saves power by automatically switching to standby mode when the device is not used for more than 30 minutes. This analog AV receiver offers versatile connectivity for your TV, Blu-ray disc or DVD player, gaming system and more (up to five audio sources supported. ) It includes a remote control and instruction manual.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%40 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 131 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Good Value for the Price

04/07/2013
By ,
Upland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As others have noted this is a good receiver for the price. I liked the 2 speaker systems as I already have them. Interfaced easily with the audio products I already had - analog TV, sat box, VCR/DVD/CD recorder player, 4 large Sansui speakers and two sub-woofers. Replaced a 31 year old Pioneer VSX-7300. There are only two things I did not like. No manual entry of AM/FM frequencies - you have to "scan the band" and hope the frequency you want is strong enough to stop the scan. The AM band uses a tiny three pin molex type connector for the very small loop antenna. I would prefer two banana jacks or screw terminals for the AM antenna. I live in a mobile home so reception is very poor for the AM band. The supplied FM antenna was just a single wire that I wrapped around my FM T antenna down lead. Lots of warnings about the case getting hot to the touch in the OM. I've ran the receiver for about a week and it hardly gets above room temperature. Could use a larger and brighter display as well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Excellent 2 channel receiver

10/02/2012
By ,
Buffalo NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for, a basic 2 channel receiver with lots of power. A lot of 2 channels receivers are only 60-80 watts RMS per channel, but this Sony delivers 135 watts RMS per channel. I'm driving a pair of vintage Henry Kloss Advents which tend to be a little power hungry. This receiver really lights them up. It has a decent tuner with plenty of presets. It's got connectors on the rear to hook up 4 speakers, but then you're running them at 4 ohms. The speaker A-B -Off switch is dirctly under the power button, it's easy to bump the switch accidently turn the speakers off. First time it happened it took me a minute or two to figure out why it wasn't playing anything. Overall, this is a great 2 channel receiver. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130
06/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to put in my shed and power some waterproof outdoor speakers, that surround my deck. I like the fact that I can control it with the remote from my deck, while the unit sets in my shed.
Works great easy setup and controls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

High Quality, Low Price

05/12/2012
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to replace my old Teac receiver, But didn't really want an A/V type receiver. Yes I do run my TV thru it but my 2 speakers are more than adequate. I hate wires running all over the place. The FM reception is excellent. I pick up more stations than in my car or truck locally. I only listen to AM to pick up the local college game so I can't really rate it. I like the auto standby as my wife and daughter were always leaving the old one on all the time. You can rename the inputs to what you actually have plugged into them. I looked at used items and online source but could not beat this price for what You get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Good Two Speaker Amp/Receiver System

12/06/2012
By ,
Preston County
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As of 12/06/12 we have had this system hooked to our Vizio TV for over one month. The TV is used with DirecTV and is also hooked to a Magnavox DVD recorder/player that upconverts the picture. All three boxes (TV, DVR, Amp) are from Walmart. The DVD player will also play on the Amp thru the TV our MPEG layer 3 audio which we record from CD to DVD+R on our W7 computer. This Sony STRDH130 is a good 2 channel amp/receiver suitable for two speakers (left and right) and/or a pair of two channel speakers (A and B both with left and right). The Amp remote control that uses a standard battery was important to us because at high volume Vizio standard speakers are not the best. Since we were not sure the newer 5 and 7 speaker amp/receivers can be used with only two speakers this was the system for us. We have had good experience with Sony and Walmart. Unlike some other Internet stores, from Walmart we get unopened boxes, not returns with someone else's problems. We frequently use in-store pickup to save shipping costs. Sometimes the Walmart Internet price is better than the store price and at the time of purchase that was the case for the Sony STRDH130.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Good Basic Unit

07/20/2014
By ,
Deltona, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this to replace my 22 year old Yamaha receiver. It was perfect for television but for music, it lacked. I was able to find a $1,000 ONKYO unit for 500 bucks at Amazon and the sound was much, much better. I now use this Sony STRDH130 for my den and it sounds fine for that.
For serious music listening, the sound quality is not there but it is perfect for TV or small rooms and for 99 bucks it was a great deal !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Love this receiver!

01/19/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old Sherwood receiver that I had for years.
Set-up was very easy that I did not even read the manual! So of course, after I got it working, I thought it was only for Am/Fm radio and not for CD Player, too. Was already thinking of returning it!
Well, if all else fails, read the instructions...so I did! My old one had buttons for CD, Tape, AM/FM, etc. This one has a knob called "input selector" and you have to turn the knob to get the CD player.
This is really all what I wanted it for - to be able to play my music on my Sony CD changer.
Now I'm very happy! Thanks Sony and Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

The only low priced 2.1 anplifer I could find.

08/13/2012
By ,
Mission TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a 2 speaker, stereo amplifier for several devices (DVD , CD, VCR, protable cassett player) and at a good price. This unit has 100 watts per channel output, to 2 speakers, I purchased this unit for a recreation hall 50' x 100' with 2 speakers. The PA system we have will not play "CD"s in stereo. This unit also has a radio tuner which works very well with an outdoor antenna. It has many selectable input for 6 devices. Very good performance and quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DOWNTOWN PGH,PA.
I SO MISS THE "LOUDNESS BUTTON" ALSO ON NEW MODELS
Posted 12/05/2013
In response to MUSIC DUDE (from Pgh,PA. as I too am from Pgh,PA. -Clairton,PA. born and bred-) I loved the "LOUDNESS BUTTON" on the recievers of the 1970 & 80's where even when we played the receiver @ a lower volume if we pushed that button in the "Bass" the full,deep & rich! I really miss it,I swear. I had inquired about it thru a question #on AMAZON.com# on this exact SONY model as I was going to purchase one this past summer. The answer I got back was that their is a button on the remote called "Midnight" and that when turned on gives the same effect as a loudness button,I don't know if the guy was just messin with my head or what? was I did not purchase it @ the time because my current 5.1 channel SONY receiver that I purchased in 2001# stopped giving me a problem. I'm thinking of still buying this one #I don't need it right now but I will one day & this price is perfect.# I just wanted to comment on how I too miss the LOUDNESS BUTTON so much when I seen you mention it #I have never seen it spoken of before except by myself.#
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Solid product in every way

12/02/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This receiver will meet the needs for most households hoping to install a dependable and qualitative
sound system that delivers in a practical and cost effective manner --- I was looking for a device
that was simple, and small enough to easily fit in the remaining space in the "entertainment
center" furniture I was already using for several other applications.
I have three video-related pieces of equipment connected to my television, and wanted something
separate and simple, just for CD audio purposes --- I purchased two small inexpensive speakers,
and this system is perfect for "old-fashioned Hi-Fi" living room music, without any special bells and whistles (although it actually has some of these) --- it was easy to hook up, and is easy to operate.
Last Word: it even feels heavy when you lift it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Well worth the price

05/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wasnt expecting much for $150, but surpased my wildest expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Get what you pay for!

09/25/2012
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice unit depending on your expectations. The low reviews come from people expecting too much for 149.00. It does not have separate bass, treble, and mid range or traditional fade. A unit with those features would not cost 149.00. A good set of speakers and this is excellent for movies and iPods,iPhone,iPad,psp,or any audio out plug device. Don't buy a car that looks like a BMW and be unsatisfied because it does not perform like one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130
08/08/2012
By ,
dubois pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you can not beat this for the price . the best buy i have made in a long time. if your looking for something to pump some speakers this is the one to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130
10/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For an inexpensive receiver, it has very good performance and inputs for all of my audio needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Awsome sound for price!

12/14/2012
By ,
Mandeville, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great reciever with a lot of options. I am using this recieve from my garage to play christmas music to outdoor speakers from computer which sequences my Christmas lights to music. Their big selling point is their auto energy saver. The biggest problem I have is the receiver powers down automatically once audio stops passing through it. This even occurs when I have receiver in stand-by mode. The receiver will go into stand-by mode; however, after some time it will automatically shut itself off. This forces me every night to manual power my receive to get my christmas light music to play when my computer automatically does every thing to schedule. There appears to be no way to turn off power saver or option to leave reveiver in continueous stand-by mode. Other than this, it's a excellent receiver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130
11/01/2012
By ,
St. Helens Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound and good price. Suits my needs for stereo sound. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Defect

03/22/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buyer Beware! I purchased this receiver and it had a defect: It continued to shut itself off after 15 minutes of play, even after the Sleep and Auto modes were set to Off. You may get one that works OK and you may not, so just beware! I have always liked Sony products and am very disappointed they would continue to sell a defective product. I am not the only one who got the "lemon".
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

A little short on Bass

02/23/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old Pioneer (1978) seemed to have more power & more bass. I had a loudness switch that boosted the bass at lower volumes. This one seems to do OK when it is turned up a little louder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Upland, CA
Short on bass
Posted 04/07/2013
Yes, this is an "entry level" unit and could use a loudness switch even with sub-woofers. So just krank up the volume a bit more.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

so far so good

04/04/2014
By ,
shinnecock Indian reservation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It sounds more like mono sound than stereo compare to my other receiver but it beats just the regular TV sound! Not bad for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Excellent 2 Channel Reciever

04/04/2014
By ,
Fort Myers,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and great sound! No frills unit will fit if needs are basic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony 2-channel Hi-Fi Receiver, STRDH130

Great value, quality and looks with the Sony name.

12/16/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this Sony stereo receiver to my sister and brother-in-law for Christmas. They are very pleased and satisfied with it so far. I've owned my own Sony hi-fi stereo system since 1990 and it has given me nothing but pure enjoyment with reliable, quality service for 22 years. The name Sony is synonymous with high quality design at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next